COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » November 21st, 2021, 1:55 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I sad that most lf those deaths could have been avoided if those persons had vaccinated.

Taking the vaccine is like wearing a seat belt In a speeding car heading for a crash right now. Yes you could still die but the seat belt will increase your chances of living.

And these unnecessary people in icu draining the country of resources and freaking up ppl who otherwise need icu beds.

These deaths and cases could have been avoided if the protocols were followed.

Both the vaccinated and unvaccinated continue to fight and blame each other and cannot even wear a mask properly.

drchaos

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby drchaos » November 21st, 2021, 1:57 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:On an average day in Trinidad and Tobago roughly 32 people die based on averaging and disaggregating OECD data and CIA world fact books data.

With 28 people dying from Covid we've effectively doubled our death rate.

Our mortality rates for the next few weeks will be extremely high.

Good time to be in the funeral business. Those of you who looking for jobs look at that sector.

The actual figure is lower ... Like you guys conveniently forgot that the CMO said a covid death may not be a covid, the person may have died with covid and not from it.

And that's from the CMO's mouth not some crazy conspiracy theory.

While that statement is true, it doesn't negate the fact that covid deaths are increasing as case counts increase. If you looked and understood the excess mortality graphs I showed you a few weeks ago you'd understand the impact covid is having.

Stop trying to downplay the virus, that mindset has allowed many people to let their guard down.

So far since this pandemic I know of 7 people who died from covid all of whom were between 44 and 67 years old. Three of them had no comorbidities and were in very good health otherwise.

I personally am not afraid of covid having been infected last September. But it's foolhardy to think it isn't causing many others problems.

It's led to the biggest life expectancy decrease since WW2.

https://www.ox.ac.uk/news/2021-09-27-co ... rld-war-ii

Is this the same incident where you declared yourself "infected" without getting a covid tests and based on your "symptoms"?

Yup my colleague in the UK who is a GP confirmed this ... Last year a suspected covid case with death, no testing done was put down as a covid death.
This was then adjusted to, after testing became more available, if you die 28 days after a covid positive test you are put down as a covid death. Did'nt matter what you died from ... Car crash, trauma, MI, Strokes, Heart failure ....

This would have inflated death rates to levels that would scare the average drone in blind submission.

This isn't what you think it is.

Firstly. a car accident or murder victim will not be counted as a covid death in most of those cases. The coroner will do their investigations in those deaths.

The main reason for using the 28 day cut off point was because it was a way to avoid underestimating covid deaths as complications (particularly heart complications) after infection led to death. Covid is an insidious disease and has lingering damaging effects on the elderly and sick. Those people would mostly likely have not otherwise died prematurely if not for covid.

Again, you can see all the proof of covid being deadly in the excess mortality data.

No this is not true as confirmed by a UK doctor.

The covid 19 death stats/reporting and death certificates are not linked two completely separate systems.
Coroners cause of death will state motor vehicle accident but covid death reporting system will place the person as a covid death.
UK gov said the system is for fast reporting so they can have data to work with ... fast but wrong data.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 63865 (+781) cases, 1891 (+6) deaths, 7689 active, 54285 recovered in T&T

Postby hover11 » November 21st, 2021, 1:59 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:I sad that most lf those deaths could have been avoided if those persons had vaccinated.

Taking the vaccine is like wearing a seat belt In a speeding car heading for a crash right now. Yes you could still die but the seat belt will increase your chances of living.

And these unnecessary people in icu draining the country of resources and freaking up ppl who otherwise need icu beds.

Both the vaccinated and unvaccinated continue to fight and blame each other and cannot even wear a mask properly.
X3000

One evening in POS take a look at the trinis that walk the street half of them cannot wear a mask properly going into two years of a pandemic and there is little to no social distancing....we are going to reap what we sow

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 21st, 2021, 2:03 pm

hover11 wrote:

X3000

One evening in POS take a look at the trinis that walk the street half of them cannot wear a mask properly going into two years of a pandemic and there is little to no social distancing....we are going to reap what we sow

And why do you care? We are currently in this position because a large portion of the population doesn't believe in vaccination.

Is it any wonder we are close to topping the world in death rate?

Screenshot 2021-11-21 at 6.03.47 pm.png
Screenshot 2021-11-21 at 6.06.11 pm.png

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 21st, 2021, 2:18 pm

hover11 wrote:

X3000

You really feel masks does work?

Postby hover11 » November 21st, 2021, 2:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

And why do you care? We are currently in this position because a large portion of the population doesn't believe in vaccination.

Is it any wonder we are close to topping the world in death rate?

Screenshot 2021-11-21 at 6.03.47 pm.png
Screenshot 2021-11-21 at 6.06.11 pm.png
I care because even though I'm not vaccinated I follow protocols that's how I was able to evade covid 19 since inception, I walk around with my own sanitizer every where I go....I double mask and maintain social distancing....if everyone did the same cases would decrease and there would be less deaths

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 21st, 2021, 2:29 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

It's not a yes and no thing. You need to start looking at it in probability reduction.

Prob(getting covid with everyone unmasked) = 0.9
Prob(getting covid with everyone masked but not you) = 0.7
Prob(getting covid with everyone including yourself wearing masks) = 0.4

These are hypothetical values to illustrate how masks actually work. They don't promise to be 100% they are layers of protection.

Sanitizing, social distancing, masks, vaccines all cumulatively sum up to reduce your overall risk.

eitech

Postby eitech » November 21st, 2021, 2:35 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:
hover11 wrote:

X3000

It's not a yes and no thing. You need to start looking at it in probability reduction.

Prob(getting covid with everyone unmasked) = 0.9
Prob(getting covid with everyone masked but not you) = 0.7
Prob(getting covid with everyone including yourself wearing masks) = 0.4

These are hypothetical values to illustrate how masks actually work. They don't promise to be 100% they are layers of protection.

Sanitizing, social distancing, masks, vaccines all cumulatively sum up to reduce your overall risk.

Do you believe that last part you stated is correct? Or would you say vaccination and the 3Ws is 10x more effective than the 3Ws alone?

Postby Chimera » November 21st, 2021, 2:37 pm

Right now covid so rampant I sure everyone gonna get it unless they in complete isolation. As I said earlier...for the past 2 years no one at all in my family got covid. None. And I eh lie since the majority of us got vaxxed we start to lime normal. Had a bday lime for a relative in September with more than 50 people. I wearing cloth masks more than 18 months now as the medical masks does annoy me. I went tobago Easter this year with about 20 people when it supposedly had 40k or 50k people travel to tobago for the weekend and we lime all over and drink all over and mix with people all over. Gone beach house and river lime in the past few months with groups of people I don't normally lime with. No covid.
I was in Grenada in early 2020 and left right before they start to get cases and lock down, lime Suriname and new York early 2020 when things spreading all over and no one in the crew get covid.

Now a batch of my family have covid and we all get it from different sources as it's not family who I mix with much. Just see them for weddings and funerals.

Covid spreading like wildfire and everyone gonna get touch.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 21st, 2021, 2:37 pm

So cloth masks a girl make in her basement to no specifications or a surgical masks that was never meant to stop the spread of disease going to stop people from getting covid. Ok. :lol:

katiedido

Postby katiedido » November 21st, 2021, 3:30 pm

Personally I’d rather be in an unventilated room with an unvaccinated person who is socially distancing and taking great precautions(uses grocery delivery, wears their double mask religiously, doesn’t attend indoor limes) than a vaccinated person who’s liming like it’s 2019. Get off your morally superior high horse if you think as a vaxxed person living like covid is in the past that you have nothing to do with the spread.
Both sides have blame to share for our current situation.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 3:49 pm

Any predictions for today's numbers?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 21st, 2021, 3:58 pm

T&T cases and deaths high - vaccination low

Screenshot 2021-11-21 at 3.54.59 PM.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 21st, 2021, 4:07 pm

katiedido wrote:Personally I’d rather be in an unventilated room with an unvaccinated person who is socially distancing and taking great precautions(uses grocery delivery, wears their double mask religiously, doesn’t attend indoor limes) than a vaccinated person who’s liming like it’s 2019. Get off your morally superior high horse if you think as a vaxxed person living like covid is in the past that you have nothing to do with the spread.
Both sides have blame to share for our current situation.

Yes but only one group taking up all the ICU units

Postby goalpost » November 21st, 2021, 4:08 pm

DMan7 wrote:Any predictions for today's numbers?

Shake d livin used to have d S on d numbers . Realize he stop posting about it here. Probably lost the contact or just avoiding this thread.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 21st, 2021, 4:12 pm

goalpost wrote:

Shake d livin used to have d S on d numbers . Realize he stop posting about it here. Probably lost the contact or just avoiding this thread.
The contact probably dead by now.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » November 21st, 2021, 4:14 pm

Today go be around 400

Postby hover11 » November 21st, 2021, 4:18 pm

wtf wrote:
goalpost wrote:

The contact probably dead by now.
Lol where your chill bro

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 4:20 pm

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 4:21 pm

Looks like we'll be stuck in the 20 something for the number deaths. These hovers never learn. Either way RIP.

Postby hover11 » November 21st, 2021, 4:23 pm

DMan7 wrote:Looks like we'll be stuck in the 20 something for the number deaths. These hovers never learn. Either way RIP.
After elections the government will have no choice to intervene

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 4:23 pm

I think that's the highest number I've ever seen for the ICU and HDU too. :shock:

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 4:24 pm

hover11 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:Looks like we'll be stuck in the 20 something for the number deaths. These hovers never learn. Either way RIP.
After elections the government will have no choice to intervene

Yea the unvaccinated needs to now have serious restrictions placed on them. This cannot allowed to go on anymore.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » November 21st, 2021, 4:26 pm

20 free beds again.
Oh well. Tomorrow's another day.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 21st, 2021, 4:27 pm

hover11 wrote:Things niceFB_IMG_1637526021675.jpg

20 alone boy

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 21st, 2021, 4:53 pm

wtf wrote:20 free beds again.

Damn that's a 40% decrease in new beds available

Postby hover11 » November 21st, 2021, 4:55 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

Those would already be allocated for the severe cases waiting for such...beds are not freeing up as quickly as they would like

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 21st, 2021, 4:59 pm

hover11 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:

Those would already be allocated for the severe cases waiting for such...beds are not freeing up as quickly as they would like[/quote]

Exactly, thats why they want more dead

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » November 21st, 2021, 5:03 pm

Time to roll out that field hospital at Hasley Crawford stadium donated to us by the US Government which has 40 ICU beds.

Postby The_Honourable » November 21st, 2021, 5:06 pm

48 deaths in 48 hours... damn...

I guess this is the first real wave we are getting?