Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

drchaos

Re: Mid Year Review of 2015/16 Budget April 8 2016

Postby drchaos » April 11th, 2016, 12:53 pm

We all know that buying a car from toyota is like taking a casual stroll thru morvant ... its highly likely that you will get robbed.

Nothing new here

boxy

Postby boxy » April 11th, 2016, 5:24 pm

drchaos wrote:
Miktay wrote:
boxy wrote:
lostboys crew wrote:Blah blah all this beat up u know if 75% of drivers take the public transportation and maxis to work for a week and don't buy fuel you will see how fast they will drop fuel prices.

LOL u just solved the traffic problem for a nation that exports fossil fuel that adds to its main GDP and by extension contributing to what the maxi and taxi drivers were given concessions for. But i guess u have a distinction in Political Science and Economics from the school of ZR :drinking:
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/bus ... mazon-tax/

To all the online tax complainers even the US brick and mortar (B&M) stores have a problem with amazon and other online stores and they got their governors in random states to fix this I'm no economist but competing with the dramatic rise in online shopping hurts business owners who actually employ your brother sister cousin nephew father. Which would lead to Mittal Steel situations. Notice alot of our local retailers creating online stores?
So when you think this doesn't affect you the economy comes full circle in one way or the other.
I hate the tax just like everyone else but guess what I hate the IMF even more. Think Jamaica and where there currency sitting and why their citizens would rather come here and work in the jobs we dont want because CEPEP and URP.

In the grand scheme of things iz it better to protect a few hundred/thousand local bidnezz at the expense of the majority of 1.3 million ppl?

Hes does't understand how a free market works, Venezuela killed their free market for food distribution and now they have no food.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recessio ... ublished=t

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 11th, 2016, 8:10 pm

Trinis have the belief that Toyota is superior to everything else. They watch a top gear video of the indestructible Hilux and deem Toyota to be the master race, never mind that Hilux was a 1992 model. Therefore Toyota charge the highest we are willing to pay.

Postby desifemlove » April 11th, 2016, 9:34 pm

desifemlove wrote:6/10 for the report.

no rapid rail is fine, but then no new solution for traffic managment/less road traffic? no bus routes? why not a priority bus route from north to south? or a CNG bus-way between town, Piarco airport, and grande?

any plans for foreign manfacturing? what about incentives for the ICT sector to expand, export?

The solution should be raising taxes, privatising state bodies, lessening state spending, and structural reform. half of this has been done, more needs to be. like FCB, sell half of the state holding to place in the sovereign fund. part-privatise UTT,

I see that you are now seeing the light.

I explained governments need to get rid of state bodies long ago. State bodies are useless and with very little production coming from them.
This country has too many useless state bodies.

there is no light, it's just common sense fiscal policy.

toyota2nr

Vehicle taxes

Postby toyota2nr » April 12th, 2016, 6:47 pm

Does anyone know what is the new tax structure for vehicles given the increase in taxes charged by the government.

Wanna import a 2 liter vehicle. Would it be subject to the new tax or the old one.

novastar1

Re: Vehicle taxes

Postby novastar1 » April 12th, 2016, 7:50 pm

2L should be unchanged
Most 2l engines are really 1.96 or 1.99 litres

Postby bluefete » April 21st, 2016, 3:17 pm

originalbling wrote:
W2J wrote:
bluefete wrote:
W2J wrote:
TriniAutoMart wrote:7% tax on internet shopping/online purchases for foreign goods not taxed locally
To take effect from Sept 2016

Increased taxes on alcohol and tobacco products

Increased taxes on luxury vehicles by 50%

Super is now $3.58
Diesel is now $2.00

what is considered Internet shopping? Amazon and Ebay?

Well, duh!!!!!!!!!!!!!

is it limited to Amazon and Ebay only? how are they going to determine if something was purchase via the internet? or does it mean every time I use my credit card for foreign purchases I get charged 7%

maybe this...
iirc didnt RBC a few years ago wanted to charge a service fee or something for non local transactions using your credit card but they rescinded after customers complained.

Well short man did say 'on-line shopping'. But yuh know hpw the PNM does move and lie - dat cud cover anything!

Miktay

Postby Miktay » April 21st, 2016, 3:44 pm

boxy wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Miktay wrote:
boxy wrote:
lostboys crew wrote:Blah blah all this beat up u know if 75% of drivers take the public transportation and maxis to work for a week and don't buy fuel you will see how fast they will drop fuel prices.

LOL u just solved the traffic problem for a nation that exports fossil fuel that adds to its main GDP and by extension contributing to what the maxi and taxi drivers were given concessions for. But i guess u have a distinction in Political Science and Economics from the school of ZR :drinking:
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/bus ... mazon-tax/

To all the online tax complainers even the US brick and mortar (B&M) stores have a problem with amazon and other online stores and they got their governors in random states to fix this I'm no economist but competing with the dramatic rise in online shopping hurts business owners who actually employ your brother sister cousin nephew father. Which would lead to Mittal Steel situations. Notice alot of our local retailers creating online stores?
So when you think this doesn't affect you the economy comes full circle in one way or the other.
I hate the tax just like everyone else but guess what I hate the IMF even more. Think Jamaica and where there currency sitting and why their citizens would rather come here and work in the jobs we dont want because CEPEP and URP.

In the grand scheme of things iz it better to protect a few hundred/thousand local bidnezz at the expense of the majority of 1.3 million ppl?

Hes does't understand how a free market works, Venezuela killed their free market for food distribution and now they have no food.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recessio ... ublished=t

gubbament apologist...steups

If u wah give up comfort...gwan live in the bush...w/no current and running wata...

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » April 25th, 2016, 1:06 pm

So apparently there has been a moratorium on the luxury vehicle tax.
http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/moratorium-luxury-tax

Postby pete » April 25th, 2016, 1:55 pm

Yet no indication of what they are increasing the duties on alcohol to. I wonder if this same type of moratorium would be given to people who have shipments of alcohol on the way.

Postby eliteauto » April 25th, 2016, 2:59 pm

TriniAutoMart wrote:So apparently there has been a moratorium on the luxury vehicle tax.
http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/moratorium-luxury-tax

interesting considering all the places I went on Sat were quoting increased prices. I wonder who called that shot?

Postby pete » April 25th, 2016, 6:03 pm

That's the thing. It should be based on what the supplier paid as its a tax. Maybe they had stock bonded that they probably wouldn't be able to sell at the new rate. If they do get the concession how do we know if it's passed on to the consumer or if they just absorb it as profit?