The_Honourable wrote:This is nothing to do with race baiters.
The PNM are not obligated to make a statement but it is needed. What i sense instead is that buffers are sent out encouraging their supporters to run around like headless chicken with their propaganda and conspiracy theories on radio approx 6 months before general elections instead of telling your supporters what are the facts and the position on the matter. Once is PP bashing, the pnm don't have to say anything at all.
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:This is nothing to do with race baiters.
The PNM are not obligated to make a statement but it is needed. What i sense instead is that buffers are sent out encouraging their supporters to run around like headless chicken with their propaganda and conspiracy theories on radio approx 6 months before general elections instead of telling your supporters what are the facts and the position on the matter. Once is PP bashing, the pnm don't have to say anything at all.
Dude you bouncing from pillar to post trying to implicate PNM even when you agree that they are silent. I expect that from ZR not from you.
Many supporters of the PP call in Morning Panchayat, Ground Report and Maha Sabha Strikes Back and express views that they are free to have as independent citizens. That doesn't mean that PP is responsible for their statements.
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:This is nothing to do with race baiters.
Dude you bouncing from pillar to post trying to implicate PNM even when you agree that they are silent. I expect that from ZR not from you.
Many supporters of the PP call in Morning Panchayat, Ground Report and Maha Sabha Strikes Back and express views that they are free to have as independent citizens. That doesn't mean that PP is responsible for their statements.
orangefox wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:orangefox, where are you from honestly?
Why the interest ?
Why does it matter ?
Comment and move on.
‘Absurd and dangerous’
By JANELLE DE SOUZA Wednesday, December 10 2014
ATTORNEY GENERAL Anand Ramlogan, responding yesterday in the Senate to allegations of racial profiling in the Immigration Department following the deportation last weekend of 11 Africans, defended law enforcement agencies and described such allegations as, “absurd and dangerous.”
On the deportation of 11 African nationals last Sunday, Emancipation Support Committee (ESC) head Khafra Kambon claimed the Immigration Division unfairly targetted Africans for deportation.
Kambon also called on Government to establish an Independent Review Committee to examine the details of illegal immigrants’ cases.
But speaking during debate yesterday in the Senate, Attorney General Ramlogan refuted these claims. He stated, according to Immigration records from 2010 to now, the highest number of illegal immigrants deported are from Guyana at 41.8 percent or 734 persons.
The next highest number of deportees were from Jamaica at 18.5 percent, followed by other Caribbean countries at 11.4 percent, Asia at 10.2 percent, Central and South America at 6.5 percent and other CARICOM countries at 5.7 percent. Africa was seventh on the list at four percent or 70 deportees.
“We have a tendency in Trinidad and Tobago to call upon the law enforcement authorities to do their duty and enforce the law. Yet having called upon them so to do, when they enforce the law and take action, the very same people come now and criticise and condemn the law enforcement officers,” Ramlogan said.
The Attorney General added that the “latest trend” is to claim racial or religious profiling whenever someone is arrested. He said it was high time to stop such “hypocritical behaviour” and allow the police and other law enforcement officials to do their jobs.
He referenced the many protests in the United States over that country’s grand jury decision not to indict a white police officer, Darren Wilson, for the shooting death of unarmed black teenager Michael Brown, on August 9 in Ferguson, Missouri.
The grand jury’s decision triggered major protests in Ferguson with persons setting fire to cars, breaking into and looting stores and hundreds engaging in street protests.
Ramlogan accused such persons making and/or perpetuating claims of racial profiling in local arrests and deportations of trying to light a social flame that may very well not be controlled on the heels of the events in Ferguson.
He added, the statistics showed that the claims of discrimination were “arrant nonsense.”
“The figures and statistics show that we must reject outright that kind of nonsense, and that kind of absurd allegation against the Government of Trinidad and Tobago... It is mischievous, malicious and very dangerous in a society such as ours,” Ramlogan said.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,204053.html
richgold1000 wrote:orangefox wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:orangefox, where are you from honestly?
Why the interest ?
Why does it matter ?
Comment and move on.
They should all go back. We have a lot of trinis who need work. Why should they cut into that.
SR wrote:Immigration officials need to take a walk down charlotte st on a friday and do spot checks...... same for central market let them start doing their jobs instead of sitting in bars ar 7am in the morning in pos
richgold1000 wrote:orangefox wrote:hustla_ambition101 wrote:orangefox, where are you from honestly?
Why the interest ?
Why does it matter ?
Comment and move on.
They should all go back. We have a lot of trinis who need work. Why should they cut into that.
Dizzy28 wrote: Why is there so much vacancies in the services sector (albeit at low levels) if there are a lot of Trinis who need work. If they truly need work work is there for them.
Businessmen and farmers will say otherwise. Why is there so much vacancies in the services sector (albeit at low levels) if there are a lot of Trinis who need work.
Dizzy28 wrote:but you cant blame a businessman for paying what the law prescribes.
Dizzy28 wrote:It is also up to Trinidadians to up their skills and abilities so that they do not even have to contemplate minimum wage labour to start with.
Dizzy28 wrote:but you cant blame a businessman for paying what the law prescribes.
Dizzy28 wrote:It is also up to Trinidadians to up their skills and abilities so that they do not even have to contemplate minimum wage labour to start with.
RASC wrote:Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:This is nothing to do with race baiters.
That is why I have to ask this person if he's a communist.
Because clearly living in a democracy is too much freedom for him to swallow.
The PNM nor the PP doesn't have to do jack $#1t to quell statements being made by their supporters. He wants to make it seem like the PNM must be some over arching nanny state. The PNM fought for our independence and freedoms plus our ability to say what we want and/or feel.
Stop trying to take us back with your rhetoric. Ppl on both sides say foolishness 24/7. Must the PP issue a statement for the racist ZR or UML also for all the propaganda they consistently spread? Please. Get real.
Dizzy28 wrote:^ So what do you think is a a fair salary for the person that's working for the who made the initial investment and took all the risks to start up a business??
Dizzy28 wrote:If you have a problem with minimum wage take it up with you MP and let him carry it before Parliament to debate.
88sins wrote:Dizzy28 wrote:If you have a problem with minimum wage take it up with you MP and let him carry it before Parliament to debate.
where did you see me post I have a problem with minimum wage? my initial point states that businessmen are usually more than happy to pay their staff as little as possible & try to avoid paying qualified persons salaries commensurate to their qualifications, skill level or expected production output.
If that is how you interpret what I posted, & your response is your position, then i regret to inform you that the educational system of T&T has failed you.
Ask Santa for some West Indian Reader books & start over from scratch
88sins wrote:Minimum wage is currently $15/hr
A internationally accepted standard work week is 8 hrs/day x 5 days a week=40hrs/week x $15/hr=TT$600.00/week
Then deduct NIS & H/Surcharge from that, at a rate of $24.20 & $8.25 respectively & you wind up with a net income of $567.55/week.
Good luck trying to find somebody who might be willing tpo try living on that.
So doh be bashing Trinis when businessmen saying they can't find labor. Many of them really mean they can't find a jackass to ride
The_Honourable wrote:RASC wrote:Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:This is nothing to do with race baiters.
That is why I have to ask this person if he's a communist.
Because clearly living in a democracy is too much freedom for him to swallow.
The PNM nor the PP doesn't have to do jack $#1t to quell statements being made by their supporters. He wants to make it seem like the PNM must be some over arching nanny state. The PNM fought for our independence and freedoms plus our ability to say what we want and/or feel.
Stop trying to take us back with your rhetoric. Ppl on both sides say foolishness 24/7. Must the PP issue a statement for the racist ZR or UML also for all the propaganda they consistently spread? Please. Get real.
Freedom for supporters to spread propaganda and untruths because it benefits you and your party? ok fine sir. No wonder the country not going anywhere![]()
Back to the topic tho. Since the stats come out, Kafra Kambon should stop now with this race card BS and wait till emancipation as usual to collect a check from the government.
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable the UNC should apologise for your views.
RASC wrote:
You've totally missed the point of democracy and freedoms of expression.
Every morning there are wackjobs on conservative radio in the united states, who preach divisiveness , undercover racism and Ancient belief systems based on religious text on the radio ALL in the name of the GOP- Does the republican party then every week have to release an official nationwide publication distancing themselves from these clowns? Or vice versa... For the democrats-loony toon liberals talking about levitating, taking multiple husbands and why congress must legalize the right for our children to be taught about the joys of gay marriage in school at an early age-do you think the democrats must then issue an apology distancing themselves from this?
Get it through your skull...ANYONE is legally allowed to support ANY party and hold ANY view on society and how it should be run under the banner of such party WITHOUT the constant monitoring and nanny state policing of the leadership of this party-because actions speak louder than words and democracy allows for such fringe mindsets to exist without fear of persecution.
Anything other than that is NOT DEMOCRACY!! What you are preaching is ANTI DEMOCRACY... A one way trip to North Korea will suit you just fine if this is the world you seek to live in!!
The_Honourable wrote:I'm not saying the PNM are responsible for their statements.
The_Honourable wrote:You still not addressing the part of parties allowing their supporters to spread propaganda because it benefits them which i highly suspect the PNM is doing with this current issue and what PP has done in the past... but i'm a communist ok cool.