The Amazon Kindle e-Reader Thread

dredman1

Re: Amazon kindle

Postby dredman1 » December 20th, 2010, 11:13 pm

Has anyone found a way to reliably and easily purchase those US only books locally?

MasterShake

Postby MasterShake » December 21st, 2010, 12:28 am

what about the barnes and noble nook..it looks like a viable alternative and has memory card slot as well as the support of the barnes and noble store.Has anyone tried this cause im interested in buying one?

Humes

Postby Humes » December 21st, 2010, 12:33 am

Thanks for that info about not being able to buy certain books. Real rubbish IMO, and I hope they solve it soon.

Postby SmokeyGTi » December 21st, 2010, 8:40 am

is there an app for the android-based tablets as yet?

Postby foss » December 21st, 2010, 8:46 am

got one for mom for christmas.

MasterShake

Postby MasterShake » December 21st, 2010, 11:47 am

any reviews on the nook fells

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » December 21st, 2010, 12:36 pm

MasterShake wrote:any reviews on the nook fells

Not just if the device any better, but also in terms of availablilty of books outside of the US. Are they also limited like the Kindle? Read online it has to do with some Royalty/Copyright issues, so I'm wondering if this would apply to the nook as well.

There were a couple suggestions on various forums to use a proxy service or a VPN to hide your IP address from Amazon so they won't know it's being purchased outside the US. Anyone tried this "loophole" as yet?

Humes

Postby Humes » July 16th, 2011, 9:39 pm

dredman1 wrote:
MasterShake wrote:any reviews on the nook fells

Not just if the device any better, but also in terms of availablilty of books outside of the US. Are they also limited like the Kindle? Read online it has to do with some Royalty/Copyright issues, so I'm wondering if this would apply to the nook as well.

There were a couple suggestions on various forums to use a proxy service or a VPN to hide your IP address from Amazon so they won't know it's being purchased outside the US. Anyone tried this "loophole" as yet?

Anyone follow up on this yet? My birthday is just now and I thinking about getting one for myself...

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 16th, 2011, 9:52 pm

i bought the wifi version of the graphite model kindle and its awesome.... amazon's wisper server is super fast...as soon as i click send to my kindle on my account page it automatically downloads when its online.....2 more things
1) it has a super long battery....my mom charges it like probly once/ twice a month...depending on how much books she reads(which is alot)

2) when u semi turn off the kindle(just flick the power switch) it goes into a screen saver that displays pics of historical people and factual stuff...

i rec kindle for any book lover / on the go

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 16th, 2011, 9:54 pm

MasterShake wrote:what about the barnes and noble nook..it looks like a viable alternative and has memory card slot as well as the support of the barnes and noble store.Has anyone tried this cause im interested in buying one?

my aunt bought a nook and had to return it because you cant buy/register device outside of the U.S territory...idk if a USA based dns will work...but its safer to go kindle for now.....i read that the nook will be expanding to various countries in the near future

Humes

Postby Humes » July 16th, 2011, 10:02 pm

dredman1 wrote:There were a couple suggestions on various forums to use a proxy service or a VPN to hide your IP address from Amazon so they won't know it's being purchased outside the US. Anyone tried this "loophole" as yet?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 16th, 2011, 10:13 pm

shaq090 wrote:
MasterShake wrote:what about the barnes and noble nook..it looks like a viable alternative and has memory card slot as well as the support of the barnes and noble store.Has anyone tried this cause im interested in buying one?

my aunt bought a nook and had to return it because you cant buy/register device outside of the U.S territory...idk if a USA based dns will work...but its safer to go kindle for now.....i read that the nook will be expanding to various countries in the near future

errr i recently bought the new Nook Simple Touch directly from B&N and had no problems registering it

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 16th, 2011, 11:26 pm

mitch wrote:
shaq090 wrote:

errr i recently bought the new Nook Simple Touch directly from B&N and had no problems registering it

u bought it while u was in ny? nd can u buy books now? cuz around november last year my aunt couldnt buy anything....she was stuck with the books she bought while she was up in ny

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 17th, 2011, 1:00 am

shaq090 wrote:u bought it while u was in ny? nd can u buy books now? cuz around november last year my aunt couldnt buy anything....she was stuck with the books she bought while she was up in ny

no i ordered it from the B&N website and brought it down thru my skybox.

no problems buying books either...

Postby Morpheus » July 17th, 2011, 2:04 am

^^My sis did the same thing and has no problems.

My other sis as a Kindle WiFi

And Mom has a Nook 1st edition. Only there is a seperate screen at the bottom that is coloured and touchscreen.

I'm out of dah game but I would go with a Nook if I have to get one.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » July 17th, 2011, 7:58 am

mitch wrote:
shaq090 wrote:u bought it while u was in ny? nd can u buy books now? cuz around november last year my aunt couldnt buy anything....she was stuck with the books she bought while she was up in ny

you have the dns trick on your router?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » July 17th, 2011, 9:10 am

shaq090 wrote:
mitch wrote:

you have the dns trick on your router?

no using google dns. No vpn or anything, it just works

Humes

Postby Humes » July 17th, 2011, 9:24 am

A Nook international edition was released a while ago, so you're no longer confined to the US with it. Smaller book selection, though.

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 1st, 2011, 12:28 am

buying a kindle as agift....does the 3g access work here? saw it falls back to edge/gprs....so does it work in trini on the net ..not talking wifi...

Postby Trini Hookah » December 1st, 2011, 12:55 am

Anyone got their hands on a Fire yet?

Postby streetbeastINC. » December 1st, 2011, 1:41 am

yeh the fire is realy a great deal price wise...but cmon someone tell mih..the thing does work here with our local cellphone sys?

Postby Morpheus » December 1st, 2011, 1:43 am

^^I'm thinking of buying one for someone as a gift

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 1st, 2011, 7:14 am

Bought the fire for my wife and its in transit.
I hear everyone talking abt the disadvantages of the "free book unavailability". What abt all of the other features that are available at 1/4 of the cost of the Ipad?

I read lots of reviews and i think its a great deal/ product.
I will let you all know when it reaches here.
A cousin of mine has it already and she's immensly happy with everything abt it. So i'll have to wait and see...

Morpheus wrote:

^^My sis did the same thing and has no problems.

My other sis as a Kindle WiFi

I understand what you're saying . However, my question is this.

Exactly how many sisters do you have?

searchingone

Postby searchingone » December 1st, 2011, 7:57 am

the Blackberry playbook (16Gb) is selling for $200USD, same price as the kindle fire. February 2012 RIM will be releasing OS2 which supposed to be able to run android apps....sounds ok to me. Almost bought the fire but this caught my attention.

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 1st, 2011, 7:57 am

red,
i have the fire

for the app store to work you must have a registerd US credit card on your amazon account for it to dl apps, book work apps don;t

to get it to work you MUST root your kindle.. whihc is SOOOOO simple to do. by rooting, you obviously get root access and can den install the android market and from there install whatever apps you want with no problems

http://www.pcworld.com/article/244303/h ... _fire.html

however new update removes root but you can jsut do it over
http://www.pcworld.com/article/245225/a ... ccess.html

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 1st, 2011, 8:06 am

^^Excellent!
I have the credit card so i shouldn't have problems there.
Rooting seems simple as well.

Any other issues/downsides i should worry abt?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 1st, 2011, 8:12 am

well eventaully amazon may make it difficult to root but as always since its android theor will find a way to get aroudn it

other than the lack of apps if u doh wha root, th ekindle fire is a sweet device for WAY less than othr tabs. long live rooting!!!

books u have access to alot of them, did nto compare us vs rest of teh worl avaliablitliy but it have real books i would read so i happy

i love it, infact the family bought 3 fires on on last trip last couple weeks

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 1st, 2011, 8:27 am

Nice. Thanks.

Postby pete » December 1st, 2011, 10:57 am

Can you then drag and drop videos to the kindle? Does the kindle play divx, mkv, avi etc?

MadCrix

Postby MadCrix » December 1st, 2011, 11:07 am

with the adroid market available to you, you can download any video player you want and it will play those formats. have not played around that much with it as exams is tuesday but after tuesday i will let u know if u want