Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby crazybalhead » December 23rd, 2011, 8:53 am

Very much NOT my cup of tea dey.

Nicely done though.

Then again, my house is just a setta lego and foam mats all over the place these days anyway.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 1:11 pm

Ok, I can't remember which option I changed, but at some point during the configuration of my audio, I seemed to have given total control of volume over to the receiver. So I can't change volume via the cable box or on my HTPC. I have to keep changing to rx on the universal remote to change volume.

It wasn't working like that a few days ago. I was getting normal volume control on cable and via XBMC.

I'm going to look over the setup, but if anyone knows what I might have changed, please clue me in.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 4:01 pm

Okay, according to the XBMC forum users, that AVR volume control is by design. Still hadda check cable, though.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 7:54 pm

Humes wrote:Ok, I can't remember which option I changed, but at some point during the configuration of my audio, I seemed to have given total control of volume over to the receiver. So I can't change volume via the cable box or on my HTPC. I have to keep changing to rx on the universal remote to change volume.

It wasn't working like that a few days ago. I was getting normal volume control on cable and via XBMC.

I'm going to look over the setup, but if anyone knows what I might have changed, please clue me in.
actually changing the volume on your receiver is better than changing the line input volume via the source

a proper universal remote will allow volume control to be on the receiver and the channel control to be on the cable box

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 8:06 pm

I'm using a Harmony 300. I don't know if that allows you to control multiple devices without switching between two.

edit: Apparently it can. I guess that answers that.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 8:23 pm

^ was just going to say yes of course it can!

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 8:32 pm

The myharmony.com site doh seem to be working properly tonight at all, though. Just reaching the blue screen with the grey wisps and nothing loading after.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 8:40 pm

just download the Logitech harmony remote setup software from here
http://myharmony.com/MartiniWeb/Account/InstallSoftware

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 8:48 pm

I was wondering why they didn't just have separate software.

That link just sends me to the normal set-up page...can you link the .exe?

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 23rd, 2011, 9:29 pm

got these yesterday (z906) sounds better than the z5500 which i currently have...the z623 has a nice low bass...but these rock really well at high volume compared to the z5500...did a review online only to get feedback that the z5500 are way better than these...but went into radioshack and tested them side by side, had a different opinion!

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 10:05 pm

I want an adhesive hook/spot hanger/button, like the 3M Command hooks, but one that will fit the keyhole at the back of one of my speakers. I'm thinking about just filing down a Command hook I have here, but if Bhagwansingh's or one of these places has a more appropriate option, I'll give them a try.

Postby S_2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 10:51 pm

shagadelic99tt wrote:got these yesterday (z906) sounds better than the z5500 which i currently have...the z623 has a nice low bass...but these rock really well at high volume compared to the z5500...did a review online only to get feedback that the z5500 are way better than these...but went into radioshack and tested them side by side, had a different opinion!

how much these go for?
i have a z5300e about two years now in my room.
only used for music.

might consider upgrading.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 11:04 pm

Humes wrote:I was wondering why they didn't just have separate software.

That link just sends me to the normal set-up page...can you link the .exe?
there is a DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE button the page - click it!

try using Firefox 3+

Humes wrote:I want an adhesive hook/spot hanger/button, like the 3M Command hooks, but one that will fit the keyhole at the back of one of my speakers. I'm thinking about just filing down a Command hook I have here, but if Bhagwansingh's or one of these places has a more appropriate option, I'll give them a try.

you sure a 3M Command hook will hold the weight of a speaker?

Humes

Postby Humes » December 23rd, 2011, 11:30 pm

The larger hook is supposed to be able to handle 5 pounds. This speaker doh feel like five pounds at all.

I'm using Firefox 4 and not seeing any download software button...which part of the page is it on?

edit: Nevermind, found it somewhere else on the site. I think.
Last edited by Humes on December 23rd, 2011, 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 11:33 pm

well the 32" Samsung died well stop turning on. :cry:

hadda wait til next week for anything. Oh well... not like i watched it much anyway.

(i does be on meh pc)

Postby pioneer » December 23rd, 2011, 11:48 pm

samsung generally fails

Postby M_2NR » December 23rd, 2011, 11:52 pm

this i realize... >.> what brand to go with though?

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 12:02 am

Toshiba :)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 24th, 2011, 12:56 am

I dunno Samsung to fail - knocks on wood

Samsung panels are some of the best
Panasonic too

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 8:34 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I dunno Samsung to fail - knocks on wood

Samsung panels are some of the best
Panasonic too

Didn't you have a problem with your award-winning samsung?

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » December 24th, 2011, 8:50 am

pioneer wrote:Toshiba :)

Had problems with toshibas

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 9:12 am

Wasn't that a dead samsung on your table? :lol:

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 24th, 2011, 9:36 am

pioneer wrote:Wasn't that a dead samsung on your table? :lol:

it eh dead

yet

shagadelic99tt

Postby shagadelic99tt » December 24th, 2011, 12:10 pm

d z906 cost me $2650 by wizz...radioshack have them on sale for $4000 n summin...lol

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 24th, 2011, 12:22 pm

shagadelic99tt wrote:d z906 cost me $2650 by wizz...radioshack have them on sale for $4000 n summin...lol

my price on the z906 was $2500

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 1:20 pm

logitech = pure fail

casper

Postby casper » December 24th, 2011, 1:31 pm

pioneer wrote:logitech = pure fail

I using the z623 right now...sounds pretty good...not high quality like the other real home theatre brands mentioned in this thread but it does the job if u just looking for a better sound from ur TV other than the stock speakers

RapToR

Postby RapToR » December 24th, 2011, 1:32 pm

Postby pioneer » December 24th, 2011, 1:41 pm

casper wrote:

I using the z623 right now...sounds pretty good...not high quality like the other real home theatre brands mentioned in this thread but it does the job if u just looking for a better sound from ur TV other than the stock speakers

Well i woulda tell you click back n see my posts however someone deleted it cuz they believe to get a good quality sound (better than logitech) you have to break the bank and buy the latest and most expensive equipment and i prove them all wrong.

Check me on msn i go guide you.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » December 24th, 2011, 2:39 pm

Yeah, you can get a nice, balanced DIY sound system without breaking the bank
Or you can start with something g like a decent receiver and stereo speakers, then add components as necessary