Postby Morpheus » January 11th, 2013, 2:17 am

pioneer wrote:Inb4 human rights activists protest the slaying of poachers

THIS! :evil: :evil:

12 boy!! Steups

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2013, 9:00 am

the one they caught on tape in caroni looked decent,saw it on cnc3 last night.

Postby cinco » January 11th, 2013, 9:20 am

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 11th, 2013, 10:06 am

Time to call in J LO!!!

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2013, 10:22 am

cinco wrote:http://www.cnc3.co.tt/news/2nd-anaconda-found-during-expedition-observe-habitat-first

notsureifnatgeo

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2013, 10:24 am

Great work by Lutchmedial and Co. though, they ought to be recognised for this.

Now it's about educating the illiterate public.

Postby cinco » January 11th, 2013, 10:28 am

Postby Mark! » January 11th, 2013, 11:02 am

That report was produced to stir up panic and unrest. Doubt Mr. Lutchmedial and others would hav taken part it if they had known. CNC3 mc

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2013, 11:37 am

look at anaconda colony in trinidad,heard meh neighbour shout wdmc in the background.lmao

Postby mitsu_chick941 » January 11th, 2013, 11:39 am

what the hell ppl woulda do it they were living in the everglades and snakes/alligators in their backyard everyday?

swamp wars FTW

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2013, 11:40 am

Mark! wrote:That report was produced to stir up panic and unrest. Doubt Mr. Lutchmedial and others would hav taken part it if they had known. CNC3 mc

U always make so much sense?

Postby nervewrecker » January 11th, 2013, 11:43 am

heard beetham residents getting free land to squat on in the caroni.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 11th, 2013, 11:57 am

mitsu_chick941 wrote:what the hell ppl woulda do it they were living in the everglades and snakes/alligators in their backyard everyday?

swamp wars FTW

Postby pioneer » January 11th, 2013, 12:20 pm

My cousin once had black bears in their street, they were running from a fire in the everglades

Bears were not killed, not even once.

Postby Mark! » January 11th, 2013, 2:26 pm

Mark! wrote:That report was produced to stir up panic and unrest. Doubt Mr. Lutchmedial and others would hav taken part it if they had known. CNC3 mc

U always make so much sense?

of course, wouldnt dare do otherwise.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » January 12th, 2013, 5:24 pm

http://m.guardian.co.tt/columnist/2013-01-12/deliriously-dotish-anaconda-comments

I was overjoyed not simply by the discovery of an anaconda in the vicinity of the Caroni Swamp recently, but the fact that this magnificent creature was able to survive its encounter with humans. The late Professor Julian Kenny told me on several occasions that it is rare to find this water-dwelling constrictor at significant lengths because they are killed on sight by unreasonably superstitious Trinis.

The anaconda was the darling of the media for several days, at an estimated 18 feet and an impressive girth. In neighbouring Venezuela, it is not unusual for scientists to stumble onto anacondas reaching 28 feet or more. Granted, these snakes thrive in a region called the Llanos, a vast grassland often flooded by the Orinoco river. The Caroni Swamp specimen became the unwitting star attraction of the Emperor Valley Zoo.

This was a unique opportunity to have members of the public get an intimate look at a creature they will rarely encounter. It also does not hurt to have brisk ticket sales at the zoo, which often suffers long droughts of patronage. For the most part, folks seemed genuinely thrilled that a snake that large could be found here. Then there was one stupid remark from a radio DJ who suggested that the snake ought not to be returned to the wild, but killed.

Ordinarily I would not pay much attention to the radio station in question because it is obviously staffed by sub-educated troglodytes dragged in from a dirty sidewalk. Trouble here, though, is that it is a frequency that attracts a lot of our young listeners and as such this thoughtless moron in that moment had influence over the malleable minds out there in radio land.

A radio station run by dullards is one thing, but the offense was compounded immeasurably, and in a place one would least expect. I was directed by a friend to an editorial of the Newsday newspaper that touched on the anaconda snake now getting top billing at the zoo.

It started innocently enough, then went violently off the rails with this: “Should it be released into the Caroni Swamp or the Nariva Swamp or at whatever point in Trinidad and Tobago (Tobago?), the anaconda because like other members of the boa family is known to kill its prey by constriction, may pose a threat particularly to young children whom it may, unwittingly, mesmerise before attacking.”

There are so many things profoundly flawed in that excerpt that I could not possibly deal with them all this year. I will deal with the most obvious: mesmerise? This is a major national publication and in the year 2013 someone sat down and wrote that an anaconda would mesmerise a child before attacking? Is this the basilisk from the Harry Potter flick? Should we get Tom Riddle on the phone, as this snake obviously won’t listen to Harry’s parseltongue?

One could also come away with the impression that the author of this editorial believes that we have captured the last of the anacondas living in Trinidad. In Hans Boos’ deeply engrossing The snakes of Trinidad and Tobago, the former curator of the Emperor Valley Zoo and this country’s foremost expert on snakes deftly mixes scientific fact with enthralling folklore.

His book contains colourful accounts culled from the historical record of encounters with the anaconda or “Huille.” Hailing from the late 1800s are similar characterisations of the anaconda’s “mesmerising powers.” It was also believed that the snake could immobilise even the strongest man with one whiff of its “toxic breath.” I am sure Mr Boos would be surprised to know that even today these deliriously dotish perceptions prevail.

But wait! It gets worse! “Snakes have been known to attack persons casually strolling in their back yards because they (the snakes) feel threatened. What would be there to prevent the anaconda from viewing an individual’s sudden entry into, say, its resting place as a hostile action, an indication of danger. What would be the fate of a hapless hunter?”

Ok, let’s break this one down. I was not aware that there was an epidemic in this country of people being chased across their lawns by rampaging snakes. Certainly any ten-minute conversation with an expert in the field of herpetology could easily rubbish that remark. It has been my personal experience that most snakes when encountered in the bush will flee immediately.

I have come across the dreaded fer-de-lance on two occasions and I was never chased through the forest screaming like a banshee. Secondly, what the hell is a “hapless hunter”? You mean the same people who leave the relative safety of their homes to go into the forest, the domain of wildlife, to blow them away with lead shot?

This editorial represents a quantum leap backwards in our understanding of the role of wildlife in our environment and the importance of fostering harmony between humans and animals. I guess we should look out for the next editorial of the Newsday titled: “Doh go in dat river gyul, zangee go suck yuh toe!”

Postby Trini Hookah » January 12th, 2013, 5:44 pm

nervewrecker wrote:heard beetham residents getting free land to squat on in the caroni.

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2013, 6:57 pm

I feel sorry for those young lions we got

Can the zoo send them back to texas where they would get proper care, food etc?

They already more or less killed the one we have

Postby Hook » January 12th, 2013, 7:12 pm

You should voice your concerns to the curator of the zoo and write a letter to the editor to rally more support for your cause. Posting it on an automotive website won't help the lions.

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2013, 7:19 pm

Nah  

SweeP

Postby SweeP » January 12th, 2013, 8:02 pm

apart from de new 3 lions it still hav de same one old depressing lookin lion still? if dat alive it prob usin ah cane to walk with by now!!

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2013, 8:04 pm

Yeah from what the paper said he's 16 years old.

The one before him was even skinnier.

It's about time they start feeding vagrants to the lions, noone will miss them or care.

Postby kurpal_v2 » January 12th, 2013, 8:31 pm

Hook wrote:You should voice your concerns to the curator of the zoo and write a letter to the editor to rally more support for your cause. Posting it on an automotive website won't help the lions.

Start a facebook page and make cool youtube vids.

Postby pioneer » January 12th, 2013, 9:33 pm

De cow wake up?

sharkmouth

Postby sharkmouth » January 13th, 2013, 3:22 pm

mmmm this snake would make a fine bbq...i think i will go in the swamp and see if i find one for myself...then skin it and put him on the bbq :)

Postby Bizzare » January 13th, 2013, 3:28 pm

didn't know they got the new lions. Last trip to the zoo about 2 months ago was pretty boring.

Yodins

Postby Yodins » January 13th, 2013, 9:46 pm

pioneer wrote:Yodins can you get pics of our lions?

Also, do all types of snakes coil of up into an aggressive S striking pose like say when u a throw a small lime next to it?...or that's just poisonous snakes?

all snakes fadda. thats their striking position

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:the one they caught on tape in caroni looked decent,saw it on cnc3 last night.

tht was a good size for a male anaconda.

pioneer wrote:Great work by Lutchmedial and Co. though, they ought to be recognised for this.

Now it's about educating the illiterate public.

for real. before they had a lot of snakes in the snake house scheduled for release (couple macajuels, rainnbow boas and a tigre or 2) but now they wanna keep dem for education an ting

buss lead in dem till they sink at the bottom of the caroni river to be eaten by caimans and possibly Large anacondas

pioneer wrote:My cousin once had black bears in their street, they were running from a fire in the everglades

Bears were not killed, not even once.

because they woulda get level fcuk up if they did. not like here in trinidad where you can kill endangered and protected animals and sell the meat as "wild meat"

pioneer wrote:I feel sorry for those young lions we got

Can the zoo send them back to texas where they would get proper care, food etc?

They already more or less killed the one we have

Those lions were old AF.

Hook wrote:You should voice your concerns to the curator of the zoo and write a letter to the editor to rally more support for your cause. Posting it on an automotive website won't help the lions.

not a bad idea. The curator and director are both understanding men and really would take it into consideration.

pioneer wrote:Nah
doh be a pooceekyat

sharkmouth wrote:mmmm this snake would make a fine bbq...i think i will go in the swamp and see if i find one for myself...then skin it and put him on the bbq :)

I have the Zoo officials waiting for you with a stun gun

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2013, 9:49 pm

dan i give you dat,u have rel patience with all dem quotes jed^

Postby DFC » January 13th, 2013, 9:50 pm

i spent the weekend by my parents place in Penal. and friday even there was some commotion in the road. A driver ran over a snake right next to our yard.

Driver saw the snake too late and ran over its head.

I brought it in my yard to try and help it, he died soon after.

He's 7 1/2 feet. i tryna upload the pics noww..
sundar the snake .jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 13th, 2013, 9:53 pm

DFC wrote:i spent the weekend by my parents place in Penal. and friday even there was some commotion in the road. A driver ran over a snake right next to our yard.

Driver saw the snake too late and ran over its head.

I brought it in my yard to try and help it, he died soon after.

He's 7 1/2 feet. i tryna upload the pics noww..

nothing new here.aint looking like 7ft though.