Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Re: Hydroponic enthusiasts (hobby/personal growers)

Postby rfari » March 23rd, 2012, 4:10 pm

ABA, he throwing that one for me.
UML, like I touch a button for you to take ur chessbun and tote it into another ched. Oh dear...

Postby AllTrac » March 23rd, 2012, 5:12 pm

orgoarrr UML keep it outta this thread nah

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 24th, 2012, 8:07 am

plz doh spoil ah good thread

Postby AllTrac » March 24th, 2012, 10:10 am

nah it wont continue here.

Postby rfari » March 24th, 2012, 6:07 pm

Just for clarification. My hydroponics experiments are geared towards developing cheaper alternatives to commercially available nutes and not the development of the systems per se.

The use of the horse manure as the base component for hydro nutes is a further attempt to drastically reduce the startup costs associated with this form of agriculture. Hopefully, my efforts wouldn't be in vain.

UML's comments have been taken as constructive criticism and efforts would be made to have a standard approach to growing, albeit with reduced mcgyverism.

Lastly, Sharon_S, your greenhouse structure is inspiring. Time permitting, I'll try my hand at a smaller scale for my backyard project.

geodude

Postby geodude » March 24th, 2012, 6:32 pm

rfari wrote:Just for clarification. My hydroponics experiments are geared towards developing cheaper alternatives to commercially available nutes and not the development of the systems per se.

The use of the horse manure as the base component for hydro nutes is a further attempt to drastically reduce the startup costs associated with this form of agriculture. Hopefully, my efforts wouldn't be in vain.

UML's comments have been taken as constructive criticism and efforts would be made to have a standard approach to growing, albeit with reduced mcgyverism.

Lastly, Sharon_S, your greenhouse structure is inspiring. Time permitting, I'll try my hand at a smaller scale for my backyard project.

rafi, your input and knowledge on the issues discussed in this thread are immensely appreciated, don't let the forum idiot slow your progress, u might be on to something and you have the belly to try it who cares how the crude prototype looks its the results that count, and even if its not favourable at least it will be learning experience and a base line for future improvement you tried, which is much more than most off the ppl out there would have had the gonads to do.

Postby rfari » March 24th, 2012, 7:13 pm

^^ thanks homie. Group effort. Learning a lot from other 2nrs.

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » March 24th, 2012, 7:44 pm

rfari wrote:Just for clarification. My hydroponics experiments are geared towards developing cheaper alternatives to commercially available nutes and not the development of the systems per se.

I agree with geodude don't let others discourage you.
Thanks for the compliment I looked at over a hundred different plans on the net before I decided to go with that one.
By the way do you know where I could get a banana plant ? I want to plant it in the yard.

Postby rfari » March 24th, 2012, 10:50 pm

banana plants? some agri-shops supply or have flyers with numbers to call.
some useful information in this ched as well.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=360327&hilit=uwi+field+station

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » March 25th, 2012, 7:42 am

rfari wrote:banana plants? some agri-shops supply or have flyers with numbers to call.
some useful information in this ched as well.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=360327&hilit=uwi+field+station

Haven't seen any banana plants in the agri shops but then again I never asked for it so maybe they do have.

Will check out the link,thanks.

Postby Chimera » March 25th, 2012, 2:44 pm

sharon how is that greenhouse standing up to high breeze tho?

marlener

Postby marlener » March 25th, 2012, 6:01 pm

where can I get the nutrient suitable for hydrophonic to buy,want to try a starter system but don`t want to be outsmarted by my neighbourhood garden shop,are the recommended premixed nutrients available?

Sharon_S

Postby Sharon_S » March 25th, 2012, 6:17 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:sharon how is that greenhouse standing up to high breeze tho?

So far it holding out real good,it had a strong breeze about two days ago so that was a good test and it passed with flying colours.

I have a foot of steel in the ground and two feet out under each pvc post that you see,the wood laths are also holding them together and a 3/4 inch pvc is also run at the top to help keep it stabilized,I still have to attach the last two posts to the wall with some pvc clamps.

Postby rfari » March 25th, 2012, 10:53 pm

marlener wrote:where can I get the nutrient suitable for hydrophonic to buy,want to try a starter system but don`t want to be outsmarted by my neighbourhood garden shop,are the recommended premixed nutrients available?

tracmac sells a variety of nutes for hydro systems. 1-868-665-5555 Ext 222

Postby Chimera » March 25th, 2012, 11:37 pm

but tracmac sells large scale not so?

smallest batch costing $3000 to $5000?

i am subject to correction but I remember them telling me to go the plant place in aranguez near delta glass if i wanted small bottles of hydro nutes to test out

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 12:42 am

ABA Trading LTD wrote:but tracmac sells large scale not so?

smallest batch costing $3000 to $5000?

i am subject to correction but I remember them telling me to go the plant place in aranguez near delta glass if i wanted small bottles of hydro nutes to test out

the average prices i've seen is from about 250-500 per 15kg bag (i think). i have a pricelist saved somewhere. i'll post it up when i find it.

Postby bluesteel29 » March 26th, 2012, 2:32 pm

u guys can use Nutrex 20-20-20 for veg phase with no problem in hydro.

on another note...any1 got problems importing the calibration solution for the electric ph testers?

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 6:52 pm

pricelist from tracmac. not finding the scanned copy of this pricelist. most of the information is readable. this list most likely is outdated.

bluesteel29 wrote:u guys can use Nutrex 20-20-20 for veg phase with no problem in hydro.

on another note...any1 got problems importing the calibration solution for the electric ph testers?

nutrex afaik doesn't have calcium so if anyone using this, one will have to add the missing nutrient without causing precipitation.

i never ordered calibration solution on it own. i'm still on the vials that came with my kit. u getting trouble with customs orr?

Postby bluesteel29 » March 26th, 2012, 7:33 pm

well i got a dwc running it for the past 3 weeks with no problem thus far... ill monitor it to see how that goes.

person i normally order stuff through givin me ah sad story bout i cant order liquids

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 7:46 pm

noice. post pics when u can. yeah customs could be a pain when they ready.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 26th, 2012, 7:59 pm

REALLY interested in starting a small scale backyard Aquaponics system.Would you recommend it?Is it costly for small scale?Any other info would be appreciated :D

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 8:05 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:REALLY interested in starting a small scale backyard Aquaponics system.Would you recommend it?Is it costly for small scale?Any other info would be appreciated :D

it all depends on the size of system that you going with. u have something in mind?

marlener

Postby marlener » March 26th, 2012, 8:07 pm

what crop would you guys abd girl recommend for a first timer new to hydrophonic? Cerlery,chive?

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 8:13 pm

from personal experience, chive seems to be the easiest. and well the rogue shadon beni plant in between (depending on grow medium).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 26th, 2012, 9:48 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:REALLY interested in starting a small scale backyard Aquaponics system.Would you recommend it?Is it costly for small scale?Any other info would be appreciated :D

while it's a nice thing to get into,I suggest you don't play hero and rush into anything...do some research..if you want to grow your own food,try the gro-box system,you would enjoy it and it's relatively cheap to set up.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 26th, 2012, 11:07 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

while it's a nice thing to get into,I suggest you don't play hero and rush into anything...do some research..if you want to grow your own food,try the gro-box system,you would enjoy it and it's relatively cheap to set up.

please elaborate on dis

rfari wrote:

it all depends on the size of system that you going with. u have something in mind?

yea something small.already had a small enclosed area where i used previously to plant some small crops but it doh hav no use for de longest while so after reading this thread,i did a little bit of research and already hav a design in mind but i don't know if it is the most appropriate system btw the enclosed area is approximately 7 feet in length,1.5 in width and about 2 feet in depth

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 11:12 pm

^^sounds like a concrete trough. is it? shakes has a point. grobox may be a great starter.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 26th, 2012, 11:20 pm

rfari wrote:^^sounds like a concrete trough. is it? shakes has a point. grobox may be a great starter.

it is

Postby nervewrecker » March 26th, 2012, 11:30 pm

supercharged turbo wrote:
rfari wrote:^^sounds like a concrete trough. is it? shakes has a point. grobox may be a great starter.

it is

I dont like it. While concrete is porous & will allow water to pass through its walls the rate will be very slow (low hydraulic conductivity). Excess water will more or less settle at the bottom & create an anaerobic zone.
Also, where you getting the soil from? Normal soil like in your yard etc has a lot of critters (earthworms, mole crickets etc)that actually contribute to the aeration of the soil mass when they move about in it. To a minor extent they contribute to the organic content upon their deaths.

Postby rfari » March 26th, 2012, 11:32 pm

a decent floating raft system is possible if u go the aquaponics way. some tilapia fingerlings and lettuce.