*The OFFICIAL-Men's hair grooming THREAD*

Humes

Re: *The OFFICIAL-Men's hair grooming THREAD*

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2010, 9:54 am

So like I am the only man here who does maintain a baldhead with the Magic Powder?

Real simple:

- Make a semi-liquid paste with the powder and some tap water.
- Apply paste liberally to wherever you want to shave.
- Wait about 10 minutes.
- Dampen if it hardens.
- Scrape off with butter knife or similar instrument.

It pulls the hair right out and gives you a smooth shave that lasts a few days.

I thinking about getting the laser/electro-whatever thing done so my hair won't grow back at all.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 17th, 2010, 9:55 am

Look this chick review it. :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 17th, 2010, 10:41 am

I've been going to the same hairdresser for 20 years and I'm happy with that
as for shaving...razor & shaving cream DIY is fine

Have had a straight razor shave a few times...and yeah, its very good...but not so good that i'd leave my house to get one from someone else

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 17th, 2010, 11:03 am

Used to pay $10 for a hair cut and $40 for Titsintheface. I cutting my own hair for about 6 months now and de wifey does clean the back ah mih head fuh me. So now I get cutntits for free:)

I using the Oster razor from Exellent Stores and I find it better than the others as it is sturdier and made of metal not palstic so less vibrations.

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2010, 11:29 am

Bareback wrote:
I using the Oster razor from Exellent Stores and I find it better than the others as it is sturdier and made of metal not palstic so less vibrations.

I have a vidal sassoon cordless titanium kit. I find it to be on the cheap side, and the battery has lost the ability to keep its charge for long periods. Saw a WOHL kit on amazon. Thinking of stepping up to that.

Pricemart selling WOHL kits right? Anyone using them?

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » December 18th, 2010, 2:42 am

Back in Jr sec (93-94) I cut my own hair before going to Faiz by the Mosque on El Socorro.. I had a "mop" hair style back in those days with long curly hair on top hanging over ah #1 fade.. 2 mirrors and ah chair in the yard was all I needed :lol: I ain't so brave these days though :lol:

I have my Andis T-outliner over 10yrs now and it still wokin like new... Ah just replace the blade a few months ago after so long.

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 18th, 2010, 9:43 am

I usually give myself a mark and shave, take care of the sides, my little uni-brow sprouts I get rid of them, make sure the middle evenly spaced, take off any unwanted hair around the top of my eyebrows, to the ends and not much under them. Got quite a few cuts learning to do this with a wilkinson razor blade alone.

The hardest for me was to keep both sides even and get the area behind my ears.. On travel I use a panasonic shaver for the heavy stuff and a wilkinson blade mated to one of those safety shavers like this

Usually takes 20mins or so for a full mark, eyebrow clean up and shave, saves me the 20euro price by the shops

Humes

Postby Humes » December 18th, 2010, 4:51 pm

Wow, pios...wow.

Postby RASC » December 18th, 2010, 5:02 pm

Humes you real like bait ent? :lol:

Humes

Postby Humes » December 18th, 2010, 5:07 pm

Only my personal mastery of it.

Recommended electric shavers

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2011, 8:59 am

Looking to buy an electric shaver and wanted to know what type worked best for those of you that have. So post hair type, shaver brand, type, place of purchase and if you recommend shaving

Hair type - Curly hair
Brand Shaver - Remington
Type - Straight foil
Bought At - Super Pharm

Notes
For persons with curly hair that suffer from ingrown hairs i would avoid this shaver
Last edited by nemisis on March 21st, 2011, 1:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Recommended electric shavers

Postby RBphoto » March 21st, 2011, 10:22 am

To shave what?

Jack the Ripper

Postby Jack the Ripper » March 21st, 2011, 11:07 am

crossdrilled wrote:To shave what?

Hairy clams?

Postby nemisis » March 21st, 2011, 11:10 am

You can specify in the notes but if no location quoted take it too mean shaving your beard and not your nuts

Postby cinco » March 21st, 2011, 11:12 am

i like to get them before the hair grows

Postby Bizzare » March 21st, 2011, 11:48 am

Postby RASC » March 21st, 2011, 11:53 am

Electric Shaver is the worst thing you could do to your face.

Energy0091

Tips? Ingrown hairs.

Postby Energy0091 » September 8th, 2011, 10:23 am

I have a issue. When I shave my face with a razor I get ingrown hairs. Not the serious nasty looking kind but for a person, like me it's a bother to see the bumps they cause on my face.
I used to use magic shaving powder, but got fed-up because I kept thinking, "that this powder with all these chemicals can't be safe for continuous use."(2, sometimes 3 times a week).
So I stopped shaving and each time I go to the barber, I just let him carry down the hair as low as possible, but not completely off, which would have triggered the in growing of the hairs.
My issue is that I liked a clean hair-free face and with the solution I found the hair is still visible.
For those that experience this or have even found a way around it... Do you have any tips you can share?

Re: Tips? Ingrown hairs.

Postby sharkman121 » September 8th, 2011, 10:28 am

Tend Skin!

Seeker

Postby Seeker » September 8th, 2011, 10:36 am

My question is...how often do you shave with a razor?
Is it every day, once every 2 days or 3 days??

Just like your nails, your hairs on your head and face would continue to grow no matter often you cut them. ( unless you suffer from male pattern baldness). I think the key is to cut them with a little more frequency. Thus not giving the hairs time to grow and go into your skin.

I had this problem eons ago and used magic....a complete waste of time. So I just started cutting/shaving more often and ingrown hairs went away eventually.

Also I would advise that you change razors often as the skin on your face is sensetive and used razors tend to cause problems.

Postby Bizzare » September 8th, 2011, 10:44 am

Two similar threads exist already. Has tips in those threads too. Try searching

Postby stev » September 8th, 2011, 10:46 am

'every man jack' shaving cream and after shave.

available online or at superpharm...not sure bout pennywise....works great.

Postby dougla_boy » September 8th, 2011, 10:48 am

wow....biz na trolling?

Postby Bizzare » September 8th, 2011, 10:54 am

Michael Knight...

Postby Michael Knight... » September 8th, 2011, 2:10 pm

Tend Skin is the best option.

Postby AllTrac » September 8th, 2011, 2:12 pm

how do you shave? against the hair root?

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » September 8th, 2011, 2:37 pm

rubbin alcohol on yur face, right after u shave...

it gonna burn for 2 secs, but then u good to go whole day

and shave often,

Postby K74T » September 8th, 2011, 2:38 pm

Bump Patrol shave gel & aftershave

Postby BrotherHood » September 8th, 2011, 4:00 pm

Tend Skin. Any drugstore.

tarzan

Postby tarzan » September 8th, 2011, 4:13 pm

what you need to do is before you shave or apply shaving cream soak your face with hot/warm
water and then after shaving soak your face with cold water.....the hot water opens your pores and makes facial hair softer and easier to shave