Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2020, 8:05 pm

nope and it must all come in one box
also if the monitor have multiple inputs
eg hdmi, vga
it’s considered an entertainment tv
so get the vaseline out

paid_influencer wrote:^I remember bringing in a security camera system and customs said without a monitor it not a "CCTV system", so duty and vat still applicable.

did they ever change that?

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 16th, 2020, 9:10 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have never in all my life shipping stuff from Amazon or other stores have i EVER paid Tax on Shipping.

I pay Tax on the item and shipping if shipping is within the US.

I have never ever paid Tax on the shipping fee from Miami to Trinidad, this should be illegal.

VAT and Duty and now OPT have ALWAYS been on CIF value.

Just say you didn't know or someone didn't explain it to you. You have always paid it that way.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 16th, 2020, 9:17 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I have never in all my life shipping stuff from Amazon or other stores have i EVER paid Tax on Shipping.

I have never ever paid Tax on the shipping fee from Miami to Trinidad, this should be illegal.

Just say you didn't know or someone didn't explain it to you. You have always paid it that way.
Correct

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 16th, 2020, 9:33 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:lol
unc or any other party

pugboy wrote:So voting pp will ease up skybox shopping?
PP ?
Ok.

Imagine UNC so dotish that they don't even realize if they say they revoking the 7% skybox tax they go win this election easy.

This exactly this, I eh hear them say nothing about this situation as of yet.

It so easy to win just say you removing the 7% OPT and you removing all tax from computers.
Dan when you see or if you ever see your PNM candidate, tell them your concern and you not voting PNM because of customs and house tax.

According to PNM

Books is for Crooks

School is for Fools.

UNC is the only government that ever bothered to look at computers as a learning tool which it is and remove all Tax. The PNM could never have such vision and this isn't even a political statement this is just commonsense .

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 16th, 2020, 9:34 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:

NOPE never paid it that way with my Skybox. Never ever got charged for Vat on shipping I would calculate it down to the last cent and pay exactly that 95% of the time. Then again my Skybox had mastered the art of greasing customs cacah0le so that was always a plus. Which is why I never moved to other Skybox companies even tho my Skybox was one of the few that still continued to charge by volumetric weight. To me it was worth it, always came out vastly cheaper each and every time even with volumetric weight.

My skybox had a special potion made of KY, Vaseline and some unknown ingredients for greasing customs cacah0le

I go call them and find out if they selling any of this potion since now all ah we hadda lube we cacah0le cause customs eh taking they giving now.

Postby Chimera » July 16th, 2020, 10:00 pm

Effectic post up one of your old skybox bills/ receipts.

We have always all been paying tax on the shipping

Postby pugboy » July 16th, 2020, 10:02 pm

the only place to grease right now is the short man

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » July 16th, 2020, 10:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
unc or any other party

pugboy wrote:So voting pp will ease up skybox shopping?
PP ?
Ok.

Imagine UNC so dotish that they don't even realize if they say they revoking the 7% skybox tax they go win this election easy.

It so easy to win just say you removing the 7% OPT and you removing all tax from computers.
Dan when you see or if you ever see your PNM candidate, tell them your concern and you not voting PNM because of customs and house tax.

According to PNM

Books is for Crooks

School is for Fools.

UNC is the only government that ever bothered to look at computers as a learning tool which it is and remove all Tax. The PNM could never have such vision and this isn't even a political statement this is just commonsense .

I have to agree this was one of the best things UNC ever did, and under Panday in the 95 or 96, really good foresight there.

I really wish they'd go back to zero tax on items that can help stimulate the economy, think of if cameras, musical instrument and other things relating to arts had no tax. Man we'd have a flourishing industry of creatives overnight. It's a pity when they talk about diversification they underestimate this sector entirely.

Postby bluefete » July 17th, 2020, 7:37 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
unc or any other party

zoom rader wrote:PP ?
Ok.

According to PNM

Books is for Crooks

School is for Fools.

I have to agree this was one of the best things UNC ever did, and under Panday in the 95 or 96, really good foresight there.

I really wish they'd go back to zero tax on items that can help stimulate the economy, think of if cameras, musical instrument and other things relating to arts had no tax. Man we'd have a flourishing industry of creatives overnight. It's a pity when they talk about diversification they underestimate this sector entirely

This comment needs to go in the political thread.

carluva

Postby carluva » July 17th, 2020, 9:02 am

Agreed. Can this thread be kept on topic and the politicising of matters stopped? There are other threads for that type of conjecture.

Postby supercharged turbo » July 17th, 2020, 9:10 am

So Kamla say if she win,she removing the OPT

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 19th, 2020, 8:39 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/lo ... b5cac.html

Customs mandated to clear Piarco backlog

FINANCE Minister Colm Imbert has mandated Customs and Excise Division verbally to facilitate the clearance of the backlog of goods at the Piarco International Airport, in the shortest possible time period.

On Friday, Imbert met with the logistics committee of the American Chamber of Commerce of Trinidad and Tobago, (AMCHAM TT) along with representatives of Customs and Excise, at his office in the Finance Building, Eric Williams Financial Complex.

In March, the couriers complained of delays in clearing items and financial losses as a result of the “new” system which was implemented by Customs and Excise Division in mid-February.

The new regulations require courier companies to declare items valued less than $20,000 to Customs, which means all items must be bonded before cleared.

AMCHAM TT CEO Nirad Tewarie described Friday’s meeting as promising, and that Imbert has asked Customs to reduce the backlog, ideally by this weekend.

“We’ve been writing to Customs requesting a meeting for the last three weeks or so and we eventually asked the Minister of Finance to meet, which he did,” Tewarie said.

Speaking to the Sunday Express in further detail, chair of the AMCHAM’s logistics committee and head of Ezone Courier company, Paul Pantin, described the dialogue as a step in the right direction in dealing with the backlog issue, which has resulted in thousands of items not being delivered to couriers’ customers.

Pantin said the minister instructed that Customs should meet with the committee this week to find a common ground in the next six to eight weeks on how to facilitate, legally, a proper way to clear cargo items in a timely fashion.

The head of the courier service noted that Imbert advised them if and when the incumbent Government gets back into office after the August 10 general election, the amendments to the Customs Act to expedite shipment clearance and also be more business-friendly, would be favourably considered.

“We also pointed out to the finance minister that several Caricom countries allow between US$30 to US$50 per shipment, duty-free for personal consumption and that is what is needed in T&T. A study, which was done globally, suggested that items up to US$100, should be allowed to pass through customs duty-free and focus more on the higher priced items to tax. I am glad that the minister was very open to what the other islands currently have in place and mandated customs to not be so stringent with the rules.”

Last week, Customs and Excise Division issued a release, responding to the numerous complaints in social media regarding charges applied to items purchased by the public and imported via Express Consignment Cargo Reporters (courier companies).

Pantin distanced the larger courier services from this complaint as he said they had no problems with the taxes imposed by Customs based on CIF—(Cost, Insurance and Freight).

He said: “What we have a problem with is the procedure and how long things are taking to clear.”

Postby zoom rader » July 19th, 2020, 9:07 am

dredman1 wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/business/local/customs-mandated-to-clear-piarco-backlog/article_8149963a-c959-11ea-8eb6-138bf20b5cac.html

Customs mandated to clear Piarco backlog

FINANCE Minister Colm Imbert has mandated Customs and Excise Division verbally to facilitate the clearance of the backlog of goods at the Piarco International Airport, in the shortest possible time period.

On Friday, Imbert met with the logistics committee of the American Chamber of Commerce of Trinidad and Tobago, (AMCHAM TT) along with representatives of Customs and Excise, at his office in the Finance Building, Eric Williams Financial Complex.

In March, the couriers complained of delays in clearing items and financial losses as a result of the “new” system which was implemented by Customs and Excise Division in mid-February.

The new regulations require courier companies to declare items valued less than $20,000 to Customs, which means all items must be bonded before cleared.

AMCHAM TT CEO Nirad Tewarie described Friday’s meeting as promising, and that Imbert has asked Customs to reduce the backlog, ideally by this weekend.

“We’ve been writing to Customs requesting a meeting for the last three weeks or so and we eventually asked the Minister of Finance to meet, which he did,” Tewarie said.

Speaking to the Sunday Express in further detail, chair of the AMCHAM’s logistics committee and head of Ezone Courier company, Paul Pantin, described the dialogue as a step in the right direction in dealing with the backlog issue, which has resulted in thousands of items not being delivered to couriers’ customers.

Pantin said the minister instructed that Customs should meet with the committee this week to find a common ground in the next six to eight weeks on how to facilitate, legally, a proper way to clear cargo items in a timely fashion.

The head of the courier service noted that Imbert advised them if and when the incumbent Government gets back into office after the August 10 general election, the amendments to the Customs Act to expedite shipment clearance and also be more business-friendly, would be favourably considered.

“We also pointed out to the finance minister that several Caricom countries allow between US$30 to US$50 per shipment, duty-free for personal consumption and that is what is needed in T&T. A study, which was done globally, suggested that items up to US$100, should be allowed to pass through customs duty-free and focus more on the higher priced items to tax. I am glad that the minister was very open to what the other islands currently have in place and mandated customs to not be so stringent with the rules.”

Last week, Customs and Excise Division issued a release, responding to the numerous complaints in social media regarding charges applied to items purchased by the public and imported via Express Consignment Cargo Reporters (courier companies).

Pantin distanced the larger courier services from this complaint as he said they had no problems with the taxes imposed by Customs based on CIF—(Cost, Insurance and Freight).

He said: “What we have a problem with is the procedure and how long things are taking to clear.”
Epic rubbish by PNM for elections.

This is just lip service and things will fall back as they now when PNM gets back into office.

If you all beilieve this then you all are guilable fools

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » July 19th, 2020, 10:35 am

Postby zoom rader » July 19th, 2020, 10:45 am

francis1979 wrote:Image
Plaster on a sore, it's a gimmick

Postby paid_influencer » July 19th, 2020, 12:46 pm

that article is a waste of time. a set of talk about what the current govt will do after election.

Postby zoom rader » July 19th, 2020, 1:58 pm

paid_influencer wrote:that article is a waste of time. a set of talk about what the current govt will do after election.
Is in response to scrap online tax.

agent007

Postby agent007 » July 19th, 2020, 2:16 pm

Paying Duty, OPT and VAT on items purchased online is similar to paying Duty, MVT and VAT on cars. 3 taxes in total that make up the final price.

On the bright side, we should thank God that OPT was not created with varying percentages based on the item purchased. For example, 7% OPT on electronics vs 20% OPT on jewelry.

Postby paid_influencer » July 19th, 2020, 2:22 pm

agent007 wrote:Paying Duty, OPT and VAT on items purchased online is similar to paying Duty, MVT and VAT on cars. 3 taxes in total that make up the final price.

On the bright side, we should thank God that OPT was not created with varying percentages based on the item purchased. For example, 7% OPT on electronics vs 20% OPT on jewelry.

the next step is to do like Barbados. OPT applied directly to credit card for all online purchases (including digital purchases, like PSN, Xbox Live, Amazon Prime, Netflix, etc).

It coming.

Postby nervewrecker » July 19th, 2020, 10:18 pm

How websource treating people?

Postby nemisis » July 19th, 2020, 10:24 pm

Getting taxed on services that there is no local alternative too is draconian just my 2 cents.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 20th, 2020, 1:05 pm

On the bright side look at it this way, we pay no taxes on our salary and 80% of the country if not more works for less than $6000 a month. Since the whole $5000 then eventually $6000 and no taxes was created by the PNM we are safe in this department. I think what is happening is they are making back that money elsewhere so in some cases we can look at that for some piece of mind as we get raped with a pineapple in we cacah0le by customs.

Postby Strugglerzinc » July 20th, 2020, 1:20 pm

Hoss, you have an unusual fixation with being violently raped in your cacahole

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:Hoss, you have an unusual fixation with being violently raped in your cacahole

Freudian slip

Postby *KRONIK* » July 20th, 2020, 1:42 pm

Deddddddddddddd
Strugglerzinc wrote:Hoss, you have an unusual fixation with being violently raped in your cacahole

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 20th, 2020, 2:15 pm

Yeah boy I experienced it with customs, it isn't pleasant and they don't use lube you have to lube it up first for them

Postby supercharged turbo » July 20th, 2020, 2:44 pm

Postby supercharged turbo » July 20th, 2020, 2:46 pm

Postby j.o.e » July 20th, 2020, 3:28 pm

Peter paying for Paul I suspect. Lots of under invoicing was happening

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 20th, 2020, 4:25 pm

j.o.e wrote:Peter paying for Paul I suspect. Lots of under invoicing was happening

The chinese companies from ali express and ebay etc does actually ask you if you want a forged invoice and they then set the shoe price etc to $5 or $10 value.

This wont happen from Amazon so i doh know why amazon shoppers with amazon invoices getting analized in the bamcee with a traffic cone.