WTK: Traffic Ticket.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 9:05 pm

Thanks Duane, do you all think I should just pay the ticket and done?

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 10th, 2010, 10:12 pm

This was on the flyover by Pricesmart Chaguanas.

Postby rollingstock » February 11th, 2010, 8:33 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I think you're a ... never mind what I think.

traffic court is very rudimentary.
they are NOT going to have a presentation by the prosecutors against the defense with camera footage, lawyers, jury etc unless you just killed 20 people. There will be the judge, the court staff and the officer who charged you and YOU. The proof is in the ticket that was written on that day. End of story.

You will need to supply your own witnesses, camera footage or other proof to support your defense and hope the judge is patient. The prosecutors will NOT supply you with that.

Magistrate eh.
Sheriff if you believe that you were wrongly ticketed contest it in court, basically it's your word against the officer's, just be reminded that if you lose most likely you'll be fined double the original fine. But in your favor most officers hardly appear in traffic court, it's hard to keep track of the court dates, see most officers issue several tickets per day and don't check to see who payed, after a few adjournments the matter is dismissed.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 11th, 2010, 10:18 am

All I can tell the Magistrate is where I was (on the correct lane) and I believe it was a misunderstanding between the officers on the walkie talkie, so most likely I might end up losing this battle even tho I am right.

Sheriff

Postby Sheriff » February 11th, 2010, 10:19 am

I plan to buy a camera and connect it to my laptop very soon.

CarelessJohn

Postby CarelessJohn » February 11th, 2010, 1:47 pm

Boss all you have to do is go to court and the magistrate will ask you guilty or not guilty if you say not guilty he or she might put off the case or you could simply ask the magistrate to please proceed the office wouldn't show up if he don't for three times it will be thrown out if he does let the magistrate know you not guilty and you would kindly like to explain tell them you were on the right lane turning right and a car besides you was on the left lane turning right the officer allowed the car that did the wrong thing pass and stopped you which did the right thing and you were in the company of your wife and friends to verify the matter and that is the end but you must be able to talk if not the magistrate will make you pay double because them police does lie real bad!!!! so he will add all kind or shyt in that story..

Postby crazybalhead » February 11th, 2010, 1:54 pm

CarelessJohn wrote:Boss all you have to do is go to court and the magistrate will ask you guilty or not guilty if you say not guilty he or she might put off the case or you could simply ask the magistrate to please proceed the office wouldn't show up if he don't for three times it will be thrown out if he does let the magistrate know you not guilty and you would kindly like to explain tell them you were on the right lane turning right and a car besides you was on the left lane turning right the officer allowed the car that did the wrong thing pass and stopped you which did the right thing and you were in the company of your wife and friends to verify the matter and that is the end but you must be able to talk if not the magistrate will make you pay double because them police does lie real bad!!!! so he will add all kind or shyt in that story..

In my very limited experience all this is correct. Just be prepared to go to court a few times. The matter will keep being adjourned though, so you will have to give up a few mornings.

I say go to court and do as above.

Sheriff!
Location: Some Where Out There Shouting "All'uh Buy Zorce From Meh Na"

Postby Sheriff! » February 12th, 2010, 5:15 pm

ok then

Sheriff!

Postby Sheriff! » February 12th, 2010, 5:20 pm

ppl is not me dat getd ticket so stop sending me messages onmaccobook an msn asking when i get charge!

Sheriff!

Postby Sheriff! » February 12th, 2010, 8:16 pm

Soundwave wrote:
Sheriff! wrote:ppl is not me dat getd ticket so stop sending me messages onmaccobook an msn asking when i get charge!

now I going on fb to ask you...

Mr Gear

Postby Mr Gear » February 13th, 2010, 5:20 pm

larafan wrote:paging mr.gear

Please do not pay the ticket. Go to Court, trust in the system and plead your case honestly. The Magistrates hear all sorts of evidence from all sorts of Police Officers, civilians and witnesses. Those with enough experience and good judgment will be able to ascertain the truthfulness of your testimony and will make a ruling accordingly.

Do not be afraid of the system. Trust the system. Use it and go to Court.