The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 4th, 2010, 8:40 pm

Apple will reportedly begin shipping its rumored tablet in March for about $1000, according to the WSJ.

While the shipping time hasn't been finalized and could change, people briefed on the matter said the new tablet device will come with a 10- to 11-inch touch screen. One of the people briefed on the matter added that Apple was working on two different material finishes for the tablet, though it was unclear whether the Cupertino, Calif., company was just testing them or planning to come out with multiple versions of the device at different prices.

The articles notes that analysts believe the device will cost about $1,000, possibly including a subscription to a nationwide Wi-Fi wireless service.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 4th, 2010, 8:43 pm

In a brief report [Google translation], French site Mac4Ever claims that Apple’s special media event now reportedly scheduled for January 27th will see both the introduction of the company’s much-rumored tablet device and the launch of beta versions of iPhone OS 4.0 and the associated Software Development Kit for developers.

According to the report, the SDK will include a “simulatorâ€

Postby M_2NR » January 4th, 2010, 11:48 pm

i think that iSlate/plate/table/touchy thing will be pretty awesome.
Trinifieds wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:Just thank got u got a untethered JB. New 3GS's are tethered like the 3G itouch.

With my 3GS it is a tethered jailbreak so when my phone turns off I have to look for a PC to restart it :(

oh sheit! sorry to hear bro :(

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » January 5th, 2010, 1:10 pm

I got a 2G Iphone, running software version 3.1.2 it was a phone out of Canada and it was using a Rogers sim.

I will like to get it unlocked, but the Quickpwn keeps telling me the firmware is not supported, that is on the phone...

can anyone offer any type of assistance.

thanks. :(

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2010, 2:34 pm

ray786 wrote:I got a 2G Iphone, running software version 3.1.2 it was a phone out of Canada and it was using a Rogers sim.

I will like to get it unlocked, but the Quickpwn keeps telling me the firmware is not supported, that is on the phone...

I take it that the phone is locked to Rogers as they sell iPhones.

try this - but its for Mac only
http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=4255

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 5th, 2010, 7:16 pm

Hey guys I tried to access my itunes on my phone today and the phone stopped and stuck..

Naturally I pressed the home button but got no response for about 30seconds, at which time I proceeded to shut down the phone.. It however stuck on the shut-down screen and not responding..

THe phone is working as far as I could tell because the time changes/the service bars move and the battery is dieing slowly..

Whats wrong/can be done?

Thanks..

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 5th, 2010, 8:45 pm

^ did you do hard reboot? hold down the home and sleep/wake

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 5th, 2010, 8:51 pm

^^ It went into safe mode for itself saying springboard had crashed..

It says charging whilst connected to my PC via the dock but the actual battery icon is still red..

Wall plug?

Postby M_2NR » January 5th, 2010, 11:20 pm

@Kurpal
can you use it once it unjacked?

ray786 wrote:I got a 2G Iphone, running software version 3.1.2 it was a phone out of Canada and it was using a Rogers sim.

Similar to what duane said, except, you aint need a mac :mrgreen:

Bootneuter is a cydia app. Sad thing is u gotta use blackra1n to jailbreak it and then go in cydia and use it.
Follow this guide:
http://iphonehelp.in/2009/11/07/steps-t ... ootneuter/

Yes i did this recently to one straight from Apple :)

ray d saint

Postby ray d saint » January 6th, 2010, 8:08 am

^^ thanks, will try dat today!!

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2010, 10:38 am

ray786 wrote:^^ thanks, will try dat today!!

one thing. when using bootneuter, take off autolock so u can see whats going on and so that it may not hault the process. Leave it and dont home/exit out once it is doing something. ;)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 6th, 2010, 4:27 pm

Will a CDMA-iPhone ever see the light of the day? Rumors about Apple partnering with Verizon in the launch of a new CDMA iPhone have been floating around for a long time.

In fact, Verizon was supposedly the first carrier Apple spoke to and the agreement with AT&T happened only after discussions with Verizon fell apart due to disagreements over pricing.

The situation it appears, has not changed much since then. After fresh speculations over a Verizon-Apple partnership appeared late last year, it appears that the discussions had not moved forward yet again due to pricing issues

In a note to investors, Maynard Um of UBS Investment Research has said that while a new CDMA-iPhone is definitely in the works for a mid-2010 release, doubts remain about Verizon partnering in the launch. Um says that in that scenario, the CDMA iPhone could make its debut in countries like Japan and China where Apple could be partnering with local CDMA networks.

While Um's statements are interesting, they are not exactly new. Last November, we heard reports of possible agreements signed between Apple and Taiwanese manufacturer Pegatron for the manufacture of hybrid iPhones - devices that will work on both CDMA2000 as well as UMTS 3G networks. These handsets were rumored to launch in Q3 2010. While Verizon is said to have expressed interest in partnering with Apple on this initiative, the problem it appears is because Apple has not relented to Verizon's pricing demands so far.

Apparently, this is also the reason why Verizon had opted to partner with Android devices like the Motorola Droid which are much more open. Folks at AppleInsider note that the average selling price of an iPhone is close to $700 while that of Motorola Droid is only around $450. This stands to explain the subsidy that AT&T has been offering to Apple on iPhones, something that Verizon is least likely to emulate.

---

Leading microprocessor manufacturer ARM Holdings have unveiled their next generation of mobile processor.

The new Cortex A9 multi-core mobile processor is built on top of the popular ARM MPCore technology and is said to provide unprecedented levels of peak performance.

This news is significant for the fact that Apple is a massive ARM licensee and this particular multi-core processor technology was rumored to be made available in the earlier generation of iPhone itself. The Cortex A9 processor has excellent power efficiency - applications would be processed at close to 2Ghz, consuming less than 0.25W of power per processor.

It is worth noting that most smartphones today, including the recently launched Google Nexus One make use of ARM Cortex A8 processor. This comes at a processing speed of 1GHz. With nearly double the processing speed at more efficient power consumption rates, expect a much faster iPhone 4G that could also come with a better battery life. Folks at The iPhone Blog have indicated that this could also make it to the Apple Tablet.

If you are interested in checking out the improved performance of the Cortex A9 processor, watch the video below.

---

Hulu is developing an application for the iPhone and it is 'badass', according to the Business Insider.

The site has learned (from a plugged-in industry executive) that the Hulu app will be available within a few months, is as excellent as Hulu's website, and will work over both wi-fi and 3G.

It won't be the first Web video app for the iPhone -- CBS's TV.com app is on the market, as are Joost, i.TV and several others -- but it could be the best. Hulu's tech and design teams have demonstrated themselves as the best in the Web video industry, as everyone is now trying to emulate them. One hurdle, we assume: Because of Hulu's streaming architecture, it might not be possible to download videos to watch later, such as on the subway or an airplane.

---

BillShrink has posted a comparison chart of smartphone specifications and cost of ownership for each device over 2 years.

Take a look at the chart below. Notice that the iPhone and Droid come in at about $500-1200 more expensive than the Nexus One and Pre.

---

MuscleNerd is reporting that he has recovered the long lost source code to redsn0w and may update it to support 3.1.2.

yay, managed to recover the long lost source code to redsn0w :) ..will port it to 3.1.2FW if there's any interest (mac+win+linux)

Redsn0w is an easy to use, multi-platform, multi-device jailbreaking and unlocking tool for the iPhone 2G (original iPhone), the iPhone 3G/3GS and also the iPod touch (first and second generation). It is available for Linux, Mac OS X and Windows but has not been updated for the latest firmware.

*Update: Looks like Redsn0w will be updated and get a new boot logo feature. Take a look at the screenshot below...

*Update 2: Seems PwnageTool will be ported to Windows and Linux as well.

---

iVideoCamera a video recording application for iPhone 2G/3G has been updated to improve resolution, fps, and recording length.

Now you don't need a 3GS to record and share videos with your friends and family. Works with any 2G or 3G phone with 3.1 OS installed. Integrated video library lets you manage and keep track of saved videos. Every video is automatically saved!

Sharing Options:
• YouTube
• Facebook
• Twitter with yFrog
• Flickr Video
• Vimeo
• 12Seconds.tv
• Camera Roll Export for trimming/editing
• WiFi video sharing for over-the-air transfer to any computer with a web browser.
• FTP video transfer using your favorite FTP client.

What's New In This Version:
- 320x426 resolution in high quality mode
- longer recording (more than 15 minutes in low quality mode)
- better frame rate: 10fps in low quality mode
- more sharing features: twitter, flickr, 12 seconds, WiFi, FTP
- integrated video library, every video is saved
- green screen export issue fixed
- 'instant save' in low quality mode.. no more waiting

You can purchase iVideoCamera from the App Store for $0.99.

---

In addition to announcing a new version of Redsn0w, MuscleNerd has announced a PwnageTool port to Windows and Linux is coming as well.

When asked about PwnageTool, MuscleNerd said they "can compile now for wxwidgets for redsn0w 0.9, so pwnagetool port can be based on this"

"and so that means, pwnagetool port for windows and linux. For OSX it's all on @wizdaz of course :)"

PwnageTool lets you build custom ipsw files which can include personalized boot logos as well as automatic installation of applications.

---

Adrian Ludwig from Adobe Systems demos an early version of Flash Player 10.1 on Nexus One in a newly posted YouTube video.

You can check it out below...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 6th, 2010, 5:57 pm

Image New Facebook 3.1 adds

-Push Notifications
-Sync friends with contacts (links & pics)

Postby M_2NR » January 6th, 2010, 8:18 pm

SRASC wrote:Image New Facebook 3.1 adds

-Push Notifications

stueps but i already done that :( sigh.

-----
BMW M Power Meter

I just got a favourite app :mrgreen:

JOY IS MEASURABLE.

Driving pleasure in tenths of a second and m/s²: You drive. The BMW M Power Meter measures.

Using integrated movement sensors, your iPhone or iPod Touch can record the performance data of your driving. For example, your fastest quarter of a mile, your best 0 to 100 km/h time or your highest speed in a bend. And because the last ten results are saved, you are able to compare your performance with others.

This is how it works: you need to position your iPhone in your vehicle as described below and start the BMW Power Meter Application. Select your preferred mode: continual monitoring or acceleration to a specific speed or over a specified distance. The following data can be displayed in real time:

- Speed (mph / km/h)
– Forward acceleration (Forward g)
– Lateral acceleration (Lateral g)
– Travel time for a specified distance (e.g. 100 m)
– Acceleration to a specific speed (e.g. 0 – 200 km/h)

Measurement begins as soon as you start driving.

To ensure the measurements are as accurate as possible, please note the following:

- The vehicle must be stationary to start recording the measurements
– The measurements should be recorded on a level road without steep inclines
– The iPhone should either be upright (e.g. in a holder) or laid flat facing the exact direction you are driving in to ensure the measurements are accurate
– Once the iPhone is in place, press “Startâ€

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 7th, 2010, 4:25 pm

SRASC wrote:Image New Facebook 3.1 adds

-Push Notifications

Facebook 3.1.1 adds

-Bug fixes in address book syncing

xtech

Postby xtech » January 7th, 2010, 8:17 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:

-----
BMW M Power Meter

JOY IS MEASURABLE.

Meet mine
:roll: :roll:

www.dynolicious.com

Postby M_2NR » January 7th, 2010, 8:57 pm

xtech wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:

-----
BMW M Power Meter

JOY IS MEASURABLE.

Meet mine
:roll: :roll:

www.dynolicious.com

:lol: will check later
you ever checked the one Bez posted? iRev?
i need to get a car mount now 2sigh

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » January 8th, 2010, 1:14 am

hey ppll.. i need ur help.

Where could i buy a IPHONE 3G Motherboard...

i'm serious

sexyicon

Postby sexyicon » January 8th, 2010, 1:24 am

I don't know off hand if anyone locally sells but you can always order one via ebay

http://shop.ebay.com/?_from=R40&_trksid ... Categories

How are you so sure this is the part that needs changing ?

Postby M_2NR » January 8th, 2010, 1:52 am

Best bet is ebay sir. But be sure its the mobo alone as sexy said ;)

Look what happened to the 2G :(
[spoiler]Image[/spoiler]
thats the flashlight app. The screen is normal besides that. Dad says it overheated and that happened. Looks like it popped. Thank God that's all. Everything else is fine. But im just sad that happened

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 8th, 2010, 1:43 pm

Hey guys, have you all been able to get push to work with mail and other push enabled apps?

Postby M_2NR » January 9th, 2010, 4:48 pm

KOTF wrote:I'm looking for a 2G 8gig housing!

Anybody who can help that will be great!

Trinifieds wrote:Hey guys, have you all been able to get push to work with mail and other push enabled apps?

Yes it works! the problem i had with it is that when it's pushing automatically evrey 15mins I did not use to get calls coming in! Also when i upgraded to 3.0.1 my phone use to be pushing all the time based on the software upgrade and I had to take it off completly and set it to manual....I dunno if I explained myself proper.

wrt to housing, check ebay.

wrt to push, on 3.0 it worked great but on 3.1.2 it doesnt work as well.

@Trinifieds, yes, but i get wierd notifications. You can check my previous post, to get a legit cert for push. But its a queer process. You can also read up on pushfix 2.0

-----------------------

Sn0wbreeze BETA is out. :lol: :lol:

MuscleNerd is a bit pissed

bOOsTmaN

Postby bOOsTmaN » January 9th, 2010, 4:50 pm

16gig 3g motherboard anyone?!?! i really need etttt

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 10th, 2010, 11:46 am

Postby M_2NR » January 10th, 2010, 7:48 pm

well... remember 5-dock and 6-dock icons get ready for this..
Infinidock

Its $0.99 on cydia store ("free" version on beyouriphone) basically u can put all sorts of amounts of icons on your dock PLUS enable dock scrolling.
Memory usage didnt go down (if any) and its uber great thus far.

ImageImage

(not my images)

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 11th, 2010, 8:48 am

^^ you'll need to restart springboard if your labels gets messed up, other than that it works great.

Anyone have virgin certs that I can transplant to get push working?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » January 11th, 2010, 9:55 am

KOTF wrote:I'm looking for a 2G 8gig housing!

Anybody who can help that will be great!

i have a few, i actually have a specially made black one.

PM me for more info

2G sold
Last edited by Bezman on January 11th, 2010, 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » January 11th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Trinifieds wrote:^^ you'll need to restart springboard if your labels gets messed up, other than that it works great.

Anyone have virgin certs that I can transplant to get push working?

lol nothing messed up in mine, that odd. How much u put down there?

and nah, stupid me took to long to realize i could have stolen my padna sim a night and do it.

@bez, check your PM. :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 12th, 2010, 2:51 pm

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/V3KrFV0-WFw&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="560" height="340"></embed>

hot blue

Postby hot blue » January 12th, 2010, 8:15 pm

ME WANT !!!!!!