The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 21st, 2010, 10:42 pm

MuscleNerd

redsn0w 0.9 public beta release http://is.gd/6Jarm . JB, unlock, boot logos + more (not untethered). Mac+Win

http://wikee.iphwn.org/howto:rs9beta

Postby M_2NR » January 21st, 2010, 11:04 pm

http://twitter.com/iH8sn0w/status/8049746714

sn0wbreeze Final 3.1.2 is Alive! --> http://ih8sn0w.com or http://sn0wbreeze.info

only thing i'd use this for is the custom boot logo and i believe this is in redsn0w as well.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 22nd, 2010, 2:20 pm

No love for 05.11.07 yet

air wick

Postby air wick » January 22nd, 2010, 3:03 pm

Trinifieds wrote:No love for 05.11.07 yet

yes a while now.... blackrain

my co-worker have a 3g with 05.11.07 here... we got it working last year around November

Postby M_2NR » January 22nd, 2010, 5:03 pm

Trinifieds, AFAIK nothing really new is in these releases and i think they are also for your baseband. redsn0w needs for u to be updated to 3.1.2. (not to sure because not to concern)

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 23rd, 2010, 12:53 am

Travis wrote:
Trinifieds wrote:No love for 05.11.07 yet

yes a while now.... blackrain

my co-worker have a 3g with 05.11.07 here... we got it working last year around November

I know about blackra1n. I was referring to an untethered jailbreak..

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 23rd, 2010, 10:25 am

seems like geohot has shifted his attention to the PS3 :twisted:

PS3 finally properly hacked?

In a post titled "Hello hypervisor, I'm geohot," hacker George Hotz (already known in the iPhone community) has made a strong claim: that he has cracked the PS3. The system has remained (mostly) uncompromised for over three years now, with a few exceptions here and there. But, this one pledges full read/write access to the entire system memory and complete control over the processor -- all without a mod chip. Has he really done it, if so how, and what comes next? That all remains to be seen. This exploit supposedly "isn't really patchable, but [Sony] can make implementations much harder," meaning he isn't tipping his hat until he's ready, because once he does the never-ending firmware update war begins, and as we've seen on the PSP, Sony can really knock out those updates.

http://www.engadget.com/2010/01/23/ps3- ... ly-hacked/

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2010, 3:53 am

mitch wrote:http://handbrake.fr/downloads.php

thank you 8)
AnyVC wasnt working and videora just being a b!tch to download. gonna use this now! :)

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2010, 2:18 pm

streetlifestyle wrote:here's what helped me....

http://blog.c22.cc/2009/07/19/fixing-cydia/

Ultra confused :?

# Shell access (terminal or ssh)
# Su to root

Mih muda what?

How to?

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 24th, 2010, 7:11 pm

The fastest browser yet, Alt Browser is blazing fast. It also includes a fullscreen mode. It's not in cydia but if you do a search on beyouriphone.com you'll find the ipa. It was developed by appcake.

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2010, 7:28 pm

ok guys i have a problem here.. dont know if its because of all my mobile substrates... but anytime i try to enter a Manual HTTP Proxy for a WIFI network.. ala UWI's STUWACCESS' 192.168.224.5:8080. It is not saving AT ALL!

wtf is up with that.. :(

@kurpal,
terminal executions

[img::]http://www.ihackintosh.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/65zy.jpg[/img]

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 24th, 2010, 8:08 pm

^^ Make sure to press enter when you enter it
not just by tapping other input fields

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2010, 8:52 pm

corolla_2nr, I hoped not.

I'll have to restore since I deleted Terminal frm my phone.

Is this an oppertunity to use blackrain? Or stick with my usual redsnow?

I dled the black rain and contemplating it.

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2010, 9:40 pm

i fraid blackra1n. use a custom restore if it that badly off.

BTW what is the issue with yours? search ihackintosh.. there was another simple issue.. u just had to ssh or use iphonebrowser n delete the cache file for cydia then you will open it and it will reload. something like that...

@trinifieds,
hrmm i think i did all that. i'll try again tmrw :)

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2010, 9:57 pm

Boy......I just restored, forgot the sim in so itunes showing the "sim card inserted is not valid" message and while unlocking, redsnow crashed..

Ive officially shat my self :|

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2010, 10:27 pm

wha deh fork!

you didnt have a custom 3.1.2 ipsw for your 2G?

:faint:

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2010, 10:31 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:wha deh fork!

you didnt have a custom 3.1.2 ipsw for your 2G?

:faint:

Yep. I played it safe and went back with 3.0.

Phone just came back on..Ill sync everything in the morn and revisit 3.1.2 in the morn lol..Cant handle another night with a vex gf lol..

Postby M_2NR » January 24th, 2010, 10:36 pm

if you want a link for a custom 2G 3.1.2 ipsw holla...

http://www.rapidshare.com/files/292647710/iPhone1_1_3.1.2_7D11_Custom_Restore_ACTIVATED_1GB.part1.rar
http://www.rapidshare.com/files/2926481 ... .part2.rar

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 24th, 2010, 10:39 pm

^^ Thanks I Dled one from iclarified earlier..

I now realised...When I restore, everything, like literally everything goes..I feel like kicking a duck now..

Postby M_2NR » January 25th, 2010, 12:55 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ Thanks I Dled one from iclarified earlier..

I now realised...When I restore, everything, like literally everything goes..I feel like kicking a duck now..

not quite... all yuh text from yuh gyul does be restored eh from a backup. Only worries is music and cydia apps.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 25th, 2010, 12:56 am

Citing an anonymous "inside source," HotHardware has reported AT&T could lose their iPhone exclusivity on Wednesday, when Apple is also expected to introduce its long-awaited touchscreen tablet.

The report does not go as far as to claim what other U.S. carriers could offer the iPhone. But a source allegedly told the Web site that AT&T is "tired of taking the heat" for poor reception from iPhone users. In short, the report claims, AT&T officials believe the iPhone is hurting the company's image, and they are no longer interested in having exclusive access to Apple's handset.

"Inside of AT&T, we are hearing that the iPhone is causing more trouble than ever before," the report said. "On some level, having the iPhone is hurting AT&T's image. Because they are the only company to carry it, and it's such a data hog, it's largely to blame for AT&T's network troubles. We don't remember hearing about AT&T's 'horrible network' before the iPhone--do you?"

HotHardware alleges, without any evidence to support the claim, that the iPhone doesn't handle the switch from 3G to EDGE connections well, and frequently drops calls when 3G access is lost.

The report cites AT&T's multitude of announcements earlier this month as evidence that the nation's second-largest wireless carrier is already looking toward its post-exclusivity. The company announced it will launch its first five Android-based handsets in the first half of 2010, as well as two Palm webOS-based devices, and a new mobile application platform for non-smartphones.

"Now, it seems the puzzle pieces are beginning to slot together," the report said. "It's possible that AT&T recently went searching for deals with other phone makers in order to proactively bolster its smartphone lineup for when this day-of-doom would come.

"AT&T has gained a huge amount of subscribers from being the only operator with the iPhone, and if it loses that advantage, it'll need some other cutting-edge, high-brow phones to keep people's attention."

Most of the focus and hype leading to Apple's event, scheduled for Wednesday at 10 a.m. Pacific time, has focused on the company's long-rumored tablet device. But there have also been scattered reports that Apple could also use the event to introduce the latest update to the iPhone software with iPhone OS 4.0.

If Apple does announce the end of AT&T's iPhone exclusivity this week, the most anticipated partner would be the largest wireless provider in the U.S., Verizon. However, Verizon's network relies on CDMA-based phones, and Apple has not yet made a version of the iPhone compatible with Verizon.

Another option could be the smallest of the "big four" U.S. carriers, T-Mobile. While some have predicted the iPhone could find a home on the network in 2010 due to its GSM-based network being compatible with Apple's handset, there is one technical limitation: the iPhone is not currently capable of connecting to T-MObile's high-speed 3G network.

T-Mobile 3G operates on a unique 1700MHz spectrum. The iPhone is currently compatible with UMTS/HSDPA 3G connections at the frequencies 850MHz, 1900MHz and 2100MHz. It would be necessary, therefore, for Apple to build a new hardware model that supports T-Mobile's 3G frequency.

As for AT&T's reputation, the company of late has strongly defended itself against Verizon in an ongoing advertising campaign featuring actor Luke Wilson. The battle has raged for months, since Verizon began airing commercials that criticize AT&T's network and parody Apple's "There's an app for that" slogan with the tagline "There's a map for that."

---

Steve Jobs says the upcoming Apple Tablet "will be the most important thing I've ever done", according to TechCrunch.

We haven’t heard this first hand, but we’ve heard it multiple times second and third hand from completely independent sources. Senior Apple execs and friends of Jobs are telling people that he’s about as excited about the upcoming Apple Tablet as he’s ever been. Coming from the man who has created so much, that’s saying something.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 25th, 2010, 7:54 am

corolla_2nr wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ Thanks I Dled one from iclarified earlier..

not quite... all yuh text from yuh gyul does be restored eh from a backup. Only worries is music and cydia apps.

Is really my pics I worry about..I seemingly was so sleepy last night I forgot I planned to sync the phone this morn.. SO everything is back to \normal.

Postby M_2NR » January 25th, 2010, 1:53 pm

Yay my wifi works.
Solution: reset network settings.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 25th, 2010, 4:59 pm

Check out the speed of this browser

<embed src='http://flvs.daum.net/flvPlayer.swf?vid=fyHP3XjtZVI$' width='502px' height='399px' allowScriptAccess='always' type='application/x-shockwave-flash' allowFullScreen='true' bgcolor='#000000' ></embed>

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 25th, 2010, 5:23 pm

^ looks almost the same to me

would be better to see them side by side with a complex page that is harder to render along with tests for zooming, scrolling, filling out forms and swapping between tabs/ browser windows

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 25th, 2010, 6:41 pm

Duane, that video really doesnt do it justice. Give it a go and let me know what you think.

http://iphonecake.com/appcake/en/apps/348910343.html

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » January 25th, 2010, 8:13 pm

hey guys i got a bunch of extra stuff from a bundle i ordered, if anyone wants anything let me know....

all i really wanted was the white silicone case and the car charger...

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 25th, 2010, 9:58 pm

^^ You selling them? If not, I wouldnt mind a screen guard!

Postby M_2NR » January 25th, 2010, 10:04 pm

AndroidLock
---
Android lockscreen on your iphone.

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » January 25th, 2010, 11:10 pm

Trinifieds wrote:^^ You selling them? If not, I wouldnt mind a screen guard!

how trini's like free ting so.. hit meh ah lil something to offset the shipping cost nah man...