Dragist

Postby Dragist » September 25th, 2009, 8:51 am

Are you 12 ?

hottgirl

Postby hottgirl » September 25th, 2009, 9:08 am

Humes wrote:How yuh mean?

When everybody finish pay $35,000 property tax (minimum) next year March, de government go have money to buy Flow AND Digicel.

AND a new ship to bring in a container of children.

this get stale now eh :roll:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » September 25th, 2009, 9:25 am

Dragist wrote:Are you 12 ?

You're an idiot.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » September 25th, 2009, 9:44 am

is tstt bring 1080i HD with 5.1 surrounds sound ?

if not ...then it's not on par with directv :lol: :lol:

Humes

Postby Humes » September 25th, 2009, 5:26 pm

hottgirl wrote:
Humes wrote:How yuh mean?

When everybody finish pay $35,000 property tax (minimum) next year March, de government go have money to buy Flow AND Digicel.

AND a new ship to bring in a container of children.

this get stale now eh :roll:

Yuh should experience it when the person not being sarcastic.

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2009, 5:48 pm

I feel Humes ex wokking Flow :skurred:

*flame suit on*

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » September 25th, 2009, 5:58 pm

allyuh never saw the equipment tstt gonna be using?

i just saying 'tstt gonna be coming out large'

i did fiber work for them and eh,,,,they large

Postby redmanjp » September 25th, 2009, 6:05 pm

Smokey wrote:
anyways, Picasso, what crap you talking about IPTV being wireless? they using fiber and/or DSL.....no wireless data service is fast enough to support ip tv.

doesnt greendott have wireless iptv?

http://www.tv.tt/

Humes

Postby Humes » September 25th, 2009, 6:10 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:I feel Humes ex wokking Flow :skurred:

*flame suit on*

That actually kinda close to the truth... :lol:

Postby M_2NR » September 25th, 2009, 6:17 pm

:shock: :shock:

ahhh dsi meng

maverick2020

Postby maverick2020 » October 17th, 2009, 2:51 pm

Guys stop fighting.

TSTT service terminates into the house via wired. How ever they are using Ruckuss equipment which is wifi (wireless). It works in close proximity, using multicast. They may be using n, however they had it working on g. I can not say how reliable it will be, video is very unforgiving.

Regarding Picasso's comment about video over wireless I am not sure the exact point you are trying to make, but Green Dot are offering a Kick a$$ service on wireless.

Is Direct TV not wireless either. In europe they are pushing mobile wireless TV using, I heard Green dot is playing with mobile TV, although not sure how big the market is for that.

When you talk about 4G technologies, again I am not sure what you are referring to, WiMax and LTE are both capable of delivering video, once offers capacity of 63Mb and the other claims over a 100MB.

Even TSTT service being offered is being recived via satellite (wireless) and then pushed down a cable.

The technology is there, the business case is not always there or takes a few years to get there.

You can not compare home TV to mobile TV on your cell phone, its completely different objectives resulting in different technology. If you are watching TV on your HD TV, you need like 4-6Mb data rate using the best compression, when watching the same thing on a small handheld 2" screen, you can get the same VISUAL quality at 500kbps if not less.

TSTT taking over FLOW will create a monopoly, not a good thing for Trinidad, it will set us 5 years back. I can't see TSTT continuing to invest in IPTV if they have cable, it makes no sense.

Time will tell

Smokey

Postby Smokey » October 17th, 2009, 3:16 pm

One thing people don't understand about LTE & WiMAX is that those speeds of over 50mbits a second are very unrealistic and misleading.

For one wireless technology is shared, meaning that ur 100mbit cable LTE is shared among hundreds and sometimes thousands of people.

Secondly, that 100mbit speeds depends on so much factors such as radio link qaulity, signa levels, SNR, modulation, antenna type etc.

Thirdly, it depends on the spectrum being used by the company, that 100mbit speed I believe is using 20MHz carriers...providers need at least 3 carriers for three sector sites, meaning that they need 60MHz plus spectrum. I know for a fact that TSTT only got about 25MHz from TATT meaning that they have to use smaller carriers thus meaning lower speeds.

That is reason I called Picasso an idiot for believing TSTT is going to mass market IPTV over WiMAX.

I had a long chat just last week with Trevor Deane (VP of Broadband in TSTT) and he said employees who are spreading these lies about IPTV over Wireless should stop at once and stop building up peoples expections of this. WiMAX is not being deployed for IPTV, but for mobile broadband service. You can't have it both ways, Green Dot is using two seperate carriers for Internet and WiMAX, TSTT from what I understand does not have that ability.

You need atleast 2mbits capacity for Standard Defination quality for IPTV, from what I've been hearing the 50mbit peak speeds offered by Wimax have been providing speeds of 5mbits on average....and that is with one user using the site.

ase_tt

Postby ase_tt » October 17th, 2009, 4:56 pm

TSTT didnt buy over flow....they bought somewhere aroun 40% of the shares in columbus communications (like cable and wireless is to TSTT).

TSTT is using T&Tec's fiber to support their IPTV.

read the link below...

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/ ... ness6.html

aR&D

Postby aR&D » October 17th, 2009, 5:28 pm

Columbus has several operating subsidiaries including Columbus Jamaica Limited, FibraLink Jamaica Limited, Cable Bahamas Limited, Columbus Trinidad Limited and Columbus Networks Limited.

All are private companies with the exception of Cable Bahamas, which trades publicly on the Bahamas Securities Exchange.

Therefore if the holding company is bought out or bought into it does not affect the privately operating subsidiary.

I hope that our own, ever vigilant, Telecommunications Authority and the Board of Directors are paying careful attention to these developments and are ready to stop an possible monopoly and avoid the folly they allowed to occur when we had 3 cable companies only to end up with CCTV, transforming into the current cable TV monopoly, Flow Trinidad.

noobie

Postby noobie » October 17th, 2009, 8:17 pm

It really doesn't matter how much HD we see if they bring Latin American channels.

They are utterly worthless.

If they cannot bring the US versions of channels then it's a total waste. There is nothing to watch on television since they switched all the providers over to latin american stations.

Who the hell wants to watch 6 year old movies?

maverick2020

Postby maverick2020 » October 20th, 2009, 10:33 pm

Smokey you are correct in a lot you say. WiMax is standard it dictates technology standards on what modulations,code rates, etc... can be used inside the standard.

The standards do not reflect the current available technology. The standards allow for high modulations so those speeds can be achieved, its pure maths and physics.

The challenge is with technology actually moving from paper into reality. In terms of shared bandwidth this is also correct, but thats the whole basis of contention ratios, are you really going to need 60Mb data while on the move.

Owning 40% of columbus gives them control, over columbus and by that fact FLOW. I don't think TSTT would by Columbus (ARCOS network) but cable and wirelss definitely makes sense. Definate conflict of interest between business and public interest.

Postby M_2NR » October 20th, 2009, 10:53 pm

I agree with Chiney... It hadda be for real because even now their CSR is just as bad as TSTT's and the int*...net disconnected...>resets modem<...>Renewing Lease<..*erwebs wokking like blink... :|