Squatters demand 3 Million!!(pg2)

Re: Ok To Squat!!! ---Wha the Hell is this!!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 29th, 2011, 6:43 am

so bharath say it ok to squat ...once u planting,,,,,

now they want to run out farmers and squatters....

Like they cant make up their minds????

Bharath seems like an idiot .......should be fired........

Postby rfari » April 29th, 2011, 9:42 am

DrunkenMaster16 wrote:What happened to the Government farms constructed under the PNM? How many are operational today and producing food for the nation? Also I see that people need housing but WTF's up with using good agricultural land for housing? (cane lands have been converted into HDC cardboard houses..and btw the soil REAL good...)

** Explicit Lyrics **

Different governments same sh!t.

Re: Bharath says Ok To Squat!- BUT Farmers being run out !!!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 12:58 am

well like bharath make up his mind.....

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/VAS ... 10104.html

VASANT FIGHTS
...tells protesting farmers he's prepared to do what is necessary for them

By Akile Simon akile.simon@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Apr 29, 2011 at 11:44 PM ECT
Story Updated: Apr 29, 2011 at 11:44 PM ECT
FOOD Production Minister Vasant Bharath yesterday joined protesting farmers whose crops were bulldozed by the State earlier this week in a demonstration at Woodford Square, Port of Spain.
Bharath, addressing the farmers, promised them he would stand by their side in their struggle for land tenure and food security, adding that he wasn't afraid of the repercussions which may follow his stance.
Bharath said, "I have considered the consequences and, as far as I am concerned, this (supporting the farmers) means more to me than the consequences."
The Minister's actions yesterday came hours after he sat with Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal on Thursday and discussed the recent issues regarding he Housing Development Corporation's decision to bulldoze food crops at Pineapple Smith Lands in D'Abadie, and Egypt Trace in Chaguanas, to make way for houses.
Bharath said the farmers' fight was also his fight and he was prepared to do what was necessary seek the interest of the farming community. He said the farmers had legitimate grouses and he will take their plight to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar as soon as she returns from her trip to Brazil.
Bharath said, "When the Prime Minister comes back on Sunday I will make it my business to speak with her. I will make it my business to make sure I do my best to take your views and the views of Trinidad and Tobago and the majority of right-thinking people of Trinidad and Tobago to the Cabinet and fight on your behalf."
Bharath added that he couldn't turn a blind eye when he stood up for farmers in 2008 when the HDC, under the then People's National Movement (PNM) Government, began to bulldoze food crops at Spring Village in Valsayn. He said there is an urgent need for a policy on housing and agriculture.
"This is exactly what I stood against when I was in Opposition so I know the pain that you feel. I, myself, in 2008, stood up in front of a bulldozer when they were coming to bulldoze crops in Spring Village, and therefore I stand with all of you," Bharath said.
Also condemning the HDC's actions to destroy the farmers' crops was Congress of the People (COP) vice-chairman Vernon De Lima, who showed up at the protest at Woodford Square.
Earlier in the day, farmers led a tractor convoy through the streets of Port of Spain, calling for the removal of Moonilal. Scores of angry farmers made their way to the Office of the Prime Minister at St Clair Avenue, where they delivered a letter requesting an urgent meeting with Persad-Bissessar to discuss and address their plight.
The farmers want a public apology from Moonilal regarding Monday's incident.
Dhanoo Sookoo, president of the Agricultural Society of Trinidad and Tobago, said she has proof that the HDC never sought permission from the Environmental Management Agency (EMA) and Town and Country Planning to construct houses at D'Abadie and Egypt Trace.
The farmers, led by six tractors, moved north along Abercromby Street toward the Office of the Prime Minister, joined by angry protesters who walked on the pavement.
As they approached St Clair Avenue, they were pulled over by acting ASP Helen Cox-Modeste, of the Central Police Station, who expressed concern that the slow pace of the tractors was obstructing the free flow of traffic along the Queen's Park Savannah.
After much dialogue between Cox-Modeste and organisers Sookoo and Khan, the walk was allowed to continue.
The letter was delivered to Persad-Bissessar's security adviser Gary Griffith, who promised to deliver it to the Prime Minister when she returns to the country. The farmers are also threatening to stage a march from San Fernando to Port of Spain to highlight their plight.
Speaking at the post-Cabinet news conference on Thursday, Moonilal said discussions will be held with affected farmers to achieve a "win-win" situation as he stressed thousands are in need of housing.
Moonilal stated that the Government intended to proceed full speed ahead with plans to construct houses in Pineapple Smith Lands, D'Abadie, and Egypt Trace, Chaguanas. He said both housing and agricultural policies are important to the Government, and it is not a case of one versus the other.
The Housing Minister had described the incident as "regrettable", but explained these farmers were given notice verbally, in writing, and even received communication from their Member of Parliament, Anil Roberts (those at Pineapple Smith Lands), that the lands were earmarked for housing.
Moonilal and Bharath also met on Thursday with the farmers and promised compensation for the destruction of the crops.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 30th, 2011, 1:36 am

Does it have a limit on how much land you can squat on?

What if I want to take 100 acres of land?

This is brilliant LOL

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 1:52 am

just plant brother and it will be yours...!!!!

Postby rfari » April 30th, 2011, 12:21 pm

Doh talk dat!! I have a couple hectarce self I going and lockdown. I go link some crackheads to prepare the land. I go pay dem by the ball. And every friday I buying a bottle of puncheon and a half case of bay rum. I dunno why I every study hard and buy property nah. Way to go!

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 2:56 pm

Exactly bro...why study hard to get a good job to buy a piece of land to build your home...

As the govt say squat and plant ...thats ok!!!1

Its unbelievable!!!! why we have to pay $300k for a lot of land when uneducated squatters getting it free!!!!

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » April 30th, 2011, 4:58 pm

^ Same thing I was telling my brother today.

And some places want over $700k for 1 lot of land. Why would anyone pay that if you can get it free?

As a matter of fact why would you still go to school to get any form of education only to realize you go take a life time to buy some land and build a house? when you getting the land free?

I going and pay ah man to plant some land for me yes.

Seriously though this better bring down the price of food drastically. There is absolutely no excuse here. In theory this is actually a genius move. But in practice I willing to bet everybody go want to sell and make as much profit as they can.

Only thing we can count on is supply will be so great they go have to sell it out dog cheap else it will rotten.

Postby *$kїđž!™ » April 30th, 2011, 5:13 pm

wonder if robocop move back into cashew gardens to plant......

they cant stop him this time around.....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2011, 4:43 am

http://guardian.co.tt/news/2011/05/08/s ... two-houses

Squatters demand $3m for two houses
Published: Sun, 2011-05-08 00:05
Anika Gumbs-Sandiford

The two sprawling mansions at Pineapple Smith Lands, D’Abadie constructed by land-grabbing farmers who are demanding $3 million in compensation. PHOTO: Shirley Bahadur
Three million dollars. That is the hefty price tag two land-grabbing farmers are demanding for mansions they illegally constructed on 148 acres of State-owned lands at Pineapple Smith Lands in D’Abadie. Whether taxpayers would be saddled with this million-dollar debt was still in debate as up to late last night Government sources told Sunday Guardian the issue was still being negotiated. “The request is simply ludicrous. These farmers were squatting and are now demanding unreasonable sums of compensation. It is really getting out of hand. The Government is setting a bad precedent by bargaining with farmers whose crops were bulldozed. It should never reach to this. No matter how you look at it squatting is illegal. Can we afford to pay huge sums to all farmers who construct houses on lands?,” a source asked.

According to the Land Acquisition Act 1994 the farmers are not entitled to any compensation. Section 12: Part III (c) entitled Compensation states: “Where the value of the land is increased by reason of the use thereof or of any premises thereon in manner which could be restrained by any Court, or is contrary to law, or is detrimental to the health of the inmates of the premises or to the public health, the amount of that increase shall not be taken into account.” The State lands are earmarked for a 800-unit housing development by the Housing Development Corporation (HDC). The defiant farmers have been each squatting on 74 acres of land and opted to construct sprawling concrete mansions next to their produce to secure their spots. They are both demanding $1.5 million in compensation.

After serving quit notices to the farmers earlier this year, the HDC moved in on the lands at Mauisca and at Egypt Village in Chaguanas on Easter Monday to commence construction. Farmers protested the move, but the State has indicated its intention to continue with the project. Compensation and alternative lands are now being sought for the affected farmers. But even as the State moves to relocate the farmers to a 200-acre plot of land off Jermingham Avenue in Egypt Village, farmers were caught once again squatting on the land during a tour of the proposed relocation site yesterday. Food Production Minister Vasant Bharath expressed surprise at the squatters yesterday but assured the relocating farmers that all would be facilitated. A three-acre four plot of land is also being sought for relocating farmers West of Piarco Airport. The State is facing a fight from farmers who occupy State lands throughout the country. A Guardian team visited the area on Friday and similar cases are also occurring at Broomage Fairfield in Princes Town, Union Hallin San Fernando and in Exchange Village in Couva.

Meanwhile, Sunday Guardian understands members of the Public Services Association (PSA) are expected to meet in an emergency session today to discuss the issue of housing that forms part of five per cent agreement the union settled for. This after, disgruntled members said that concerns have been raised about whether the HDC would be able to follow through with the agreement due to the demand for housing. “There are over 35,000 public servants and according to HDC there are only 6,000 plus houses. We need clarity on this issue because the Prime Minister and the PSA agreed to housing benefits for all public servants. What is being put in the public domain is saying something different. “We need PSA president Watson Duke or the Prime MInister to come clean on this matter,” a concerned worker said. Attempts to contact PSA president Watson Duke proved futile yesterday.

Re: Squatters demand 3 Million!!(pg2)

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 8th, 2011, 4:47 am

u squatting on land and now u want 3million dollars tooo...what the fcuk is this!!!!!

like them farmers is the Prime Minister family or wha?

Postby eliteauto » May 8th, 2011, 5:02 am

what!!! squatter have nice house dey

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 8th, 2011, 8:10 am

Nigson wrote:Exactly bro...why study hard to get a good job to buy a piece of land to build your home...

As the govt say squat and plant ...thats ok!!!1

Its unbelievable!!!! why we have to pay $300k for a lot of land when uneducated squatters getting it free!!!!

that's the same thing I was telling my wife... You work hard in your life to accomplish certain things and it seem like zero in the long run....They breaking the law and they have more rights that the law abiding citizenry and they have ministers on their side! Vasbat was always a Judas in my eyes.

that's why I buy foreign produce and import can foods every 6months.... that's my way of not contributing to their B.S.

Fcuk farmers and squatters..... I personally want to start firebomb shacks... let them live on the firetruck streets!

Postby Bizzare » May 8th, 2011, 8:15 am

bluespeed wrote:that's why I buy foreign produce and import can foods every 6months.... that's my way of not contributing to their B.S.

Lol, how exactly is that gonna affect anyone?? :roll: While you raging, farmers raking in the dough and laughing while they give the government a hard time. What makes you feel your actions affect them. Lol. Carry on raging. :|

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 8th, 2011, 8:37 am

Bizzare wrote:
bluespeed wrote:that's why I buy foreign produce and import can foods every 6months.... that's my way of not contributing to their B.S.

Lol, how exactly is that gonna affect anyone?? :roll: While you raging, farmers raking in the dough and laughing while they give the government a hard time. What makes you feel your actions affect them. Lol. Carry on raging. :|

it's not going to affect them right?...... the same way if you don't buy a car from Toyota trinidad and purchase it from a foreign used car dealer.... it's not going to affect toyota Trinidad sales...right?....carry on!

Postby hustla_ambition101 » May 8th, 2011, 9:22 am

PP created the monster, most of those who are ministers now including Kamla encouraged squatting and defended them claiming they had rights back in PNM days, so let them pay through their arses now. How much injunctions were filed and false certificates of comfort were given to squatters when the PNM tried to get rid of the leeches?

link

Postby link » May 8th, 2011, 11:01 pm

Nigson wrote:one minute they breaking down ppl house from cashew gardens and they running out Mr.Planter Robocop.....that was a big issue a whileaback,,,,,,,,...now this dumb ass saying its ok to squat once you plant.....

Robocop should head straight back in cashew gardens and start back planting.....lemme see them move him after vasant's stupid comment..........

the Minister is referring to that particular piece of land that the farmer is trying to secure tenure for. He is simply saying 'start planting whilst you go through the process'.
allyuh too darm negative......xpct a snap of the fingers solution and even then...still a fcuking problem..........

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 9th, 2011, 12:18 am

u should buy yur land.....!!! squatters should GTFO.....!

homeboy

Postby homeboy » May 9th, 2011, 1:38 am

Why should they be paid for land that was never theirs.......things really heading down stream fast.............urp workers after years of hand out want compensation when they get let go, farmers want money for land that never was theirs, public servants want more money which i agree to a point but then telling the gov what they have to get....

To top it off.....they build those big as* houses like they have all deeds and paperwork to prove it legally theirs.........it can't be good for one and not all.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 9th, 2011, 2:44 am

wrong and strong seems to be the way to go......

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 9th, 2011, 10:17 pm

the govt should ask them to pay instead for damage to govt property - the land tha is - and rent for all the years they on the land........

Postby SmokeyGTi » May 10th, 2011, 7:59 am

sprawling mansions eh?
and u swear them farmers cetching they @SS when u see them on tv.

fack all a dem they not trying to feed the country, is THIEF they want to THEIF adn get everything for FREE, do pay a cent in tax etc..

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » May 10th, 2011, 8:53 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:sprawling mansions and warehouses eh?
and u swear them farmers cetching they @SS when u see them on tv.

fack all a dem they not trying to feed the country, is THIEF they want to THEIF adn get everything for FREE, do pay a cent in tax etc..

fixed :lol:

Postby *$kїđž!™ » May 10th, 2011, 11:14 am

Farmers are the rich ppl in this country....The majority driving those vigos and navarras.....free land ......and agricultural incentives......what more you what....????

Farmers are better off that alot of other ppl working 8 -4 jobs....

pablo_tt

Postby pablo_tt » May 10th, 2011, 1:03 pm

Is two houses they have there? I thought it was just one! I might as well start to invest in pineapples!