PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

HCCA

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby HCCA » May 29th, 2011, 11:02 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:http://ark.intel.com/Compare.aspx?ids=28024,42772,

I currently have the one on the left, should I buy the one on the right?

It's 0.8GHz more but has a 1MB cache (my current has 2MB)
and it has a higher bus/core ratio than my current which I read up on and they said 'the lower the better'

Try this thread: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/29434 ... 4300-e3400

I had an e4300, could take a heavy overclocking past 3GHz. The only celeron i had was single core so i can't comment on performance of the duals.

kevinsonny

Re: help please!!!!! (pc tech guys)

Postby kevinsonny » May 29th, 2011, 11:11 pm

well i realise sometimes when its plugged the light dims a bit but im thinking its a faulty usb to sata adapter i could be wrong though

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 29th, 2011, 11:17 pm

so i am sellin my macbookpro

finally decided to get me a high end laptop

toyota2nr

Re: help please!!!!! (pc tech guys)

Postby toyota2nr » May 29th, 2011, 11:51 pm

Change the drive letter and see if it comes up. Works for me.

Postby Sinister_Audio » May 30th, 2011, 2:13 am

any comments or reviews on: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 2048MB Superclocked

Performance
NVIDIA GTX 560
850 MHz GPU
336 CUDA Cores
400 MHz RAMDAC
Memory
2048 MB, 256 bit
4008 MHz (effective)
128.2 GB/s Memory Bandwidth
Interface
PCI-E 2.0 16x
DVI-I, DVI-I, Mini-HDMI
SLI Capable
Resolution & Refresh
240Hz Max Refresh Rate
2048x1536 Max Analog
2560x1600 Max Digital

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 30th, 2011, 7:53 am

Sinister_Audio wrote:any comments or reviews on: EVGA GeForce GTX 560 2048MB Superclocked

The more RAM, the better, once the GPU can utilise it
I not seeing any reviews for that card but what I can say, is if you look at the specs for the GTX 460 and GTX 560, you would see the only difference is the clock speeds. Reason for mentioning this is that there were 2 versions of the GTX 460 (768MB and 1024MB) and from reviews you will see that the performance difference was not very big,

so my $0.02 would say that a 2048MB-GTX560 may not be much faster than a 1024MB-GTX560 for gaming. Since it is a superclocked version, it might come close to the GTX-560Ti card. The eVGA website says that card you mentioned is 850MHz, whereas the MSI card from the pic above is 870MHz, so you could check this link to get an idea of how it would perform. At those prices if it was me I would probably go for the 560Ti or wait for an official review.

SPRANG_A

Postby SPRANG_A » May 30th, 2011, 10:24 am

so yeah... any body have legos lying around?

i want to try this

http://tfvlrue.wordpress.com/2008/06/25/lego-computer/

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » May 30th, 2011, 10:24 am

when i go to device manager it shows up but when i go to disk management it doesnt show up sometimes the drive comes up ah h but i cant access it and then it dissapears

Postby M_2NR » May 30th, 2011, 11:32 am

kevinsonny wrote:when i go to device manager it shows up but when i go to disk management it doesnt show up sometimes the drive comes up ah h but i cant access it and then it dissapears

tried another cable? and u didnt answer duane. Is it a new drive or old?

Postby bushwakka » May 30th, 2011, 11:55 am

dont get taken by the superclocked versions of the cards....what are they? just overclocked from the factory which is sumn u cud do urself....i dont even kno if the heat sinks on the SC versions are any different from the normal ones.......weigh it out an see yes

Postby M_2NR » May 30th, 2011, 12:05 pm

What was compared was the Ti version. An old ode to the long ago series that it seems nvidia is trying to revive.
What you said is true though. The only thing to really look for in eVGA cards is the AR and TR codes on the end. That shows lifetime warranty or not.
FTW cards however are different they are generally more robust units.

For SA case however i think he wants more memory (thats why its red) for his video editing needs.

I see today as well the 460's are 139.99 on newegg with rebate :shock:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 30th, 2011, 12:51 pm

fak evga and sc scc and ftw

to mant issues cross the brand

so many cards they making/mass producing now.

PNY and xfx ftmfw

Postby bushwakka » May 30th, 2011, 1:26 pm

^im not convinced that evga experiences a higher percentage of reliability issues compared to the other brands.....other brands like Asus definitely have superior designs but IMHO, evga outsells a lot of these other brands, bang for buck.....therefore if their sales are higher, the likelihood of a higher number of manufacturing defects will also be greater (tho not necessarily the percentage)

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » May 30th, 2011, 1:50 pm

the drive is about 2 years old

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 30th, 2011, 2:41 pm

^ oh gorms

the old one is like this and has a mini USB port
sharper edges and looks thicker/squarer

the new one looks like this and has a micro USB port
slimmer looking and more streamlined

which do do you have?

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » May 30th, 2011, 3:40 pm

d first one lookin nice.....

speedfreak99

Postby speedfreak99 » May 30th, 2011, 7:05 pm

Hey guys,

I was checking out this review

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3842/asus ... k-at-120hz

Anyone with 3D monitors please tell me if 120HZ refresh rate is achieved with normal 2D use?

I gather that for 3D apps the screen is refreshed @ 60HZ/60HZ (to each superimposed video image), hence 120HZ.

Also do would a HDMI to DVI adapter be 3D compatible?

Thanks

STORM1234

Postby STORM1234 » May 30th, 2011, 7:26 pm

looking to upgrade to a ddr3 mobo (currently have biostar g41-m7 mobo with q8400 cpu)

Questions

I currently have a licensed copy windows 7 ultimate installed, was wondering if i can perform a mobo upgrade without any hiccups I saw this vid on youtube where it can be done successfully. see vid below

also I have (550w dual) 20+ 4 pin power supply and a intel core 2 quad (q8400) (775) cpu in a atx vio case, what ddr3 board would you all recommend, not an avid gamer really, I 'm not looking for anything special.

kevinsonny

Postby kevinsonny » May 30th, 2011, 7:29 pm

i have the old one duane

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 30th, 2011, 10:01 pm

^ then just open up the case, take out the HDD and plug it into a desktop via the sata and power cables and it should mount as a drive - copy off your files.

if not then the problem is the drive itself and not the USB controller as suggested

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 30th, 2011, 10:28 pm

Desktop hasn't booted since yesterday. I keep experiencing bluescreens:

Tried Resetting the CMOS but that didn't work either....took some interior pics though :lol:

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 30th, 2011, 10:32 pm

disconnect ur secondary harddrive.... and try again...

Postby M_2NR » May 30th, 2011, 10:33 pm

hoss.. this may not solve it... but CLEAN YUH MC PC

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 30th, 2011, 10:38 pm

Lol will clean it soon :P

Chiney i tried that also and still experienced the same problem :(

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » May 30th, 2011, 11:07 pm

speedfreak99 wrote:Hey guys,

I was checking out this review

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3842/asus ... k-at-120hz

Anyone with 3D monitors please tell me if 120HZ refresh rate is achieved with normal 2D use?

I gather that for 3D apps the screen is refreshed @ 60HZ/60HZ (to each superimposed video image), hence 120HZ.

Thanks

I don't have a 3d-monitor, but yes I have seen most reviews/users say that it does support 120Hz in 2d-mode which is why many people get a 3d-monitor for the 120Hz 2d-mode, and just count the 3d-mode as a bonus. but to get the 120Hz you need to use a Dual link DVI.

Also do would a HDMI to DVI adapter be 3D compatible?

Not too sure about this but I think you would have to use a HDMI to Dual link DVI.

Postby M_2NR » May 30th, 2011, 11:22 pm

For the 3D i believe that you may need to see if the monitor has 3D on the HDMI port. I remember it was only recently that monitors only had 3D on the DVI port and there was some big press release that it was now on HDMI as well.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 30th, 2011, 11:59 pm

Guess it's a Virus :(

Starting to remember that AVG found a threat in the Windows folder :( AVG was also unable to remove it.....guess this is what's causing all this crap :( now i have no idea on how to remove this threat/virus

Postby M_2NR » May 31st, 2011, 12:02 am

go into in safe mode?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » May 31st, 2011, 12:06 am

Tried safe mode and its the same problem :(

I even tried the HDD from the Laptop im using now and it still won't boot..... the loading screen shows really dim then fades away and restarts :(

Chiney

Postby Chiney » May 31st, 2011, 8:44 am

sounds like the capacitors on your board starting to fail under cpu voltage regulation

** looks over at board and remembers to change capacitors for office pc **