PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 21st, 2011, 6:49 pm

My new mobo is on the way :D

Last edited by Ronaldo95163 on May 22nd, 2011, 12:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 21st, 2011, 6:54 pm

^^ dont mean to burst ur bubble.. but u should of went with gigabyte or asus bro

those evga boards ah bit shaky with RAM.. its a known fact.. i to have suffered from it

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 21st, 2011, 6:58 pm

Heard that myself..saw someone with 24gbs but only read 12GBs but was corrected in the BIOS.

What problems do you experience Chiney?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 21st, 2011, 7:03 pm

^^ similar

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 21st, 2011, 7:24 pm

ReadyBoost makes a difference for gaming?

I have 2GB ddr2 RAM, 1.8GHz CPU, GeForce 8600GT GPU

Need For speed world kinda sticks when I run it above the Medium level of detail
so if I buy a 4GB or 8GB flash and dedicate it to readyboost, will it help?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2011, 8:40 pm

gracen, is that for a new build?
how come you didnt go sandy bridge?
or did you have a 1st gen processor already?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 21st, 2011, 9:05 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:gracen, is that for a new build?
how come you didnt go sandy bridge?
or did you have a 1st gen processor already?

Been planning on building a x58 machine for a few months..before sandy bridge wasn't even announced. I wanted to do a Sandy bridge machine but the i7s a bit costly. Since Sandy bridge was released the x58 CPUs started dropping so it made it easier for me

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 21st, 2011, 11:14 pm

^ which processor are you using on that board?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 21st, 2011, 11:18 pm

I7 950

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 12:26 am

check this out
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/288?vs=100
an i5 2500k beats a i7 950

on Amazon a i7 950 is US$269.99 and an i5 2500K is US$224.99
why pay more for less?

IMO the only reason to still go with 1366 socket is to make use of a i7 980x which is US$1034 and still gets licks on certain jobs from a i7 2600K that costs US$319

not to mention Sandy Bridge uses less power too since it's a smaller nanometre process.

and a Sandy Bridge mainboard like the ASUS P8P67 Deluxe which is their flagship next to the ROG Extreme is US$252 whereas the EVGA board you bought is around US$269

hell, because Sandy Bridge uses 1.5v dual channel DDR, you can get 16GB DDR3 1600Mhz that cost just ~US$200 cause that kinda ram cheeep!

check higher up in this thread, I put together a i7 2600k, Corsair 16GB DDR3 on a ASUS USB 3 SATA 3 board with a 120GB SSD for around US$950. Got it to 4.6Ghz on air cooling and 1648Mhz FSB just by clicking the "auto-tune" button in the BIOS - no way a 1366 setup doing that at that price.

Postby bushwakka » May 22nd, 2011, 1:03 am

^^good argument duane

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 22nd, 2011, 11:07 am

Yes but i get more PCIe lanes with the x58 and the support for tripple channel memory
http://techreport.com/articles.x/15967

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 11:19 am

^ agreed but how much video cards you really plan to run?

and this was taken from the same link you posted

Conclusions
Although three channels of DDR3 memory might seem excessive, the Core i7 really does seem to make good use of faster memory, at least in synthetic tests. But that was to be expected. The real question is whether those gains translate to real-world applications, and it's here that the results are more mixed. Certainly, in scientific computing tests like Euler3d and MyriMatch, which we already know to be sensitive to memory subsystem performance, faster memory can provide tangible performance perks. However, common desktop applications like those highlighted by WorldBench don't benefit much from higher memory clocks or tighter timings. Neither do most games, which at best show minor frame rate improvements that aren't significant enough for most folks to even notice, let alone appreciate.

Postby M_2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 11:29 am

pffttt sli is rice :|
Chiney wrote:^ no
dont do it!!!!!!!

unless u have high grade machine oil that doesnt wear out the metal

i see so using sewing machine oil will in fact wear out the fan's internals?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 22nd, 2011, 12:13 pm

^^^ given its low grade yep! understand something bro: those things spin at a high rpm for HOURS........given also the fact that its either mounted to the side or to the back..their is a center of weight focused on the center point of the motor... under its mounted to the top ( flat ) it isnt leaning to a side.... which is BARE minimal..but will have an effect..

duane... hymc and let de man build he system nah..u wah him to go hang heself cuz he shoulda buy somn else.. LOL come like de world ending with that old fart telling ppl and now he in hiding.

yuh like a lawyer we.. yuh eh stopping ROFL.. finding point after point...

he always wanted a x58 PC man !!!!

i feeling sorry for gracen....

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 12:34 pm

LOL sorry sorry
I wanted a X58 machine too until P67 came out

not to mention LGA 1366 is a dead end upgrade path right now - there is no room for expansion after that.
Intel has rolled out Z68 now and X68 later on with LGA 2011 for the Sandy Bridge E

oh no, I was doing it again - sorry again Gracen :(

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 22nd, 2011, 1:27 pm

there's the new 970x and 990x for x58 also too :P

plus im not a guy who upgrades his PCs alot..example with this one here...AMD Sempron 2800+, 2GB DDR mem, XFX 4650 Radeon :P

So the X58 will be just fine for me :D

BTW has anyone checked out the Logitech Z906 yet??

Looks pretty nice

http://www.logitech.com/en-us/speakers- ... ystem-Z906

Postby M_2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 1:37 pm

I think Duane just seeking d guy best interest lol. From what im getting, the build is a bang for buck one no?
If the parts he is buying is cheaper than what it used to be... say on sale... why not!? but if the prices are the same then Duane advice would be best.
For instance when i bought my E8400, a full year after the same parts as in RAM + CPU + Motherboard was the same price or +/- $10usd. But there were better parts out almost 1.5 times better for the same price!

And thanks Chiney! I understand now. That oil will be doing more harm than good in essence.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 22nd, 2011, 3:44 pm

Prices are cheaper..for instance..an i7 2600k is about 300+us and the 950 is about 250-260US

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 22nd, 2011, 6:38 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:ReadyBoost makes a difference for gaming?

I have 2GB ddr2 RAM, 1.8GHz CPU, GeForce 8600GT GPU

Need For speed world kinda sticks when I run it above the Medium level of detail
so if I buy a 4GB or 8GB flash and dedicate it to readyboost, will it help?

also between NTFS, FAT32 and exFAT, which is more suitable to format a Flash drive for ready boost and flash drive use,

and using the largest Allocation unit size increases speed?

Postby M_2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 7:07 pm

gracen wrote:Prices are cheaper..for instance..an i7 2600k is about 300+us and the 950 is about 250-260US

he is talking about the 2500k eh... and 50usd... :|

how much is the difference in price for the boards?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 22nd, 2011, 7:42 pm

well from wht he mentioned the price diff for the boards is 17usd

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 22nd, 2011, 8:01 pm

dude..just remember to take pics..keep us posted..and most of all.. have rel fun..cuz it is your money and your pc !!

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 22nd, 2011, 8:12 pm

Sure :D

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 22nd, 2011, 8:22 pm

gracen wrote:well from wht he mentioned the price diff for the boards is 17usd
for much better performance

Chiney wrote:dude..just remember to take pics..keep us posted..and most of all.. have rel fun..cuz it is your money and your pc !!
yup!

just good to lay everything out there for other people reading

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2011, 8:49 pm

all of allyuh get together and build a computer fuh meh na :|

this is wha i using for the last 5 years must be
computerspecs.jpg
computerspecs.jpg (10.25 KiB) Viewed 2305 times

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 22nd, 2011, 10:38 pm

^^ u jokin right?

if u serious.. PM me with a budget.. i cud see wat i can do for you.

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2011, 10:58 pm

eh doh be laughing at meh bess pc eh boss :| :@
once it could run age of empires i good (doh study it use to freeze up 50% of the time when i use to play that)

but besides that, wouldn't mind spending probably a 7k building a system, kinda wanted to try to do it myself, have some time in june/july

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 22nd, 2011, 11:15 pm

'^^ kool

well dem specs is like them vtec kids computer.lol

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2011, 11:20 pm

:o lol so on a scale of 1-10..how shitty the specs I running right now is?