3ne2nr fishermen

ryan99tt

Re: 3ne2nr fishermen

Postby ryan99tt » June 22nd, 2011, 10:31 pm

hmmm...i does do my spearfishing where ever i go in tobago...just look for some rocky area and u wud fing sum gd fish but u have to know where to look and make sure and go wit a friend for safety...

jramsarran

Postby jramsarran » June 22nd, 2011, 11:29 pm

yea man ^^^ me n meh cuz does move together....safety first...then in case yuh need ah "back-up" shot...lol

it not even good to snorkel alone!...how much more spearfishing.

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 23rd, 2011, 7:54 am

Trini_Reddz wrote:
Dragular wrote:caught salmon, reds and recando in Cliffton hill this weekend. Nothing too big but got a alot of bites.

hey where sells Eagle Claw hooks or Gamakatsu hooks locally ???????????????????????

I once got some Eagle Claw circle hooks @ Budget Marine. Haven't been there in a while so I can't say if they have in stock or not.

The Tackle Shop has the Eagle Claw.

kl122

Postby kl122 » June 23rd, 2011, 8:28 am

Fellas, im looking to bring in these 2 rods, http://www.amazon.com/Okuma-Fishing-TU- ... 73&sr=8-47 both for 63US, the reviews are really good on them, anyone have 15ft rods and can share some advice?

i got a tackle box filled with eagle claw circle hooks and braided line dying to be used!!..

Postby Razkal » June 23rd, 2011, 10:27 am

^whatcha waiting for!? GO FISHING man!

Postby Razkal » June 23rd, 2011, 10:33 am

Sabot wrote:
Trini_Reddz wrote:
Dragular wrote:caught salmon, reds and recando in Cliffton hill this weekend. Nothing too big but got a alot of bites.

hey where sells Eagle Claw hooks or Gamakatsu hooks locally ???????????????????????

I once got some Eagle Claw circle hooks @ Budget Marine. Haven't been there in a while so I can't say if they have in stock or not.

really? only ever got some generic looking really untidy shaped circles there...they work, but are so clumsy looking and very visible....fished them alongside the Mustads, exact same rig, same bait, less than four feet apart and the mustads outperformed them 2-1.

i love the gear at Tackle Shop, but i have to say, that store attendant is the WORST. not in terms of service, but attitude, she ALWAYS follows me like a hawk as soon as i'm in the doors and seems to think i'll shoplift half their inventory if she blinks. i'm never comfortable shopping there because of her...and aside from the fact she knows nothing about anything they sell..

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 23rd, 2011, 10:46 am

Razkal wrote:
Sabot wrote:
Trini_Reddz wrote:

really? only ever got some generic looking really untidy shaped circles there...they work, but are so clumsy looking and very visible....fished them alongside the Mustads, exact same rig, same bait, less than four feet apart and the mustads outperformed them 2-1.

i love the gear at Tackle Shop, but i have to say, that store attendant is the WORST. not in terms of service, but attitude, she ALWAYS follows me like a hawk as soon as i'm in the doors and seems to think i'll shoplift half their inventory if she blinks. i'm never comfortable shopping there because of her...and aside from the fact she knows nothing about anything they sell..

I agree with you, I go there only because they have some items available that others don't have. They really don't know much about anything with regards to the gear they sell and operate like robots. I personally use mustad all the time but they do have the Eagle Claw line.

Postby Razkal » June 23rd, 2011, 11:33 am

^nice to know i have firm company in the mustad camp! lol....

i find i'm visiting Mankees alot more regularly now...what i would go Tackle Shop for, Mankees seems to have it, usually with more variety and better prices (sometimes)...but i'd pay the extra dollars for a comfortable and knowledgeable environment anyday

plus the attitude in Mankees is much much better, the help is genuine and many times i've been advised against buying gear that would put more in the Mankees coffers that what i left with would have. Hooks, leader material, artificials and terminal tackle i get nowhere else now.

admittedly, Tackle Shop's rod selection is unparalleled...Reel Tackle @ Peakes has some great sticks and reels too, but mostly IGFA competition stuff. i bought both my most recent rods at Tackle Shop...with some hesitation knowing who was getting the sales commission :|

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 23rd, 2011, 10:20 pm

Razkal, i see yuh giv dem sum trouble on facebook lol...wat u said is totally true and i do exactly wat u do...mankees is the most informative tackle shop i come across so far...i really like d rods that reel tackle have too, well for my use....ever since i found out about mankees, i make the extra effort to go there first to get all my equipment and tackle and i may decide to check the other stores after...

Postby Razkal » June 23rd, 2011, 10:56 pm

^nah no trouble, but i figure if i was affected enough to mention it here and Sabot agreed, it was worth letting them know!

Sabot

Postby Sabot » June 24th, 2011, 9:08 am

Razkal wrote:^nah no trouble, but i figure if i was affected enough to mention it here and Sabot agreed, it was worth letting them know!

Lol, not sure what transpired on facebook but let me give you info from my perspective; I stopped going to that place since 2006 because of their customer service. What made me stop is that they were selling the Penn Spinfisher SS line of reels and I went in to check them out. From the time I walked in its all eyes on me so obviously its a little disturbing since anywhere you walk in the store they follow you around just looking at you and what you are doing. I happened to pick up one of the reels they had on a rod on display in a rod holder. I turned the drag knob to see if it was one that clicks or not and the woman quickly asked "What are you doing? Do not touch that!" In all honesty I think she thought I was trying to steal the drag knob or something.
Since then I only went back this month to get an item I knew they had.
Not going back there really since they still follow me around :lol:

Postby Razkal » June 24th, 2011, 9:51 am

^man...i have the EXACT experiences...

this was my post on their facebook page:
Aks Hasgonefishing wrote:Some constructive criticism; myself and other anglers i've spoken with, think very highly of the equipment The Tackle Shop carries and through our shopping, have never had complaints about gear purchased here.
however, the store attendants seem to not exude a friendly environment for anglers/hobbyists/interested folk...more of a 'closely watched' environment, in addition, it would be very beneficial if the staff is well versed in the equipment the Shop carries and have sound fishing knowledge...even the pros need advice sometimes
besides these two points, i've always enjoyed patronizing The Tackle Shop and will continue to do so...i thought it worth mentioning that if these points are addressed, the Tackle Shop experience would be even more pleasurable.

i may have lied a bit about "continuing patronizing" :lol: :oops:

the thing is, i've seen the biased treatment depending on who walks through the door...that pisses me off royally.
...the same rod fiasco happened when myself and two buddies went gear shopping, we lifted the Shimano FX-FB4000 combos out the holder for closer inspection and did a drag knob twist also...shortly followed by the same terriified, "NO! what ya doin!? you can't touch those!"

needless to say i was disturbed to be considered such a threat and proceeded to ask her a barrage of tech question on the rod "what is the max drag at strike?braid ready?what weight lure can i use? what lure type? where to use the lures?" most of which was stamped on the stick she couldn't answer...i was pissed by now and even more so when we left with three of those rod combos @$420.00 a piece.

good thing they've worked off the 'blight'...caught lotsa medium to slightly above average kings, some bonita and a couple nice mutton snappers :)

Postby Razkal » June 24th, 2011, 10:05 am

btw, making a north coast mission sunday, a padna on that side rang me up at some ungodly hour and layed out the invite...

heard the mahi-mahi are being spotted further north, paria and madamas side....could have some truth to it, last outing i did see lotsa sea-weed debris and sea-weed islands floating around...and i know they like hanging around that sheit..

dunno if we'll head that direction, cause we got some GOOD action really near Maracas last time out..will buss a report on the outcome.

btw, the guy will be an available "charter" for those like myself, interested and boat-less...i'll get his proper contact info to share as well as two of his bredrens he told me also offer the services..

~$500.00 for four persons per day (6am - 4pm), live bait provided and keep ALL the fish caught.

Postby X_Factor » June 24th, 2011, 6:43 pm

who is that fishing link boy?

and i had a similar situation in Tackle Shop but my response was
"How do u want me to buy something i cant get a feel of, it cant fit in my pocket you know....well ne ways, i'll go somewhere else yes" and i left

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 24th, 2011, 9:31 pm

razkal, where exactly d fish biting on d north coast? i heading out same sunday....

Postby Razkal » June 25th, 2011, 2:33 am

X_Factor wrote:who is that fishing link boy?

and i had a similar situation in Tackle Shop but my response was
"How do u want me to buy something i cant get a feel of, it cant fit in my pocket you know....well ne ways, i'll go somewhere else yes" and i left

thats the idea...let them (or whoever) know when their service is bad!

the boatman is a friend of Joey, one of the local live-bait boat captains on Maracas bay.

Joey is a good soul, put me onto a paddna of his when a previous guy cancelled....all in ten mins, normel.

ryan, last time, we left the fishing depot (maracas eh), headed directly out and eastwards not more than three to four bays before maracas bay, one of which is called Cyril Bay...dead boat, live lines and action!

i was told that other game fish, kings included were biting or atleast spotted (in the case of the mahi mahi) further north, as in paria bay, madamas bay area, and offshore..

need to clean my tacjle box and do a stock check before i go for those guys yes...i've lost and used so much shite its ridiculous!

i'll be on the bay for 6am sharp, hail meh if yuh see meh!
or dial I, my number's changed, 472-3474. name is the same lol

Postby Razkal » June 25th, 2011, 2:36 am

X, where faster the better? :lol:

yuh stickin man FtB! ah know even if he not chartering these days, when mark catch fish..is FISH he catch :lol:

Postby X_Factor » June 25th, 2011, 5:06 pm

boy, long time i eh hear from him
and i lost my fone with all the contacts n stuff

Postby X_Factor » June 25th, 2011, 5:09 pm

i wanna go fish soo bad, but hadda be somewhere with potential to get some nice monsters
have some nice gear to try

we went for mountain crab today with all the rain this morning....caught about 40....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 25th, 2011, 8:55 pm

long time i ent see ah mountain crab, where u went to catch dem?

Postby X_Factor » June 25th, 2011, 9:03 pm

guanapo river ( up east side)

Postby Razkal » June 25th, 2011, 9:23 pm

i'm actually eyeing a crab catching expedition down mayaro/manzan coast...well whereever the cyric crabs are anyway..

i want to get maybe ten to twnety to try them as live bait for big (20lb+) snapper and big swamp groupers....

the last cubera snapper we helped yank in, its stmach was filled with smaller snapper and crabs. only.
the same for most of the other grouper etc...

plus the medium sized cyrics are perfect for sticking a 9/0 mustad circle in and waiting for the magic.

had good success in the swamp using those little fiddler crabs for mangrove and grey snapper...against bonito and red sardine (dead) bait...i was pleased!

Postby X_Factor » June 25th, 2011, 10:54 pm

does it have to be alive?...or dead can work as well?
cause the market usually sells them on a saturday/sunday morning

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2011, 7:09 am

Raz, if u want some of the cyric crabs this morning lemme know ASAP
as of this post u can get living ones, but they goin in the freezer within 2hrs

HaRdCoRe_YoUtH

Postby HaRdCoRe_YoUtH » June 26th, 2011, 10:06 am

ryan99tt wrote:long time i ent see ah mountain crab, where u went to catch dem?

caught about 80 in my land in grand rivier!!

Postby meccalli » June 26th, 2011, 7:21 pm

x-factor , where you going with them tuna hooks? lol

Postby X_Factor » June 26th, 2011, 8:17 pm

hahaha
yuh know ting
i bought them up in ft lauderdale earlier in the year...it looked nice...stainless steel stuff
i say i would try them when ever we go out on a boat....

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » June 26th, 2011, 9:37 pm

how was d fishing expedition razkal? i had sum gd action today, caught 7 tarpon, 2 cavali, 2 bachine and ah king also some of dem long fish dat does be eatin out yuh bait (not zorphy/blue bone) by 3pm...lol...real tarpon play now...pics to come soon...

Postby Razkal » June 27th, 2011, 8:28 am

it was alright, we didn't wait for live bait anymore, time was wasting, so we just did some light banking.

the catch was moderate, most got thrown back (i don't like rocando or moonshine/carangrass for eating), caught a few kings and bonito trolling to the banking spots.

DD yozuri herring finish, shallow diver red head yozuri and a feather jig were the artificials of choice.

glad you got some sick action! but you all kept the tarps? what ya do with them? i usually release them and of recent try not to even hook them! lol..
next year you should enter the tarps tourney, try your hand at it man....save and hire a charter boat...i'd be willing to join you 8)

it does affect your fisherman's ego a bit, but i've started swallowing my pride and releasing most of what i won't seriously take home...the only thing i'm guilty of whacking while undersized is a couple sharks...because they taste good :oops:

Postby Razkal » June 27th, 2011, 8:31 am

X, those tuna hooks are epic for grouper imo...we caught a solid forty pounder in the swamp once....tried hell hard for a repeat but to no avail. used one of those Williamson tandem tuna hooks and a slab of bonito lol..

nice gear btw, reminds me i need to restock the ole tackle box...its a mess!