IMAX in Trinidad & Tobago

Humes

Re: IMAX Is Coming To Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Humes » April 8th, 2011, 6:53 pm

I hope they show some movies from years past (Dark Knight, Avatar etc) and documentaries.

By the way, is this a genuine IMAX installation or one of the fake smaller screens (Liemax) that caused a bit of a controversy in the US a while ago?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMAX

A standard IMAX screen is 22 × 16.1 m (72 × 52.8 ft), but can be larger.
Last edited by Humes on April 8th, 2011, 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Stephon. » April 8th, 2011, 6:57 pm

All dis time i tort globe was imax :|

jeevdude199

Postby jeevdude199 » April 8th, 2011, 7:30 pm

is bout time.......

DTAC

Postby DTAC » April 8th, 2011, 7:39 pm

Looking forward to it. I only go to the cinema to see a film I really want to see or an advanced screening so I'll let the never-see-come-see set pay for the investment.

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 8th, 2011, 8:53 pm

Nuff country bookie gonna start fights up in imax.

"eh dan who hand is dah dey dan?''

WAP!

xaira

Postby xaira » April 9th, 2011, 12:36 am

me an a ffew friends was talking bout pricing the other day also, imax 3d gonna be bhustin men bank jead, all i interested in is pirates 4, they could keep d ress a dey motian pichas

ray_S.T.R.A_man

Postby ray_S.T.R.A_man » April 9th, 2011, 4:38 am

this will cause a drop in movietown viewers.
I will pay 150 to see an IMAX flim - hubble3d etc
cool when it opening?

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2011, 6:25 am

ticket prices are $75 :shock:

screen is 70x40

Humes

Postby Humes » April 9th, 2011, 9:42 am

Movietowne bawlin.

By the way, this country have real money.

Postby Hook » April 9th, 2011, 9:59 am

*wishes I could share your enthusiasm for make-believe*

xaira

Postby xaira » April 9th, 2011, 10:01 am

we have oil, and a good chunk of the money d us loose inna d recession end up in tt, i does cya understand how men does say tt is third world, we runnin d same gdp (per capita) as saudi arabia
Last edited by xaira on April 10th, 2011, 7:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby eliteauto » April 9th, 2011, 10:05 am

xaira wrote:we have oil, and a good chunk of the money d us loose inna d recession end up in tt, i does cya understand how men does say tt is third world, we runnin d same gdp as saudi arabia

true but the wealth distribution is very skewered here

Postby Hook » April 9th, 2011, 10:07 am

*be's all poor n' whatnot* :cry:

Postby redmanjp » April 9th, 2011, 3:54 pm

d movie hadda b real good for me to pay dem price

Postby AllTrac » April 9th, 2011, 6:36 pm

eliteauto wrote:ticket prices are $75 :shock:

screen is 70x40

thats VERY competitive :shock:

Postby AllTrac » April 9th, 2011, 6:37 pm

redmanjp wrote:d movie hadda b real good for me to pay dem price

nice, want more people to think like this. 8-)

googoodoll

Postby googoodoll » April 10th, 2011, 11:16 am

eliteauto wrote:
DTAC wrote:An IMAX screen in One Woodbrook Place? Going to be about $150 a ticket!

that was the price being considered, MT is considering having one as well because of the one coming to OWP

@ eliteauto the price is not gonna even be reaching $150 soo i eh know where yuh getting yuh info from pal

Also MT can't even consider bringing one into the country since GSE has the rights to IMAX

Humes

Postby Humes » April 10th, 2011, 11:19 am

Movie Towne go hadda bring SmelloVision.

googoodoll

Postby googoodoll » April 10th, 2011, 11:21 am

Humes wrote:I hope they show some movies from years past (Dark Knight, Avatar etc) and documentaries.

By the way, is this a genuine IMAX installation or one of the fake smaller screens (Liemax) that caused a bit of a controversy in the US a while ago?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IMAX

A standard IMAX screen is 22 × 16.1 m (72 × 52.8 ft), but can be larger.

Not a fake at all the screen is like 4 stories high by 7+ stories wide its the reall deal bro

Postby Stephon. » April 10th, 2011, 11:38 am

Will wait 6 months after it opens to go, there's going to be a rush/crowd for the first couple of months when it opens, typical Trini tradition. I hope the majority of MT crowd stays at MT though. (the mini gangsters)

Postby eliteauto » April 10th, 2011, 5:19 pm

googoodoll wrote:
eliteauto wrote:
DTAC wrote:An IMAX screen in One Woodbrook Place? Going to be about $150 a ticket!

that was the price being considered, MT is considering having one as well because of the one coming to OWP

@ eliteauto the price is not gonna even be reaching $150 soo i eh know where yuh getting yuh info from pal

Also MT can't even consider bringing one into the country since GSE has the rights to IMAX

read the whole thread nah pal drink an enos

MassiveDynamic ★★★★★

Postby MassiveDynamic ★★★★★ » April 10th, 2011, 5:23 pm

Tile Expression Ltd. wrote:BOOMMM!!!! can't wait...

X2!!

Postby A172 » April 10th, 2011, 9:21 pm

eliteauto wrote:

read the whole thread nah pal drink an enos

well yes lmao :lol: :lol: :lol:

Digicel IMAX Theatre

Postby Digicel IMAX Theatre » April 10th, 2011, 9:39 pm

This is a response from a representative of the Digicel IMAX Theatre Trinidad & Tobago. This serves to advise that the ticket price for 3D films will be approximately $75.00 with discounted tickets for students.

One Woodbrook Place also has sufficent parking within its facility.

The screen will be 40 x 70 feet meeting requirements and our building capacity and everything will be approved by IMAX thus lending to a genuine IMAX experience.

Please feel free to ask any questions and we will answer in a timely manner.

Thank you,
Digicel IMAX Theatre, Trinidad
Last edited by Digicel IMAX Theatre on April 10th, 2011, 9:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.

bonzo.specb

Postby bonzo.specb » April 10th, 2011, 9:43 pm

^ :shock: pricing is reasonable.

Dammit, that won't keep away the guntas :x

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » April 10th, 2011, 9:50 pm

Digicel IMAX Theatre wrote:This is a response from a representative of the Digicel IMAX Theatre Trinidad & Tobago. This serves to advise that the ticket price for 3D films will be approximately $75.00 with discounted tickets for students.

One Woodbrook Place also has sufficent parking within its facility.

The screen will be 40 x 70 feet meeting requirements and our building capacity and everything will be approved by IMAX thus lending to a genuine IMAX experience.

Please feel free to ask any questions and we will answer in a timely manner.

Thank you,
Digicel IMAX Theatre, Trinidad

damn nigerians...

hoverauto

Postby hoverauto » April 10th, 2011, 11:48 pm

A very good source tell me Digicel sponsor the IMAX screen for One Woodbrook Place at a cost of over 1 Million USD. Fack you Digicel, you pelting out that kinda money for screen and all you giving the general public is a measly $20 top up free. Steups......

Postby De Dragon » April 11th, 2011, 5:43 am

GhettoPlex/$5 DVD's FTMFW!!!!!!!

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 11th, 2011, 7:40 am

They will sell out for the first 6 months at that price.

I'd have to go through all the hassles of extremely LONG lines, extremely LONG waits, coming back and not seeing your vehicle etc..

I predict that One Woodbrook place will be the new Trincity!

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » April 11th, 2011, 8:41 am

1WP is too cluttered. The streets leading to that facility is narrow and being so close to the WMR means traffic typically when its on a Friday or on weekends and usually on afternoons/evenings.

I wish that IMAX was in a different location but I don't mind checking it out. My entertainment bill is low and therefore unable to visit MT often worse yet for IMAX. At least it will attract the niche crowd. SmokeyGTi, don't worry about theft, there won't be much Almera's, Sunnys and Corolla's in there....