Felippe Massa in life threatening condition....

Mini

Postby Mini » July 26th, 2009, 7:19 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I really do hope he pulls through to race again soon!

cornfused wrote:but stronger helmets should be mandated

I dunno, I am sure the helmets they use in F1 are perhaps the most advanced head protection devices. For all you know that kind of protection may not even be available commercially. I'm just saying.

I agree with Duane...

plus them helmets hadda be light... F1 drivers neck muscles hadda be strong to hold the weight of the driver's head and helmet during them high G turns

Postby gt4tified » July 26th, 2009, 7:46 am

Fack....this is bad news. I hope he pulls through without any lasting implications. F1 drivers, all of them, are a rare breed!

Postby MG Man » July 26th, 2009, 9:11 am

sucks...........Massa is a fighter tho....he'll be back :!:

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 27th, 2009, 12:20 pm

Mini wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I really do hope he pulls through to race again soon!

cornfused wrote:but stronger helmets should be mandated

I dunno, I am sure the helmets they use in F1 are perhaps the most advanced head protection devices. For all you know that kind of protection may not even be available commercially. I'm just saying.

I agree with Duane...

plus them helmets hadda be light... F1 drivers neck muscles hadda be strong to hold the weight of the driver's head and helmet during them high G turns

I know about the weight factor and they are most probably the most advanced in terms of racing helmets. I saw replicas for sale , but i just think that there should be more advancement in their design , if this tuned out more tragically more than once there would be a new helmet, so why wait?

"
The FIA has currently commissioned work for the development of a next generation 'super helmet' for Formula One racing, intended to improve safety standards still further, especially in conjunction with the now mandatory use of the HANS (Head And Neck Support) system
."

http://www.formula1.com/inside_f1/under ... /5291.html

Postby noshownogo » July 27th, 2009, 12:41 pm

Massa suffered eye damage in crash

Felipe Massa's Formula One career appears to be hanging in the balance following confirmation he has suffered some damage to his left eye.

Massa is currently in intensive care at the AEK military hospital in Budapest after suffering a skull fracture following a freak accident on Saturday during qualifying for the Hungarian Grand Prix.

Although the 28-year-old, still in a medically-induced coma, has shown signs of improvement after undergoing emergency surgery, it has now emerged Massa may have sustained eye problems.

If that is the case, and the Brazilian is unable to see properly in the future, it will mean his days in motor racing are over.

Professor Robert Veres said: "He has suffered some damage to the eye.

"We don't know if he'll be able to race again.

"I don't know (if he can return). It's too early to say about his future.

"We don't know the extent of the damage. Without an operation it's very hard to evaluate its function."

Veres also confirmed on Monday afternoon Massa remained sedated "to protect his brain", which has apparently experienced some swelling, but he is out of serious danger.

Meanwhile, Ferrari President Luca di Montezemolo visited Massa in hospital on Monday and insisted no decisions would be taken over the Italian marque's direction for the rest of the season until the driver's situation was clarified.

"Our first priority is Felipe's recovery, Felipe's progress and so on," he said.

"Felipe's been an important member of the Ferrari family for many years, since he arrived as a kid, so we all hope he can come back soon."

Di Montezemlo added: "(Team principal Stefano) Domenicali has to think and make good proposals for the future.

"We don't want to wait too long for Felipe, but our first priority now is to find out about Felipe, and only at that moment will we take a decision."

Source: http://msn.planetf1.com/story/0,18954,3 ... 20,00.html

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 27th, 2009, 1:05 pm

oh no

Postby RASC » July 27th, 2009, 1:05 pm

Hoping he pulls through...just another reminder as to how dangerous racing is :|

Postby noshownogo » July 27th, 2009, 2:12 pm

you can be sure he is getting the best attention money can buy and they would do everything to ensure he could race again if medically possible.

Postby Maserati » July 27th, 2009, 2:29 pm

pioneer wrote:So wha purpose de helmet serve?...jus asking...

it helped him survive that incident, if he didn't have on a helmet he'd be most dead.
In an open cockpit such as an F1 it provides safety, protection against the wind, debris and noise (you got ear plugs as well, there's a screaming V8 engine revving up to 18 000 rpm right behind your head.)
It also connects to the HANS device.
Also makes a nice canvas for sponsorship logos

Postby Maserati » July 27th, 2009, 2:39 pm

pioneer wrote:kool...but safety first

always 8-)

FIA takes it very seriously, if a team breeches the regulations they have outlined they will be dealt with harshly.
*please not this may not extend to events TTASA sanctioned,even though they are listed as an FIA member*

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 27th, 2009, 2:43 pm

^^ yep look what happen to renault sunday whole team suspended from next race cause of a tire not secured properly

Freelander

Postby Freelander » July 27th, 2009, 3:18 pm

massa is off sedation and reacting well

just got word from rubens on twitter

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 5th, 2009, 10:49 am

Postby Maserati » August 5th, 2009, 10:56 am

BBC had an clip of him being interviewed, he's very eager to be back in the car racing.

Postby noshownogo » August 5th, 2009, 10:59 am

he's gonna have a sweet scar when it heals. Whether or not you believe in God, Allah, Angels or whatever, something or someone was looking over Massa that day cuz he could have easily lost his eye or even worse, his life.

He looks great for such a short space of time, lets hope he isn't pushing himself too hard to prove anything to the team. He needs his rest and recuperation.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 5th, 2009, 11:00 am

i hope he sits out for the rest of the season, i want to see mikey race.