District 9:- Don't ask Questions, Just go see it.

Postby 16 cycles » August 17th, 2009, 8:10 am

matrix - how an anti-establishment movie became part of the establishment :D

classic mind F***

but nothing I can't get from the twilight zone.

District 9 - go see it....make your own decision.
Last edited by 16 cycles on August 17th, 2009, 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Xsiege

Postby Xsiege » August 17th, 2009, 12:43 pm

saw it fri....it was good but wired....the concept was refreshing tho...and the level of violence was actually pretty high !

...but there were some moments where you weren't sure whether they were trying to be funny or serious !

But worth a watch non the less !

streak

Postby streak » August 17th, 2009, 12:45 pm

Heard this movie was real Crap

Postby 16 cycles » August 17th, 2009, 12:49 pm

streak wrote:Heard this movie was real Crap

esp if you allergic to shell fish

Postby Maserati » August 17th, 2009, 12:55 pm

streak wrote:Heard this movie was real Crap

only some shallow minded people would say that
go watch it and judge for yourself..the reviews from online and members of this forum speaks volumes.
http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/district_9/

JBL

Postby JBL » August 17th, 2009, 1:10 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Yeah saw it in MT. Screen 3 to be exact.

You just need to go see the film without knowing anything about it.

The reason I am skeptical about sending people to see it is because you really need like enjoy movies to watch something like this.The more I think about the film the more I want to see it again. At first i just felt like "wtf?" but now that it has set in, it kinda deserves a second viewing.

Typical Trini Mentality would be like "DAIS sheit!" simply because this is the same population that enjoys the Matrix Trilogy and considers it art.

i couldnt agree with u more!!

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » August 17th, 2009, 5:10 pm

Best movie i saw for the year so far.

liquidmetal

Postby liquidmetal » August 17th, 2009, 11:56 pm

fuzz_174 wrote:Best movie i saw for the year so far.

I second that ...so much depth...when i wen mt satrday everybody leave speachless... my pardnas n i was just sitting down ther thinkin 'WHEYS'...I going n see that again yes

Xsiege

Postby Xsiege » August 18th, 2009, 7:19 am

nah dread...for me star trek is still the best for 09 so far !!!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 18th, 2009, 9:43 am

what the fooook is this thread about? foooook man. stop foooking talking about the fooooking moive and just go foooking see it already

Cid

Postby Cid » August 18th, 2009, 9:54 am

yea baby

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » August 18th, 2009, 12:08 pm

cost 30 mil. to make, made that back plus some gravy on the opening night.
best movie of the summer, tops transformers in my book, as the hyped killed the experience of watching tansformers in MT.
very simillar to starship troppers, in terms of gore and humour.
was surely not yuh typical american army/hero/cowboy saves the day.
ppl talking bout district 10 already,

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » August 18th, 2009, 2:23 pm

G-T wrote:Visual effects were mind blowing...for a low budget film, they pull it off very well. :P

The film was directed by VFS graduate Neill Blomkamp, co-written by grad Terri Tatchell, and features the talent of over 25 VFS alumni on the team responsible for the film's incredible visual effects. Pointing this out because I'm attending VFS at the end of this month...can't wait :D

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » August 18th, 2009, 2:44 pm

Xsiege wrote:

nah dread...for me star trek is still the best for 09 so far !!!

I guess we have different opinions, i was never a star trek fan..

Oleander

Postby Oleander » August 18th, 2009, 4:51 pm

liquidmetal wrote:

I second that ...so much depth...when i wen mt satrday everybody leave speachless... my pardnas n i was just sitting down ther thinkin 'WHEYS'...I going n see that again yes

Same thing here..

Syberfraggle

Postby Syberfraggle » August 18th, 2009, 6:03 pm

Silvermike wrote:what the fooook is this thread about? foooook man. stop foooking talking about the fooooking moive and just go foooking see it already

:D jus so... :D yuh have to hear that man cuss ...

and when he explains to his wife about the picture in the newspaper.....

G-T

Postby G-T » August 18th, 2009, 6:45 pm

R. Mutt wrote:
G-T wrote:Visual effects were mind blowing...for a low budget film, they pull it off very well. :P

The film was directed by VFS graduate Neill Blomkamp, co-written by grad Terri Tatchell, and features the talent of over 25 VFS alumni on the team responsible for the film's incredible visual effects. Pointing this out because I'm attending VFS at the end of this month...can't wait :D

That is really great! good luck dude! :)

Postby Damien » August 18th, 2009, 6:46 pm

Hmmmmmmm good reviews

Postby Cjruckus » August 18th, 2009, 8:11 pm

R. Mutt wrote:

delaying life another 7 years?

Jesus man.

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2009, 9:40 pm

this raise the bar for what a movie can achieve.

the gore may be on par with starship troopers, but not the humor, it did not seem like an attempt at humor, it was like watchin a real life situation .

at first this movie had me as if i was watchin news,, how well it was done

who ever rating this with other movies really did not catch what this movie was about,, the kinds of issues this movie encapsulated and the amount,,,,,,,, this movie hit real plenty serious issues we have as sentient beings.

eurogirl

Postby eurogirl » August 18th, 2009, 9:50 pm

I liked the part where the SA woman said they look at what sneakers you are wearing and then they take it and kill you ...

Coz tht's what happens in SA in the slums ..

Postby sMASH » August 18th, 2009, 10:59 pm

sadd ting is i can do a afrikans accent,,,,, i gonna be switchin talkin like dat, talkin like optimus, and talkin like megatron the rest ah dis week

one day, two bess movies.

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » August 19th, 2009, 10:12 am

dat movie was dred....oscars? :P a sci-fi movie that makes you think long after you've seen it.

need to see it again!

zinka

Postby zinka » August 19th, 2009, 10:22 am

that movie was sheeeeeeeeeeeeeeitttttttttttttt. waste my frigging money.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » August 20th, 2009, 10:48 am

That movie was brilliant on so many different levels. If you're going to watch it, bring your brain or you won't get it.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » August 20th, 2009, 10:51 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Matrix IS art!

Wachowski Bros created the pinnacle of cult classics when they made that.

Since seeing The Matrix in 1999 I came out the cinema thinking WTF! what a mind job!
I've been like a junkie ever since looking for the next movie to give me the thrill of that first hit. 300 was close, LOTR was just a spectacular production but still no brain orgasm like The Matrix.

Ever since I saw the District 9 teaser I've been hoping this is my first time all over again.

I know, it's sad :(

No duane- you are not fully alive- you are living in a dream state!

Postby wagonrunner » August 20th, 2009, 10:56 am

DTAC wrote:That movie was brilliant on so many different levels. If you're going to watch it, bring your brain or you won't get it.

exactly.
if random explosions get your heart bumping, this is not for you.
if however you can draw parallels, or be presented with info,and from that create more questions. you will not be disappointed.

hmm, this would be a good way to separate the goat from the sheep for class. need to pick a date between now and semester start.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 20th, 2009, 11:55 am

the movie was SPECTACULAR!
not necessarily a mind job like 1999 The Matrix but damn close.

District 9 is deep, mentally provocative, metaphorical and just enough CGI to glue the story.

Anyone remember the name of the fast food joint?

Postby noshownogo » August 20th, 2009, 12:09 pm

That's the one Wikus kept going to, i can't remember the name.

This movie may be a good Bluray purchase especially if it includes extended footage, deleted scenes and other extras.