***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Chimera » April 6th, 2020, 11:09 pm

i assume all plant shops gonna be closed now?

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » April 7th, 2020, 1:59 am

^^Not all..agri is essential service i blive

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 7th, 2020, 4:21 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:i assume all plant shops gonna be closed now?

Caribbean Chemical office clossed to the public but taking orders by phone. Several smaller shops are open with reduced hours. Check FB.

Where can I get neem seedlings or plants to buy?

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2020, 7:12 am

My two lime trees finally flowered a little and have some limes on them.
what fertilizer allyuh recommend ?
can they be stimulated to flower more ?

Bought 3 grafted and 1 turned out to be a fraud.
One of two has long thorns, like over 1" all over, even small branches, other one has normal size.

apole69

Postby apole69 » April 7th, 2020, 7:20 am

NR8 wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:i assume all plant shops gonna be closed now?

Caribbean Chemical office clossed to the public but taking orders by phone. Several smaller shops are open with reduced hours. Check FB.

Where can I get neem seedlings or plants to buy?

Asasco - Warren Rd

Ryan197912

Postby Ryan197912 » April 7th, 2020, 7:37 am

pugboy wrote:My two lime trees finally flowered a little and have some limes on them.

One of two has long thorns, like over 1" all over, even small branches, other one has normal size.

Fertilizer..12-12-17-2, Potash
Miracle Grow for foliar spray.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 7:39 am

pugboy wrote:My two lime trees finally flowered a little and have some limes on them.

For citrus I used a mixture of blaukorn and urea.. In between I used something called bountiful harvest...worked well...I forgot the name of the products I used for the soil itself though...have to check meh book

Postby adnj » April 7th, 2020, 8:08 am

Ryan197912 wrote:

Fertilizer..12-12-17-2, Potash
Miracle Grow for foliar spray.

The potash and higher levels of potassium may make the soil more basic; citrus trees prefer soil that is slightly acidic (lower pH).

Depending on what your soil is like, the urea plus Blaukorn mix should work well. Urea will lower soil pH as it changes to nitrogen. I have some citrus trees that produce much more fruit because of a similar fertilizer plus urea mix that I use for my lawn.

Edit: if you want more buds and fruit, boost the amount of phosphorus in your fertilizer.

N-P-K numbers:
Nitrogen helps to promote green leaves and stem growth.
Phosphorous helps to encourage flowering/blooming and root growth.
Potassium helps to promote stem strength and resistance to diseases.
Last edited by adnj on April 7th, 2020, 8:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 9th, 2020, 3:22 am

Will urea work in the same way for mayo trees?

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2020, 7:37 pm

Anybody used Bellis fungicide ?
claims that they produce agcelence effect for much improved yields and crop quality

Postby X_Factor » April 10th, 2020, 8:39 pm

Bellis is awesome
But the price makes it kinda not feasible to do home gardening

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 10th, 2020, 9:21 pm

JF.K wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:thats whitehead grass
you need to use herbinate

or

basta

but the herbinate is better

longtime buctril use to deal with that real good but they dont make it anymore
Thanks..
Would this be sold at any Plant Shop?

Trying to get rid of whitehead grass in a lawn. Will these chemicals kill the savannah grass as well?

Postby pugboy » April 10th, 2020, 9:26 pm

What kinda price ?

X_Factor wrote:Bellis is awesome

Postby Chimera » April 11th, 2020, 4:41 am

Yea basta will kill everything. Buctril use to.kill Whitehead alone but I dont think they make that anymore
NR8 wrote:
JF.K wrote:

or

basta

Thanks..

Trying to get rid of whitehead grass in a lawn. Will these chemicals kill the savannah grass as well?

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 6:35 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Yea basta will kill everything. Buctril use to.kill Whitehead alone but I dont think they make that anymore
NR8 wrote:
JF.K wrote:

or

basta

Thanks..

Buctril is a trade name for bromoxynil and is still manufactured by Bayer. Broadtril is Caribbean Chemicals' version of bromoxynil that is available locally.

Bromoxynil is a broadleaf herbicide that doesn't affect turf grasses. So no, it won't kill savannah grasses.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 11th, 2020, 8:54 am

Thanks!

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 8:56 am

u sure savannah grass is not considered broadleaf ?
i know 24d chemical affect savannah grass but not the true turf grass like zoysia or bermuda

Postby Chimera » April 11th, 2020, 8:59 am

Spray a small patch and see the scene

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 9:02 am

yes
broadtril stinks btw

Phone Surgeon wrote:Spray a small patch and see the scene

Postby adnj » April 11th, 2020, 10:56 am

pugboy wrote:u sure savannah grass is not considered broadleaf ?
i know 24d chemical affect savannah grass but not the true turf grass like zoysia or bermuda
2,4-D will kill any grass if you use too high a concentration, if it's too hot outdoors or if the grass is stressed by disease or drought. It can be a problem for St Augustine but not so much for other grasses. I like to use a 4 ml/l solution as often as necessary.

Most of the savannah grasses that you see locally are from the digitaria family and can safely be treated for broad leaf weeds with 2,4-D. Judging from what I've seen growing, I can't be sure that some people know what is growing in their yard.

Local 2,4-D amine (72%) should be used at 4 to 8 ml/l for a 0.3% to 0.6% solution. I believe most of the containers say 15 to 30 ml per gallon.
Last edited by adnj on April 11th, 2020, 10:56 am, edited 2 times in total.

NR8

Postby NR8 » April 11th, 2020, 11:01 am

pugboy wrote:u sure savannah grass is not considered broadleaf ?

I wondered that as well but ah go try it and see. How much for a bottle?

Postby X_Factor » April 11th, 2020, 11:02 am

It's around 2 "something" for a 200g bottle
pugboy wrote:What kinda price ?

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 1:58 pm

that a lil hot
is it a one time application or periodic ?

X_Factor wrote:It's around 2 "something" for a 200g bottle
pugboy wrote:What kinda price ?

Postby X_Factor » April 11th, 2020, 3:07 pm

To get that effect u want it's more than 2 times based on the crop as well

linton

Postby linton » April 11th, 2020, 3:38 pm

2-4D is good for Savannah grass . I use it in my yard .

Postby pugboy » April 11th, 2020, 4:01 pm

24d is the best thing for that vine weed that taking over everywhere
roundup doesn’t kill it

Nexus

Postby Nexus » April 12th, 2020, 1:53 pm

Hello, looking for some guidance here. As with most I have spare time these days and want to do some planting. I had made some time ago, 3 grow boxes, 4x4x1. Had intended to buy some top soil and suppliment with compost I have been making. I live on some very hard, nutrient poor central Clay's.
However, I did not get around to bringing the top soil. I have about 1/3 a blue barrel (55 gal) of compost, manure and promix.
I am wondering how to go about utilising this, should I just concentrate on doing one grow box right now and if so what height should the soil ideally be? Or do I fork up the ground underneath and mix it up with this soil mix I have?
Thanks

Postby X_Factor » April 12th, 2020, 11:57 pm

i would mix that hard clayey soil with some of the manure and can even add some sharp sand, its easier to get than top soil right now since its cheaper and most hardwares will have in the feed bags.

initally you can try 1 part soil to half manure and sharp sand, and really mix together,
the organic matter and the sand will break up the clumps from getting as hard and
as you grow, till, fertilize the soil will be fine

also based on the crops you decide to grow, you may only need 6-8 inches of soil especially if its chive, celery, lettuce etc

Postby Rovin » April 20th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Postby De Dragon » April 20th, 2020, 2:27 pm

Black fungus on my guava leaves. Any recommendations? Thanks