The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

innovative audio

Re: Stolen Samsung Galaxy S2 recovered

Postby innovative audio » December 13th, 2011, 4:58 pm

:lol: bandit have ah data plan yes..............

Postby S_2NR » December 13th, 2011, 5:19 pm

i ordered a box of cookies for OP and his popo friends

sicctt

Postby sicctt » December 13th, 2011, 5:21 pm

Cerberus is like this but you don't need a data plan sweet

Sent from my HTC Nexus One using Tapatalk

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » December 13th, 2011, 5:23 pm

this tale warms my heart...

Sent from my Nokia 1100 using a Satellite Dish

Postby redmanjp » December 13th, 2011, 5:29 pm

sicctt wrote:Cerberus is like this but you don't need a data plan sweet

Sent from my HTC Nexus One using Tapatalk

does it send txt msgs? that would really be important because the majority of the time bandits probably won't have data activated on their sim card unless they steal dat too

BB protect would be the perfect security app if it only had that ability :|

Postby bluesteel29 » December 13th, 2011, 5:30 pm

Soundwave wrote:this tale warms my heart...

Sent from my Nokia 1100 using a Satellite Dish

tork nuh

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby M_2NR » December 13th, 2011, 7:29 pm

achillies wrote:
M_2NR wrote:been using 2.3.7 on the touchpad a while now :lol: talk about fragmentation and lack of actual tablet apps. But it's nice. Can't wait for CM9 for it.

i seeing no one knows when it will drop for the SGS II :( and that really sucks.

I don't think i can handle an unjailbroken iPhone though... I will go nuts.

Tablet apps on 2.3.7 :shock:

The first version of Android made for tablets was 3.0 Honeycomb, I don't think the market will allow you to see all the tablet apps if your build.prop says 2.3.7

Can someone please correct me if I am wrong

lol dbu, relax no need to go into vtek. i wasnt expecting anything formatted for the tablet anyway. 2.x.x were all "phone" OS'
:)

Postby pete » December 13th, 2011, 7:56 pm

So.. has anyone here gotten their unlocked phones put on the bmobile android plans?

I know you can't do that with the iPhone plans but its supposedly possible with the android plans.

Can anyone confirm?

achillies

Postby achillies » December 14th, 2011, 9:30 am

SwiftKey is 10 cents, So to all those that want it

achillies

Postby achillies » December 14th, 2011, 9:31 am

Samsung Galaxy S II (I-9100) Ice Cream Sandwich ROM leaks out

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 14th, 2011, 7:50 pm

Android leads US market share, iOS may have stopped growing, RIM is still falling

NPD just published its latest plotting of the great American smartphone OS rivalry, and although the report covers annual rather than quarterly trends, it's perhaps more interesting to hold it up against the previous set of figures we saw -- those for Q2 2011. Back then, Google's OS had a 52 percent share, but these new figures suggest a marginally better performance of 53 percent between January and October. Meanwhile, iOS's 29 percent share is identical to what we saw in Q2, hinting that its growth has slowed right down or even stopped. RIM's share of the pie is 10 percent, compared to 11 percent in Q2, showing that the Summer flurry of new BB7 handsets like the Bold 9930 and Torch 9810 had little immediate impact. WP7 obstinately refuses to overtake Windows Mobile, although these figures are pre-Titan, while the doomed Symbian and webOS are barely clinging to life. Aside from all that, perhaps the only stats that are genuinely still shocking are those at the top of the column for 2006. Click below for further detail's in NPD's press release.

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 14th, 2011, 8:04 pm

Coming Soon: Ability To Start A Google + Hangout From Your Mobile Device

While we've had the ability to join a G+ Hangout from mobile for quite some time, the option to actually initiate one has been noticeable absent. That's all about to change within the next few days, however, because Big Daddy Goog is going to push an update that will allow users to start a Hangout (or "go live" as they worded it) from a mobile device.

The update is expected to his the Android Market within the next "few days," so I wouldn't be surprised to see it before the end of the week.

Android Police

The Official Google Blog

Postby S_2NR » December 14th, 2011, 9:53 pm

achillies wrote:Samsung Galaxy S II (I-9100) Ice Cream Sandwich ROM leaks out

so S2 getting this before nexus s.

wdmc :evil:

*grabs enos*

achillies

Postby achillies » December 15th, 2011, 4:39 am

S_2NR wrote:
achillies wrote:Samsung Galaxy S II (I-9100) Ice Cream Sandwich ROM leaks out

so S2 getting this before nexus s.

wdmc :evil:

*grabs enos*

Nah, that won't happen, that is a very early alpha stage ROM that was leaked, missing a lot of stuff, basically they just slapped TouchWiz 4.0 on ICS and made sure it could boot, there are not many other positives about that ROM except the fact that they are working on it

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 15th, 2011, 8:02 am

Swisha wrote:Android leads US market share, iOS may have stopped growing, RIM is still falling

NPD just published its latest plotting of the great American smartphone OS rivalry, and although the report covers annual rather than quarterly trends, it's perhaps more interesting to hold it up against the previous set of figures we saw -- those for Q2 2011. Back then, Google's OS had a 52 percent share, but these new figures suggest a marginally better performance of 53 percent between January and October. Meanwhile, iOS's 29 percent share is identical to what we saw in Q2, hinting that its growth has slowed right down or even stopped. RIM's share of the pie is 10 percent, compared to 11 percent in Q2, showing that the Summer flurry of new BB7 handsets like the Bold 9930 and Torch 9810 had little immediate impact. WP7 obstinately refuses to overtake Windows Mobile, although these figures are pre-Titan, while the doomed Symbian and webOS are barely clinging to life. Aside from all that, perhaps the only stats that are genuinely still shocking are those at the top of the column for 2006. Click below for further detail's in NPD's press release.

Engadget

This might be a bit flaws.

Too many sites are taking:
1. Shipped (not sure if bought/activated) Android phones vs sold iPhones
2. Assume all Android phones are smart phones.

#1 point gets data from manufacturers on the total phones they ship. They phones can be sitting on shelves, returned or activated. Only a few carriers provide data when their phone is being activated. Whereas Apple know when their phones are sold because they control the process via the Apple store and their demands on carries. To Apple, a phone is only sold when it's activated and the info in sent back to Apple.

#2 is more important now. Android is on a LOT of phones. But they are NOT "smart phones". They are cheap phones to just pick up and dial with the usual BT, MP3, radio etc we're accustomed to. They don't have WiFi nor access to Android apps.

I'm glad we're moving in this direction though. Android is to phones as Windows is to PCs. Soon they will dominate as almost every smaller manufacturer will be putting Google's free OS instead of spending the R&D, time etc to develop their own OS.

RIM will be out of the consumer game pretty soon. But I don't expect them to leave enterprise, no matter how much Apple is taking away the enterprise market slowly.

Is Microsoft too late to the game? I'm scared a great OS would be pushed aside due to market dominance of Android and iOS. Maybe it's Karma. Look what happened to OS2/Warp and BeOS and even the Taligent project... all because users only knew Microsoft.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » December 15th, 2011, 12:25 pm

anybody wanna damaged Tab 10.1 to buy? Glass broken but unit works fine.

see here http://goo.gl/8PnHd

Reasonable offers accepted

achillies

Postby achillies » December 15th, 2011, 7:31 pm

Strauss wrote:This might be a bit flaws.

Too many sites are taking:
1. Shipped (not sure if bought/activated) Android phones vs sold iPhones
2. Assume all Android phones are smart phones.

#1 point gets data from manufacturers on the total phones they ship. They phones can be sitting on shelves, returned or activated. Only a few carriers provide data when their phone is being activated. Whereas Apple know when their phones are sold because they control the process via the Apple store and their demands on carries. To Apple, a phone is only sold when it's activated and the info in sent back to Apple.

#2 is more important now. Android is on a LOT of phones. But they are NOT "smart phones". They are cheap phones to just pick up and dial with the usual BT, MP3, radio etc we're accustomed to. They don't have WiFi nor access to Android apps.

I'm glad we're moving in this direction though. Android is to phones as Windows is to PCs. Soon they will dominate as almost every smaller manufacturer will be putting Google's free OS instead of spending the R&D, time etc to develop their own OS.

RIM will be out of the consumer game pretty soon. But I don't expect them to leave enterprise, no matter how much Apple is taking away the enterprise market slowly.

Is Microsoft too late to the game? I'm scared a great OS would be pushed aside due to market dominance of Android and iOS. Maybe it's Karma. Look what happened to OS2/Warp and BeOS and even the Taligent project... all because users only knew Microsoft.

Google only counts first time activations of a particular device when connecting using a Google Account, they DO NOT count devices that do not have access to the Android market - Andy Rubin

So your first 2 points have just become moot.

Android is free to Phone Manufacturers, but unless you think all of the past Android updates came out of a spring in the hills of Maracas, an individual with the ability to reason and a little common sense would know that the millions in R+D is done by Google (the owner of the Android OS) to get the OS ready for public consumption then you add to that the millions of dollars spent in R+D for MotoBlur, TouchWiz, HTC Sense and the other custom skins by the unmentioned manufacturers, you would quickly realize that your 3rd point has also been rendered moot.

The latter part of your post is filled with opinions, guesses and predictions that we don't have the necessary FACTS to prove, or disprove. However that was not the case with your first few points.

fallen18

Postby fallen18 » December 16th, 2011, 12:27 pm

Was checking out google music in the market and saw it for Us users only, have you guys got it working.

achillies

Postby achillies » December 16th, 2011, 1:53 pm

fallen18 wrote:Was checking out google music in the market and saw it for Us users only, have you guys got it working.

There is a way to get working using Tor, I haven't felt the need to try this yet

Just google it

Jonathan_337

Postby Jonathan_337 » December 16th, 2011, 7:09 pm

Got a CaseMate Pop! Case on my GS2. Anyone wanna trade for an Otterbox Commuter?

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 16th, 2011, 7:46 pm

Is there any browser that runs on 2.3 that supports tabs?

Crucial

Postby Crucial » December 16th, 2011, 8:10 pm

fallen18 wrote:Was checking out google music in the market and saw it for Us users only, have you guys got it working.

Google Music v4.0.9.509 works flawlessly on my Nexus S running Android 2.3.6. Got the update via OTA about a month now. (Before it was just Google Music beta).

Is there a problem?

Postby S_2NR » December 16th, 2011, 8:21 pm

use market enabler to get around that US thing

Postby S_2NR » December 16th, 2011, 8:33 pm

oh godd allyu.. ICS being pushed to Nexus S via OTA now.. :D

Gonna install now

Crucial

Postby Crucial » December 16th, 2011, 8:41 pm

S_2NR wrote:

use market enabler to get around that US thing

He doesn't need that if he's got a Nexus S. Just leave data enabled on it (turn on WiFi) and it would be pushed to the phone without any effort from him.

While you cannot purchase music off https://music.google.com/, you can still run the Music app on your Android device.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 16th, 2011, 10:08 pm

sits and waits for ICS on nexus s...

Postby S_2NR » December 16th, 2011, 10:13 pm

installed it.. workin bess.
no root available yet tho :(

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 16th, 2011, 10:18 pm

how'd u get it installed? i usually sit and wait till its pushed to my device...is there a way to check for it?

Postby S_2NR » December 16th, 2011, 10:23 pm

connect to wifi

enter this in dialer : *#*#2432546#*#*
that is to force check google for the update
you should see "checkin succeeded"

go to settings > about phone > system updates

download and install

enjoy 8-)

FullStop

Postby FullStop » December 17th, 2011, 12:04 am

running android 2.3.6 and still says system is up to date...damn this sucks...it said checkin succeeded, will try back in the morning, thanks man.