Digicel 4G/HSPA+ Thread

Re: DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby skylinechild » April 30th, 2012, 3:51 pm

Sky wrote:
Leh a man patronize nah :lol: I eh know you is and what you does do. Well before now....TSTT employee :x

:lol: :lol: i not even a permanent employee....and the correct use is not "TSTT employee".....is "DAMN TSTT employee".... :lol: :lol:

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 1st, 2012, 11:37 am

redmanjp wrote:
achillies wrote:^^^^^ :lol:

I am not worried about BB users, I think the abusers and tether users would kill it

they can probably cap it at 1GB or something- if you're not tethering you will hardy get close to that

not so true.
This is from regular use and I took off 3G a few days now :/

These are speed tests in my home LOL.

Postby maj. tom » May 1st, 2012, 2:41 pm

They're updating their website too: Under Construction.

http://testselfcare.digiceltt.com/

Plus on their phone list you can see the 4G symbol on most blackberry phones http://www.digiceltt.com/en/phones/phones_list.php?manufacturer=3

SimSimmer69

Re: looks like digicel going 4g

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 2nd, 2012, 11:17 pm

I actually got 10.35Mbps down and 2.21Mbps up.
4G.png

Postby skylinechild » May 2nd, 2012, 11:35 pm

my N8 saying 3.5G.....and speeds are excellent...checked my data usage..looks like 1gb plan is excellent for me !!!

UPDATE- the google maps issue- it seems that on the belle release the GPS is tied into the wifi switch...however even though the wifi is off ovi maps still work- to use google maps i just leave the wifi on....dont need it connected to any AP.....and start it up..it automatically sees the 3G network and pulls data.....also it's VERY accurate...

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 2nd, 2012, 11:54 pm

If these are the speeds we're getting with Digicel 4G network, I expect to see lots of Trinis take advantage of this, especially corporate customers. TSTT really has their work cut out for them. The trick here for Digicel is to make the service reliable, efficient, fast with great customer service. Do that and TSTT won't even have a customer base when time for them to launch.

Postby RBphoto » May 3rd, 2012, 7:10 am

Anyone see the powered parachute guy this morning on the beetham flying over with the digicell banner? Was driving, so no pics. Use imagination. Cause a setta traffic.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2012, 7:21 am

yeah he started from Savannah opposite Whitehall

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » May 3rd, 2012, 8:24 am

SimSimmer69 wrote:If these are the speeds we're getting with Digicel 4G network, I expect to see lots of Trinis take advantage of this, especially corporate customers. TSTT really has their work cut out for them. The trick here for Digicel is to make the service reliable, efficient, fast with great customer service. Do that and TSTT won't even have a customer base when time for them to launch.

TSTT does appear to have their work cut out for them. They should've been first to launch given their resources. Might still happen, never know, not sure who following who here. However I don't agree with your customer base statement. Given TSTT's timeline and the additional services they intend to offer (i.e. free wifi hotstops available to their customers by June/ July) TSTT customers appears to have more to look forward to. What's a few more months after waiting for years? Make a more informed choice at the end of the day.

Postby ismithx » May 3rd, 2012, 9:01 am

hmmm well i just saw a biker gang about a dozen members pass on the highway, all of them with Digicel flags at the back of their bikes... :D

src1983

looks like digicel going 4g

Postby src1983 » May 3rd, 2012, 10:20 am

:)

Postby cinco » May 3rd, 2012, 10:23 am

i see dat fella over barataria

Postby maj. tom » May 3rd, 2012, 12:02 pm

Don't think it has anything to do with the official 4G launch though:

"Facebook: Digicel Trinidad & Tobago
about an hour ago
Extraordinary is all around us. Upload a photo or video of you or a loved one doing something extraordinary and tell us what you think extraordinary is for a chance to win from 5 handsets, $2,000 in Free Credit and two Free Courses in a field of your choice to help you reach your full potential. Just click on the "Be Extraordinary" tab to start your extraordinary journey! :)"

http://www.facebook.com/digiceltt/photos
Digicel Batman:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150739594307029.399690.124006997028&type=3

ismithx wrote:hmmm well i just saw a biker gang about a dozen members pass on the highway, all of them with Digicel flags at the back of their bikes... :D

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150738758417029.399683.124006997028&type=3

That QR code is digiceltt.com which has no new updates.Image

By the way, the free 4G trials supposed to end today and launch officially in mid-May.

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 3rd, 2012, 12:45 pm

*threads merged*
Let's keep it in one thread na

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » May 3rd, 2012, 1:00 pm

Cashier at head office told me tomorrow (4th)

Let's see how it goes....

air wick

Postby air wick » May 3rd, 2012, 1:56 pm

IMG_0035.PNG
IMG_0035.PNG (169.2 KiB) Viewed 2554 times

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 3rd, 2012, 2:56 pm

Travis wrote:
IMG_0035.PNG

that's nice.

mojosodope

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby mojosodope » May 3rd, 2012, 2:59 pm

Trial also extends blackberry service, so two weeks of free bb service so far.

roadhog

Postby roadhog » May 3rd, 2012, 3:21 pm

being a corp customer for over 5 years and i didnt get a text. go figure. thanks digicel

SimSimmer69

Postby SimSimmer69 » May 3rd, 2012, 4:28 pm

tiger balm wrote:
SimSimmer69 wrote:If these are the speeds we're getting with Digicel 4G network, I expect to see lots of Trinis take advantage of this, especially corporate customers. TSTT really has their work cut out for them. The trick here for Digicel is to make the service reliable, efficient, fast with great customer service. Do that and TSTT won't even have a customer base when time for them to launch.

TSTT does appear to have their work cut out for them. They should've been first to launch given their resources. Might still happen, never know, not sure who following who here. However I don't agree with your customer base statement. Given TSTT's timeline and the additional services they intend to offer (i.e. free wifi hotstops available to their customers by June/ July) TSTT customers appears to have more to look forward to. What's a few more months after waiting for years? Make a more informed choice at the end of the day.

Seriously, very few people care about a wi-fi hotspot if they can be mobile and still get high speed data. A wi-fi hotspot is convenient sometimes but nothing beats affordable, fast and mobile internet. As I said, TSTT can lose a lot of ground by the time they're ready to launch.

Postby ismithx » May 3rd, 2012, 5:25 pm

jahhhhhh i real toting...... no 3g fi mi.....

src1983

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby src1983 » May 3rd, 2012, 5:38 pm

ismithx wrote:jahhhhhh i real toting...... no 3g fi mi.....

And it working problem free..... :)

CL9_EURO

Postby CL9_EURO » May 3rd, 2012, 5:43 pm

Via wifi hotspot on my BB9900

If I do a speed test directly on the BB i'm getting like 2MB :(

Postby ismithx » May 3rd, 2012, 5:49 pm

o goarrr man yuh hadda rub it in??? T_T i wish i had one of them up to date phones....

Postby ismithx » May 3rd, 2012, 5:52 pm

SimSimmer69 wrote:
tiger balm wrote:

Seriously, very few people care about a wi-fi hotspot if they can be mobile and still get high speed data. A wi-fi hotspot is convenient sometimes but nothing beats affordable, fast and mobile internet. As I said, TSTT can lose a lot of ground by the time they're ready to launch.

i wouldn't mind them losing ground as long as they lower prices....

Postby stev » May 3rd, 2012, 6:07 pm

steups...digicel causin one set ah macco trafffic by caroni with dat parachute ting. lol

DIGICEL 3G. online...

Postby M_2NR » May 3rd, 2012, 10:02 pm

CSR said this trial was given to a total of 10000 persons apparently. I figure if u didn't get chosen in the first run, well, daiz life. :(
I hoping they just move over current unlimited edge users to 3G and give them say a 2GB limit or something. Right now unlimited edge is 1GB limit.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » May 3rd, 2012, 10:07 pm

M_2NR wrote:CSR said this trial was given to a total of 10000 persons apparently. I figure if u didn't get chosen in the first run, well, daiz life. :(
I hoping they just move over current unlimited edge users to 3G and give them say a 2GB limit or something. Right now unlimited edge is 1GB limit.

can u even reach that with the speeds of edge? or would u just get fed up and hunt for a wifi spot

christopherwilliams2

Postby christopherwilliams2 » May 4th, 2012, 5:11 am

saw a snapshot of the prepaid 3G prices...photographer did not take the postpaid.. :?
could still make out $240.00 for 1GB non-blackberry plan / month.
526675_3765033645599_1269365094_33503618_823493842_n.jpg

Postby skylinechild » May 4th, 2012, 5:32 am

cool.....nice prices.......* runs to sign up for 1Gb plan....