Question about entering the teaching service...

devrat

Re: Question about entering the teaching service...

Postby devrat » December 23rd, 2010, 10:27 pm

lola.308 wrote:yeah but they really pay like crap. say what, I'll try them anyway.

and yet my offer was refused.......I iz sadz :cry: .........destined to be alone............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................forever.

Know someone will talk to them and text you their number if they can help.

Still sadz though

Postby AllTrac » December 23rd, 2010, 10:56 pm

pioneer wrote:foss must know wey he mudda man from

:lol: :lol: :lol: NAAAAAAaaaahhhhhhhHHHH :lol: :lol: :lol:

KURMAman

Postby KURMAman » December 23rd, 2010, 11:14 pm

evolution7tt wrote:That's true. You need to wait until posts are advertised to officially apply for a teaching position.

You could always try getting into a private school / institution of learning.

it is indeed true..only when they advertise then they are taking in applications, no matter if u already sent in ur documents.
Takes about a year to get into the service...after all the ministry interview and whatnot....

Board schools are rel rip tho..they know they could give u OJT money and u cant say anything.. i know ppl in board schools for years and cannot get their interview or transfer cause they could hold u for ransom...

Humes

Postby Humes » December 24th, 2010, 12:49 am

Any actual teachers in this thread?

I got called in to a Teaching Service Commission interview about four months after I registered at the Ministry, and they called for placement about four months after the interview (which was around March). I declined the first posting, and they called within two days with another one.

This was about four years ago. No string pulling or connections.

The length of time you have to wait depends a lot on the subject you're registered to teach. Fundamentals like English and Maths are always in high demand. If you're qualified to teach Social Studies, you might get a call soon.

Sociology is something you'll only be able to teach in Form 6, which limits your choices significantly. Your best bet for that would be to get in contact with some denominational schools and look for vacancies there.

Humes

Postby Humes » December 24th, 2010, 12:54 am

On a related note, though...you sure you want to teach in secondary school, lola? You sure you know what you getting into?

Schools these days aren't the way they were 10-15 years ago yuh know. The reality will shock the shiit out of you. Especially if you come from a prestige school and get placed in some SEMP school or at-risk secondary. Unless you have a real, deep desire to educate young people, I advise you look elsewhere.

And the shiity thing is if you have a real, deep desire to educate young people, the fall will only be harder when yuh the reality of the system hits you. I suggest you talk to yuh teacher friends and get a full idea of where yuh headed.

Postby S_2NR » December 24th, 2010, 1:52 am

lola..ull make a gr8 teacher..
especially if u teach inna boy skl..
back in secondary skl..d bess teachers used to get the most attention.. :lol: