Re: Woman dies in crash with police vehicle

Postby RBphoto » November 15th, 2011, 10:00 am

kevcam wrote:Whittle was thrown from the vehicle

Seatbelt much?

Postby pete » November 15th, 2011, 10:42 am

Police doh hadda wear seatbelts, they're exempt from that. Too bad they're not exempt from getting their head busted open when they fly out of the vehicle if it crashes.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Postby RBphoto » November 15th, 2011, 12:13 pm

pete wrote:Police doh hadda wear seatbelts, they're exempt from that. Too bad they're not exempt from getting their head busted open when they fly out of the vehicle if it crashes.

I am wondering if they ever got the vehicular insurance they were clamouring for years back, and whether it would be void if they are not wearing their seatbelt while on duty?

Postby bushwakka » November 15th, 2011, 12:49 pm

dis is why.......

Postby S_2NR » November 15th, 2011, 12:54 pm

pete wrote:Police doh hadda wear seatbelts, they're exempt from that. Too bad they're not exempt from getting their head busted open when they fly out of the vehicle if it crashes.

this^^

jonathanpolo509

Postby jonathanpolo509 » November 15th, 2011, 10:41 pm

DSM_05 wrote:
tiger balm wrote:
toyota2nr wrote:RIP I hope Gibbs look into this matter as soon as possible. Too much police feel they are above the law. Up to this morning I saw a police car cross the PBR while his light on red. He turned on the siren and turned it off as soon as he finish cross the PBR.....steups.

x2. Fed up seeing this kinda behaviour from police on the bus route. While you want to give them the benefit of the doubt it tends to appear as an abuse of power.

Abuse of power?

Isn't that ILLEGAL?

I'm under the impression that NO VEHICLE (including ambulance, police patrol etc) is supposed to break a red light!

If this is the law and I'm not mistaken, then the driver of teh patrol jeep should be charged with vehicular manslaughter. I mean, isn't that what they try to pursue for all the other cases (legacy, altezza, etc)

Your statement is wrong think about this your getting rob/house on fire/having a heart attack and the relevant authorities are stuck on red lights on the pbr that is not common scence so it is lawful for these vehicles bearing lights and or sirens to proceed thru red lights once given proper warning to oncoming traffic and still proceeding with caution. under all ah dad rip tanty

Postby wagonrunner » November 15th, 2011, 11:09 pm

jonathanpolo509 wrote:
DSM_05 wrote:
tiger balm wrote:x2. Fed up seeing this kinda behaviour from police on the bus route. While you want to give them the benefit of the doubt it tends to appear as an abuse of power.
Abuse of power?

Isn't that ILLEGAL?

I'm under the impression that NO VEHICLE (including ambulance, police patrol etc) is supposed to break a red light!

If this is the law and I'm not mistaken, then the driver of teh patrol jeep should be charged with vehicular manslaughter. I mean, isn't that what they try to pursue for all the other cases (legacy, altezza, etc)
Your statement is wrong think about this your getting rob/house on fire/having a heart attack and the relevant authorities are stuck on red lights on the pbr that is not common scence so it is lawful for these vehicles bearing lights and or sirens to proceed thru red lights once given proper warning to oncoming traffic and still proceeding with caution. under all ah dad rip tanty
They shouldn't break the law to uphold the law. but then again we have an SOE, so sheit does indeed fall from the top.
zach51 wrote:being a past operator of an emergency vehicle, NO vehicle under circumstance is allowed to break a red light. the use of lights and siren was never meant to be used as an excuse to run or break a red light. in the perfect world where laws should stand to merit, lights and siren-use are a "courteous" sign to request free-flow UNTIL yielded by opposing traffic..

Seems most of our Emergency Services drivers would benefit from better driving instruction and practice.

Postby Hook » November 16th, 2011, 6:40 am

^^^ seems the ones that understand instructions already left