PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Chiney

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2010, 5:32 pm

^^ thats true
went friday by wizz and saw alot of older boards that might fill ur gap, also..ur budget isnt bad either for a complete upgrade eh

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 1st, 2010, 5:41 pm

i used to go by wizz in elcicorro but dey close down whats the website for the wizz? i wana see what they have in stock, they used to send me a partlist but they stopped

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 1st, 2010, 6:04 pm

They website shut down a while now. U should call and see what they have.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2010, 6:13 pm

just go visit them
thats the best ting

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 1st, 2010, 6:28 pm

I bought one of these boards years ago, was one of the best at the time.

Would be a best board for you if you coulda find one now.

Virus

Postby Virus » September 1st, 2010, 10:25 pm

That link i posted before is the board to go with since he was doing an enquiry about intel spec plus its available

But why not sell that system off and upgrade i mean its not that hard

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2010, 10:35 pm

do any of u guys know if the intel core i7 950 all were made with the D0 revision?

Virus

Postby Virus » September 1st, 2010, 10:50 pm

Chiney have a read hear it was discussed

http://communities.intel.com/thread/4323

But Intel site says yes it does
http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=37150

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2010, 11:02 pm

thanks virus
great help
i actually checked intel's site
but didnt see the stepping, only just now i actually read and saw the link for the ordering and stepping specs
thanks again

thought i had to wait to find out wen mine reach! :snipersmile:

Virus

Postby Virus » September 1st, 2010, 11:20 pm

Well you lucky because from what them guys was saying in the forums you might have been sorry lol

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 1st, 2010, 11:30 pm

its cool
i dont always like to OC
but wen i do.. i go for big numbers..

i remember wen i posted my q9650, gtx 260s evga 790i 3dmark06 score on GATT
got over 24k and men on that forum dog me down, doubting my score, even commenting and assuming why i was running a certain OS ( win XP ) . LOL. i came close to their i7 scores and they couldnt deal with it. hahhahahaha

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 2nd, 2010, 5:45 am

Chiney wrote:its cool
i dont always like to OC
but wen i do.. i go for big numbers..

i remember wen i posted my q9650, gtx 260s evga 790i 3dmark06 score on GATT
got over 24k and men on that forum dog me down, doubting my score, even commenting and assuming why i was running a certain OS ( win XP ) . LOL. i came close to their i7 scores and they couldnt deal with it. hahhahahaha

That happened because under XP the score does be higher than vista or windows 7. Plus 3dmark06 is kiddie thing compared to Vantage and Uningine now. :wink:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2010, 7:20 am

^^ back then 3dmark06 was d flick..
and if xp was my choice of os for use, then my score under xp is wat dey had 2 take, wasnt goin install win7 jus for a score for them, den install back xp.

yeh guys

question is...

corsair h50 over the h70 or not? difference in price is 24US

HCCA

Postby HCCA » September 2nd, 2010, 8:17 am

Chiney wrote:^^ back then 3dmark06 was d flick..
and if xp was my choice of os for use, then my score under xp is wat dey had 2 take, wasnt goin install win7 jus for a score for them, den install back xp.

yeh guys

question is...

corsair h50 over the h70 or not? difference in price is 24US

Well then u shouldn't have posted a score in the first place seeing as it had rules for submission. :lol:

Anyhoo the H70 has a thicker radiator and comes with a second corsair fan as well as a better mounting system for the waterblock. Other than that is basically the same H50. Most people change out the stock fans and use higher CFM ones so the H70 not really that improved anyway. If was a dual rad instead then it coulda be worth something.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2010, 8:28 am

well i didnt put the score for submission on the rank lists..jus for kicks..and it mashed a few feet. i told u that b4 i postd it so..so doh play u dunno

anyhoo!

if the rad is thicker in the h70 den its not the same thing.. so i guess dual high speed fans on the h70 gonna make it a good watercooler then..

HMMMMMM

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 2nd, 2010, 11:06 am

The H70 is better, unlike the H50 the H70 has a Cold Plate System thats gona transfer heat better off the CPU and since your an Overclocker its better that you go with the H70

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2010, 11:10 am

wappenin fellas. Nice thread you have here. Been lurking around for a while just reading but now I'm in the process of building up a system and need some advice.

First of all, ANY new system would be superior to what i currently have lol: AGP graphics geforce 6200, 1Gb ram, AMD Sempron 1.6GHz processor, 80Gb HDD.....you get my drift..

The system would be mainly to run AutoCAD Architecture 2011 and future versions, a bit of gaming: Fifa, PES, COD etc. A little video editing, basic photoshop-ing and the usual..
Note that I'm not into this overclocking business just yet as I am clueless about it at this point.....oh and nothing too expensive

After searching around I've come up with this:

cpu:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 Yorkfield 2.66GHz 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - 169.99USD
or
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - Also 169.99USD

mb:
One that supports DDR3 RAM, 4 RAM slots, Socket 775... roughly 100USD or less..
I have my eye on the GIGABYTE GA-EP45T-UD3LR which is currently out of stock but I'm hopeful that they get more...also these:
MSI P43-C51 LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard
ASUS P5P43TD/USB3 LGA 775 Intel P43 USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
BIOSTAR TP45E Combo 6.X LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard

I already have an untouched gpu which i bought earlier this year: 8800GT
RAM: I was thinking 2 x 2GB DDR3 1333MHz for starters

btw, if I should make a separate thread please let me know :oops:

Virus

Postby Virus » September 2nd, 2010, 11:20 am

Nope it only barely outperforms the H50 and for the price difference i was expecting a bit more most people that already have it are only noticing a 5deg drop which isnt worth the extra 24 bucks, now if the rad was bigger lets say to hold 2 120mm that would have been more efficient in my books.

They did make a great improvement with the dual fan setup but the fans are rated at 2000 but only get up to 1700 as the h50 so i figure thats why the h50 still hold it own.

But on the plus side damn its Corsair so what the hell i would buy it now if i feel i needed it and change out my h50 but then again blah

Postby Ronaldo95163 » September 2nd, 2010, 11:32 am

never know wht 5 degree loss can do :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2010, 11:37 am

hmm food for thought..

as for searchingone...

any specific reason for wanting ddr3 over ddr2 ? cuz the CPUs u choose arent really "high end so to say "
sincle already dont have ddr3.. i would say get the quad core and look for a gigabyte p45 board. its a really good realiable board and extremely stable.
http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Core-DDR ... =8-2-fkmr1

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2010, 11:59 am

Chiney wrote:hmm food for thought..

as for searchingone...

any specific reason for wanting ddr3 over ddr2 ? cuz the CPUs u choose arent really "high end so to say "
sincle already dont have ddr3.. i would say get the quad core and look for a gigabyte p45 board. its a really good realiable board and extremely stable.
http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-Core-DDR ... =8-2-fkmr1

no particular reason. just wanted to go as "high" and "up to date" as i can go within price range :oops:

so what you saying is that I can get similar performance with DDR2 as I would with DDR3 and a not so high end cpu?

thanks for the response

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2010, 2:36 pm

did a comparison with that P45 board and an Asus equivalent. The P45 wins in price and performance

[url]http://www.newegg.com/Product/Productcompare.aspx?Submit=ENE&N=100007627%20600008069%20600007879%20600008200&IsNodeId=1&bop=And&CompareItemList=280|13-128-372^13-128-372-TS%2C13-131-347^13-131-347-TS[/url]

so question....the memory standard for the P45 board is DDR2 1366(O.C)/1066. What ram should I get for optimum performance?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2010, 2:56 pm

ddr2 800 with be just as good bro... really !

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2010, 3:11 pm

dont you think i should atleast go with the 1066 standard?
I dunno eh I just asking...you guys have the experience lol

One thing I forgot to mention, I want to run Windows 7 64 bit, should in case I decide to go higher than 4Gb RAM.... does this change anything?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2010, 3:31 pm

not really
once u gettin 4GB of watever RAM, 64bit is wat u will be needing to install..

u wont see a difference with ddr2 800 vs ddr2 1066. only if u plan to benchmark....but 1066 a the same time is good.. cuz from reading i see u plan to do some intensive work..a bit..

xaira

Postby xaira » September 2nd, 2010, 4:47 pm

@searchingone

i snd you a pm, check your inbox, or allow the message popup and follow it

searchingone

Postby searchingone » September 2nd, 2010, 10:49 pm

Thanks for the tips, Chiney. I will consider them.....well the most work will be done using AutoCad. I may even delve into some rendering with 3ds max so I'm thinking the quad would really be appropriate....... still doing some research so will ask more questions as i see fit.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 2nd, 2010, 10:54 pm

kool scn

feel free to call me if u wish 2

jus check one of my pc parts sale threads for the number

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » September 3rd, 2010, 6:31 pm

Anyway for those of you who looking for a deal i have 2 Asus 5970 with Koolance water Block installed or if you want i will sell you it with the stock cooler installed.

Package comes with

Retail box,cables,Dirt 2 Game,Drivers,DVI to HDMI,DVI to VGA, all seal never use them since i uses HDMI.

Price is 4000 Each these are the cards the break the record in the Caribbean So this is a steal of a Deal

Card come with 1 Tear warranty and 3 Years warranty from Asus.

Reason for Sale upgrading.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » September 3rd, 2010, 7:23 pm

ok guys

heres something to talk about

budget= 4000.00TT

wat wud u get? and dats tower alone

*this is not for me, jus general discussion for opinions and facts and theory's*