Re: Trinidad Police Officer Slaps Man in Face

Postby *$kїđž!™ » September 5th, 2012, 1:19 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Pro ... 61206.html

Probe into 'police brutality' video
PCA calls for witnesses...

By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Sep 4, 2012 at 10:46 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 4, 2012 at 10:46 PM ECT
AN "independent investigation" has been launched by the Police Complaints Authority (PCA) into a video which purports to depict a plainclothes police officer slapping a man and then taking him away in a marked police car.
The PCA is now calling for witnesses to come forward, especially "the concerned citizen who captured this event on camera".
Witnesses can contact the PCA at 800-2PCA, 800-2722 or email info@pca.org.tt.
"All information will be kept strictly confidential," a release from the PCA stated yesterday.
On Monday, National Security Minister Jack Warner called on acting Police Commissioner Stephen Williams to investigate the video.
The 57-second long video, entitled "Police independence brutality", was posted on the CCN TV6 UReport days ago by someone using the name isiahblaxx.
The description which accompanies the video states "as we celebrate our 50th anniversary, we still see police brutality eminent in our society".
The video has gone viral on social networking site Facebook.
On Monday the video had just over 16,600 views.
By press time yesterday this figure stood at 34,998 views.
The fact that the video has gone viral has caught the attention of the PCA.
"At this time no official complaint has been filed by the alleged victim in the video but Section 21 (1) (a) of the Police Complaints Authority Act of 2006, enables the PCA to independently commence an investigation into the criminal offences involving police officers, police corruption and serious police misconduct," the PCA release stated yesterday.
The incident was compared to the situation at this year's Panorama semi-finals at Queen's Park Savannah, Port of Spain, where the PCA ruled that a lone police officer may have overstepped his bounds.
"This recent incident is also a matter of importance and like any complaint made against police officers, with respect to excessive use of force, is a matter that must be treated seriously," the PCA release stated.
"The PCA continues to hold its position of zero-tolerance for unnecessary use of force against citizens of our country by members of the TTPS and reiterates that we assess all matters within our remit with unreserved objectivity," the PCA stated.

Postby zoom rader » September 5th, 2012, 3:44 am

streetbeastINC. wrote:TERRENCE Augustine, the man recorded on video being slapped across the face and arrested by a police officer, appeared in court on Monday charged with resisting arrest, assaulting the officer and using insulting language

taken from express...i told you all he hot the officer palm with his face!

Hope he learn to eat humble pie from now on

clone101

Postby clone101 » September 5th, 2012, 7:57 am

If a simple word like ''IDIOT'' can cause that reaction from that officer he should not be allowed to carry a fire arm ,but the 2NR's that drive BMW & Benz might say other wise cause to them Rasta is a criminal.......

Postby Greypatch » September 5th, 2012, 9:16 am

excellent work officer... ah hope alluh fack he up good in the car

Postby rfari » September 5th, 2012, 9:19 am

Easy case to win if rasta has a good attorney

Postby Greypatch » September 5th, 2012, 9:35 am

could pay him in nuts or what is in the black bag.

bigval

Postby bigval » September 5th, 2012, 1:38 pm

maybe its ignorance on my path, but i really do hope that officer suffers for what he did
seud and fired or sum
i aint even care that its only a 1min video, dey should make example out of him

this behaviour is wayyy to comon from police for my liking

a while ago on d promenade i remember seeing 5 police beat a vagrant senseless cus he didnt show them respect when they was trying to clear d area
4 men beat him and 1 stand on he head while dey do it

and d only reason he didnt leave when they tell him is cus he was obviously a mad man, didnt need to pshych degree to see that. but they took that as a sign of disrespect

but d thing that really get me is that everyone just passed d incident like normal

Postby Hook » September 5th, 2012, 1:51 pm

after the Clint Huggins death, nobody doh witness anything in T&T...investigation will hit a dead end because ppl will fear the backlash of victimization from Officer Slapmanbally's colleagues

bigval

Postby bigval » September 5th, 2012, 1:52 pm

Bizzare wrote:[e-gangsta]
U idiots don't see that when you support the officer for "restoring order" that statement is a paradox IN itself. Here is a guy who acted outside of the law - which is there to maintain order, yet you're saying he is restoring order??????? WTF :?
Does that make sense to you? If he simply arrested the man and acknowledged his right, so much tax payers money would have been saved. Now there's a whole process that must take place to prosecute this officer, had he stayed within the law, and maintained an order, all this would have been avoided.

i completely agree with this

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » September 5th, 2012, 1:56 pm

clone101 wrote:If a simple word like ''IDIOT'' can cause that reaction from that officer he should not be allowed to carry a fire arm ,but the 2NR's that drive BMW & Benz might say other wise cause to them Rasta is a criminal.......

Sad thing is that is not the tuners driving benz n bimmers.

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 5th, 2012, 2:04 pm

da rasta go win a kool $100 thou. for da slap
it was a hard bellas i aint go lie..

i woulda fall to the ground..pretend a dead.. ask for hospital.. all kinda thing.

Postby pioneer » September 5th, 2012, 2:05 pm

bigval wrote:maybe its ignorance on my path, but i really do hope that officer suffers for what he did
seud and fired or sum

a while ago on d promenade i remember seeing 5 police beat a vagrant senseless cus he didnt show them respect when they was trying to clear d area

and d only reason he didnt leave when they tell him is cus he was obviously a mad man, didnt need to pshych degree to see that. but they took that as a sign of disrespect

but d thing that really get me is that everyone just passed d incident like normal

I support the beating of vagrants.

On second look, that rasta looks like a vagrant.

Postby Hook » September 5th, 2012, 2:08 pm

dread_2002 wrote:da rasta go win a kool $100 thou. for da slap

i woulda fall to the ground..pretend a dead.. ask for hospital.. all kinda thing.

:lol: football antics nuh?

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » September 5th, 2012, 2:18 pm

Hook wrote:
dread_2002 wrote:da rasta go win a kool $100 thou. for da slap

:lol: football antics nuh?

cristiano ronaldo styling!

Postby Greypatch » September 5th, 2012, 6:37 pm

bigval wrote:maybe its ignorance on my path, but i really do hope that officer suffers for what he did
seud and fired or sum

I support the beating of vagrants.

On second look, that rasta looks like a vagrant.

rasta could ask Ian Allene for ah lil help.

***vid evidence is not allowed in court***

Postby brams112 » September 5th, 2012, 6:57 pm

Them police stupid,i sure i would have found a few grams of grass in the ras hat.

VSI Concepts

Postby VSI Concepts » September 6th, 2012, 11:20 pm

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
402857_502635606431252_1572842411_n.jpg

Postby AllTrac » September 7th, 2012, 5:34 am

nah...

Postby brams112 » September 7th, 2012, 5:51 am

VISHALL wrote::lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby pioneer » September 7th, 2012, 6:09 am

trinis need to stop trying to make memes....seriously

Postby cinco » September 7th, 2012, 7:38 am

pioneer wrote:trinis need to stop trying to make memes....seriously

i concur

Postby sMASH » September 7th, 2012, 8:32 am

dat meme fail.

Postby Morpheus » September 7th, 2012, 3:50 pm

CoP told: Suspend 'slapping' policeman

By Richard Charan richard.charan@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Sep 6, 2012 at 10:00 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 6, 2012 at 10:00 PM ECT

THE Professional Standards Unit of the Police Service has recommended the suspension of the police constable seen on video slapping and arresting a man, who later appeared in court charged with assaulting the police officer.
The constable has taken 28 days sick leave, but the Professional Standards Unit, headed by Senior Supt Solomon Koon Koon, on Wednesday sent correspondence to acting Commissioner of Police Stephen Williams making the recommendation.
Williams had earlier that day described the conduct of the police officer as reprehensible, unacceptable and unprofessional, but said the officer would remain on active duty until the completion of the "high priority" investigation.
The Express was unable to determine if Williams acted on the recommendation yesterday.
The constable is also under investigation by the Police Complaints Authority as a result of the video uploaded to social networking sites last weekend and which showed civilian Terrence Augustine, 40, being slapped and taken away in a police car during an incident at St Margaret's Junction, Claxton Bay, on Independence Day last Friday.
Augustine was charged with resisting arrest, assaulting PC Richard Kishore and using insulting language.
He appeared in court on Monday and was granted $20,000 bail.
Augustine, a building contractor, told the Express on Wednesday he did nothing to provoke the attack and the slap had left him with blurred vision and unable to work.
His attorney, Cedric Neptune, told the Express yesterday he was preparing to serve a pre-action protocol letter on the State, alleging that Augustine was wrongfully arrested, maliciously prosecuted, and that he be compensated for the assault and battery and breach of his constitutional rights.
Augustine also plans to file a criminal counter charge against the officer for assault. Told of the recommendation of the Professional Standards Unit, Neptune said: "This was an unprovoked and unacceptable attack on this man, and we are surprised that the officer has not been suspended already."

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2012, 3:54 pm

I rell jelly rastaman now. Stewps. That impending punitive damages looking rell bess

Postby Hook » September 7th, 2012, 4:15 pm

What are their names? Up to now, nobody call names and regimental numbers.

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2012, 4:20 pm

Pc richard kishore was apparently 'assaulted' by the rasta. So I'm assuming that he's the police that done it. Doh tell meh u wanna drag the young police in it too bai hook. Yuh wicked dan

Postby Hook » September 7th, 2012, 4:41 pm

He was there, he did nothing, he is an accessory to the crime.

Postby rfari » September 7th, 2012, 4:43 pm

Young police eh even have a pot belly yet dan. Oh goaar have a heart nah hook :(

kiran8977

Postby kiran8977 » September 7th, 2012, 4:50 pm

you know d ironic thing about this is that d rasta man didn't call d man an idiot .....................he was just passing

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » September 7th, 2012, 6:38 pm

if ever im confronted by any police, my camera will automatically come out (yes i no is not evidence) and speed dial lawyer. i am not taking any chances with these arrogant ignorant police who will want to abuse my lil indian tail cuz they feel they can.