d spike

Postby d spike » March 20th, 2010, 1:20 pm

Postby buzz » March 20th, 2010, 1:38 pm

very possible

and as teh spike said alot of ppl get confused with the term "modern" and end up buying some sh1tty foreign abused Matrix/AD van/Libero in excess of 60K and think they got their money's worth :lol:

personally i'd buy a used vehicle whose earned it reputation rather than buy an overpriced piece o sh1t just to have PCF plates on it :lol:

back to teh topic

i'd opt to go for a car with the best body condition cuz i personally do most of my mechanical work. Body work is expensive and not to mention @ 10K it probably going to be something > 20 yrs old, body work neglected for too long tends to be beyond repair (proper repair eh not 55 lbs of filler)

but those ^ can be leveraged based on points stated earlier

depends on what resources are available you and what sort of skills/knowledge you possess

with that said travel far into the south land and may god speed

but if you wanna really be a manly man about it buy a shell and build :twisted:

hell a friend o mine sold an almost immaculate cortina shell for $500 recently :lol:

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » March 20th, 2010, 1:48 pm

I like the idea of getting my hands dirty fixing my own stuff (as long as it doesn't require expertise in a particular area) I am open to learning. the 120y and ke70 are proving to be sound choices as far as first time ownership is concerned. At the end of the day this vehicle is meant as a learning experience first and foremost (one that is as hopefully as positive as can be). I want to be very involved in its evolution from ...."i wouldn't mind driving that car but it needs work to....I absolutely want to drive it and enjoy driving it"

d spike

Postby d spike » March 20th, 2010, 2:06 pm

Hope this helps motivate you in your search... :lol:
Warning: Older cars are not for the lazy, scratch-arse-and-bounce-starter fellah... Maintenance and an observant eye is required to keep them running tops...
You can't wake up and drive off without casting an eye under the hood. It IS an old car, after all, parts can be fatigued. Anyway, the practices required to maintain an older car will only serve to save you worries, time and money even when practised on a new car.

(The concept of "ol' car=headache" is only proven true for blissfully ignorant fellahs who, it turns out, never checked the oil-level... or slackers who have problems with anything they own - or marry.)

My first car (120y, 210B model) was abused/molested by its previous owner - the carb top was held in place by wood-screws (it still worked). All the work I did on that car over the years might eventually have brought the total money spent on it up to $12,000. I bought her for much less. I started dexing in her and she ran like a healthy thief - until a couple of years driving on logger-destroyed roads under off-road conditions took her down. I have my claws in another one that has AC, a good engine, automatic tranny (bleh) but was the victim of a bad body job. The 1500cc A series that I used to race in the Datsun will be going into this one. It will cost me less than $3,000. (The owner wants to get rid of it.)

My Vauxhall cost me $2,000, and I use it for Solodex. Every couple of months, I use it as a daily driver just to keep the old girl happy. (Nothing kills a car faster than sitting down, doing nothing.)

A reliable Escort cost me under $4,000, but it needed some minor body work and I wanted the engine. It still sits in the garage glaring at me. Everything in its own time.

Good cars are out there. Good luck.

By the way, Lasers are nice to run (especially with a 1500cc) but when they start to rot...
Stay away from Mazdas. Like ghetto skanks, they look sweet... but maintenance is a beyotch.
Galants (the most comfortable car I ever drove) are great, but parts can be hard to find.
The bigger they are, the more surface area/old metal to clean and upkeep... Bluebirds, 280Cs, etc.

Just my 2 cents. :mrgreen:
Last edited by d spike on March 20th, 2010, 2:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

d spike

Postby d spike » March 20th, 2010, 2:16 pm

dandadda007 wrote:I like the idea of getting my hands dirty fixing my own stuff (as long as it doesn't require expertise in a particular area) I am open to learning. the 120y and ke70 are proving to be sound choices as far as first time ownership is concerned. At the end of the day this vehicle is meant as a learning experience first and foremost (one that is as hopefully as positive as can be). I want to be very involved in its evolution from ...."i wouldn't mind driving that car but it needs work to....I absolutely want to drive it and enjoy driving it"

You're on the right path, kid. Me eh frighten fuh you. :lol: :lol: [/b]

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 20th, 2010, 6:38 pm

Doh leh man tie up your head youth...i sure u getting a good working
corolla ae80 or ke70 for that price or even a box lancer...
those are great cars u could even get a b11 but i won't advise you
to but that cause they luv to steal those still...

d spike

Postby d spike » March 21st, 2010, 9:35 am

Right now, the real headache with wanting to own an older car is insurance. (Once it is insured already in your name, they have little choice to cover it AS LONG AS you keep paying.)
Which insurance company out there is willing to cover a two-letter series model?
Will be very glad to hear.

One hears rumours that Motor and General does...
Capital has STOPPED. (Time to leave... damn ingrates... dey tell mih, NO MORE OL' CAR, EH!) :( :(
I have been told that if you do it through an agent, you should have no problems... how true is this?

Postby MG Man » March 21st, 2010, 10:04 am

Capital can bite my hairy balls
after years of business they turn tail and run
I got the MG insured from Motor and General. Motor One said they have no problem insuring as long as the car is in good condition

d spike

Postby d spike » March 21st, 2010, 10:56 am

That is grand news.
The way I see it, I have no business getting insurance like shopping in the Bamboo: one piece here, one piece there. When the Escort is ready to run, I will be telling Capital to either insure all four vehicles or I'm shipping out to another company. Which brings me to another point: One plus of a car club is its ability to use its membership as leverage with negotiating with car insurance. Old car owners should consider this carefully. The more of "us" in the motoring world here, the louder our strength as a consumer. Insurance companies are behind this crackdown on 'obsolete' vehicles - as their insurance value , and thus their income from owners of said chariots - is low. Safety has very little to do with it. Just look at the types of cars becoming airborne, or picking mangoes, or trying to press the pedestrian crossing button every day here. Of course, this is Trinidad, so you will find at least one idiot who will put an RB in a 120y, and use it to play 'monster truck' over some lawn-mowers, but that isn't a daily occurrence.

Old car owners, if seen as a cohesive unit, can force insurance companies to re-think their unfriendly stance.
So I say:

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » March 21st, 2010, 11:15 am

save up some more money to buy a CAR and not some sheit. This takes time and you won't regret it.

d spike

Postby d spike » March 22nd, 2010, 1:03 am

acesinghit wrote:save up some more money to buy a CAR and not some sheit. This takes time and you won't regret it.

No one said he had to buy sheit. In fact, the advice given was to enable him to avoid this. Good old cars are out there... you just need the experience, contacts, knowledge - and often, just plain dumb luck. Finding such a treasure takes time as well, and you certainly don't regret it either - a hell of a lot cheaper, too. :lol: :lol:

d spike

Postby d spike » March 22nd, 2010, 1:29 am

d spike

Postby d spike » March 22nd, 2010, 2:07 am

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2010, 6:09 am

mawster Spike, I would take this over the 120Y
Drives and handles better, looks better IMHO
Great little car....definitely has better tuned suspension than the c00l!e Egg

dandadda007

Postby dandadda007 » March 22nd, 2010, 7:30 am

^^this green car featured above is which model exactly :?:

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 22nd, 2010, 7:57 am

That looks to be a toyota corolla ke30...nice lil car....we still have
our ke20... that is a beautiful car.....bought new from amar back in
the days well before i born...think we had it bout 30 years now...
she a lil beat up now cause nobody want to drive she....they only
want new car.... :( ...but if i only get a lil $$$.....i gonna resurrect
her to her glory days..... :D

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2010, 9:12 am

wow KE20 :!:
doh ever sell that car eh

d spike

Postby d spike » March 22nd, 2010, 9:29 am

MG Man, BLEH!

(yeah... hate to admit it, but you're right. I drove a friend's KE30 a few times while I had the 210, and that car shocked me... quiet... 80mph before I was aware of it... smooth ride...)

I know the 120y through and through, though... and I loved that car, so I am definitely biased. However, to be as impartial as I can, I can honestly say that as far as your opinion goes, BLEH! 120y it bess!

dandadda007 wrote:^^this green car featured above is which model exactly :?:

Yes, it's a KE30

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 22nd, 2010, 10:01 am

Damien wrote:Might get a decent laser for that money, there is a guy on chase village main road before billy's parts place coming from st Mary's junction he have alot of cars in your price range

U sending the man dey hoss! He go buy the car today and 2mr it will magically go missing!

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 22nd, 2010, 10:10 am

Charmant is the rellllll flick!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » March 22nd, 2010, 10:13 am

^^ Nope Son :?

Postby MG Man » March 22nd, 2010, 10:16 am

Picasso wrote:^^ Nope Son :?

why u even bother?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » March 22nd, 2010, 10:28 am

one of my favorite lil old rwd cars

KE30

<embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/144w9_w9ok8&hl=en_US&fs=1&" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="505"></embed>

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 22nd, 2010, 10:33 am

Picasso wrote:^^ Nope Son :?

why u even bother?

Im done with facepalm gif's...

Spike,
correction needed:

d spike wrote:.... (Nothing kills aN OLD car faster than sitting down, doing nothing.)

As far as the bluebird/280c's go , wrt to more surface area, i can agree. However, as stated, you find one in relatively good condition (interior & engine), and get a good body job, you'll have a gem of a strong car that the newer and more recent versions cannot compare with from ALL aspects.

Right now im deciding between an Escort that i spoke of in the "sensible" forum, and a 280c (floorshift automatic model) in original (yet a bit rusty) condition. Even down to the door lights on the interior panels work. Never got a paint/body job, nor ay major accident. Just been off the road for abt 11 yrs now.
Will keep you all posted.

Then again, cant find any worth the time and headache, but my first love will always, without a doubt, be:

d spike

Postby d spike » March 22nd, 2010, 10:48 am

Mr. Red Sleeper, yeah, you're right about that.

I would say Escort over 280C any day, but I have my bias. You know best what you want for yourself and why (the 280C sounds like a steal... and floor-shift too... you don't get that every day)

Personally, I wouldn't care for a car whose name looks like a poor hand at scrabble (Diehatsu? Dihatsu? Daihatsu?)... but I have been told by an old rally driver that the Charmant had a strong body - but then he had one as a daily driver, so he just might have been suffering from the "is-mine-so-it-bess" malady that afflicts so many of us. :lol:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 22nd, 2010, 10:58 am

^^more than likely on the charmant.
AFAIcan remember, the charmants body was anything but strong.
The front was very weakly framed and as such, a couple pot holes and years later, thelights/grill/bumper combo , would never line up as it did from inception.
Good lookers when tastefully done, but weak. And os course, the "scrabble" bit is a rule of thumb! :lol:

the 280c is alot easier to get both body and mechical parts for than the escort.
But a beauty of a well appointed luxury car WHEN all is in good working order.

Escort is just for pure fun n games, and again, good looks when properly done,hence the dilemma.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 22nd, 2010, 11:14 am

Shooter_boy_J

Postby Shooter_boy_J » March 22nd, 2010, 11:51 am

MG Man,Picasso, why not charmant? Serious question no fack up thing!

Postby tr1ad » March 22nd, 2010, 11:57 am

yuh go believe a 120Y is a highly sought after car in Barbados

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » March 22nd, 2010, 12:22 pm

Shooter_boy_J wrote:MG Man,Picasso, why not charmant? Serious question no fack up thing!

Cause its a "fack up thing"