COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2021, 12:29 pm

What is most worrying is reports of ppl getting back the normal flu in the US. I know they should be wearing back masks to lessen this...but there are 2 avenues to this...

-Get infected to develop the antibodies
- get the yearly flu shot
- other ?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 1st, 2021, 1:06 pm

FrankChag wrote:This is very worrying.

tldr: if i'm reading this correctly --> a vaccine-resistant strain can emerge at the tail end of everyone being vaccinated IF we start to reduce mask-wearing, and open up too soon. We should therefore continue until everyone is vaccinated to avoid the emergence of something more deadly and contagious.

https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-021-95025-3
Published: 30 July 2021

Abstract

Vaccines are thought to be the best available solution for controlling the ongoing SARS-CoV-2 pandemic. However, the emergence of vaccine-resistant strains may come too rapidly for current vaccine developments to alleviate the health, economic and social consequences of the pandemic. To quantify and characterize the risk of such a scenario, we created a SIR-derived model with initial stochastic dynamics of the vaccine-resistant strain to study the probability of its emergence and establishment. Using parameters realistically resembling SARS-CoV-2 transmission, we model a wave-like pattern of the pandemic and consider the impact of the rate of vaccination and the strength of non-pharmaceutical intervention measures on the probability of emergence of a resistant strain. As expected, we found that a fast rate of vaccination decreases the probability of emergence of a resistant strain. Counterintuitively, when a relaxation of non-pharmaceutical interventions happened at a time when most individuals of the population have already been vaccinated the probability of emergence of a resistant strain was greatly increased. Consequently, we show that a period of transmission reduction close to the end of the vaccination campaign can substantially reduce the probability of resistant strain establishment. Our results suggest that policymakers and individuals should consider maintaining non-pharmaceutical interventions and transmission-reducing behaviours throughout the entire vaccination period.

It will happen but it won't be the end of the world. The vaccine and immunity from previous infection will provide enough protection. Remember China didn't finish working on the virus, it leaked, so all the features they wanted isn't in the virus.

Postby redmanjp » August 1st, 2021, 1:13 pm

^ was reading something like that this morning. it's more applicable to partially vaccinated ppl

Postby aaron17 » August 1st, 2021, 2:16 pm

So when they making it mandatory to vacc. essential workers?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 1st, 2021, 2:41 pm

The chances of mutations happening in vaccinated persons are lower inherently because there are lower rates of infections among the vaccinated than the unvaccinated, lower rates still of symptoms, even lower rates of serious symptoms, and then even lower rates than that of death.

What this means is that the virus has increasingly smaller chances of reproducing in a vaccinated person to the degree that’s likely to produce a new strain, in a vaccinated person vs an unvaccinated.

Think of mutations like lung cancer. Sure, you could get it even if you don’t smoke. But if you smoke, you’re way more likely to develop lung cancer. It’s a similar concept here.

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2021, 2:48 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:The chances of mutations happening in vaccinated persons are lower inherently because there are lower rates of infections among the vaccinated than the unvaccinated, lower rates still of symptoms, even lower rates of serious symptoms, and then even lower rates than that of death.

What this means is that the virus has increasingly smaller chances of reproducing in a vaccinated person to the degree that’s likely to produce a new strain, in a vaccinated person vs an unvaccinated.

Think of mutations like lung cancer. Sure, you could get it even if you don’t smoke. But if you smoke, you’re way more likely to develop lung cancer. It’s a similar concept here.

The chance of a vaccine avoidance mutation occurs at a higher rate in a partially vaccinated population when there are ample unvaccinated hosts for the mutation to jump to where it multiplies.

The same thing occurs when some infection survivors rely on natural immunity. Vaccine avoidant mutations also reinfect infection survivors. The only viable defense is widespread distribution of the reformulated vaccine.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2021, 3:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:Out of all the vaccines I have had in my life (tetanus, small pox, measles, polio, TB, etc.) I have never seen so much wishy washi-ness over a vaccine that says I have to wear a mask and socially distance even when fully vaccinated. That I could still contract and spread the virus even when fully vaccinated. I was never bribed by establishments to take a vaccine. Nor have my livelihood (job, schooling, etc) threatened if i did not take it. I have never seen ever changing narratives about a vaccine. That one day it is good to mix and match or good for certain age groups and the other day it is not. Nor one that allows a 12 year old's consent supersede his/her parent's consent (that one blows me away). This is one powerful vaccine.

There was a lot of wish washiness in the past, you and social media just wasn't around to witness it. There was huge anti vax movements against the polio vaccine and others.

https://ftp.historyofvaccines.org/multi ... -movements

History repeats itself and in every generation we have idiots. But this time we have social medias which gives idiots a platform to grow and feel some belonging and weird vindication everytime science updates itself.

u comparing the 1800s to now. Ok cool. Anyway, did the 1800s have conflicts like those observed with the coronavirus vaccine. Particularly the fact that for the first time ever that children consent for the vaccine supersedes that of the parents. No agenda to see here at all.

Postby timelapse » August 1st, 2021, 3:19 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
elec2020 wrote:Out of all the vaccines I have had in my life (tetanus, small pox, measles, polio, TB, etc.) I have never seen so much wishy washi-ness over a vaccine that says I have to wear a mask and socially distance even when fully vaccinated. That I could still contract and spread the virus even when fully vaccinated. I was never bribed by establishments to take a vaccine. Nor have my livelihood (job, schooling, etc) threatened if i did not take it. I have never seen ever changing narratives about a vaccine. That one day it is good to mix and match or good for certain age groups and the other day it is not. Nor one that allows a 12 year old's consent supersede his/her parent's consent (that one blows me away). This is one powerful vaccine.

There was a lot of wish washiness in the past, you and social media just wasn't around to witness it. There was huge anti vax movements against the polio vaccine and others.

History repeats itself and in every generation we have idiots. But this time we have social medias which gives idiots a platform to grow and feel some belonging and weird vindication everytime science updates itself.

u comparing the 1800s to now. Ok cool. Anyway, did the 1800s have conflicts like those observed with the coronavirus vaccine. Particularly the fact that for the first time ever that children consent for the vaccine supersedes that of the parents. No agenda to see here at all.
What is the agenda? Brainwashing?Satan? Soviets and China taking over the world? Turning the world LGBT?
Which one of the conspiracy theories do you subscribe to?
Or are you just another big man that fraid needle?

Postby matr1x » August 1st, 2021, 3:24 pm

Doctors: braying about wanting to save lives

Also Doctors: charge you so much you wish you were dead

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2021, 3:37 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

The age of medical and sexual consent in the Nineteenth century was generally 12 years old. The Royal Navy's minimum age was 14 years.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » August 1st, 2021, 3:53 pm

adnj wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:The chances of mutations happening in vaccinated persons are lower inherently because there are lower rates of infections among the vaccinated than the unvaccinated, lower rates still of symptoms, even lower rates of serious symptoms, and then even lower rates than that of death.

The chance of a vaccine avoidance mutation occurs at a higher rate in a partially vaccinated population when there are ample unvaccinated hosts for the mutation to jump to where it multiplies.

The same thing occurs when some infection survivors rely on natural immunity. Vaccine avoidant mutations also reinfect infection survivors. The only viable defense is widespread distribution of the reformulated vaccine.

Allyuh ever stop to consider that the people who stand to make billions of dollars more from vaccines could be the ones putting out all these "Vaccine or nothing" messages?

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2021, 4:07 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Allyuh ever stop to consider that the people who stand to make billions of dollars more from vaccines could be the ones putting out all these "Vaccine or nothing" messages?
So in other words, you didn't buy Pfizer stock when it was below $28.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2021, 4:31 pm

timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

What is the agenda? Brainwashing?Satan? Soviets and China taking over the world? Turning the world LGBT?

I see. Resorting to making claims that I believe in something delusional to discredit my opinion. Cause, as stated earlier, giving children the right to supersede the consent of there parents is something totally normal.

Postby timelapse » August 1st, 2021, 4:35 pm

elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

I see. Resorting to making claims that I believe in something delusional to discredit my opinion. Cause, as stated earlier, giving children the right to supersede the consent of there parents is something totally normal.
If the parents are idiot anti vaxxers, it is the better course of action.Same kind of parents would be proud if their child identify as some LGBTQ denomination and have a sex change, without any kind of concern.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2021, 4:36 pm

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

The age of medical and sexual consent in the Nineteenth century was generally 12 years old. The Royal Navy's minimum age was 14 years.

Ok. I erred there with the age of consent in the 1800s. Regardless, as stated earlier, why are we comparing the 1800s with now? Just as indicated in your comment, in the 1800s it was basically ok for a grown ass male/woman to have sex with a 12 year old. Is that ok? Obviously not as the laws have since changed to make sure that this does not happen. But now its ok to suddenly break that aspect of the law on children and informed consent? Okay. Whatever

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2021, 4:40 pm

timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

If the parents are idiot anti vaxxers, it is the better course of action.Same kind of parents would be proud if their child identify as some LGBTQ denomination and have a sex change, without any kind of concern.

having concerns about the vaccine for covid-19 does not make u an anti-vaxxer. Whats wrong with waiting for full approval of the vaccines. They are for emergency use cause obviously they have not met all of the criterion as yet for full approval use. But anyone who doesn't want to take it before the full approval status is a quack? They just supposed to go with the flow? Ok whatever.

Postby timelapse » August 1st, 2021, 5:15 pm

elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

having concerns about the vaccine for covid-19 does not make u an anti-vaxxer. Whats wrong with waiting for full approval of the vaccines. They are for emergency use cause obviously they have not met all of the criterion as yet for full approval use. But anyone who doesn't want to take it before the full approval status is a quack? They just supposed to go with the flow? Ok whatever.
Your alternative is further spreading the virus.Is a no brainer if you care about humanity.
This virus came fast and furious with little time for testing.If a vaccine does get approved, people still are going to find a dotish reason not to get vaccinated

For people that actually want to know how the approval process works
https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/vaccines/emergency-use-authorization-vaccines-explained

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2021, 5:24 pm

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Ok. I erred there with the age of consent in the 1800s. Regardless, as stated earlier, why are we comparing the 1800s with now? Just as indicated in your comment, in the 1800s it was basically ok for a grown ass male/woman to have sex with a 12 year old. Is that ok? Obviously not as the laws have since changed to make sure that this does not happen. But now its ok to suddenly break that aspect of the law on children and informed consent? Okay. Whatever
The age of medical consent today in many US states and many nations is still 12 years. The age of sexual age of sexual consent in those same locations may have increased but many believe that is an unrelated issue.

90% of the Caribbean requires parental consent.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2021, 5:53 pm

timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Your alternative is further spreading the virus.Is a no brainer if you care about humanity.
This virus came fast and furious with little time for testing.If a vaccine does get approved, people still are going to find a dotish reason not to get vaccinated

https://www.fda.gov/vaccines-blood-biologics/vaccines/emergency-use-authorization-vaccines-explained

like i said before. If it so effective and safe why it ain't fully approved yet

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 1st, 2021, 6:05 pm

adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

The age of medical consent today in many US states and many nations is still 12 years. The age of sexual age of sexual consent in those same locations may have increased but many believe that is an unrelated issue.

What?

In most states, age 18 is the age of majority and thus, before treating a patient under the age of 18, consent must be obtained from the patient’s parent or legal guardian.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4008301/

In ten Member States (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Romania and Slovakia), children do not have the right to make autonomous decisions about their medical treatments until they reach the age of majority, meaning parents must always give their consent. In some cases – for example, in France – the parents’ final decision must take into account the opinion of the child, if the child is able to express his/her will.
In Ireland, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom, the minimum age at which children can consent to medical treatments without parental approval is 16 years. In Croatia, the minimum age for this is also 16 years. However, where a medical intervention carries a high risk of adverse consequences on the physical or psychological health of a child who is older than 16, the parents’ written consent is required in addition to the child's consent.
In Denmark and Slovenia, the minimum age is set at 15 years. However, in Denmark, whether or not patients aged 15–17 years can consent to medical treatments without parental consent depends on their maturity, assessed on a case-by-case basis. Latvia has set the lowest minimum age in the EU for children’s autonomous consent to medical treatment at 14 years. In the United Kingdom, the age can be younger than 16 years in cases where the individual patient can appreciate the nature and implications of the treatment or diagnosis.
In Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Luxembourg and Sweden, there is no fixed minimum age requirement for consent to medical treatments. Instead, each situation is treated individually depending on the maturity of the child.

https://fra.europa.eu/en/publication/20 ... treatments

The age of consent in most parts of the world is not 12.

Postby timelapse » August 1st, 2021, 6:27 pm

elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
timelapse wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

like i said before. If it so effective and safe why it ain't fully approved yet
Clearly you didn't read the link which I posted from the FDA's own website, which is the body that does the approval most universally accepted.
Either that or it doesn't suit your agenda.

Postby adnj » August 1st, 2021, 6:56 pm

elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
adnj wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

What?

In most states, age 18 is the age of majority and thus, before treating a patient under the age of 18, consent must be obtained from the patient’s parent or legal guardian.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4008301/

In ten Member States (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Malta, Romania and Slovakia), children do not have the right to make autonomous decisions about their medical treatments until they reach the age of majority, meaning parents must always give their consent. In some cases – for example, in France – the parents’ final decision must take into account the opinion of the child, if the child is able to express his/her will.
In Ireland, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom, the minimum age at which children can consent to medical treatments without parental approval is 16 years. In Croatia, the minimum age for this is also 16 years. However, where a medical intervention carries a high risk of adverse consequences on the physical or psychological health of a child who is older than 16, the parents’ written consent is required in addition to the child's consent.
In Denmark and Slovenia, the minimum age is set at 15 years. However, in Denmark, whether or not patients aged 15–17 years can consent to medical treatments without parental consent depends on their maturity, assessed on a case-by-case basis. Latvia has set the lowest minimum age in the EU for children’s autonomous consent to medical treatment at 14 years. In the United Kingdom, the age can be younger than 16 years in cases where the individual patient can appreciate the nature and implications of the treatment or diagnosis.
In Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Luxembourg and Sweden, there is no fixed minimum age requirement for consent to medical treatments. Instead, each situation is treated individually depending on the maturity of the child.

https://fra.europa.eu/en/publication/20 ... treatments

The age of consent in most parts of the world is not 12.
I did not say most. I said many. You'll have to dig up world data for yourself but some countries have no statutory minimum. Some still have a sexual age of consent of 12, 13, 14 years.

Here's some USA info regarding medical treatment:

All 50 states and the District of Colombia explicitly allow minors to consent to STI services, although 11 states require minors to be a certain age (generally 12 or 14) before being allowed to consent.

https://www.guttmacher.org/state-policy ... %20consent.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 2nd, 2021, 12:57 am

Vaccination Incentive - Just Pay Me

Postby RedVEVO » August 2nd, 2021, 2:18 am

" In an advertisement yesterday, the SWRHA announced that the first 200 persons to be vaccinated today will be rewarded with vouchers .. " The incentive is a collaboration between the SWRHA and Little Caesar’s Pizza.

In another advertisement, St Christopher’s Service Station is offering a $20 reward card to anyone presenting their immunisation record card and identification card.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 3ee38.html

Re: Vaccination Incentive - Just Pay Me

Postby RedVEVO » August 2nd, 2021, 2:28 am

" Chief executive officer at Prestige Holdings Ltd, Simon Hardy, said protecting oneself and family should be an incentive to be vaccinated against Covid-19. However, he said if a person is determined not to get vaccinated no amount of incentive will convince them.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 3ee38.html

Dear Simone,

You just give my PEEPS an uno KFC Boss Meal with drink and see Spot sit down and be vaccinated .

You need not think too Hardy about this decision . Me knows me PEEPS.

We await your press release .

Thank you for your understanding .

Kindest COVID Regulations,

PM

eitech

Postby eitech » August 2nd, 2021, 4:16 am

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 2nd, 2021, 12:36 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:https://newslettercollector.com/newsletter/cdc-confesses-vaccines-are-failing-and-the-vaxxed-can-be-super-spreaders/

:?

Highly unreliable source

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » August 2nd, 2021, 12:49 pm

New research showed that vaccinated people infected with the Delta variant carry tremendous amounts of the virus in the nose and throat, she said in an email responding to questions from The New York Times.

The finding contradicts what scientists had observed in vaccinated people infected with previous versions of the virus, who mostly seemed incapable of infecting others.

That conclusion dealt Americans a heavy blow: People with so-called breakthrough infections — cases that occur despite full vaccination — of the Delta variant may be just as contagious as unvaccinated people, even if they have no symptoms.

https://www.nytimes.com/live/2021/07/29 ... nt-vaccine

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » August 2nd, 2021, 1:29 pm

elec2020 wrote:
New research showed that vaccinated people infected with the Delta variant carry tremendous amounts of the virus in the nose and throat, she said in an email responding to questions from The New York Times.

The finding contradicts what scientists had observed in vaccinated people infected with previous versions of the virus, who mostly seemed incapable of infecting others.

That conclusion dealt Americans a heavy blow: People with so-called breakthrough infections — cases that occur despite full vaccination — of the Delta variant may be just as contagious as unvaccinated people, even if they have no symptoms.

https://www.nytimes.com/live/2021/07/29 ... nt-vaccine

And breakthrough infections occur in at most 40% of fully vaccinated and I doubt that 40% will all be as infectious as unvaccinated persons. So the more people get vaccinated the better our position will be, literally we are in a position where we need to get as close to 100% (minus kids) as possible due to delta.

I honestly cannot emphasize how important getting vaccinated is right now in ending this pandemic.