BEST MOBILE PHONE FOR TRINIDAD !

Postby tr1ad » January 28th, 2009, 10:56 pm

blackberry tried to hard to compete with iphone, while its a touch screen, its a waste imo, but then again, ppl want to be popular by havin the "in" thing ie a storm, and most that already have it is prepaid anyways :|

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 28th, 2009, 10:56 pm

N3M3SIS wrote:
rodfarva wrote:Nokia N96 FTW
And from the looks of it
Nokia N97 FTFW

huh?

N96 is a load of garbage. Ugly looks too. Samsung INNOV8 trumps it easliy.

N97 is lame too because it's coming out late this year. If it was released NOW that it would be a hit...but in that many months from now I'm sure it will be surpassed. Late 2009 and all you have is a 5 megapixel cam with no zenon STILL!? FAIL!

oops...sorry meant n95 8gig...

samsung innov8 is ok...but still only dual led flash.

n95 8gig stood the test of time. its still one of the best phones around... I agree the n96 is garbage.

plus a camera does not sell a phone. Its the whole package. and I still look foward to the n97, as its a full keyboard phone with symbian and oriented to the multimedia crowd.

the n95 has a led flash and it still works good enough for an everday useful camera.

Samsung innov8 now come out and has brought nothing new or groundbreaking features to the table...its like a knock off of the n95 basically

waste as far as im concerned.♦

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » January 28th, 2009, 11:00 pm

:fadein: i'm a wierd chile have u not noticed tht yet darling ?? lol

ok ok i'll behave ..

I doh like de curve or the bold , I have a pearl already and I like blackberrys what else u want me to upgrade too ? a flip ? steups I don't do flip or slide phs EVERRRR candy bar all the way .. so call me shallow call me pretentious watever .. I like dem its not like i'm gonna run out tonight and get a storm . .. .. besides everyph has there quirks it just gets a lil bit used too .

to each his own sweety .. :wink:

bds

Postby bds » January 29th, 2009, 12:38 am

i have a BB storm... the keyboard does taking a litle getting used to. when i first got it i took forever to send mesages but like evrything else u get accustomed... now i'm reasonably quick. still not as fast as having a real qwerty keyboard but not bad. since i updated to the latest firmware noticed the switching between apps and the accelorometer got much faster. overall i'm happy with it just wish i could get more than 2 days out of it but i think its has to do with all the emails and other noticfactions coming through like facebook and the occasional browsing and msn are reasons i dont get more than 2 days.

some will argue that its missing wi-fi and many other phones have it but with the blackberry internet service i cant say that i miss it. had wi-fi in my last phone and hardly ever used it.

bds

Postby bds » January 29th, 2009, 12:42 am

oh one other thing..... coming from a nokia n82... the camera in the blackberry is def. a step down. but its not often i use the a phone camera so again its not really an issue for me.

JBL

Postby JBL » January 29th, 2009, 6:49 am

for such a small size...

very strong indeed

calculator

games (snake) :D

torch light (VERY useful)

Wolfie

Postby Wolfie » January 29th, 2009, 10:32 am

I agree Apple is evil but the device itself is great, some people love modding/hacking the phone but as you said it's not for everyone.

rodfarva wrote:
kurpal_v2 wrote:rodfarva, how? Ive been told this but explain it plez..

lets start at the top. The iphone is expensive. Now, nothing is wrong with being expensive. But you need to have the features to back it up.

Firstly, the camera is not good. its 2 Megapixel, which is not terrible, but without some form of a flash, its a waste of time, especially when similarly priced phones come with a better sensor and flash.

Next, you can't record video with the iphone out of the box. Thousands of dollars on a phone and it cant record video.

The Iphone's interface is quite snappy, but also quite limiting.. to fully enjoy it, you need to either hack it or pay money to apple.

Apple does not respect the consumer. They charge a high price for the iphone, which comes locked to AT&T. You must to through some trouble to unlock it...which is not sensible. Then they try to shut you down when you update the phone.

You are forced to use Itunes. You cant simply drop an mp3 onto the iphone and play it, it must be synced with itunes. Again a good example of Apple's disrespect for the consumer.

Bluetooth functionality is limited. You cant transfer files etc with it.

The web browsing experience is great on the iphone, but I know for a fact that this 'stable' browser crashes, it randomly closes on you. Im sorry, you advertise the phone on the premise that it is super stable.. you are not allowed to have crashes. I wont complain as much if apple didnt use this tactic.

You have to BUY ringtones. Again Apple cares nothing for the consumer. All other phones allow you to use your own ringtones, mp3s etc. Apple sees it fit to force the consumer to buy them.

A note to apple die hards, please dont argue that the phone CAN be unlocked, jailbroken, and otherwise hacked to get the functionality you want. When paying this much for a phone, I dont expect to have to go through these stresses to get the functionality that I want.

Im not going to criticize the iphone for not having much business features, since its not designed to be business oriented.....(but then why the crappy camera?)

Oh yes, and the iphone is fully touch screen, there are no keys. Sorry but I prefer at least a normal keypad.

Also, we do not have a 3g network in Trinidad, so your paying for something you'll likely never use.
So yes, in my opinion, the Iphone is an overpriced, overhyped, waste of time.

If anyone is interested in getting the most out of their phone, then there is no question in my mind that a Symbian phone is the best bet, flat out.

Windows mobile is very customizable, but its slow, unstable, boring, tedious...all the things RASC Said

Postby 16 cycles » January 29th, 2009, 10:52 am

JBL wrote:Image

^ That phone is a Battle Axe and even moreso amongst today's effeminate offerings.

IT is, IMHO, the best phone ever made bar none !

prakash

Postby prakash » February 4th, 2009, 6:40 am

you wouldnt believe i still using that fone in work

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » February 4th, 2009, 8:23 am

i have a me 2
no problems

when i get fed up of the person on the end of the other line, i can throw the phone instead of hanging up...without having to worry about it breaking :D

Postby SUPAstarr » February 4th, 2009, 8:42 am

Postby 16 cycles » February 4th, 2009, 8:54 am

^ might have agreed with you if the one i came across didn't have a battery leak

but yeah - that era of nokia had some real good phones

Postby RBphoto » February 4th, 2009, 9:09 am

The TYTNII is a great phone, but not user friendly. I have seen it's operation for over a year and not once was it restarted, soft reset or crash.

My Nokia 5700 is a phone that suits my lifestyle, I like the compact, no full keyboard, great multimedia features (video and music, pluss camera and video are great) and I even edit word and excel documents on it. However, it is not as bullet proof as other nokias and has to be reset maby once a week. For some reason, it acts up after about 4-6 hours of datasim use and slows down.

The E51 ain't as fun as my 5700, but it is bullet proof, stable, compact, and stylish. Glad i bought it and this is an excellent "mobile phone for trinidad".

Iphone: I like the 3G, but too big. The camera impressed me even though it had no flash. It took better shots than my 5700, which is also a 2 mega pixel. It is a great phone, but I would not consider it a TRINIDAD phone as we cannot take advantage of high speed internet for the apple store on the go here.

Blackberry: There are the new services from B-mobile, so i holding my breath for this one. Blackberry user satisfaction lies in the services rather than the handset in my oppinion, like the walkie-talkie function.

Sony Ericson: If multimedia is the only concern, many of their non-smart phones trump all in this segment, with even tv-out. Not my cup of tea and kinda fragile, but these could be seen as suiting a trini lifestyle.

My 2 ¢