Flow Internet Thread

Re: Flow throttling P2P?

Postby S_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 5:15 am

most likely its their firewall that is limiting the torrent connections..call and ask them to disable the firewall for ur connection..
this was happening to me on blink and and after they disabled it..it was good..

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 2nd, 2010, 8:19 am

rafman wrote:Anyone experiencing super slow speeds (10kB/s) with Flow internet with p2p downloads such as torrents?

http seems fine though, I'm getting 3-5 megabits per second usually.

piracy is illegal

i was wondering, what laws do we really have against piracy?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » December 2nd, 2010, 10:01 am

i'm getting over 800kB/s on torrents... flow..

rafman

Postby rafman » December 2nd, 2010, 10:56 am

redman10 wrote:most likely its their firewall that is limiting the torrent connections..call and ask them to disable the firewall for ur connection..

Flow doesn't have a firewall, or so they say.

Postby S_2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 11:39 am

rafman wrote:
redman10 wrote:most likely its their firewall that is limiting the torrent connections..call and ask them to disable the firewall for ur connection..

:| ....well in da case...check out this site..
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/10-ways-to ... downloads/

zcarz

Postby zcarz » December 2nd, 2010, 11:54 am

rafman wrote:

they dont have a firewall

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 2nd, 2010, 12:54 pm

I was getting about 40KBps max on a torrent but it only had 2 seeders. So I tried downloading a torrent with a few hundred seeders and got between 600-700KBps.
I.P.Torrents FTW

HOWEVER my upload speed is strangely staying between 40-50KBps when it is usually about 25-30KBps so I was wondering if flow changed any upload speeds.....

And with regards to piracy, hold dis:

rafman

Postby rafman » December 2nd, 2010, 1:37 pm

redman10 wrote:
rafman wrote:

:| ....well in da case...check out this site..
http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/10-ways-to ... downloads/

thanks, encryption doesn't work for me. It actually slows me down more.

today, it's much better, I'm not getting 600+ but I'm getting around 200kB/s

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 2nd, 2010, 11:25 pm

Mudboy wrote:
rafman wrote:Anyone experiencing super slow speeds (10kB/s) with Flow internet with p2p downloads such as torrents?

http seems fine though, I'm getting 3-5 megabits per second usually.

piracy is illegal

then give back Robbie Williams his haircut.....
lolwut

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » December 3rd, 2010, 10:50 am

Postby redmanjp » December 3rd, 2010, 12:03 pm

u tried it with flow? im at work now but ill probably try it later

Logic42

Postby Logic42 » December 3rd, 2010, 3:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:

u tried it with flow? im at work now but ill probably try it later

tried it a couple months ago, and found nothing to suggest traffic shaping

ShIvAm

Postby ShIvAm » December 3rd, 2010, 4:26 pm

M_2NR wrote:
rafman wrote:Not all torrents contain pirated stuff.

The torrent I am testing is actually an Ubuntu release, because it has a high seed to leech ratio, pretty much making it a direct download.

Yet, I'm still getting super slow speeds, I'm on a direct conecction.
You can download it off of http://www.ubuntu.com and you can use Free Download Manager (http://www.freedownloadmanager.org/) to do the download.

I just downloaded Ubuntu 10.10 from their website with FDM in about 4 minutes.

PUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDIPUDDI

wait.. this isnt 4chan.. is it...

carry on 8)

oh and duane just showing off his speed... :|

wrt to your lameass torrent speed, PM ShivIaM if i remember and ask him to find the post... there was one b4... yuh know what...

is this me you're referring too? :?

tool-band

Postby tool-band » December 10th, 2010, 11:49 pm

had the same problem solved now

http://www.torproject.org/ is your friend along with free dl manager u good to go
its also useful to get around firewall blocked sites in the office or being a loic gunner lol

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » December 11th, 2010, 4:16 am

I solved my problems by purchasing games on STEAM.

You don't pay any vat and duty and shipping you only pay what you see. And when I buy one multi player I can easily get over 1000 hours of gameplay.

Battlefield Bad Company 2 can be had for $20 US. You get 1000 hours gameplay online multi player and even then you still don't get tired.

Team Fortress 2 I probably have 1800 hours gameplay. WELL WORTH MY $30 I SPENT BACK THEN!!!

As for Music well you can get endless full songs on youtube.

Can't comment on Movies cause I don't watch movies again cause I play games with my free time and don't have time to watch movies due to work etc.

But if P2P is a problem then you can also download Via Rapidshare etc.

I just ask one thing of people we know everybody does download thing free off torrent I understand some people will pirate something that they will never buy in the first place cause its crap. But If you really love something then buy it Original and support the developers cause if none of us do, one day we won't have it.

Postby M_2NR » December 11th, 2010, 3:31 pm

ShIvAm wrote:is this me you're referring too? :?

cant remember if it was u or sanjeev1990...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 12th, 2010, 6:36 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:I solved my problems by purchasing games on STEAM.

You don't pay any vat and duty and shipping you only pay what you see. And when I buy one multi player I can easily get over 1000 hours of gameplay.

Can't go wrong with Steam. you don't have to worry about losing/damaging your original disk, waiting for the game to ship, or paying 1000% tax.

Right now Left4dead 2 is $5 USD on steam.

zando

Postby zando » December 12th, 2010, 10:53 pm

downloading and installing utorrent isnt ilegal because they aren't hosting anything, they simply tell you where something is, i.e. like when GOOGLE tells u where u can get RAPIDSHARE links, why not shutdown google then? it's what u DO with the tools at your disposal...use it for good or bad, but our definitions of good and bad are very blurred...like clark kent..

cornfused

Flow Internet Thread

Postby cornfused » February 7th, 2011, 11:31 am

The single thread about Flow internet issues, questions, comments.

____

I use my FLOW turbo 5 package to sometimes downland torrents , the program used is u torrent, last year as in the later months , i was able to download a movie 700 - 900 mb in usually in a hour or two and speeds of the download would vary to about 25 to 125 kpbs.

However as of late this year the speeds have been drastically reduced to less than 5 kpbs more like 1.5-.5 kbps :? . This is not specific to me or my connections as this has occurred with my colleges in the Tunapauna and El Dorado Area .

I called yesterday and they said that there was no noise on my line and speed test say that i can download a movie 800 Mb in a little less than 3 hrs. Right now its takes more than a day or two or even three.

I would have expected this with dial up . it surfs the internet as per usual , but downloading torrents is ridiculously slow
Last edited by M_2NR on March 30th, 2013, 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: thread rename

DrunkenMaster16

Re: Slow FLOW

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 7th, 2011, 11:39 am

Yuh know ppl here gonna start to cry doh complain if yuh downloading pirated media etc etc...

I too feel your pain though... take 3 - 6 hrs for a movie vs 1 - 2 on the same 5mb package.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 7th, 2011, 11:44 am

DM if they feel that they are so pious , what are their ring tones? , the porn they watch? etc etc

i would be good with a few hours but right now its days

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 7th, 2011, 11:46 am

is every single download slow?
do you check the seeds/peers ?
is your download client configured correctly?

Postby tr1ad » February 7th, 2011, 11:48 am

i had to reconfigure for utorrent with flow

speed like wow... but the peers/seeding is most important

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » February 7th, 2011, 11:48 am

hypocrites...thats all they are.

just started to dl a 698mb avi file... lets see how long it takes. btw .5 - 3.5 kBps is all its pulling down right now.

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 7th, 2011, 11:50 am

configured correctly ? ammm not sure on that but yes every one is slow and i check the seeds and peers .

Postby Sky » February 7th, 2011, 11:53 am

A lot of things contribute to this.

the Obvious one, you're running straight to the modem? or through a router?
If router, the port fwd etc so your listening port open?

Another thing is upload speed, cap it's mc. This affects your dl when you confirm packets constantly. Slow that shizz down.

Postby tr1ad » February 7th, 2011, 11:54 am

configured as sky said
bandwith allocation
uploading speed
downloading speed

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » February 7th, 2011, 11:56 am

yup
you want to grab more seeds than peers

yes..configuring Utorrent makes a difference
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to- ... our-speed/

cornfused

Postby cornfused » February 7th, 2011, 12:07 pm

right maybe i should do a reconfigure, i was trying to do that yesterday as well , but will follow your link later thanks for the replies

sky all the speed i quoted as before and after where through a router

sudesh

Postby sudesh » February 7th, 2011, 12:18 pm

dude, that is painfully slow. I have the same 5mb Flow connection as you and my download speeds with torrents usually are between. 500-600kbps, sometimes over. Also, what is important is looking at the number of seeds the torrent has...