The | Apple Inc.  | Thread - WWDC 2025

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 30th, 2010, 10:37 am

That happens if you dont use the original charger or an approved one bu Apple such as Belkin. What charger you using?

cenile indian

Postby cenile indian » January 30th, 2010, 10:45 am

JWT

Postby JWT » January 30th, 2010, 12:28 pm

the ipad is for university students not for the broader public to use.

as for the Iphone i believe apple will have to answer the Nexus one and when they do you will see the real apple. Also i know people online have been complaining about the nexus one sticking when moving from screen to screen.

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2010, 4:29 pm

They are saying Mr. Jobs didnt show everything on the iPad. Also, TaimurAsad from RedmondPie was saying on twitter in the Nexus One how there is some lag still even though it has snapdragon and 512MB Ram.

TBH, im awaiting the 4GS :lol:
Last edited by M_2NR on January 30th, 2010, 5:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » January 30th, 2010, 4:44 pm

^^ the iPad doesn't have a snap dragon chip. It's running Apple's A4 chip. I believe that the 4G will show an upgraded display and definitely a faster chip. As JWT said,we are yet to see the real offering. As for the iPad, it should not have been marketed to the public. If you already own an iPhone it would be of little to no use to you.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 30th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Trinifieds wrote:I think the hardware is wonderful (the bezel could have been smaller though) but the software is where its at.

They had to make the bezel that big so that you could hold the device without affecting the touch screen. The iPhone doesnt need such a big bezel as you can hold it with one hand.

Trinifieds wrote:Also I'm with Duane when he said he's waiting for the innovative minds to see what this puppy can do.

Wha? I didnt say that.
I didnt say I was waiting, I would buy one NOW! I said I am excited to see what the 3rd part developers would do with the hardware.

Trinifieds wrote:But for their initial offering, the software is lacking. Who knows how it will progress? But if the iPhone ipsws are anything to go by, we are in for a ride!

software lacking how? no multitasking? Its the iPhone OS!
its the hardware that is lacking - no camera at all was a big let down.

it would be impressive if this processor could run Mac OS.

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2010, 5:52 pm

Trinifieds, it was the Nexus One i was referring to. In any case the iPad has no specs on RAM out yet :P

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2010, 5:53 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR, Image

And word is chpwn already got his stuff "working" on iPad SDK *1we*

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 30th, 2010, 10:33 pm

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 30th, 2010, 10:36 pm

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » January 30th, 2010, 10:36 pm

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2010, 11:03 pm

alright buddy this thread is about Apple stuff if you ain't like it...

;)

SRASC

Postby SRASC » January 31st, 2010, 10:12 am

Steve Jobs On Google wrote:We did not enter the search business. They entered the phone business. Make no mistake they want to kill the iPhone. We won’t let them, he says. I want to go back to that other question first and say one more thing. This don’t be evil mantra, It’s BS
Audience roars.

Steve Jobs On Adobe wrote:They are lazy. They have all this potential to do interesting things but they just refuse to do it. They don’t do anything with the approaches that Apple is taking, like Carbon. Apple does not support Flash because it is so buggy. Whenever a Mac crashes more often than not it’s because of Flash. No one will be using Flash. The world is moving to HTML5.

Postby M_2NR » January 31st, 2010, 5:35 pm

Guess whose Cydia is crashing... I installed this sh!t called Cerebro and deleted it using Cydelete. Now its crashing...
<a href='http://www.iphonedownloadblog.com/2009/08/14/fix-cydia-crash/'>This</a> and <a href='http://xsellize.com/showthread.php/34550-Fix-Cydia-Crashes-And-Defects'>this</a> Isnt working.
This: http://blog.c22.cc/2009/07/19/fixing-cydia/
works wonders!

thanks again streetlifestyle.

Postby RASC » January 31st, 2010, 6:40 pm

iPad fail on such epic proportions. Even the fanboys on Engadget have given up on this.

iPhone 4.0 is needed FAST :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 31st, 2010, 7:11 pm

apparently this thread is the new home for apple fanboys :lol:

Postby M_2NR » January 31st, 2010, 7:16 pm

mitch wrote:apparently this thread is the new home for apple fanboys :lol:

it has always been :lol: u forgot when i was a sony/nokia whore n ulyuh used to run all over :P

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 1st, 2010, 9:47 am

corolla_2nr, i jus used the "delete all d sources" method and it worked fine for me...

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 1st, 2010, 10:11 am

Oh Steven... :lol:

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/ULOynUb6vAM&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

---

Make your iPhone/iPod touch look like an iPad (requires jailbreaking)

Winterboard app from Cydia to install custom themes

"Simple iPad theme" via Cydia

FakeCarrier app via Cydia to change the carrier name. Alternatively, as folks at Redmond Pie suggest, you can also MakeItMine app to achieve this

Shrink app via Cydia to reduce the size of the icons. This helps to provide the more spaced out layout as available on the iPad

ProSwitcher app via Cydia for multitasking

NYTimes app for iPhone from the App Store

"Classics" iPhone app from App Store

Kindle iPhone app from the App Store

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/VheR65gYiG0&color1=0xb1b1b1&color2=0xcfcfcf&hl=en_US&feature=player_embedded&fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" allowScriptAccess="always" width="425" height="344"></embed>

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 1st, 2010, 11:42 am

in other 'iPhone-killer' news...

Zune Phone to Debut at MWC, Will Use Nvidia Tegra

Spanish blog MuyComputer claims that Microsoft will present the Zune Phone this February, at the MWC in Barcelona. According to them, it's 100% confirmed. Since the Zune Phone will use Tegra, Nvidia will team with Microsoft for the anti-JesusPhone debut.

Talking to the blog editorial director Javier Pérez Cortijo, he told me that "the Zune Phone presentation at Barcelona's Mobile World Congress 2010 is 100% confirmed." I've been a close friend of Javier for a couple of decades—he was my first editor—and I completely trust his sources and his judgement, so this is a good one. The presentation of the Zune Phone at MWC 2010 seems to be inline with the mention of three phones in the Zune software last week, and previous rumors about its introduction.

MuyComputer says that the Zune Phone will have a 480 x 272 screen, HDMI video out, weigh around 2.45 ounces (70 grams), and use Windows Mobile 7.

Note: This is a mockup

http://gizmodo.com/5461215/zune-phone-t ... idia-tegra

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 1st, 2010, 6:55 pm

iTunes 9.0.3 is out now for download on Software Update and in the usual places. The update features the option to remember your password when purchasing items in iTunes (finally!), fixes problems with Smart Playlists and podcast synching on iPod, and resolves a few bugs and issues. There's no word of any updates in compatibility for iPad, but it's probably just too soon for that yet.

iTunes 9.0.3 provides a number of important bug fixes, including:

• iTunes no longer ignores your "Remember password for purchases" setting.
• Addresses problems with syncing some Smart Playlists and Podcasts with iPod.
• Resolves a problem recognizing when iPod is connected.
• Addresses issues that affect stability and performance.

iTunes 9 comes with many new features and improvements, including:

• An improved look and feel, including a new Column Browser for easily browsing your artists or albums, movies, TV shows, and more.

• iTunes Store has a brand new look, with improved navigation for quick and easy exploration.

• iTunes LP and iTunes Extras create unique experiences that feature exclusive interviews, videos, photos, and more — available with select album and movie purchases on the iTunes Store.

• Home Sharing helps you manage your family's iTunes collection between computers in your home. iTunes can automatically transfer new purchases, or you can choose just the items you want.

• Genius Mixes are created for you by iTunes and play songs from your library that go great together.

• iPod and iPhone syncing now allows you to organize your iPhone and iPod touch home screens directly in iTunes. Syncing is now also more flexible, allowing you to sync individual artists, genres, or TV show and Podcast episodes.

• iTunes U items are now organized into their own section in your iTunes library.

• Sync with iPod nano (5th generation), iPod classic (Fall 2009), and iPod touch (Fall 2009).

• iTunes 9 also includes many other improvements, such as HE-AAC encoding and playback, more flexibility with Smart Playlists rules, simpler organization of your media files inside an iTunes Media folder, and more.

Swisha

Postby Swisha » February 2nd, 2010, 11:45 am

Photo of Apple's next-generation iPhone in the wild - sources

A photograph containing one of Apple's fourth-generation iPhones has been lingering undetected in the public domain for nearly a week now thanks to having been overshadowed -- quite literally -- by the company's new iPad, AppleInsider has learned.

Cosmetically, the iPhone in the photo appears without its iconic aluminum bezel. Instead, the device is surrounded by a black plastic of aluminum material. Either that, or the handset is wrapped 80 percent of the way in a rubberized protective holder like the iPad prototype it rests on top of, though the quality of the image leaves this assertion to considerable debate.

The only other distinguishable difference between the existing iPhone and the one in the photo is what appears to be a whitish blotch immediately to the left of the earpiece grill. This could represent a circular transparency in the blackened portion of the face of the device that gives way to a camera lens, though it could also be nothing more than a reflection from some other source.

http://www.appleinsider.com/articles/10 ... urces.html

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 2nd, 2010, 3:11 pm

iPhone Dev Team (re: 3.1.3 and thee) wrote:WARNING! At 10.30AM PST on February 2nd 2010 Apple released the 3.1.3 version (7E18) of the iPhoneOS.

If you care about your jailbreak and unlock, don’t update your device - 3G and 3G(S) owners should pay particular attention to this warning.

PwnageTool and redsn0w are not yet compatible with 3.1.3
There is no estimated release time for compatible tools (please don’t bug us about this).
Any information we have regarding this update will be posted here.
You can also follow us on twitter - @iphone_dev

-Improves accuracy of reported battery level on iPhone 3GS
    -Resolves issue where third-party apps would not launch in some instances
    -Fixes bug that may cause an app to crash when using the Japanese Kana keyboard
    -Fixes security bugs in webkit and recovery mode

Postby M_2NR » February 2nd, 2010, 6:09 pm

but my 3GS looks just like that in my iSkin case.

OK heads up on 3.1.3, 2G users have no fear, the latest redsn0w should JB you and Bootneuter will unlock i assume.
Source: http://twitter.com/MuscleNerd/status/8557843782

ALL OTHERS AKA 3G AND 3GS
hymc
http://twitter.com/MuscleNerd/status/8558057183

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 2nd, 2010, 6:23 pm

^^patiently waits on SRAC to make custom firmware for d 2G^^

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 2nd, 2010, 6:25 pm

You could use the latest redsn0w (like I am downloading now) to do so yourself...

Just select for 3.1.2 (as per MuscleNerd's rule).

Been a while since I've had the opportunity to update my iPhone through a Windows app instead of Mac OS X.
Last edited by SRASC on February 2nd, 2010, 6:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 2nd, 2010, 6:30 pm

Oh & by the way

iPhone OS 3.1.3
iPhone (2G)
iPhone 3G
iPhone 3GS

How to Unlock/Jailbreak Your iPhone 2G on OS 3.1.2 Using RedSn0w (Windows)
NB Update to 3.1.3 through iTunes & in redsn0w when asked for IPSW use 3.1.2

Postby M_2NR » February 2nd, 2010, 6:48 pm

and if you do the dumb@$$ thing and upgraded to 3.1.3 and wanna downgrade...
http://www.iphone-enthusiast.com/2010/0 ... o-313.html

BUT YOU DONT WANT TO. You'd be jailbroken but NOT unlocked. Plus you'll be on a NEW Baseband of 05.12.01.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » February 2nd, 2010, 6:49 pm

The iPhone Dev-Team has announced that the iPhone 2G, 3G, and iPod touch 1G can be jailbroken on OS 3.1.3 already.

Thanks to daring experimenters in the comments, we can confirm that yesterday’s redsn0w works for today’s 3.1.3 update for iPhone 2G. Just point it at the 3.1.2 iPhone 2G IPSW after doing update or restore to 3.1.3.
Can confirm that this method works for iPhone 3G and iPod touch 1G too. Don’t do it for iPhone 3G if you need an unlock though (really, don’t!). For older iPod touch 2G, we’ll need a small (1-character) change in redsn0w source.

WARNING: Don’t go near this if you have 3GS, newer ipt2G, or any ipt3G

So basically the update is safe for those with an iPhone 2G and iPod touch 1G. Those with an iPhone 3G (who don't care about unlock) can update as well.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » February 2nd, 2010, 6:49 pm

SRASC, thanks dude....as usual...