***THE FARMERS CHED***

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby Ted_v2 » September 10th, 2013, 10:50 pm

Limes selling for 3 for 5$. I have limes galore so that's awesome. I'm pondering getting a bed and start doing lettuce and something else. Any suggestions?

Or a hydro setup but I don't know too much about them

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 11th, 2013, 9:20 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:cucumber is now $450 to $500 a 80lb bag in wholesale market.

:shock: :shock:

@lime prices: eet would start to go up coming closer to Christmas,gona starting picking,freezing and waiting for them

TUNER POPO

Postby TUNER POPO » September 12th, 2013, 10:22 pm

who does organics??

solidust

Postby solidust » September 18th, 2013, 8:59 pm

Anyone or relative with their farmer's badge ever bought a vehicle?
What was the process?
How much is the incentive?

Your information will be greatly appreciated.

kevin5211

Postby kevin5211 » September 18th, 2013, 9:41 pm

solidust wrote:Anyone or relative with their farmer's badge ever bought a vehicle?
What was the process?

I think you get back half of what you pay

Postby Chimera » September 18th, 2013, 9:47 pm

kevin5211 wrote:
solidust wrote:Anyone or relative with their farmer's badge ever bought a vehicle?
What was the process?

I think you get back half of what you pay

lol no

Postby Chimera » September 18th, 2013, 9:50 pm

What was the process?

after you get your invoice from the dealer and you take it to farmer/county office, when they approve it they give you a letter to take to the dealer

when you give this letter to dealer, they instantly take $5000 off the showroom cost of vehicle (i believe thats piece of the vat)

then well you pay the rest as usual with cash/loan or whatever

for 5 years you will get a certain amount, i think you get 45k back on a 4x4 new vehicle so $8000 per year for 5 years plus the $5,000 you get off on the vat

you must get the vehicle inspected and a updated certified copy every year to take to the county office. you don't get the cheque instantly, takes a few months sometimes

Postby Chimera » September 18th, 2013, 9:53 pm

its 20% to a maximum of $40,000 for a new 4wd vehicle. just checked the incentive booklet

solidust

Postby solidust » September 18th, 2013, 10:12 pm

ABA Trading LTD

Great useful info man, thanks for the quick response.

http://www.news.gov.tt/sites/default/fi ... 282%29.pdf

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 19th, 2013, 9:10 am

And if its a local used van you need to buy it from a 1st owner as well.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2013, 9:36 am

usually ADB tries to make provisions wrs to getting prices of vehicles (ppl who has farmer's badge)..they try to make it available for RORO vehicles as well.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » September 19th, 2013, 10:17 am

nice infos.. i suppose these incentives will apply for purchasing backhoe and farming equipment all round.

link posted doesnt seem to be working though.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 19th, 2013, 10:33 am

yup^.....

AirSupport

Postby AirSupport » September 30th, 2013, 8:19 am

Farmers, our company have been approached by a Florida helicopter owner who is presently selling his aircraft. The helicopter is outfitted with all the equipment required for aerial crop spraying. If farmers are interested in procuring this service on a regular basis we would move to purchase the helicopter. Please let us know.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 30th, 2013, 10:36 am

while it is a good move,but do our laws permit aerial spraying etc etc? There are also several underlying factors:

1.large amount of small farmers who would prefer to spray with cans
2:cost of the said service

among other things..do research first

AirSupport

Postby AirSupport » September 30th, 2013, 4:34 pm

There are laws for aerial spraying, that part we can conform too.

As for the research, thats why we made the post.

If we have an idea on if this service is desired/needed we can conduct a simple CBA to determine if the investment has returns. Making it affordable is definitely a plus but aviation is never cheap. Therefore a collective approach (i.e. spraying many farms in one flight) might be a feasible suggestion, so the cost could be shared by many.

A sit down with some of the farmers might be a way to start.

Postby X_Factor » September 30th, 2013, 5:49 pm

^contact the farmers association but i dont see that feasible locally
i dont think we plant one single crop in the volume they do over in the states to consider aerial spraying

maybe when sugar cane was in full development but not now

most farmers rather pay a labourer 150 a day to handle spraying

Postby Chimera » September 30th, 2013, 5:53 pm

most farmers these days paying 250-300 a day for labourers.

days of $150 labour gone

AirSupport

Postby AirSupport » September 30th, 2013, 6:10 pm

Even if its 150 a day then it could be affordable if you consider aerial spraying handles larger areas in a shorter time frame. Therefore the provider could handle multiple farms and prorate the expense among clients.

But we would take the advice and contact the farmers association.

Postby joker » September 30th, 2013, 8:45 pm

I paid a guy 500 a day...for my plantation!.....

AirSupport

Postby AirSupport » September 30th, 2013, 10:25 pm

joker wrote:I paid a guy 500 a day...for my plantation!.....

How long did he take and how often must you spray?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2013, 6:33 am

majority of farmers are into short-term crops and occupy small plots as x-factor said..For those with several acres,changing the way they think is your first problem..Framing in Trinidad is still based on long ago thinking,you would need to be very convincing if you are to be successful.

Postby X_Factor » October 2nd, 2013, 7:58 am

anyone passes over the aranguez overpass?
the farmer who had the crop of cabbage or cauliflower on the left hand side, every morning i pass there i would admire it

then i noticed they got brown, then all dead!

did he spray with a herbicide by mistake?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 2nd, 2013, 9:11 am

noticed that same thing^,as soon as you making the bend right? it had a fella who had nice crops by pricemart,nuh seeing nuttin again.

Postby X_Factor » October 2nd, 2013, 9:17 am

^yupp
thats the place

real messed up stuff, that crop looked amazing!!

Postby Chimera » October 2nd, 2013, 9:31 am

X_Factor wrote:anyone passes over the aranguez overpass?
the farmer who had the crop of cabbage or cauliflower on the left hand side, every morning i pass there i would admire it

then i noticed they got brown, then all dead!

did he spray with a herbicide by mistake?

ill find out, i know plenty of the farmers around there

Postby X_Factor » October 2nd, 2013, 4:10 pm

anyone has a small hand plough/tiller and willin to do a lil pj?
the space i have is 20x40 to till up

http://www.amazon.com/Mantis-7262-00-02 ... tis+tiller

thought about buying that, but after the initial till, i wont really have use for it

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 3rd, 2013, 3:01 am

hey do you guys know of any contractors who rent out bulldozer or do land cleaning from Siparia area.
Want to clear about 5 acres to do some gardening.
Also what is the rate they charge about

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » October 3rd, 2013, 6:20 am

rates in the East for a brush cut and rotovate is about $800 per acre.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 8th, 2013, 12:33 pm

looking to help take brush cuttings off anyone hands. arima and environs. if u need somewhere to dump ur brush cuttings i got a spot. pm if interested.