What's the best safety course to go offshore?

sleepertercel

Re: What's the best safety course to go offshore?

Postby sleepertercel » April 20th, 2013, 5:23 pm

Papajohn wrote:does anyone know the cost for onshore TBOSIET ?

ok so educate me, since I's no HSSE professional or nuttn...since TBOSIET stands for Tropical Basic OFFSHORE Safety Induction and Emergency Training...

what's ONSHORE TBOSIET?

and OP, methinks you need to be a bit clearer:

If you thinking about becoming an offshore HSE practitioner, start by evaluating yourself as to whether you can make a 7/7; 14/14 or some such rotation. Educationally start by getting yuh O's if yuh eh have them already, particularly with respect to Physics and Chemistry - if you understand how things work you'll be better at spotting hazards.

There are a number of industry relevant courses - OSHA and NEBOSH are two bodies, but I've found the NEBOSH to be more in-depth. Don't expect to be given anything solely on this though, you'll need the experience to match and you can get this by working in the non energy sectors as well.

If you just ant an offshore wuk then it's not necessary to do TBOSIET if you get hired your employer will pay for these for you.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2013, 8:58 pm

sleepertercel wrote:
Papajohn wrote:does anyone know the cost for onshore TBOSIET ?

ok so educate me, since I's no HSSE professional or nuttn...since TBOSIET stands for Tropical Basic OFFSHORE Safety Induction and Emergency Training...

what's ONSHORE TBOSIET?

and OP, methinks you need to be a bit clearer:

If you thinking about becoming an offshore HSE practitioner, start by evaluating yourself as to whether you can make a 7/7; 14/14 or some such rotation. Educationally start by getting yuh O's if yuh eh have them already, particularly with respect to Physics and Chemistry - if you understand how things work you'll be better at spotting hazards.

There are a number of industry relevant courses - OSHA and NEBOSH are two bodies, but I've found the NEBOSH to be more in-depth. Don't expect to be given anything solely on this though, you'll need the experience to match and you can get this by working in the non energy sectors as well.

If you just ant an offshore wuk then it's not necessary to do TBOSIET if you get hired your employer will pay for these for you.

x2.
Nebosh can be ah beyotch..contemplating the dip though.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 20th, 2013, 9:07 pm

^ I wanna attempt it after I complete my BSc.

Will be rough, but my lecturers recommended me on it after the Cert.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2013, 10:01 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:^ I wanna attempt it after I complete my BSc.

Will be rough, but my lecturers recommended me on it after the Cert.

ah starting in June boiiiiiiiii...would let you know how eet going,level ballz for the next 2yrs.

sleepertercel

Postby sleepertercel » April 20th, 2013, 10:04 pm

Shake, where you doing it?

PM some details nah, cost, school, schedule.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 20th, 2013, 10:07 pm

doing it with CHESS prepare to pay around 25k,do it with PAL you paying around 9k.well I don't need to say who I'm choosing.

TRDGUY

Postby TRDGUY » April 20th, 2013, 11:19 pm

Was contemplating CHESS for the NEBOSH certificate cost was around 6700 TT inclusive of exam fees and texts.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2013, 12:43 am

Id be doing it at ensafe..

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 21st, 2013, 11:38 am

TRDGUY wrote:Was contemplating CHESS for the NEBOSH certificate cost was around 6700 TT inclusive of exam fees and texts.

still is..I rate their teachers though.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2013, 12:09 pm

Pal or Ensafe, ftw

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 21st, 2013, 3:26 pm

went to UWI to find out about MSc Occupational health and safety,cost is 25k,heard it had 2 intense stats course den i got demotivated.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 21st, 2013, 6:55 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:went to UWI to find out about MSc Occupational health and safety,cost is 25k,heard it had 2 intense stats course den i got demotivated.
lol doh let no stats keep yuh down dan, I have Dr Tripathi as my homeboy when I need help in stats stuff :lolj

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 21st, 2013, 7:58 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:went to UWI to find out about MSc Occupational health and safety,cost is 25k,heard it had 2 intense stats course den i got demotivated.
lol doh let no stats keep yuh down dan, I have Dr Tripathi as my homeboy when I need help in stats stuff :lolj

boy,i rake n scrape all meh stats courses during my Bsc,idk if i cud do dat sheit for ah MSc nah.

dannaelle

Postby dannaelle » December 11th, 2013, 9:25 pm

Where can I get a job as an HSE trainee? (trick question, i know :D )
I have no experience and no qualification in HSE. I signed up to do the Nebosh General Cert in Jan 2014 and would like to get experience while doing the cert. Any suggestions? How likely is this?