Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Re: Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Postby A172 » October 1st, 2019, 10:33 pm

Kenjo wrote:
A172 wrote:scotia points changed to 5k usd every month or the lesser of your card limit if is less than 5k

so basically your points per month cut in half steups

What exactly is this ?
look somebody post it above dey

i accustomed getting 30k points every month from scotia now all i could get is 15k in a month with this new policy

besides the obv problems them small amts causing for business i actually started using the points to travel with my family a while now so this small points thing is bs

Postby mero » October 2nd, 2019, 12:07 am

Fcb is 20k usd per billing cycle on all credit cards. That 5k usd is licks from scotia

Postby pete » October 2nd, 2019, 9:07 am

2nd October and still no statement for September with Scotia. Usually get it by the 25th of the previous month. Anyone else has a similar problem?

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2019, 9:50 am

mero wrote:Fcb is 20k usd per billing cycle on all credit cards. That 5k usd is licks from scotia

Yip US$20k per billing cycle but you can only spend the US$ equivalent of your TT limit at any one time, top back up and go again once that is cleared (at least for me).

Postby mero » October 2nd, 2019, 11:13 am

mero wrote:Fcb is 20k usd per billing cycle on all credit cards. That 5k usd is licks from scotia

Yip US$20k per billing cycle but you can only spend the US$ equivalent of your TT limit at any one time, top back up and go again once that is cleared (at least for me).

Nope, there are daily limits on cards depending on the type.

Besides the prepaid mastercard, you could spend like 30k ttd on the classic cc in one day, the next day will be less.

Fcb u could load yuh money online and spend over your cc limit. They just don't advise cuz u insured to your dedicated limited so if ur card get infiltrated, only your limit u covered for

Postby Dizzy28 » October 2nd, 2019, 11:19 am

mero wrote:

Nope, there are daily limits on cards depending on the type.

Besides the prepaid mastercard, you could spend like 30k ttd on the classic cc in one day, the next day will be less.

Fcb u could load yuh money online and spend over your cc limit. They just don't advise cuz u insured to your dedicated limited so if ur card get infiltrated, only your limit u covered for

I had to pay for some tickets to Hawaii last year and called the FCB phone rep because the tickets would have bought me close to my monthly limit as I had recently come back from Vegas and used it quite a lot.

She said once it's US$ related I cannot preload money and spend and would be limited to what my TT$ limit was in US$ at any one time. I could clear it and then go again until I reach the US$20k

Never had to encounter the problem again though but that is what the rep said.

NR8

Postby NR8 » October 3rd, 2019, 3:04 pm

carluva wrote:
NR8 wrote:
Strugglerzinc wrote:Again, new to this points thing.

When do your points show up? Used about $15k on that card since August and meem see nothing bout points on the Aero site. Still says zero.
It won't update till the end of your statement cycle but it could possibly be because they say upgrades are being done to the system.

*KRONIK* wrote:As we on points

I have some points on the scotia card
How do i redeem them?
Is not much tho
You have to call. The info can be found on the scotia aero rewards website.

My last monthly statement still hasn't been posted.
Call them on 627-2684.

Same problem on this end. I called, spoke to a CSR, went thru all my transactions on the statement and was able to get an email with the statement sent in a link.

Thanks man. Took a couple calls but I was able to have the statement emailed to me.

Postby The_Honourable » October 3rd, 2019, 11:25 pm

Can confirm for the Aero that the "Minimum Payment Due" amount not updated on my scotia online. Normally a new update is given a few days after the monthly due date.

regone

Postby regone » October 4th, 2019, 12:16 pm

as of today still nothing updated on scotia online banking for cc. So i went into a branch today and the teller (normal trini attitude like she own all the money in the bank) said they havent gotten any news of online banking issues so if i need a copy it would be $25 and more than likely they would have mailed it out so i should get it in the mail (statements usually come 3 months after)

originalbling

Postby originalbling » October 4th, 2019, 2:13 pm

call the tele-scotia number and tell them the issue, they will email it to you for free.

they open 24/7

white e90

Postby white e90 » October 5th, 2019, 4:46 pm

Republic bank partnered with PriceSmart.. they have a co-branded Platimum visa credit card.

The benefits looks real good..4% unlimited cash back if you spend a lot.

Postby sMASH » October 5th, 2019, 5:32 pm

regone wrote:as of today still nothing updated on scotia online banking for cc. So i went into a branch today and the teller (normal trini attitude like she own all the money in the bank) said they havent gotten any news of online banking issues so if i need a copy it would be $25 and more than likely they would have mailed it out so i should get it in the mail (statements usually come 3 months after)

my previous post was the date that i went to the branch and complained that i was unable to view my cc transactions at home thus triggering me to go to the branch to double check my transactions.

Postby goalpost » October 8th, 2019, 11:01 am

When I signed up for RBL visa platinum, I was unaware that there were bonus points involved.

Only recently I realized on Republic online I had points to redeem. It's not much. But from what I saw its points I gained in the last year. So what about the previous 2 years?
And how do I go about redeeming these certificates?

dogg

Postby dogg » October 8th, 2019, 12:59 pm

goalpost wrote:When I signed up for RBL visa platinum, I was unaware that there were bonus points involved.

Only recently I realized on Republic online I had points to redeem. It's not much. But from what I saw its points I gained in the last year. So what about the previous 2 years?

There's a list of participating merchants at the back of the certificate.

you can check online for unused bonus points.

If you don't have your points certificates, you can request replacements by filling out a form available at the bank, or ask for one to be emailed.

Postby The_Honourable » September 1st, 2020, 11:12 pm

How the credit card scene looking for 2020? Especially the USD limits?

Postby Dizzy28 » September 2nd, 2020, 8:13 am

The_Honourable wrote:How the credit card scene looking for 2020? Especially the USD limits?

Good question. Haven't had to check this since last year. Up to December FCB classic Visa was US$20k/cycle.
My only US expense is Netflix and that's a measly $14/month

Postby The_Honourable » September 2nd, 2020, 10:18 am

The_Honourable wrote:How the credit card scene looking for 2020? Especially the USD limits?

Good question. Haven't had to check this since last year. Up to December FCB classic Visa was US$20k/cycle.

FCB sounding good. That cycle is monthly?

Team2lo2flo

Postby Team2lo2flo » September 2nd, 2020, 2:56 pm

Scotiabank $3000 usd per month
RBC- Approx $14,500 USD Per month ( $100,000 TT Equivalent)
FCB Between $15,000-$20,000 USD Per month ( depends on card)
Republic- Not sure

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » September 2nd, 2020, 3:23 pm

Team2lo2flo wrote:

Scotiabank $3000 usd per month
RBC- Approx $14,500 USD Per month ( $100,000 TT Equivalent)
FCB Between $15,000-$20,000 USD Per month ( depends on card)
Republic- Not sure
RBL is US$12k/month

Postby Dizzy28 » September 2nd, 2020, 3:46 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

FCB sounding good. That cycle is monthly?

Yes - monthly.
Also the one time max US$ spend is capped at your TT$ limit. So if you have a $20,000 limit you can spend US$2941. You will then need to clear your CC before being allowed to spend US$ again and this goes on until the US$ limit is reached.

And they do not allow you to pre-load your CC to spend on US$ purchases (overpay and have your balance be a big positive amount)

trini_faye

Postby trini_faye » October 11th, 2020, 7:01 pm

pj15 wrote:
Rockram wrote:
nismodriver wrote:
~Vēġó~ wrote:Scotia Aero Platinum ftw....each us$ spent = 1 aero point

Platinum and Black :)
And you can use points for cash back when travelling as well....
There are tons of other features for traveling on it as well.

Whats the annual fee for the Aerocard? could not find it on scotiabank's website.

600TTD

It's now 625 TT annually as of 11th Oct 2020

trini_faye

Postby trini_faye » October 11th, 2020, 7:14 pm

dogg wrote:
goalpost wrote:When I signed up for RBL visa platinum, I was unaware that there were bonus points involved.

There's a list of participating merchants at the back of the certificate.

you can check online for unused bonus points.

If you don't have your points certificates, you can request replacements by filling out a form available at the bank, or ask for one to be emailed.

Not anymore...See screenshot from RBL website on the rewards:
https://republictt.com/personal/cash-back-rewards
RBL CC.jpg

originalbling

Postby originalbling » January 6th, 2021, 10:52 am

So RBC has reduced their credit card limits for foreign currency transactions effective Jan 31, 2021

For Personal Banking and Business Banking Clients:Effective January 31, 2021, clients holding RBC personal and/or business credit cards will be able to conduct transactions to a maximum of TTD $51,000 in forex over a rolling thirty (30) day period.
For Private Banking Clients:Effective January 31, 2021, clients holding RBC Private Banking credit cards will be able to conduct transactions to a maximum of TTD $169,000 in forex over a rolling thirty (30) day period.

Also saw another notice
Effective February 1, 2021, all money transfer service and/or remittance service transactions made with an RBC credit card will not be permitted

Postby MaxPower » January 6th, 2021, 11:11 am

FCB Infinite

Postby zoom rader » January 6th, 2021, 11:15 am

What a load of idiots

The best credit card is no credit card.

You fools spend thousands just to get a pittance of points.

Psychology of credit card use have you idiots broke

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » January 6th, 2021, 11:19 am

zoom rader wrote:What a load of idiots

Don't think anyone spends specifically to get points , but if you can get some points for buying stuff you usually would ain't nothing wrong with that.

Rockram

Postby Rockram » January 6th, 2021, 2:11 pm

A credit card and it's rewards can be very rewarding if the holder in financially wise.

My credit card rewards for 2020 was $4600.00 cash back... $0 dollars interest paid and $300 annual fee.

To put that in perspective the total interest I received form cash parked in banks and UTC combined was less than this.

Postby Gladiator » January 6th, 2021, 2:24 pm

KM_2NR wrote:

Don't think anyone spends specifically to get points , but if you can get some points for buying stuff you usually would ain't nothing wrong with that.

Sorry bro... but there are alot of people that use the points specifically for their advantage, I usually have a total of about $2500-$3000 in points from 2 cards every year. Same as Rockram, I pay no interest and pay $400 renewal for both cards. So I make profit on the facility.

Postby Habit7 » January 6th, 2021, 2:30 pm

Breakdown and comparison of local credit cards here
https://comparett.com/creditcards

dogg

Postby dogg » January 6th, 2021, 2:53 pm

I dunno man, I've had had a credit card for ~20 years. Always paid in full monthly. Points/cashback covers the annual fees plus i end up with a couple thousand extra cashback annually. This is from normal day to day living expenses.

However, If you can't budget properly or control your spending, you will get badly burnt with a credit card. If you have poor spending habits a credit card definitely isn't for you.