Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 12:27 pm

apple wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ thats a photo from gamespot
http://www.gamespot.com/pages/forums/sh ... 241&page=3

or you just showing us an example of the tv you have?

:? man cyar post a picture without you knowing the source? :roll:

Wha d arse, i now realise d man quote d source a d pic...gud ting a eh lie an say is mine :shock:

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2009, 12:27 pm

you have the right attitude, research and ask questions.

get familiar with the jargon and read reviews.

in the end though, its what sounds good to you.

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 12:30 pm

16 cycles wrote:you have the right attitude, research and ask questions.

get familiar with the jargon and read reviews.

in the end though, its what sounds good to you.

Thanks, i realise that there are guys here who will be more verse in certain issues because Trinituner covers a wide cross section of individuals, there here will always be one of the places i consult......even if my thread end ups gettin spammed :)

apple

Postby apple » November 24th, 2009, 12:32 pm

:wiggle: spam :wiggle:

evo-STI-k

Postby evo-STI-k » November 24th, 2009, 12:36 pm

please dont even mention bose and sheit in the same sentence

bose is not even worthy of being compared to sheit!

sheit is much better!

slow323

home

Postby slow323 » November 24th, 2009, 12:38 pm

if i was you i would just check courts or standards and done and go with the higher end systems they have

believe me i have a yamaha bought it for 100us open box special in best buy and that thing is powerful cant even put the sub level above half cause i would disturb the neighbour and the other neighbour after

a decent 50watts per channel is sufficent and place ment of the speakers is key also

Postby crazybalhead » November 24th, 2009, 12:40 pm

slow, LOUD does not equal GOOD.

Postby sharkman121 » November 24th, 2009, 12:43 pm

apple wrote::wiggle: spam :wiggle:

:D :D

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 12:48 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
bassotronics wrote:Bose!!!!! or polk audio!!! 0X

Bose is sheit.

Polk Audio is OK.

polks are great man,well for the price :lol: and well,what can i say about bose that hasnt already been said about afganistan,they sound bombed out and depleted :|

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 24th, 2009, 1:02 pm

onkyo

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » November 24th, 2009, 1:03 pm

is there a home theater thread on tuner?
if not ah think it need one.
so people can upload pics of they setup and thing.

Dragist

Postby Dragist » November 24th, 2009, 1:11 pm

Freelander wrote:dam u dragist ur fast for an ole guy :lol:

:lol: :lol: :lol: Ah Ole not ded .

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 2:58 pm

a home theater forum may be needed - but lets see how much activity we get in this thread to warrant one.

Klipsch as well as their Energy line are great sounding as well

when buying equipment its always good to look at future support. At this time everything should support HDMI 1.3, however 1.4 is already out and your equipment should be able to support it though it seems to early for this. You should take into consideration when you are ready to expand your home theater to allow for music in another room, so you may want to look for a receiver with multiple zones etc.

There are other technologies that you will have to make up your mind on. Dolby Pro Logic is pretty much industry standard. Anything from Dolby labs you will want support for. However their new Pro Logic IIz (adds two more front channels at the ceiling to give the effect of height) may not be an absolute requirement. Once the receiver supports Pro Logic II you should be good with out the Z. Most reviews say IIz isnt worth it anyway. You will have to decide.

choosing a receiver is probably the hardest decision you will make IMO

A good site is www.avsforums.com

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 4:03 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Klipsch as well as their Energy line are great sounding as well

to add to this,klipsch actually owns Jamo and API,which include Mirage Audio,Energy Audio and Athena Audio (which is very affordable compared to the others)hence the reason they may sound a bit similar to their sister brands. The subwoofer lineup can be found to be the same design and specs of all 3 brands,just different brand names,so to speak.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 5:04 pm

^ what do you think about the Klipsch Quintet SL and Sub10?
http://www.klipsch.com/na-en/products/q ... -overview/

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 6:41 pm

^as i tell everyone,it all depends on what application you gonna use it for,i actually own a pair of Quintet II speakers,not the new Quintet 3's,and they actually sound phenomenal for speakers with 3" drivers.Their very clean but tend to be to bright sometimes,but from reviews i've read and my own personal experience throughout the last few years with them,klipsch is a kind of acquired sound.Dont get me wrong,i'm no expert,actually far from.As for the sub,i could just imagine the low's you get from that thing,my 8" mirage does a more than adequate job of jump kicking you in the chest when necessary,Just two days ago i was looking at Terminator Salvation for the 1st time in blu ray,and it sounded awesome,i could just imagine what a 12".....heck a 10" could do.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 7:54 pm

^ the SL is very similar to their Energy Line as the Energy Take FPS
http://www.energy-speakers.com/na-en/pr ... -overview/
though in better trim

they suggest the Sub12 with the Quintet SL but I think that really is overkill

I like these setups as they take the guess work out of matching a center channel with LCR's and surrounds but still offer the flexibility of choosing your sub and signal components

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 8:00 pm

^correct,when i now started out,i missmatched the sound field by putting in another brand of center speaker,so it sounded like this:

F16-Cessna-F16

:oops: :oops: :lol: :lol:

check out triniwattage in chag,thats where i got my sub,i would admit,when they were based in north,their demo room was alot to be desired,and the sub sounded weak due to the extremely big open area they had,but i still went ahead and bought it,when i got home though,went through 8 hours of continuous music to break it in, and went from this :( to this :D

i wanna get my hands on a velodyne sub though,USA Video @ Teddy's in south had one,dunno if it still there,but that was the bee's knees

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 8:03 pm

^ LOL the Quintet III's didnt seem serious enough
not sure what I'll eventually decide on.

what receiver are you using?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 8:10 pm

^Currently Yamaha RX-V357,i gotta hook up the new one, a Yamaha RX-V365. doesn't have all the gadgets as those hella expensive ones,but it more than gets the job done and then some.My bro has a Denon AVR 1709 with room correction and all that fancy stuff,it even has 2 remotes yes :? :lol: both only do HDMI pass through and not upscale,so you loose HDMI audio.

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 8:13 pm

oh btw,triniwattage has Mirage Audio Uni-Theater® 3-in-1.Basically a soundbar,didnt hear it,but it should be ideal for LCD TV's,wanted to pick up one of those,but i gotta get my other stuff in order 1st

http://www.miragespeakers.com/na-en/pro ... -overview/

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » November 24th, 2009, 8:57 pm

well i don't know about you all, but my home theatre room sound pretty GOOD with my bose system, and i have a polk 5.1 system in my living room and it also sound pretty well. the price for a bose system is very expensive, polk audio prices are ok, but if you want theatre quality sound, go bose,

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 8:59 pm

bassotronics wrote:, but if you want theatre quality sound, go bose,

:lol: should i even bother?
Last edited by ru$$ell on November 24th, 2009, 9:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » November 24th, 2009, 9:03 pm

it's my opinion man....if u don't like it, it's your prob :?

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » November 24th, 2009, 9:06 pm

bassotronics wrote:it's my opinion man....if u don't like it, it's your prob :?

to each their own,my opinion and experience with bose are they are what everyone else said,overpriced crap tang bang's. :wink:

Postby 16 cycles » November 24th, 2009, 9:10 pm

psb is another contender

heard one of their 10" subs....very accurate, very responsive.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 10:13 pm

^ PSB is excellent!

I heard a PSB setup and the tonal quality of the enclosure is superb.

I also think Bose is over rated crap - but to each his own
Bose is a great marketing company though.

ru$$ell, I was lookin at the Yamaha RX-V765 to go along with the Quintet SL and I am a Yamaha fan, but the Pioneer Elite VSX 23TXH is a sweeeet receiver - I like bells and whistles - so shoot me.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 24th, 2009, 10:36 pm

^^ how would you rate onkyo systems?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 24th, 2009, 10:54 pm

^ they were good in my head up till I saw RadioShack selling them :|

its like seeing Bang & Olufsen in Walmart

electronic retail stores can cheapen a brand image - which is why Best Buy has Magnolia to sell all their high end Audio and Video.

RadioShack has some good deals on the Onkyo HTIAB though

I'd definitely put Onkyo just below Denon or probably on par with some models - same with Yamaha. Sony should stick to making TV's, DVD/Blu-Ray players and VAIOs. Samsung makes excellent TV's and players but they fall down with receivers and speakers.

I am yet to hear Integra and Marantz but the reviews are very good.

Phillips, Panasonic, LG, Vizio, RCA etc etc should stay in Courts

Postby SR » November 24th, 2009, 11:06 pm

marantz :mrgreen:

yamaha
for home theatre the high end lines not the budget stuff on crutchfield

samsung for tv's

as for blue ray

sony playstation is the cheapest :mrgreen: