Re: Official rc discussion thread

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 10th, 2011, 4:23 pm

Just finished watching this series

All I have to say is..WOW! :P

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 10th, 2011, 5:32 pm

pioneer wrote:Spektrum radios or nuttin...

Yuh was right :shock:

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 10th, 2011, 7:20 pm

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 11th, 2011, 9:35 am

My 50 Size Nitro (well 56 size now)

My 90 size electric (Actually started of as a 90 size gasoline model but I converted to 12s electric for more power)

Some pics of her before the Electric conversion

I terms of radios...I moved away from Spectrum over a year ago to Futaba since their 2.4Ghz protocol and implementation is more robust. On the ground it may not be that big of a deal..but in the air it is.

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 11th, 2011, 9:38 am

To give you surface guys an idea of the capabilities of these machines. This is a 90 size nitro...a 90 size electric has way way more power. Actually electric has way more power in every size class, its just more expensive upfront (proper chargers, power supplies and quality packs) but its worth it IMO.

jdmcrew

Postby jdmcrew » July 11th, 2011, 9:42 am

nice .....

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 11th, 2011, 12:59 pm

[X]~Outlaw wrote:My 50 Size Nitro (well 56 size now)

My 90 size electric (Actually started of as a 90 size gasoline model but I converted to 12s electric for more power)

Some pics of her before the Electric conversion

I terms of radios...I moved away from Spectrum over a year ago to Futaba since their 2.4Ghz protocol and implementation is more robust. On the ground it may not be that big of a deal..but in the air it is.

Those are some really cool helis you got there man :D

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 11th, 2011, 1:36 pm

I've decided to go with an electric rc....nitro could wait :P

I'm having trouble deciding on motors. What do you guys think about a 6800kv motor? Will this be good enough for racing and easily controllable on the track?

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 11th, 2011, 10:55 pm

Any pics/vids from yesterday?

Postby SR » July 12th, 2011, 5:27 am

what vehicle are you looking at

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » July 12th, 2011, 6:48 am

Sr, what do you think about this buggy?.....would this be suitable for a a first timer?......
http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-HPI-Racing-Bram ... 5ae0b68236

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 12th, 2011, 7:52 am

SR wrote:what vehicle are you looking at

Tamiya TT01

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 12th, 2011, 8:00 am

Before some of you start looking at rc for first timers, decide which CLASS you want to race in.
Buggy?
Short course ?
Nitro?
Electric?

then decide from there!

Postby SR » July 12th, 2011, 8:25 am

well it depends on if you want to get into racing or not

recommend a ready to run electric for a first timer
this way you can leanr about the car setup and suspension etc without the taks of breaking in and tuning a nitro

also look at a unit that has support for parts locally

key thing start off with a unit that wont discourage you after a few mishaps

traxxas slash ultimate is always a good start
upgraded suspension and drivetrain and water proof motor and electronics

rdeonarine

Postby rdeonarine » July 12th, 2011, 8:31 am

thanks man, always liked the traxxas bandit, what do you think about that model? Should I go with a brushed or brushless model?. pros / cons of either would be great.

Postby SR » July 12th, 2011, 8:34 am

anything skill level 1 is where you would want to start off with

if you plan on racing recommend you go 4 wheel drive one time

we do have an offroad track and the 4 wheel drives have an advantage over the 2 wheel drives

Humes

Postby Humes » July 12th, 2011, 9:33 am

I bought one of these RC copters to entertain my daughter, who's at that toddler stage where she's fascinated with garbage trucks and helicopters. In fact "garbage truck" and "copter" are three of her favorite words.

It should be arriving before the end of the week.

Postby SR » July 12th, 2011, 9:43 am

was never lucky with indoor helicopters

most lasted a week before being damaged beyond repair.............didnt really buy any expensive units

Humes

Postby Humes » July 12th, 2011, 10:45 am

Damaged by crashing or they just stop working on their own?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » July 12th, 2011, 10:51 am

crashing,

braking too hard, too frequently puts strain on the motor,

general wear and tear,

Humes

Postby Humes » July 12th, 2011, 11:16 am

Lord...and she go want tuh see that every day.

Say what, it go be worth it to see the look on her face first time I fly it. :)

Even if she doh take to it and runs away in fear. :lol:

jdmcrew

Postby jdmcrew » July 12th, 2011, 12:45 pm

pros and cons of the traxxas nito stampede?anyone

Humes

Postby Humes » July 12th, 2011, 2:39 pm

I have a whole playlist on youtube of helicopters nd garbage trucks. That already gettin watch daily.

Postby SR » July 12th, 2011, 3:00 pm

jdmcrew wrote:pros and cons of the traxxas nito stampede?anyone

con

nitro

just my opinion depends again on your skill level and what you want to use it for

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 12th, 2011, 3:42 pm

SR wrote:well it depends on if you want to get into racing or not

recommend a ready to run electric for a first timer
this way you can leanr about the car setup and suspension etc without the taks of breaking in and tuning a nitro

also look at a unit that has support for parts locally

key thing start off with a unit that wont discourage you after a few mishaps

traxxas slash ultimate is always a good start
upgraded suspension and drivetrain and water proof motor and electronics

what motor do you recommend for an Electric on road RC Car. I was looking at a 6800kv but i'm not sure if that will be too much

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 12th, 2011, 3:59 pm

This is the Slash Platinum, Its a really great rc truck for starters.

Photo courtesy ToyMart
RC.jpg

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 12th, 2011, 5:46 pm

pioneer wrote:tonssss of forums out there wid info man...remember your ESC needs to be able to handle ur motor...less turns on the motor...more current it gonna pull (i think)...therefore the ESC (brain box) needs to be up to par

Most stock ESC have a maximum current rating...which is why most of the times when you go to an aftermarket motor...you will need an aftermarket ESC

Same concept with real cars and ECU's

Comes with Motor, ESC & programming card

It's a 6800kv motor.......would this be good for racing?

Postby SR » July 12th, 2011, 7:14 pm