Trinidad hosted climate talks? what a joke!

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » November 30th, 2009, 12:27 pm

nemram wrote:
RASC wrote:
RASC wrote:
Yeah allyuh love to talk this green talk, yet you don't realize HOW EXPENSIVE it is :idea: :idea: :idea:

You guys want to save the world, yet pay the same prices you do now-IT DOES NOT WORK LIKE THAT

This is all I have to say, and will continue to say for this entire conversation...

Which one of you here are willing to pay for the SIGNIFICANT increase in cost of living as a result of going totally green???

NUFF SAID

AGREED X2

Postby M_2NR » November 30th, 2009, 12:34 pm

I just saying, if we aiming green how come there aren't any implementations of solar panels, etc.?
Why is it "illegal" (cant remember if that has changed since) to provide your own source of energy and even sell it back to the grid?
Why we cant utilize the caroni land and make our own (m)ethanol, etc. for fuel?

And i totally agree. If we even thinking about going green, drastic changes to our everyday norms will have to be made, well, at least to the average joe.

/rant

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 30th, 2009, 12:45 pm

corolla_2nr wrote:I just saying, if we aiming green how come there aren't any implementations of solar panels, etc.?
Why is it "illegal" (cant remember if that has changed since) to provide your own source of energy and even sell it back to the grid?

You can go the solar panels way... but you will be 'shafted without KY' for your efforts, thanks to the greedy industrialists and greasy polis#itans! @sshole legislation FTW!

Jonathan

Postby Jonathan » November 30th, 2009, 12:48 pm

Maserati wrote:
RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world. :mrgreen:

Primarily those of Western Europe. I think that's a great start :wink:

:lol: people will bawl if they have to pay those prices.

Especially since the majority of us earn a third world salary :?

3rd world salaries + 1st world expenses = Royal KetchASS

nemram

Postby nemram » November 30th, 2009, 12:52 pm

Jonathan wrote:3rd world salaries + 1st world expenses = Royal KetchASS

its more like 3rd world salaries + 1st world expenses = worst off position than where we are rite now forcing us to remain in the designation of 3rd world... maybe even worse...

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 12:55 pm

Jonathan wrote:
Maserati wrote:
RASC wrote:So people think it's time for T&T to explore green initiatives? Good stuff...first suggestion...raise FUEL and ENERGY costs to those of the developed world. :mrgreen:

:lol: people will bawl if they have to pay those prices.

Especially since the majority of us earn a third world salary :?

3rd world salaries + 1st world expenses = Royal KetchASS

Yeah but allyuh wanna go green... :?
Allyuh doh want smelter...allyuh want windmill...and energy conservation...

So make yuh mind up :idea: Yuh wanna ketchass and go green, or progress in a normal manner as all developed nations have done.

We are going through our mini-industrial revolution...if you wanna skip that and move like the big boys...take big boy prices 8-)
Last edited by RASC on November 30th, 2009, 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

nemram

Postby nemram » November 30th, 2009, 12:56 pm

Computerman wrote:
corolla_2nr wrote:I just saying, if we aiming green how come there aren't any implementations of solar panels, etc.?

You can go the solar panels way... but you will be 'shafted without KY' for your efforts, thanks to the greedy industrialists and greasy polis#itans! @sshole legislation FTW!

the TTEC legislation was designed in a time when the technology available now was never dreamed of. your blame should rest squarely on those who have to power to change things and make a difference AND CHOOSE NOT TO. its all well an nice for the PM to say this an that, but there is alot more to be done.

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 1:04 pm

Bascially, what you guys asking for is the abandonment of the Industrial Revolution(which promotos relatively more pollution) which our country has been experiencing for the past 4 decades and skip right to the green. That's all well and good, just hope y'all prepared to pay GREEN prices-'cause it trumps those other revolutions by MILES in terms of cost.

Nah but, the way allyuh talking, allyuh ready to go green man :lol:
Last edited by RASC on November 30th, 2009, 1:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 30th, 2009, 1:07 pm

So solar panels are still illegal?

Or can you bring them in.

I looked into powering my fridge, microwave, water heater and pump with solar power, but I can't invest that kind of money, only for them to confiscate the panels when they come in.....

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 30th, 2009, 1:12 pm

nemram wrote:your blame should rest squarely on those who have to power to change things and make a difference AND CHOOSE NOT TO.
Yeah ppl like;
Computerman wrote:greedy industrialists and greasy polis#itans!

killerhyundai-DET wrote:So solar panels are still illegal?
They are not illegal. But at the end of the day you will still have to pay TTEC for the power you use through these devices.

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 1:15 pm

Gas Guzzler Taxes.
Retrofitting of all houses to be more energy efficient.
Removal of Gov't Subsides on ALL forms of energy.

Please add to the list!

:fadein:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 30th, 2009, 1:15 pm

Computerman wrote:
nemram wrote:your blame should rest squarely on those who have to power to change things and make a difference AND CHOOSE NOT TO.
Yeah ppl like;
Computerman wrote:greedy industrialists and greasy polis#itans!

They are not illegal. But at the end of the day you will still have to pay TTEC for the power you use through these devices.

Well, that doesn't make much sense......

Unless I don't tell T&TEC...... :twisted:

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 30th, 2009, 1:19 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:Well, that doesn't make much sense......

Unless I don't tell T&TEC...... :twisted:

"But orfesir mam sir" said the power steeling criminal while being cavity searched for transformers.... "iz juss a bling ting... dem solar panels on de roof not hook up to nuttin!" :lol:

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 30th, 2009, 1:20 pm

LOL!!! Nah, Dias jus to make de roof look nice! :twisted:

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 1:22 pm

How much to install Solar Panels...shouldn't run you more than about $300,000TT

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 30th, 2009, 1:22 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:LOL!!! Nah, Dias jus to make de roof look nice! :twisted:

Solar Panels = The new Flashband!

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 30th, 2009, 1:24 pm

RASC wrote:How much to install Solar Panels...shouldn't run you more than about $300,000TT

http://www.earthforenergykits.com/

Postby Maserati » November 30th, 2009, 1:25 pm

http://guardian.co.tt/business/business ... level-rise

I think T&T should really focus a bit more on going green..it's not joke that the sea levels are rising..and guess what T&T are 2 islands..we're directly affected..

To add to RASC list
encourage the purchase of energy efficient light bulbs.
When office buildings are not in use try and have more of the interior lights off
Car pooling and more use of public transport would be great but there are barriers to this.
Government vehicles to run on bio-fuels or use more CNG.
Incentives for use of solar and wind power.

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 1:27 pm

Computerman wrote:
RASC wrote:How much to install Solar Panels...shouldn't run you more than about $300,000TT

http://www.earthforenergykits.com/

Roight...let's be realistic here.

Between 240,000TT to 300,000TT should have the avg, 3 bedroom family house totally energy independent by the use of solar panels.

W2J

Postby W2J » November 30th, 2009, 1:29 pm

but I paying more than this already :?

RASC wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

only if its of the same quality

That too. I think the avg. Electricity bill for a 3 bedroom family home in the U.K. is about $10,000TT per year

I think Trinis, with a constant, reliable supply would be willing to pay that.

Postby RASC » November 30th, 2009, 1:35 pm

W2J wrote:but I paying more than this already :?

RASC wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

only if its of the same quality

That too. I think the avg. Electricity bill for a 3 bedroom family home in the U.K. is about $10,000TT per year

I think Trinis, with a constant, reliable supply would be willing to pay that.

With you alone?

That was for a single person...
How many people live in your house? How large is your house?

Postby Maserati » November 30th, 2009, 1:37 pm

oh and the purchase of energy star devices.
they use 20%–30% less energy

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2009, 1:52 pm

Computerman wrote:

how certain are you of that?
know a few farms use them. but they are'nt connected to the mains or any building with a mains supply.

i kinda recall an issue where someone who originally agreed with T&TEC it won't be connected to any building supplied by them, but down the line decided to subsidize his costs. T&TEC attempted to do some work in the area, shut off their supply, and were shocked to still find the lines live.

will have to ask the old man for more info on the above if / when i remember / catch up with him.

killersuzuki

Postby killersuzuki » November 30th, 2009, 1:56 pm

So wagonrunner, once it is totally isolated, you can use them?

Postby wagonrunner » November 30th, 2009, 2:13 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:So wagonrunner, once it is totally isolated, you can use them?

i eh signing anyone permission slip, but that is the practice thus far.

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » November 30th, 2009, 3:44 pm

smelter going up as we speak

Computerman

Postby Computerman » November 30th, 2009, 8:51 pm

killerhyundai-DET wrote:So wagonrunner, once it is totally isolated, you can use them?

Yuh done know what is practiced and what is on the books is two different ting! If power is generated from a fixed source that power is 'owned' by TTEC and therefore the user(s) can be charged for it's use. Same stupid type of dumbar$e legislation that says WASA owns the rain water in yuh barrel that yuh ketch yuhself.

Once yuh solar panels not tinted yuh safe! :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » November 30th, 2009, 10:46 pm

Computerman wrote:

Yuh done know what is practiced and what is on the books is two different ting! If power is generated from a fixed source that power is 'owned' by TTEC and therefore the user(s) can be charged for it's use. Same stupid type of dumbar$e legislation that says WASA owns the rain water in yuh barrel that yuh ketch yuhself.

No offence, lad, but this is incorrect. Generating your own private power is perfectly legit and T&TEC has nothing to do with it. (If I recall rightly, the problem lies with producing it for others.) This myth evolved from when "green" electricity-generating equipment like panels and wind-chargers were not imported without heavy taxation.

Water is only the property of the government when it touches the ground... so if it runs off your roof and flows through pipes into tanks, then it's yours - not WASA's. Wells (unless for agricultural purposes - this includes a farm-house) and pumping from rivers concern WASA.

TriniVdub

Postby TriniVdub » November 30th, 2009, 11:13 pm

RASC wrote:Think about it.

Less load on the power grid=less pollution

Less traffic on the road

Increased productivity as there will be less traffic...ppl will start car pooling as it would become too expensive to drive yourself to work. Again less pollution and congestion.

Less strain on our fresh water supply, ppl will install cost effective shower heads, and use less of their dishwashers as it wil be too expensive to run continuously

I could go on forever, I say increase the prices to western european prices! There will be a drastic drop off on consumption habits, which will lead to a less wasteful soceity.

do u really think before u type? how can u increase rates of utilities, etc. while leaving the current wages the same.

Postby shogun » November 30th, 2009, 11:16 pm

It's funny to see the 'holier than thou" position of many locals.What about the population being more responsible,not dumping fridges,A/C units and other appliances that contain C.F.C's and other hazardous material at the sides of the roads/rivers/waterways.Also not be so consumer driven...instead of buying 100 bottles of water,get a reliable water purifier,and so many other issues that could be addressed.But! as usual the topic sways to saving $ by installing solar panels and ridding yourselves of paying utilities..always the most selfish path first. :|