the Rapid rail- is it On or off?

cornfused

Postby cornfused » April 29th, 2009, 12:08 pm

I can't believe people are unhappy about this , i suppose they love the traffic we face ,

My only thing was we should develop transportation infrastructure , for people, products , raw materials etc , our current infrastructure may be seen as actual hindering our development and health currently

Postby Greypatch » April 29th, 2009, 12:32 pm

what is going to be done different to ensure this project is done UNDER budget in IN the time frame planned. ?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 29th, 2009, 12:33 pm

don't think people are unhappy....
think most of them just feel that maybe the timing is a bit off

Postby Maserati » April 29th, 2009, 12:41 pm

areas for concern would be, the cost, will it go over budget, will the contracts be awarded in a fair manner, could $ have been put to better use?

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » April 29th, 2009, 12:48 pm

I can tell you what is going to happen though..

aggregate,cement,blocks,concrete,steel,pre-cast products,labour etc....are all going to be on the rise again due to high demand and a struggling supply.

High prices here we come!

neoise

Postby neoise » April 29th, 2009, 1:29 pm

yep ..... Great is d PNM
:snipersmile: PNM

Postby M_2NR » April 29th, 2009, 1:45 pm

Crix, yuh go fix me up with a wok in 2011 nah?

MadCrix wrote:it still not released to the public so i can't show it yet as i did sign a non disclosure agreement :) and they movign dred with secrecy lol

buh who say we care about your job? post the thing nah! :x

and the Overlord has spoken 8)

Picasso

Postby Picasso » April 29th, 2009, 1:46 pm

MadCrix wrote:its already in progress ppl.

i work for nidco :lol:

wait till allyuh see the plans for teh new highways :o :o that is already in motion

Make sure yuh put a station in Champs Fleurs eh :lol: :lol:

geodude

Postby geodude » April 29th, 2009, 2:13 pm

amm y they just doh fix all the facking roads them then ppl wouldn´t have to cram into the high ways there are other routes to travel on in TT but the roads are in such bad states that u not sure to reach cause u have to stop and replace your ball joint, which was destroyed becasue of ah macco sized well in the road, oo i living south so u know we doh have any roads , just tracks

geodude

Postby geodude » April 29th, 2009, 2:19 pm

i still welcome the infrastructure but we all know that we are going to be robbed blind again, they going to fork it up,

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » April 29th, 2009, 2:26 pm

somebody. anybody, teach the man about is ignorance.. pls lol

Postby M_2NR » April 29th, 2009, 6:44 pm

MadCrix wrote:somebody. anybody, teach the man about is ignorance.. pls lol

doe forget to fix me up with a job in 2011 :!:

ingalook

Re: Rapid Rail Project still on ...... WDMC

Postby ingalook » April 29th, 2009, 7:00 pm

neoise wrote:
The Rapid Rail would travel at 160 kilometres (100 miles) per hour and it would take 39 minutes to get from Port of Spain to San Fernando, he said. He added that it was the intention to have a train leaving every five to ten minutes during peak periods.

But the Fast ferry service Already does this... at 1/100th of the cost of the rapid rail!

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » April 29th, 2009, 7:39 pm

neoise wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161471045

The Rapid Rail would travel at 160 kilometres (100 miles) per hour and it would take 39 minutes to get from Port of Spain to San Fernando, he said. He added that it was the intention to have a train leaving every five to ten minutes during peak periods.

How far is it from POS to Sando?
correct me if i'm wrong but from that statement it says that from POS to San Fernando is 65 miles away? Somehow i find that quite hard to believe :? :roll:

soo

Postby soo » April 30th, 2009, 12:31 am

thing is it was always the problem of APETT, economists, and local traffic engineers (Ray furlonge for example) was that there was never a proper feasability study done to promote the rail except for hearsay from our short transport minister friend. Rails worldwide have proven to be a major expense and the benefit to the country is never economic. Yes the individuals do benefit on a day to day ease so that is the benefit to each indiviudal. When/if implemented in trinidad we would be the first to have a rapid rail for our size of population and the way it is distributed.

The argument they would use is that they renting it from the foreigners (build own lease transfer type agreement)... But money still being spent.. it's like a loan with heavy interest.... but money have to spend right ??? SWEET T&T !!!!

ingalook

Postby ingalook » April 30th, 2009, 12:37 am

ingalook wrote:
neoise wrote:

But the Fast ferry service Already does this... at 1/100th of the cost of the rapid rail!

The ferry does this trip in 45 minutes.... is it worth spening $10 Billion to get to POS 6 minutes faster?

Postby equipped2ripp » April 30th, 2009, 1:18 am

we could never have a good rail system in trinidad... there's not much space to build these tracks on the EW corridor.... also the trains would be full of gangs who rob people... there would also be the hooligans who would damage the tracks.

also, i want to know where they getting space to build train stations at various parts in the country... this would be a failed system in the country.

if they want to free up the traffic problem in the country, do 2 things.

decentralise POS

and

modify and create new road networks... this one way in and one way out of the capital city won't work anymore.

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » April 30th, 2009, 4:41 am

TriniVdub wrote:
neoise wrote:http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161471045

How far is it from POS to Sando?
correct me if i'm wrong but from that statement it says that from POS to San Fernando is 65 miles away? Somehow i find that quite hard to believe :? :roll:

Some thought should have been put into your statement.
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure that it doesn't travel an AVERAGE speed of 100mph, that's probably a top speed.
Also I have a slight feeling that there might be a couple places in between POS and Sando that maybe, just maybe the rail will be stopping at - now I could be wrong here, because I'm not entirely sure if anything actually exsists in between these two cities.

But I'm pretty confident bout the whole top speed thing.

neoise

Postby neoise » April 30th, 2009, 7:14 am

ingalook wrote:
neoise wrote:

The ferry does this trip in 45 minutes.... is it worth spening $10 Billion to get to POS 6 minutes faster?

Common sense not so common ehh :snipersmile: PNM

VII

Postby VII » April 30th, 2009, 4:33 pm

MadCrix wrote:its about stimulating the economy lol

vinci hires local contractors
who hire local ppl,

jobs are made ect

exactly. .this is the best news right here. . .very beneficial for my sector,a sector that employs a large percentage of the labour workforce. .great news !!!!!!! :wink:

evo-STI-k

the Rapid rail- is it On or off?

Postby evo-STI-k » September 10th, 2009, 12:23 pm

whats really going on??

are they going through with it??? or NOT?

whats the real story???

how much has the govt already spent in Surveys and assessments????

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 10th, 2009, 12:25 pm

According to a stmt made by K.n.T. the project is off.

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » September 10th, 2009, 12:26 pm

But didnt Imbutt say it was orn?? and KNT just finish saying in the budget that they will anounce in 2010 their results of the pre construction phase???

aR&D

Postby aR&D » September 10th, 2009, 12:27 pm

The stmt was made post-budget.

Postby SUPAstarr » September 10th, 2009, 12:30 pm

This morning Karen confirmed it was off

nickytoco

Postby nickytoco » September 10th, 2009, 12:30 pm

allyuh taking them on? just the other day i was talking to one of the French engineers behind it.....the working on the designs right now. It may get delayed but will hands down be implemented.

xtech

Postby xtech » September 10th, 2009, 12:33 pm

they watching what happening in Saudi Arabia. They just finished the first rail system in the middle east. In a country where everybody has a car. Nobody uses the trains

neoise

Postby neoise » September 10th, 2009, 12:36 pm

How appropriate........ KNT :idea:

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » September 10th, 2009, 12:49 pm

ahmm i thought vincy was awarded the contract? along with the aranguez/elscooroo interchange.. btw what goin on wit the next phase of the "nestle" interchange?

Postby VexXx Dogg » September 10th, 2009, 12:56 pm

off like spoil broth