Re: T&T National Budget 2018-2019

Postby redmanjp » October 5th, 2018, 10:16 am

Budget debate

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 5th, 2018, 1:15 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Redress10 wrote:So we straight up refusing to pay the actual price for goods and services now.

Fuel prices didn't go "up". Some of the subsidy was removed.

Where the money suppose to come to pay for the subsidy?

The reason trinis can't riot for this is because this isn't a demand and supply situation. In other countries their prices are set my market forces so the "riot" is the market responding to the new price causing the price to decrease. Why that so hard for you all to understand.

You've been paying an artificially decreased price for all these years and have the nerve to talk about "rioting". Fork outta here with that logic.

Here's the thing. I'm not really opposed to removing the subsidy. I agree that ideally we should be paying market price. What I really have a problem with is the way it is being done.

1. Fuel price has a major impact on our economy. Every time it raises, inflation goes up. You have an economy based around certain prices for goods and services. Those prices get increased with each raise in fuel but wages stagnated. The price of everything going up but the amount most people earning is not.

2. A lot of public transport relies on super gas. Only buses and maxis use diesel and they only travel in major travel routes. The vast majority of minor public transport routes are done by privately owned (H or PH) cars. The price of fuel directly impacts the cost of this transport which directly impacts the daily cost of travel for lots of people.

3. They also raising taxes on a lot of other things. So people paying already paying more for everything, earning the same amount and they want to charge people even more again.

4. Public transport is still total crap. They are trying their hardest to make it harder to own a vehicle by raising taxes but not fixing the public transport system. Lots of people don't bother owning vehicles in countries where public transport is affordable and reliable.

5. An additional slap in the face is the fact that they are burdening the population with a lot of the repercussions of their decisions but they are isolated from the repercussions themselves. They not saying "we" have to tighten our belt. It's more of a "tighten allyuh belt cuz we need more money again". They don't use public transport, they don't use their own cars everyday, they don't pay for gas, they are exempt from a lot of the taxes we pay.... they don't even sit down in traffic like the rest of us. PBR and police escort right through. Then they doing other fiscally irresponsible crap like spending money to finish a stadium when a brand new hospital ready to be opened right up the road and people complaining about out healthcare system for years and doctors complaining about unavailability of jobs. They don't even use our public healthcare system. Our tax dollars being used to fly them out for treatment. Didn't something like $1,000,000 get spent on Cuffie or something? When he had a stroke or something. I could be wrong. Somebody correct me there.

With that said. One good thing that both sides have been working on (minus all the corruption involved) is decentralising POS. You can solve a lot of traffic problems by removing the reason to travel in the first place.

I just find it funny that they make decisions that impact the lives of all of us but make sure that through the use of our tax dollars they are always insulated from the same effects.

TL:DR The removal of the fuel subsidy is part of a larger problem of them creating more problems before implementing ways to cushion the effects of it all while making sure that they set up themselves comfortably.

Food for thought. Correct me where I am wrong and I will update what I said.

P.S. Also, this might come as a surprise to people that didn't do CXC maths but the majority of people in the country can't afford to buy a Hilix, or a new car, or play carnival or call a bottle every time they go to a bar. A lot of people traveling and have kids and struggling and probably buying a 2 stale carib when they can afford to actually lime. If you waiting for the Hilux crew to start struggling before you admit that a lot of people already have things hard then you need to open up your eyes some more.Not you specifically eh Redress... just people with that opinion.

Another excellent post, Slartibartfast. Well put together and chock full with logic and reason. It was approximately $2.5 million dollars spent on Maxie Cuffie's medical expenses, for correction. Outside of that, I agree 100% with everything you said.

Mr President

Postby Mr President » October 5th, 2018, 2:37 pm

Out of ideas. The country in general seems to be running out of viable options to diversify. We have been hearing the same things for years with not much new innovative solutions being put forth. Tourism, manufacturing, marinas are good but pale in comparison to oil and specifically gas.

We have the perfect demographics and natural resources to churn profitable budgets. At least strides are being made towards that goal... after decades of public service thrift.

Luckily oil and gas are here for a while and today's profits will relegate yesterday's losses if a proper long term business model can be established. The redistribution of wealth should come from the profits that we are able to generate rather from our own..

supernedd

Postby supernedd » October 5th, 2018, 6:45 pm

INHUMAN wrote:
pugboy wrote:Well he didn't tax mas or boat rides
Or jordans, tiida, kfc, johnsons baby powder and brazilian horsehair.
yes the important stuff .

Postby maj. tom » October 5th, 2018, 8:05 pm

any of allyuh ever drive down the Southern Main Road from Curepe? At night? Jeezus the state of that road is like they could film a Top Gear Challenge episode on it. I couldn't believe it was so bad, really appalling state of that infrastructure.

Where the taxes going?!

Postby bluefete » October 5th, 2018, 8:31 pm

Imbutts, Growley, Roundabout, Tantie Kams, Sewage, Smiley, Rastaman are all multi-millionaires. Moneylal is a billionaire. They are not affected by any rise in gas prices. They do not care who is affected as long as they are not.

In the meanwhile, taxi-drivers and the middle to lower classes - suck salt and shut up.

Redress10: TL:DR The removal of the fuel subsidy is part of a larger problem of them creating more problems before implementing ways to cushion the effects of it all while making sure that they set up themselves comfortably.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 5th, 2018, 8:37 pm

maj. tom wrote:any of allyuh ever drive down the Southern Main Road from Curepe? At night? Jeezus the state of that road is like they could film a Top Gear Challenge episode on it. I couldn't believe it was so bad, really appalling state of that infrastructure.

Where the taxes going?!

Into the pockets of the politicians and select contractors.

Postby The_Honourable » October 5th, 2018, 9:05 pm

For those who interested, Roger Hosein and Mariano Browne at the Gasparillo Chamber of Commerce earlier tonight. Eye opening stuff.

RH presentation:

Q&A1:

Q&A2:

MB presentation:

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 6th, 2018, 11:00 pm

FB_IMG_1538876105920.jpeg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » October 6th, 2018, 11:08 pm

Question. Might be a little obvious to some, but i looking for a summary.

Why do the fiscal appropriation bill and the budget statement always contain such vastly different budget estimations?

http://www.ttparliament.org/legislations/b2018h18g.pdf
versus
https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... AL-WEB.pdf

43.6b vs 51.7b
Is it that the former is solely from the consolidated fund and the latter from EVERYTHING including the consolidated fund?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2018, 12:25 am

Who more corrupt the PNM or the UNC?

INHUMAN

Postby INHUMAN » October 7th, 2018, 1:09 am

Unc maybe by a margin but pnm schupid by a landslide.

Postby matr1x » October 7th, 2018, 7:50 am

Unc does more surface corruption. Pnm is deep rooted corruption.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2018, 7:56 am

So the question remains...which hunter allyuh go vote for

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 7th, 2018, 8:32 am

INHUMAN wrote:Unc maybe by a margin but pnm schupid by a landslide.

I think this sums it up perfectly.

As hard as it may seem to swallow all that corruption under UNC atleast their corruption is efficient so we all get to live and eat ah food. Under PNM them so dotish only the 1% get to eat ah food and all ah we dead.

Out of every politician that ran this country, Panday had by far the most efficient corruption we got real value for our dollar under his corruption, how I wish for those days to return. Now is hundreds of billions being spent and we just heading down the deep end of a latrine.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » October 7th, 2018, 10:53 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
INHUMAN wrote:Unc maybe by a margin but pnm schupid by a landslide.

I think this sums it up perfectly.

As hard as it may seem to swallow all that corruption under UNC atleast their corruption is efficient so we all get to live and eat ah food. Under PNM them so dotish only the 1% get to eat ah food and all ah we dead.

Out of every politician that ran this country, Panday had by far the most efficient corruption we got real value for our dollar under his corruption, how I wish for those days to return. Now is hundreds of billions being spent and we just heading down the deep end of a latrine.

Or, how about we as a people, take a little break from the tribal politics and stand up and demand accountability from the politicians that are voted in by us, said people? Remember when both Cabinet AND Opposition agreed to not have their packages touched?? If nothing else was to be agreed upon, they found common ground on that. What does that tell you? I know corruption is ingrained into our society but I (quite naively, I guess) never realised how bad it was such that we'd rather less corruption or more people-friendly corruption such that 'we all get to live and eat ah food' as opposed to zero corruption or 'if I only think about corruption, my arse is going to get locked up' kind of corruption. How about that?

But then again, this is the Ole Talk Thread so, I'm only fooling myself.

WarrLordd

Postby WarrLordd » October 7th, 2018, 2:24 pm

To this day I still asking schupid pnm supporters how was kamla corrupted and the only answer from each person was she thief money for Indian people then how come she not in jail and is still the leader of the opposition and yet growley spending like rain on stupidness by the treasury supposedly empty.

Postby Morpheus » October 7th, 2018, 8:49 pm

WarrLordd wrote:To this day I still asking schupid pnm supporters how was kamla corrupted and the only answer from each person was she thief money for Indian people then how come she not in jail and is still the leader of the opposition and yet growley spending like rain on stupidness by the treasury supposedly empty.
Don't be fooled by the Treasury Empty nonsense. PP said the same thing in 2010 about the Manning administration. Don't be fooled. They both have the same sad story.

Same with Crime Plans.......but that is another story

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 7th, 2018, 9:11 pm

Morpheus wrote:
WarrLordd wrote:To this day I still asking schupid pnm supporters how was kamla corrupted and the only answer from each person was she thief money for Indian people then how come she not in jail and is still the leader of the opposition and yet growley spending like rain on stupidness by the treasury supposedly empty.
Don't be fooled by the Treasury Empty nonsense. PP said the same thing in 2010 about the Manning administration. Don't be fooled. They both have the same sad story.

Same with Crime Plans.......but that is another story

Coming closer to the next general....pp gonna sing the treasury empty song real plenty

Postby Morpheus » October 7th, 2018, 9:13 pm

^^You know de damn thing self. I am so in awe of how people forget conveniently and put their head on a block for these two jokey parties

Postby Slartibartfast » October 8th, 2018, 4:51 pm

Joshie23 wrote:Another excellent post, Slartibartfast. Well put together and chock full with logic and reason. It was approximately $2.5 million dollars spent on Maxie Cuffie's medical expenses, for correction. Outside of that, I agree 100% with everything you said.
Thanks. I'm not as informed on many of the issues as other tuners but I try.

They not wrong about corruption in the previous government though. The cognitive dissonance regarding PNM is laughable though.

People need to realise that both parties have dirty hands. Plain talk, bad manner; if you are a supporter of any political party then you are an idiot. No two ways about it. We elect officials to properly manage the assets of this country to the benefit of all. We all give them a cut of our income (taxes) towards that goal. There is no room for loyalty here. It's either you doing the job well or not. If not, then you should not be supported.

The most frustrating thing about being in this country is the fact that there is a majority that does not get that (not saying WarrLordd is one). This country have too many idiots.

Postby wagonrunner » December 18th, 2018, 4:06 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:Serious talk though. Is there any subsidy left? Also, if there is a drop in oil price will we feel a drop at the pump if there is no subsidy?

I'm just waiting for next year when they start to tax it.
Can't remember which pnm politician said on CNC3 recently that it's a misconception that falling crude prices = cheaper fuel prices :|

we no longer producing, do the excuses he had at the time still make sense?

budget projections were on $64/barrel. everyone there nuder $60 and falling.. The avg US gas price in florida is US$2.23 / gallon about TT$1.31 / liter.
https://oilprice.com/

Postby MG Man » December 18th, 2018, 4:22 pm

you so cute when you use logic to make sense of assness

supernedd

Postby supernedd » December 18th, 2018, 5:40 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
Joshie23 wrote:Another excellent post, Slartibartfast. Well put together and chock full with logic and reason. It was approximately $2.5 million dollars spent on Maxie Cuffie's medical expenses, for correction. Outside of that, I agree 100% with everything you said.
Thanks. I'm not as informed on many of the issues as other tuners but I try.

They not wrong about corruption in the previous government though. The cognitive dissonance regarding PNM is laughable though.

People need to realise that both parties have dirty hands. Plain talk, bad manner; if you are a supporter of any political party then you are an idiot. No two ways about it. We elect officials to properly manage the assets of this country to the benefit of all. We all give them a cut of our income (taxes) towards that goal. There is no room for loyalty here. It's either you doing the job well or not. If not, then you should not be supported.

The most frustrating thing about being in this country is the fact that there is a majority that does not get that (not saying WarrLordd is one). This country have too many idiots.
Preach preach..

Postby Ben_spanna » August 21st, 2019, 7:34 am

So alllyuh ready ???? eet coming ..nobody aint riot yet he quoted! be prepared to pay more for Diesel … wait for it...…. AND additional import duties on diesel engine parts ……………...

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2019, 7:55 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So alllyuh ready ???? eet coming ..nobody aint riot yet he quoted! be prepared to pay more for Diesel … wait for it...…. AND additional import duties on diesel engine parts ……………...
People got what they voted for

Postby Slartibartfast » August 21st, 2019, 8:29 am

Ben_spanna wrote:So alllyuh ready ???? eet coming ..nobody aint riot yet he quoted! be prepared to pay more for Diesel … wait for it...…. AND additional import duties on diesel engine parts ……………...
And the other 70% of Trinidad and Tobago?

Postby zoom rader » August 21st, 2019, 8:58 am

Slartibartfast wrote:
And the other 70% of Trinidad and Tobago?
The SILENT majority does not count.

Postby The_Honourable » August 21st, 2019, 9:13 am

Election budget... all that money Imbert borrow gonna spend.