Outboard Engine Overboard

Deo Ramkissoon

Postby Deo Ramkissoon » July 15th, 2009, 10:22 am

If all fails check with Daryl's in marabella, resonable prices or I can get a 175hp for about 16K ,1000 running hrs.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » July 15th, 2009, 11:32 am

halfbreed wrote:^^^ AHA!!! i was tryin to remember who told me they did work on an engine that was undr the sea for a couple months. it was u ent cacas??!

well, without me knowing, after the engine was retrieved, a guy at the boatyard apparently assisted my uncle with the scrapping down, flushing out and mounting back up. still haven't heard what was done but the engine has been started and so far its functioning properly.

thanks all for the help, i documented all the information just in case i need it again.

yea it was me, was a 40hp i think......but normally if it goes under for more than a few hours it should be opened up, the bearings checked and should be checked to make sure hydrolock didnt take place.

if its just a couple hours a lot of WD40 should be used to dissipate any water in the engine........it should also be continuously turned over with the spark plugs and carbs out for about 30mins with WD40 lubricating the engine.......the carburetors should be scrapped, cleaned, re-assembles and re-adjusted. electronics should be blown out to prevent water damage.

Deo Ramkissoon wrote:If all fails check with Daryl's in marabella, resonable prices or I can get a 175hp for about 16K ,1000 running hrs.

yup, Daryl is the owner of Yamaha Outboard Services. :wink:

sliperywhenwet

Postby sliperywhenwet » July 15th, 2009, 3:39 pm

Im tellin u folks i know Darryl an Derrick Personally . They will charge the same price but Derricks built over is priceless .