Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Re: Apple wins Billion dollar lawsuit vs Samsung

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2012, 5:11 pm

^ resigned? why?

not sure it's the same video, but a similar video was done for the comedy talk show Jimmy Kimmel

it's comedy and satire

I'm sure alot of people they stopped recognized it was an iPhone 4S and not a 5, however they would have cut out those for comedy sake. It was funny.

achillies

Postby achillies » September 18th, 2012, 6:45 pm

achillies wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yup we said that earlier

the discussion is about the things that make it better.

It's not about what's better, it about what is better for you or me or him or her

I have recommended Apple devices to users already, just today someone called to ask if he should get a Playbook or an iPad 3, that was easy

I have a co worker who wanted an S2 badly, he has always been fascinated with my phone, always asked to use my phone whenever he is up at my office, he was torn about which to get, the 4S or the S2, after hearing what he had to say, and after he told me how he has everything tied up in iTunes because of his iPad, I recommended that he get the 4S, not because the 4S is better, but because it was better for him, he does not have the phone he wants, he has the phone he had no choice but to buy, he was not prepared to leave the ecosystem, and that IMO is crazy, I can't live like that, now he is in the same quandary again, with the same issues, he badly wants the S3, apparently he has access to someone who owns one, can he buy it, yes, would he, no he can't
why can't he?

I don't use iTunes other than to put music on my iPhone.
the issue is not that "my music is in iTunes so I HAVE to use an iPhone", the issue is I want to use an iPhone and iTunes is the software used to manage the media there. There are other apps to manage music on your iOS device too, if you really don't want to use iTunes.

The ecosystem is there, but you are not forced to use it.
I have a PC and I also share files via Google Drive and Dropbox to my iPhone and iPad.
I admit that proprietary stuff works better together.

I think you are making this far more complicated than it actually is or needs to be.

I hope you are not one of those IT people who over complicate their duties just so that the company thinks your role is vital.

Lol, complicated is having heard he still has 90 Gigs of protected music, after he has tried some of the advertised methods for removing the DRM, that's complicated, but since I want to make things complicated so as to make myself seem important, what is your suggestion for him to use that music, anywhere else, far less for an Android device, he started off paying to have his "must use" music freed from the DRM, and he has been using a combination or paid software and free software to do the DRM stripping, which seems to his method of choice currently, but obviously it is going to take some time, music is his thing, not mine, so my exact words to him were "frigg all of that hoss, by the 4S" and I still think that it was his best choice given his situation, in all honesty, what would have been your suggestion

I will be quick to admit, that as time goes by, I am becoming less and less familiar with the tricks in the trade with regards to iOS

Postby Sky » September 18th, 2012, 7:14 pm

achillies wrote:The sales numbers will always be high, why is that always a retort of an iUser, I can carry on a discussion without saying that Android has the highest market share, can you???
why not talk about it? market share and sales are excellent markers of a products continued performance.

So with this flawed logic, the B14 is the highest performing vehicle in the country.
Do you agree that the B14 is, sir?

Postby Stephon. » September 18th, 2012, 7:16 pm

Sky wrote:
achillies wrote:The sales numbers will always be high, why is that always a retort of an iUser, I can carry on a discussion without saying that Android has the highest market share, can you???
why not talk about it? market share and sales are excellent markers of a products continued performance.

So with this flawed logic, the B14 is the highest performing vehicle in the country.

ROFL!!

Postby Sky » September 18th, 2012, 7:22 pm

Postby Sky » September 18th, 2012, 7:24 pm

Yea I'm pretty much gonna do this in this thread from now on...\

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2012, 8:10 pm

Stephon. wrote:
Sky wrote:

ROFL!!
continued performance yes!!!

how many other brands of the same age do you see and people happy with their purchase?

it is obviously a good product, easy to maintain and lasts long

if a product is crap and/or not affordable in it's own market then it will not survive repeat sales, resale value and high sales of new models

so how is the logic flawed?

Postby Sky » September 18th, 2012, 8:29 pm

Would you trade your car for four B14's?
Give up the 4G63T for four GA16's?
Come nah :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2012, 8:35 pm

^ how is that the same or comparable?

achillies

Postby achillies » September 18th, 2012, 9:48 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ how is that the same or comparable?

Whoa! are you going to address my query with the situation I outlined?

I am truly interested to know if he has another alternative 8-)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2012, 10:29 pm

achillies wrote:

oh wait, you want me to answer after you admitted that for someone who does the proper thing and legally buys music via iTunes (which is one of the most diverse music libraries in the world) that the best option for him is to stay within the same ecosystem that Apple developed for the iPhone, iPod, iPad and Mac? The same ecosystem that I suggested was Apple's trump in this smartphone "competition". The same ecosystem that you wrote a diatribe about and then punctuated it with a vocabulary lesson claiming I didn't use the word "ecosystem" properly.

why would I argue with someone who agrees with me?

achillies

Postby achillies » September 18th, 2012, 10:44 pm

achillies wrote:

oh wait, you want me to answer after you admitted that for someone who does the proper thing and legally buys music via iTunes (which is one of the most diverse music libraries in the world) that the best option for him is to stay within the same ecosystem that Apple developed for the iPhone, iPod, iPad and Mac? The same ecosystem that I suggested was Apple's trump in this smartphone "competition". The same ecosystem that you wrote a diatribe about and then punctuated it with a vocabulary lesson claiming I didn't use the word "ecosystem" properly.

why would I argue with someone who agrees with me?

Actually, all I wanted was for you to provide a way out for him, because he wants to leave, like honestly dude, lol, you guys have issues yess

You asked, why can't he, and I told you why, in the hope that you could actually assist, it's okay for people to have an alternative opinion, one that I still stand by and now you see why, no need to take it personal, then you wonder why Apple and their users are being attacked/hated on

Is it an ecosystem if someone wants to leave but they can't?

Anyway, it seems like he can't get out unscathed, so then I guess the best advice is to never get in

PS: All you had to say was, no, there isn't really a way, outside of what he is doing SMH

Thanks anywayz

Postby Stephon. » September 18th, 2012, 11:03 pm

If, when my son becomes a teenager, he watch me an tell me "daddy I want an iPhone" we would have one more homeless teen in Trinidad so help me god!

Lol I kid. iPhone won't be around in 13 years :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2012, 11:10 pm

^ he CAN leave!!!
you said it yourself earlier, but removing the DRM will take time considering the sheer number of song titles he has to convert. It is not impossible, just time consuming. Like converting vinyl record or CDs to listen on your MP3 player takes a lot of conversion time - but it's not impossible.

Not all iTunes store content is DRM though

" iTunes initiated a shift into selling DRM-free music in most countries, marketed as iTunes Plus. On January 6, 2009, Apple announced that DRM had been removed from 80% of the entire music catalog in the U.S. Full iTunes Plus availability was achieved on April 7, 2009 in the U.S., coinciding with the introduction of a three-tiered pricing model; however, television episodes, many books, and films are still FairPlay-protected. As of September 2012, the iTunes Store possesses 400 million active user accounts, and serves over 315 million mobile devices," - wikipedia

I'm not sure if he has a US iTunes account as most people realise is the better thing to do.

bottom line is that he can move if he wants to, however you gave him the easier option, the 4S.

BTW what is it in the SII that he wants that the 4S doesnt have?

Postby Stephon. » September 18th, 2012, 11:39 pm

Jeez I was kidding.

Edit: whoops I just realized you were talking to archillies

casper

Postby casper » September 19th, 2012, 7:59 am

Stephon. wrote:Jeez I was kidding.

u iz rellll kix yes lolz

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2012, 8:55 am

You touted the B14 as high performance and gave your reasons.
So why not sell the expensive evo and have 4 high performing , easy part getting mango tree mechanic fixing machines.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2012, 9:02 am

^ you are still not making sense

the functionality is different - you are comparing a Nokia 8260 to a SmartPhone

please check on the definition of "high performance"

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2012, 9:08 am

You mentioned the word performance eh.
:lol: Duane yuh bein a fanboy and that skewing your valid points eh. And you have a good bit.
And by insulting the B14 like that, calling it an 8260, you bringing effective designs into the debate.

Postby TRAE » September 19th, 2012, 10:09 am

Sky wrote:

You touted the B14 as high performance and gave your reasons.
So why not sell the expensive evo and have 4 high performing , easy part getting mango tree mechanic fixing machines.

yuh cyah class a evo to a b14 jed... they're different classes of cars, you should compare something like a viper to a corvette, which would you buy? viper being more powerful but corvette would make it down that line faster, its simple.

Postby nervewrecker » September 19th, 2012, 10:16 am

I will buy a frigin b14 just to trade with duane, heck I will throw in an audio system and some rims too.

*i'm getting me an evo vII, f**k yea*

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2012, 11:40 am

casper wrote:
Stephon. wrote:Jeez I was kidding.

u iz rellll kix yes lolz

:oops:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2012, 11:45 am

Sky wrote:achillies, you're biting off more than you can chew there.
Despite his slight to moderate fanaticism about apple, Duane uses his stuff well. *remembers"gutz" setting*.

Duane, again, if you're speaking about an ecosystem, which home OS is more prevalent? win7 or Mac OS? It's nice to have a full apple artillery, but count the desktop out for most when trying this. Now how much does that affect the ecosystem? Serious question, I don't know much about the apple side.

I don't own a Mac

I use Win 7 64bit and have no issues.

Though I'm sure using a Mac will only make the ecosystem even more robust and feature rich.

I'm not forced to use a Mac just because I have an iPhone to get major functionality out of the device

Hell, I use Google Drive more than iCloud

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2012, 11:47 am

Sky wrote:You mentioned the word performance eh.
:lol: Duane yuh bein a fanboy and that skewing your valid points eh. And you have a good bit.
And by insulting the B14 like that, calling it an 8260, you bringing effective designs into the debate.
market and sales performance.

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2012, 11:56 am

^Market and sales performance sometimes have little to do with the product itself as a product.
If you say that sales are high because kids, hipsters and swagaholics all want to have the IN phone, then ok.
If you say it's because the phone itself excels as a phone, then there's a problem. Because you admitted yourself that many users don't even use the phone's full functions. So sales can't reflect the power of the phone.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 19th, 2012, 12:25 pm

Sky wrote:^Market and sales performance sometimes have little to do with the product itself as a product.
If you say that sales are high because kids, hipsters and swagaholics all want to have the IN phone, then ok.
If you say it's because the phone itself excels as a phone, then there's a problem. Because you admitted yourself that many users don't even use the phone's full functions. So sales can't reflect the power of the phone.

regardless of what they buy it for and how they use it, they still continue to buy the device and use it, even after the 6th generation of the phone. 2 million iPhone 5 preorders in 24hrs.

But hang on, i think i now realised that you misunderstood me. I never said the iPhone 5 is more powerful. Infact I think spec wise the Lumia is the more powerful device.

My point about the ecosystem was that despite having less specs or even "nothing new" is not as important as all the things you can do with it in a very easy and user friendly way because of a robust ecosystem.

So while the Lumia may have more pixels or more ram, it pales to the iPhone 5 because it doesn't yet have iTunes, Appletv, AppStore and 3rd party support.

Lumia does have massive potential though since Windows 8, Surface, Xbox, Office, Outlook etc etc will create an ecosystem of products and software that millions of people already use.

Postby nervewrecker » September 19th, 2012, 12:45 pm

Sooooo.....I not getting an evo? *sigh* I get my hopes up for nuttin.

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2012, 1:12 pm

Sky is spillin dat tea!

Postby Sky » September 19th, 2012, 3:25 pm

^^ Please explain that term, good sir...

Postby Stephon. » September 19th, 2012, 4:22 pm

Tea is another word for the truth
If someone says. "Sky is spilling that tea" then he's saying sky is preaching the truth/the gospel.

True tea is a term for non sugar coated brutal honesty. "Thats the tea" is another term. Like when someone says that Adele is the best artiste of 2012 and someone named bob replies and says "no she is just fat and boring and people only like her so they can pretend to not like general popular music" in that case, bob has indeed spilled the tea or true tea was spilled by bob or that's the tea .... which was spilled by bob.

Other tea terms you can use are:
Wow so much tea I could use it to draw myself a bath.

Wow my keyboard is short circuiting, because of the amount of tea you spilled all over my keyboard.

Dat tea.

Wow Duane's skin must be melting in this thread by the amount of hot scorching tea spilled on him by sky.