Who says PayPal doesn't work from T&T

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » August 6th, 2008, 12:00 pm

Strauss wrote:Bumping this thread.

I want to add my local address (my skybox is there no problem) to my paypal a/c

Anyone did this? Or do I have to sign up for a new Paypal a/c?

I used my Skybox at the initial signup. Im not sure if you can add it later. Anyone else out there have any info on this?

noobie

Postby noobie » August 6th, 2008, 12:29 pm

As far as I know, when you are registering as a business to Receive money, Trinidad and Tobago is not an option.

I checked again, and it does not seem that you can setup a Merchant Store if you do not have a US Bank Account. You cannot transfer money to the Paypal account unless you have a US Bank Account either.

Paypal's rules indicate that you are supposed to be resident in the US, so putting your Skybox address isn't really going to work. You will then be asked for a US Credit Card and as far as I know those are checked not on the Address on the card, but rather by the Card number. The card number indicates whether it is drawn on a US bank, or a foreign bank.

So I'm not sure how people are Receiving money without:
A) A US Bank Account
B) A Credit Card drawn on a US Account.

Can those who claim to be receiving money explain how they were able to do that without the above?

mars

Postby mars » August 11th, 2008, 5:41 am

equipped2ripp wrote:you cannot have a verified or confirmed TT account because you need a US address and account to have it done... reason is why you cannot receive $ but only send, sending from your credit card of course.

yuh lost me here.

i have a confirmed TT account with paypal.

A confirmed TT bank account? Is anyone able to receive money locally via paypal?

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2008, 6:10 am

mars wrote:A confirmed TT bank account? Is anyone able to receive money locally via paypal?

yes my TT account is confirmed.
yes, i've been refunded before.
no, i've never sold anything via paypal, so can't say if receiving funds work.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » August 11th, 2008, 6:30 am

what if you add your skybox address as an alternate address on your cc

mars

Postby mars » August 11th, 2008, 7:15 am

mars wrote:A confirmed TT bank account? Is anyone able to receive money locally via paypal?

yes my TT account is confirmed.
yes, i've been refunded before.
no, i've never sold anything via paypal, so can't say if receiving funds work.

How were you able to add a TT bank account? Which bank? My credit card is confirmed and I've received payments, but they're just sitting in my PayPal account.

noobie

Postby noobie » August 11th, 2008, 7:19 am

mars wrote:How were you able to add a TT bank account? Which bank? My credit card is confirmed and I've received payments, but they're just sitting in my PayPal account.

How did you receive payments?
I can't receive payments at all, because they require a US Bank Account, US Address and a Social Security Number.

Trinidad and Tobago is simply not on the list of supported countries for receiving payments.

They have no problem taking our money so that we can pay it out to other countries though ;-)

Postby wagonrunner » August 11th, 2008, 7:28 am

mars wrote:How were you able to add a TT bank account? Which bank? My credit card is confirmed and I've received payments, but they're just sitting in my PayPal account.

oh sorry, not the tt bank account. the paypal account has a verified credit card.

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » August 11th, 2008, 8:11 am

dean_spleen09 wrote:<a href=http://www.alertpay.com/?X1VAJwXVLwwJevw1ivyGWQ%3d%3d>alertpay</a>
, no credit card needed
send / receive money direct from bank account

to withdraw funds from paypal , get a paypal debit card , and withdraw funds from any atm , worldwide.
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?c ... ro-outside

noobie

Postby noobie » August 11th, 2008, 8:27 am

oh sorry, not the tt bank account. the paypal account has a verified credit card.

Well that totally changes things, and reverts the discussion right back to the point I made originally.

Also, as per the ATM Debit Card, you can't get that if you are a non-us citizen blah blah blah and all the other things I noted.

Essentially, at the end of this discussion : In Trinidad and Tobago,You CANNOT accept Paypal payments as a bonafide Merchant if you do not live in the US/Have a Social Security Number/US Bank Account.
The only thing we can do reliably and easily is PAY OTHER MERCHANTS using Paypal.

Strauss

It doesn't work for me

Postby Strauss » August 11th, 2008, 8:52 am

noobie wrote:You cannot transfer money to the Paypal account unless you have a US Bank Account either.

Paypal's rules indicate that you are supposed to be resident in the US, so putting your Skybox address isn't really going to work. You will then be asked for a US Credit Card and as far as I know those are checked not on the Address on the card, but rather by the Card number. The card number indicates whether it is drawn on a US bank, or a foreign bank.

So I'm not sure how people are Receiving money without:
A) A US Bank Account
B) A Credit Card drawn on a US Account.

Can those who claim to be receiving money explain how they were able to do that without the above?

This is what I want to know.
I used my skybox address. And it is a secondary address on my cc but no luck.

I cannot verify my card if I don't put a valid US bank a/c.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 19th, 2008, 10:20 am

Some assistance please?

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » August 27th, 2008, 12:48 am

Ok. here's the wierd thing. I just checked and it seems i signed up using my TRINDAD address..

But i use the Republic Bank VTM card. Maybe the problem is your card and your bank. My card hasn't given me the slightest problem with ANY site on the net up to now..

Check your bank and see what they tell you. and PLEASE tell me its not Scotia.. the aholes of the banking community..

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 3rd, 2008, 7:48 pm

I emailed these bastards and up to now, no response. :x

My credit card has been verified so but... I can't change my address to Trinidad.

noobie

Postby noobie » September 3rd, 2008, 9:17 pm

tekno1 wrote:But i use the Republic Bank VTM card. Maybe the problem is your card and your bank. My card hasn't given me the slightest problem with ANY site on the net up to now..

uh huh.
Go to Amazon.com and try to buy a Kindle.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » September 3rd, 2008, 9:36 pm

ok, heres what you do, i've been using paypal for everything, i buy alot of stuff online, first of all, u going to need either a skybox or a mailing/delivery address in the US, secondly u going to need to grasp the fact that most ebayers dont ship outside of the US(so u going to need to use an alternate shipping means aka skybox or shipping agent).Delete any previous attampts at a paypal account that you have existing.(hold on eh i goin to check me paypal)...
... yeah, create your paypal account and add as many shipping addresses to the account as you like, i have 5 of them, during checkout you can select which address you want your crap shipped to...
Also, you need to notify your credit card company that you will be doing online shopping, and an email will not do, call them and confirm immediately, let them know u using paypal etc...good luck , u get real deals on ebay and craigslist, enjoy, and to accept money u need a us bank account...cus paypal needs to link their bank info with yours etc...

Postby wagonrunner » September 3rd, 2008, 10:34 pm

Strauss wrote:I emailed these bastards and up to now, no response. :x

My credit card has been verified so but... I can't change my address to Trinidad.

<a href="https://www.paypal.com/helpcenter/main.jsp;jsessionid=L1LBJ1S7NyxrDJl0szkF2VFQX3PVy1kBpm61pQj4yPWW7pwrDJgn!-862048959?locale=en_US&_dyncharset=UTF-8&countrycode=US&cmd=_help&serverInstance=9005&t=solutionTab&ft=searchTab&ps=solutionPanels&solutionId=10475&isSrch=Yes">Paypal<a/> wrote:
Question :
Answer :
A Due to security reasons, PayPal only allows one country address per PayPal account. When moving from country to country, you must close your existing account and open a new account in the country where you are residing.

To close your account, log in to your PayPal account and click Profile at the top of the page.

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 3rd, 2008, 10:37 pm

^^^ Steups. And do that all over again. So now I have to be 'trusted' over as well.

Has anyone done this?

Postby wagonrunner » September 3rd, 2008, 10:38 pm

also, if using a local cc, create account from trinidad. get the cc verified, and you can add US addresses (skybox) as additional personal addresses.
It will look like .......................

YOUR NAME
????? NW ??TH ST
Suite ????
Miami, Florida
Trinidad and Tobago

and it will be accepted, and persons will ship to
YOUR NAME
????? NW ??TH ST
Suite ????
Miami, Florida

*thanks to redsupra101 for that tip.*

tekno1

Postby tekno1 » September 7th, 2008, 2:01 am

noobie wrote:
tekno1 wrote:But i use the Republic Bank VTM card. Maybe the problem is your card and your bank. My card hasn't given me the slightest problem with ANY site on the net up to now..

uh huh.
Go to Amazon.com and try to buy a Kindle.

I have been able to buy everything up to now. Im even in the process of looking at buying a Plasma TV from them. So far, not a single thing i've ordered has given me a problem to buy.

From Electronics to books to paper product to toys to food. Yes.. food..

Strauss

Postby Strauss » September 7th, 2008, 2:36 am

^^ Ditto

noobie

Postby noobie » September 7th, 2008, 6:47 am

tekno1 wrote:I have been able to buy everything up to now. Im even in the process of looking at buying a Plasma TV from them. So far, not a single thing i've ordered has given me a problem to buy.

From Electronics to books to paper product to toys to food. Yes.. food..

So go and try to buy a Kindle.
You can't.

Because it requires a US credit card, paypal or no paypal.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » September 7th, 2008, 8:05 am

Well if the account is not verified, when u reach the limit, just open a new paypal account and start all over again.

Would there be a problem in dong this???

Postby equipped2ripp » September 7th, 2008, 12:52 pm

there wouldn't be a problem with this... once you close the account and open another account.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 7th, 2008, 1:51 pm

i have a US and trinidad address and buying from the far east ... normal normal

:? :?

Postby wagonrunner » September 7th, 2008, 3:16 pm

Ignorant Ignis wrote:i have a US and trinidad address and buying from the far east ... normal normal
:? :?

hoss, the far east is not Ari.................... *lemme stop yes*

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 7th, 2008, 3:20 pm

lol...
ass....

cooltrini

Postby cooltrini » September 7th, 2008, 11:30 pm

Paypal sucks, whats the point in verifying you cc when you can only send money not receive.

Postby equipped2ripp » September 7th, 2008, 11:41 pm

^ when you verify your CC, you increase your limit... :roll:

and to receive, you need to add a bank account to the paypal account.

TriniStore.biz

Postby TriniStore.biz » September 8th, 2008, 5:21 am

so they really upgraded the Visa TravelMoney so its not only electron, you can use it online now with paypal?

equipped2ripp wrote:and to receive, you need to add a bank account to the paypal account.

do you need a US Bank account or can you add a TT Bank Account....