Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Yodins

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby Yodins » July 27th, 2011, 4:14 pm

ah tryin to upload some pictures ah have , but dis ting sayin meh files too big.
how tuh mek it smaller o sumn ?

Postby sharkman121 » July 27th, 2011, 6:11 pm

^not too sure, open some picture editing program an maybe downscale the pixel ratio?

would love to see the pics though

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 27th, 2011, 9:39 pm

ey sharkman, you get through scraping off most of the coraline of the rock and spreading it throughout the tank?

Postby sharkman121 » July 28th, 2011, 2:05 am

nuh yet bai, aint get around to scraping it off as yet, i jus come home an throw d rock in d tank for now

i aint even get chance to put in d bulb as yet :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 28th, 2011, 6:36 am

Yuh real stickin pal.....................

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 28th, 2011, 9:10 am

any of the saltwater fellas have mushrooms to sell? PM me...................... dont post it here

link

Postby link » July 29th, 2011, 7:56 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 30th, 2011, 8:51 pm

dis thread loosing interests......................... nobody posting

Postby sharkman121 » July 31st, 2011, 6:58 pm

umm..Dean, how exactly did u run yr electrical for yr system?

swear i nelly bun dong mih house :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » July 31st, 2011, 10:19 pm

sharkman121 wrote:umm..Dean, how exactly did u run yr electrical for yr system?

how yuh mean, how ah run it. yuh nearly bun dong d house
have it running tru 2 separate plug outlets on different breakers.
each plug outlet running to its own voltage regulator and goes to its own outet. (about 12 outlets)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2011, 11:03 am

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2011, 6:39 pm

anybody ever see liquid garlic selling in any of the petshops? Its the one that you can mix with the food and give it to them.

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2011, 6:46 pm

i use this along with marine selcon...works well

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2011, 6:47 pm

Ordered them online though...

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2011, 9:24 pm

you have a spare one to sell?
have a kole tang that under some stress and need it urgently

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2011, 10:31 pm

nah hoss, jus ordered some supplies online yesterday and that wasnt one.

Wat u dealing with, ich?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 2nd, 2011, 7:11 am

seems like a fungus.................... will have to go and by the garlic pellets today then

ARES0610

Postby ARES0610 » August 3rd, 2011, 6:36 am

Hey Honda, just use fresh garlic. Grate some pour in a little water, leave for 15 mins then squeeze the juice through a strainer and use that liquid. I used to do that a while ago, use just a little of the liquid though.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 3rd, 2011, 10:38 am

put the tang in hyposalinity
the ich or what ever it have go drop out and less stress for the tang because of the low salt.
you could feed the garlic and thing while in the hypo.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 3rd, 2011, 11:55 am

rmtuner wrote:put the tang in hyposalinity
the ich or what ever it have go drop out and less stress for the tang because of the low salt.
you could feed the garlic and thing while in the hypo.

would love to do that, but the issue is to catch him. Its a 200+ gal tank with lots of rock work......................................
ey ARES0610, was gong to do that but end up getting the Spectrum garlic pellets from Raj
yesteray. thanks, will do that on the mysis.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 3rd, 2011, 12:30 pm

south beach petshop in grand bazzar have archer fish. Only about 8 remaining. All he red & green scats and the mono's gone

Postby sharkman121 » August 3rd, 2011, 1:37 pm

u have cleaner shrimp?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 3rd, 2011, 2:08 pm

had 2. d pistol shrimp kill them. have to put d shrimp trap later and see if i get him.
jst to let you know cleaner shrimp dont get ich off d fish especially if its already embedded in the flesh.

A common myth that goes along with the marine reef aquarium hobby is that cleaner shrimp will cure a fish of ich. Here is what a fellow member of Reefcentral had to say about this. A big thanks to “GreenBean” for his explanation:

http://www.brettsreef.com/index.php/cle ... p-and-ich/

“There is no evidence that any cleaner species eats ich in any real number, either in the wild or captivity. It’s never been found in the gut of cleaners in the wild and in lab tests cleaners have never been shown to make a significant difference on parasite loads. The ich parasite is under the skin of the host and without harming the host fish, the cleaner only has access to the parasite for about the 5 minutes that it takes for the parasite to burrow through. Because that 5 minutes occurs in the wee hours of the morning, cleaners will never naturally encounter the parasite during that time. In the lab, even when cleaners were induced to clean during the period when the parasite was burrowing in, they ate very few of them and made no significant difference in the parasite loads of the fish. The white spots associated with ich are only damaged skin due to the parasite underneath and guess what a large part of the diet of most cleaners is…. dead skin and fish mucus. Picking off the spots doesn’t cure the fish.”

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 3rd, 2011, 2:59 pm

Cleaner wrasse

They examined the gut contents of cleaner wrasse or Labroides dimidiatus you can find it in the Marine Ecology Progress Series, volume 197: pages 241-246 that was published in May of 2000, Alexandra S. Grutter. They found that the largest portion of their diet consists of gnathiids which is a parasite, but it is not ich. Parasitic copepods, non-parasitic copepods and scales comprised the remaining portion of the diet. They did not find Cryptocaryon irritans in the stomach contents of any of the fish they examined. Perhaps cleaner wrasse will eat some ich, but certainly not enough to affect a cure. They are going to exhibit their natural cleaning behavior whether the subjects being cleaned have ich or not.

Postby sharkman121 » August 3rd, 2011, 4:38 pm

^ good info man.

FD3S

Postby FD3S » August 4th, 2011, 10:34 pm

Anyone came across preformed fish ponds for sale anywhere local?
Looking to put down a small pond in the backyard but need something simple, neat and cost effective. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Postby Trini Hookah » August 4th, 2011, 11:29 pm

my post disappeared on this page? :S

Anyway, those cleaner shrimp you guys have, i assume you all got it from this Raj fellow as well?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2011, 6:52 am

FD3S wrote:Anyone came across preformed fish ponds for sale anywhere local?
Looking to put down a small pond in the backyard but need something simple, neat and cost effective. Any ideas would be appreciated.

Bhagwhansings (sp) have them

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2011, 6:54 am

vrampersad14 wrote:my post disappeared on this page? :S

Anyway, those cleaner shrimp you guys have, i assume you all got it from this Raj fellow as well?

yup..................... think is $300 or 350

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2011, 4:34 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:umm..Dean, how exactly did u run yr electrical for yr system?

how yuh mean, how ah run it. yuh nearly bun dong d house
have it running tru 2 separate plug outlets on different breakers.
each plug outlet running to its own voltage regulator and goes to its own outet. (about 12 outlets)

yuh sort out yuh electrical yet?
what was d problem