COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

daring dragoon

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby daring dragoon » November 19th, 2021, 8:04 am

eitech wrote:
matr1x wrote:You do realize if you are unvaccinated and don't have covid...you are just a regular person, right?

Nope. That’s not the new narrative. Lol i wont be surprised if a new “name” is given

We are known as PUREBLOODS

eitech

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby eitech » November 19th, 2021, 8:19 am

daring dragoon wrote:
eitech wrote:
matr1x wrote:You do realize if you are unvaccinated and don't have covid...you are just a regular person, right?

Nope. That’s not the new narrative. Lol i wont be surprised if a new “name” is given

We are known as PUREBLOODS

Lol they all fighting for that name

Postby adnj » November 19th, 2021, 8:26 am

Deyalsingh: No COVID-19 clusters from Safe Zones

November 17, 2021

Minister of Health, Terrence Deyalsingh has made it absolutely clear that as of November 17, 2021, no COVID-19 clusters have arisen out of Safe Zones. 

Safe Zones are an initiative put forward by the government in which business places who bear the requisite flyer are able to accept vaccinated customers only. This applies to restaurants and bars who want to allow in-house dining, gyms, water parks and other entertainment sectors. 

The Opposition had previously claimed that the initiative would not work, however, the Minister, who was contributing to the debate on the revocation of the ongoing State of Emergency, said this simply isn’t true. 

The State of Emergency is slated to end at midnight on November 17, but the Public Health Ordinance and other legislation will still uphold the government’s measures to curb the spread of COVID-19 in Trinidad and Tobago. 

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/deyalsi ... nes-576576

Postby aaron17 » November 19th, 2021, 8:41 am

adnj wrote:Deyalsingh: No COVID-19 clusters from Safe Zones

November 17, 2021

Minister of Health, Terrence Deyalsingh has made it absolutely clear that as of November 17, 2021, no COVID-19 clusters have arisen out of Safe Zones. 

Safe Zones are an initiative put forward by the government in which business places who bear the requisite flyer are able to accept vaccinated customers only. This applies to restaurants and bars who want to allow in-house dining, gyms, water parks and other entertainment sectors. 

The Opposition had previously claimed that the initiative would not work, however, the Minister, who was contributing to the debate on the revocation of the ongoing State of Emergency, said this simply isn’t true. 

The State of Emergency is slated to end at midnight on November 17, but the Public Health Ordinance and other legislation will still uphold the government’s measures to curb the spread of COVID-19 in Trinidad and Tobago. 

https://tt.loopnews.com/content/deyalsi ... nes-576576

lol sure
Nothing is 100 percent

Postby aaron17 » November 19th, 2021, 8:47 am

New regulations:

'With the lifting of the State of Emergency (SoE) at midnight Wednesday (November 18), changes have been made to the Public Health Ordinance.

The new regulations include:

• Ten persons allowed in a public gathering.

• An increase in the attendance of persons at religious gatherings, weddings, funerals, and christenings at the facility to 50 per cent capacity.

• Religious meetings or services must not exceed 90 minutes.

• Only 25 persons are allowed at the actual burial site, cremation site or cemetery.

• Public swimming pools can operate as Safe Zones.

• Consumption of alcohol is not allowed in a public place unless it is on the premises of a Safe Zone or there is permission from the minister.

• Consumption of alcohol is not permitted within the precincts of a Safe Zone unless approved by the minister.

The regulations that remain unchanged include:

• The requirement for mask-wearing in a vehicle or vessel.

• Requirement for mask-wearing in public places

• Medical deferral certificates.

• Public transport remains at 75 per cent capacity.

• Airports and seaports will continue to be regulated by the Minister of National Security.

• Testing, quarantine and self-quarantine regulations remain the same; and the Ministry of Health can issue guidelines. '

https://guardian.co.tt/news/new-public- ... 1a53508e3a

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 19th, 2021, 8:56 am

hover11 wrote:WILL THE GOVERNMENT GO BACK TO A STATE OF EMERGENCY?

During an interview with Urvashi Tiwari-Roopnarine on the TV6 Morning Edition, Attorney General (Ag.)/Minister of Energy, Stuart Young said:
"The government has shown that we will take whatever decision is necessary to protect the population. It will be driven by the science, it will be driven by advice and it will be driven by a decision-making process. I think there is no one that can say, legitimately, that this government is afraid to take any decision; any decision whatsoever, to protect the population.

If God forbid, all hell breaks loose and that is what is required at the time, then I'm sure the government will give it consideration. We always try to put in place measures that we think are justifiable to deal with the circumstances that we are, and that the government has shown that we are not afraid to do what we think is right."

Full interview here on TV6's Morning Edition:

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/local/govt- ... 55a4a.html

You hear that families of people who died from covid? The pnm saying that is small thing. No crisis here.

Postby adnj » November 19th, 2021, 9:07 am

Georgetown immunologist who has accurately predicted coronavirus trends says there are only 3 ways the pandemic could end—and you really don’t want option 2 or 3

In the spring of 2020, the CEO of Enochian BioSciences and professor at Georgetown University Medical Center’s Department of Medicine told The Hill that the following fall could see another wave, and it would likely be “more virulent.” He’s also spoken out about the need to equally distribute resources when it comes to fighting the COVID-19 pandemic, and the need for a globally “coordinated response.” 

And he doesn’t like what he’s seeing in Europe right now, which has higher rates of vaccination than the U.S. but is experiencing a record-breaking number of cases, he told Fortune at a conference earlier this week. 

“Germany, Holland, Austria have higher rates [of hospitalization and death] than they ever have in the course of the pandemic,” Dybul said. “A month from now, we’re quite likely to look like those countries.”

These are three potential scenarios Dybul can imagine in the U.S. as we continue to push through the second winter of the global COVID pandemic. 

Option 1

“By March, April, May we will have a fully vaccine resistant variant,” said Dybul. 

The good news? There’s treatment available, like Pfizer’s antiviral pill, which Dybul said can “reduce hospitalization by 90%.” That means that while we might not be able to prevent a wave of cases fueled by a vaccine-resistant strain (which already exists in Latin America), we can reduce the severity. 

“Vaccines and therapies don’t stop transmission,” Dr. Dybul noted, but new treatment options in development, like a prophylactic nasal spray that can also stop transmission, could lead us out of the worst of the pandemic.

Option 2

Another scenario is that COVID-19 becomes like “influenza” or the flu for wealthy nations but will be more severe in poorer countries. 

Richer countries have a surplus of treatments to transform a health crisis into a seasonal problem, but even now, he said, malaria and tuberculosis still plague some African nations.

Option 3

The worst option is that the virus will mutate faster than we can chase it, and even treatment options won’t affect it.

“The third possibility is that it’s a mess for the foreseeable future everywhere because the virus will mutate so much,” Dr. Dybul said, but he thinks this is “really unlikely.”

Dr. Dybul’s opinion is that we’re heading toward the second option, but it will take two to three years to get there. While we’re en route to some sort of solution, he’s worried that the “in between” years could be “pretty rough.”

https://fortune.com/2021/11/18/georgeto ... on-2-or-3/

Postby Strugglerzinc » November 19th, 2021, 9:12 am

aaron17 wrote:Once election done ..we will go back into lockdown.

Look how that 1000 cases/day Avery talk about will show up just after the election done and they will have to "protect" the people.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » November 19th, 2021, 9:15 am

Guys what your plans for the Christmas season? Normally go by in laws as christmas and birthday is same day. This year is drive by wind down glass drop out gifts and wheelspin and gone. Hoping to make grocery early december and beat the crowd . My main worry is how to get my pricesmart fruit cake. Last year had crowd and fight and thing.

Postby aaron17 » November 19th, 2021, 9:57 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:

Look how that 1000 cases/day Avery talk about will show up just after the election done and they will have to "protect" the people.

Elections are a priority ...

Postby st7 » November 19th, 2021, 9:57 am

iz how allyuh acting so surprised that 'govt making dumb decisions'

these parties does really win elections off allyuh heads oui

Postby aaron17 » November 19th, 2021, 10:51 am

^^ Simple manipulations of numbers too

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 19th, 2021, 11:02 am

Prepare for double digit deaths figures for a long time.

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2021, 11:07 am

nismotrinidappa wrote:Guys what your plans for the Christmas season? Normally go by in laws as christmas and birthday is same day. This year is drive by wind down glass drop out gifts and wheelspin and gone. Hoping to make grocery early december and beat the crowd . My main worry is how to get my pricesmart fruit cake. Last year had crowd and fight and thing.

If u sure everybody fully vaxxed u cud have a lime according to Dr. Fauci. If not well drop gifts and go.

My dad usually comes over for lunch and stays but not vaxxed so we will see.

Postby redmanjp » November 19th, 2021, 11:11 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:

With Delta it will happen soon. They don't need to make it up as major surges have happened in US states with similar vaccination rates.

Postby aaron17 » November 19th, 2021, 11:12 am

vaxx or no vaxx ..i eh taking no chance at all going by ppl

eitech

Postby eitech » November 19th, 2021, 11:15 am

aaron17 wrote:vaxx or no vaxx ..i eh taking no chance at all going by ppl

Wam bai? Yuh doh trust de psy-ents wid all dem low numbers?

Postby aaron17 » November 19th, 2021, 11:23 am

lol.....

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 19th, 2021, 11:32 am

redmanjp wrote:
nismotrinidappa wrote:Guys what your plans for the Christmas season? Normally go by in laws as christmas and birthday is same day. This year is drive by wind down glass drop out gifts and wheelspin and gone. Hoping to make grocery early december and beat the crowd . My main worry is how to get my pricesmart fruit cake. Last year had crowd and fight and thing.

If u sure everybody fully vaxxed u cud have a lime according to Dr. Fauci. If not well drop gifts and go.

Some people need five shots to make sure nothing happen to them

Postby gastly369 » November 19th, 2021, 11:34 am

The amt ah sanitizer and 99% alcohol absorbed into meh body already... If ah get ah breathalyzer test dey might get ah reading yes

Postby Chimera » November 19th, 2021, 11:45 am

redmanjp wrote:

the risky thing with that is that no children under 12 would have vaccines and its easy for fully vaccinated adults to go out and lime with each other and spread it with each other and not be affected but then they go home and infect their kids or other persons who couldnt or didnt take vaccine for whatever reason

Postby j.o.e » November 19th, 2021, 12:36 pm

I liming normal. Safe zones and house limes. All close friends and all family vaxxed, been to cinema and a few restaurants. Should be back to the gym early next month if not before. Will be in the US January…
Life continues. Weigh the risks and act accordingly

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 19th, 2021, 1:18 pm

j.o.e wrote:I liming normal. Safe zones and house limes. All close friends and all family vaxxed, been to cinema and a few restaurants. Should be back to the gym early next month if not before. Will be in the US January…

Same here I liming normal too, I've been in gym countless times, a few restaurants and bars, cinema twice and I going by people normal. vaccinated life is great

eitech

Postby eitech » November 19th, 2021, 1:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
j.o.e wrote:I liming normal. Safe zones and house limes. All close friends and all family vaxxed, been to cinema and a few restaurants. Should be back to the gym early next month if not before. Will be in the US January…

Same here I liming normal too, I've been in gym countless times, a few restaurants and bars, cinema twice and I going by people normal. vaccinated life is great

So your life wasn’t great pre covid? And weren’t you vaccinated then? Lol yes

Postby adnj » November 19th, 2021, 1:37 pm

eitech wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

So your life wasn’t great pre covid? And weren’t you vaccinated then? Lol yes

Postby teems1 » November 19th, 2021, 1:45 pm

st7 wrote:iz how allyuh acting so surprised that 'govt making dumb decisions'

these parties does really win elections off allyuh heads oui
Government would love to reopen at a better rate and appease more of the population.

However we're only at 45% fully vaxxed. Much lower than other countries we should be comparing ourselves to.

At this point Rowley should just come out and say if you're unvaccinated you can't go anywhere and would have to pay for your own hospital bills if you do get Covid.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 19th, 2021, 1:47 pm

SoE over

Was the plan for this weekend?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 19th, 2021, 1:49 pm

KM_2NR wrote:SoE over

Get covid and dead

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 19th, 2021, 2:04 pm

The difference between Life and Death is literally 1 breath away.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » November 19th, 2021, 2:06 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
KM_2NR wrote:SoE over

Get covid and dead

Rowley would be proud!