Circuit Yesterday?-- WAS BESSSS

illumin@ti

Postby illumin@ti » March 31st, 2010, 7:53 am

ya ,, but CBH..i would admit is not the safest thing out, but its what they have at the moment..... if i had entered, it would have been with the understanding that i am fully aware of all the conditions and agree to such in order to participate. They didnt find out that the carpark had curbs after they hit them :lol: :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » March 31st, 2010, 7:54 am

Right, well, Kes was hop[ing more dex guys would be there, that's one reason why I wouldn't be in that.

Postby eliteauto » March 31st, 2010, 7:56 am

crazybalhead wrote:
eliteauto wrote:yes I think 2 cars hit curbs

Right. Allyuh find that safe? :? :?

I suppose you'll not be participating at solodex anymore? I've seen cars at dex hit poles, lose front bumper etc. I saw a car crash in a fun rally and treasure hunt...any motorsport has inherent risks, the drivers know that when they take part

Postby Monk BANzai » March 31st, 2010, 7:59 am

eliteauto wrote:course was in no way dangerous, I'd say it favored the FWD cars though, whilst we can all lament the loss of what there was, there comes a time to accept the failures and move on. Based on the spectators there seems to be a growing audience for motorsport and somehow the management of the LGS seems receptive to bikes, carts, drift, circuit etc

while I share ur sentiments....i feel that if the audience of the motor sport is to grow, doing it in a area where there are curbs and lil trees/shrubs et al to me is not the safest practice. On the same vein, I of all ppl cannot ups and say "ALLYUH MUST RACE DEY!" for i have stopped attending motor-sport events for a while now...but if its a centralized location like the ARC carpark, it MAY show consistency...as well as it allows for "margins of error" to be corrected in a wider catchment area.

But all's well that ended well. What was the Max speed/how much gears used IYO the cars got to?

Postby eliteauto » March 31st, 2010, 8:04 am

Most would get into second gear (was a close course with many corners)
Max speed would be around 60KPH

Postby wagonrunner » March 31st, 2010, 8:06 am

eliteauto wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

I suppose you'll not be participating at solodex anymore? I've seen cars at dex hit poles, lose front bumper etc. I saw a car crash in a fun rally and treasure hunt...any motorsport has inherent risks, the drivers know that when they take part

Yunno.
yuh eh answer the question.

Postby eliteauto » March 31st, 2010, 8:08 am

eliteauto wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

Yunno.
yuh eh answer the question.

event was safe..IMO

lostboys crew

Postby lostboys crew » March 31st, 2010, 8:16 am

Any motorsport event where no driver or spectator / official is killed
is a safe event...if no car is damaged be it mechanically / electrically
or losing fenders or bumpers then it is not racing...all racers must
expect to suffer some damages either to their car or themselves...

didn't a racer die in the circuit series it had in wallerfield some years
ago...think he hit a tree....r.i.p.....but i sure he knew the risks..prbly
died happy doing what he loved...

Postby wagonrunner » March 31st, 2010, 8:18 am

lostboys crew wrote:Any motorsport event where no driver or spectator / official is killed
is a safe event...if no car is damaged be it mechanically / electrically
or losing fenders or bumpers then it is not racing
...all racers must
expect to suffer some damages either to their car or themselves...

didn't a racer die in the circuit series it had in wallerfield some years
ago...think he hit a tree....r.i.p.....but i sure he knew the risks..prbly
died happy doing what he loved...

good thing i stopped yes. was obviously just lying to mehself.

Postby crazybalhead » March 31st, 2010, 8:30 am

eliteauto wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

Yes but how often that happens? And this is the second time hosted and the second time people have hit curbs. In dex there is a much wider margin for error. I've spun out three times in the last five dex's with no ill effects, if I spun out there, what would be the consequence???

Nah man....that not safe.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » March 31st, 2010, 8:41 am

IMO.
Event was well planned.
location: while smaller and with more obstacles than ARC car park, it was a better surface (no loose gravel etc).
Saftey: while IMO the course was relatively safe for the drivers, I noticed spectators entering from the eastern side and crossing the outlined course for better vantage points. Heavier marshal presence is a must for an event like that in an area like that.

De Bench

Postby De Bench » March 31st, 2010, 8:51 am

I think you have to evaluate an event before making a final decision.

If the event has a entry list loaded with first time drivers and novices then the event would surely be unsafe as these guys normally try to mimic the faster drivers and get into trouble.

If there are only seasoned drivers with proven car control skills then the event would have been just a bit safer.

The variable here is the car, nobody knows when a cradle bolt, shock, steering end or a power steering pump can fail, and that is where the real danger is.

However, as a competitor you accept the possibility that you may be going home on a wrecker or heading to the hospital, nothing is written in stone for any motor sport event.

If you look at WRC and say you always want to attend, where would you be standing ? Under a tree 1/4 mile from the stage or out on a corner on the road's edge trying to get a glimpse?

WRC is far from being the safest motorsport for both competitor & spectator, but the stages are are always packed.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 31st, 2010, 8:54 am

i really wished i could have been at this event ... but had work that just had to finished.
i was sorry to hear what happened to chris but i know that's part of motor sport.

congrats to the organizers for pulling off a good event ....

i will be at the next one :mrgreen:

Postby honda hoe » March 31st, 2010, 10:23 am

eliteauto wrote:Most would get into second gear (was a close course with many corners)

fail

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » March 31st, 2010, 11:02 am

was a good event.....both ignis' were representing solodex strong....we had 2nd and 3rd fastest times of the day....until mine understeer straight into a pavement :( :(

Postby X2 » March 31st, 2010, 9:20 pm

I find all the people who didn't go and talking sh*t should well STFU.

There is no track, no circuit, not even big lots to do big dex events... so you gotta take what you can get. I will admit TTASA events in the past have left alot to be desired regarding organisation and other things... but jeebus vice... take the rods out ur arses and try to support something beyond dex and rally.

You talking about safety and hitting curbs ? What kinda puss comments is that I reading in posts above ? You want to always race in a wide open lot so you can spin out without scratching a rim ? :lol: :lol: :lol: As long as spectators are reasonably distanced... it's a damn good start. Even spectators have been injured and even died in international and FIA sanctioned events around the world. (LeMans, Rally, etc...) So please guys... grow a pair !!!

Kudos to pulling off the event.... if it was slow or fast... at least there was something.

Midnight_Demon

Postby Midnight_Demon » March 31st, 2010, 9:53 pm

X2,De Bench, well said !

turbo master

Postby turbo master » March 31st, 2010, 10:26 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:
eliteauto wrote:course was in no way dangerous, I'd say it favored the FWD cars though, whilst we can all lament the loss of what there was, there comes a time to accept the failures and move on. Based on the spectators there seems to be a growing audience for motorsport and somehow the management of the LGS seems receptive to bikes, carts, drift, circuit etc

while I share ur sentiments....i feel that if the audience of the motor sport is to grow, doing it in a area where there are curbs and lil trees/shrubs et al to me is not the safest practice. On the same vein, I of all ppl cannot ups and say "ALLYUH MUST RACE DEY!" for i have stopped attending motor-sport events for a while now...but if its a centralized location like the ARC carpark, it MAY show consistency...as well as it allows for "margins of error" to be corrected in a wider catchment area.

But all's well that ended well. What was the Max speed/how much gears used IYO the cars got to?

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... 77&start=0

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:so here....the car is LITERALLY about 5 feet away from me....and hes driftin around me in a circle..

Bench, X2, well said.

Postby A172 » March 31st, 2010, 10:49 pm

honda hoe wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Most would get into second gear (was a close course with many corners)

fail

professor

Postby professor » March 31st, 2010, 10:54 pm

Yes but how often that happens? And this is the second time hosted and the second time people have hit curbs. In dex there is a much wider margin for error. I've spun out three times in the last five dex's with no ill effects, if I spun out there, what would be the consequence???

Nah man....that not safe.[/quote]

I hear you brother, I would lobby to run Bumper Cars next time, we can then spin, bounce, to our hearts content, no bent rims, control arms etc. and best of all; Under cover, no Sun.
Take care now, don't mash it. You saw it didn't you ?

Postby Damien » March 31st, 2010, 10:55 pm

Postby eliteauto » April 1st, 2010, 12:24 am

Rensh

Postby Rensh » April 1st, 2010, 12:57 am

gosh.. here, hold a few pics fellas:
more to come soon!

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 1st, 2010, 1:39 am

eliteauto wrote:
crazybalhead wrote:

but CBH you talking like there were never any crashes/ketch fire/run off track to ever take place at wallers drag strip and circuit. look just this weekend a man lost a whole impreza (not just a rim or cradle arm) @ rally trinidad.. how "safe" it is, is relative to the drivers/spectators willingness to take the risk to enjoy the sport. ppl damage body parts in football, handegg and skiing all the time. i bounce my head on the light over the table playing pool in race rock, grand bazaar once too.

chris1388

Postby chris1388 » April 1st, 2010, 2:28 am

lol u ketch the ignis runnin off the road boy u cudn get nun better lol....dat is a nice pic the nex ignis had that STI busyyyy

Postby crazybalhead » April 1st, 2010, 8:08 am

Arite nah beyotches, I give up. :lol:

out of control

Postby out of control » April 1st, 2010, 12:20 pm

that civic looking good

out of control

Postby out of control » April 1st, 2010, 12:34 pm

THE EVENT WAS PUT ON BY T&T PERFORMANCE MOTOSPORT CO. LTD AND SANTION BY TTASA, IT WAS A VERY SAFE EVENT THE MAYOR FOR THE AREA WAS PRESENT AND OPEN THE EVENT, HE WAS VERY HAPPY WITH THE EVENT AND WE COULD SEE A LOT MORE THINGS IN ARIMA SOON

Samiir_Tuner

Postby Samiir_Tuner » April 1st, 2010, 2:07 pm

autonation civic raced :shock: :shock: :shock:

Postby X2 » April 1st, 2010, 2:30 pm

anyone know what a 'dexterity' event comprises ?

It's not just autocross... they do dexterity events in the UK all of the time and it's mostly on tiny parking lots.... this looks similar from the pics posted.