Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

Re: Pros and Cons Ipad2 vs bb playbook

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 8th, 2011, 5:14 pm

Strauss wrote:HP just wants to get RID of it by selling it at a loss. It's a great deal for US$99, but what do you do after? It's like those guys who got stuck with those Lada's.

Postby cinco » December 8th, 2011, 10:59 pm

ladas still sellin in eastern europe

Skanky

Postby Skanky » December 9th, 2011, 7:35 am

Strauss wrote:
Well if RIM actually brings a good phone, people will buy them and stocks will go back up. Only T&T and poor 3rd world countries are keeping RIM barely afloat. Consumer market > enterprise market.

This man knows what he talking about.
RIM is hurting so badly and trinis seems oblivious to it and keep buying their products, while the rest of the world is moving further and further away from RIM.

Same goes for Netflix, but that's a different story altogether.

Postby nervewrecker » December 9th, 2011, 7:50 am

I know, but I still bought it. It does its job pretty good.

didnt feel like taking notes yesterday, took pics of what was on the whiteboard instead :fadein:

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 9th, 2011, 8:55 am

cinco wrote:ladas still sellin in eastern europe

As I was saying.... :)

Postby SR » December 9th, 2011, 3:09 pm

just demoed the playbook (thanks to nerve) seems that it will do what i am looking for and the cost is decent

will however wait until bb does its update on them for android apps and then re look at the advantages and disadvantages between both again as well as overall cost

for the iphone fans
how many have been bb business users in the past and have switched

looking for the reasons to make you switch

Postby X2 » December 9th, 2011, 4:57 pm

SR... you know I am a BB user for the past 7 years and I swear by the phone.. but as far as a tablet... the playbook leaves some to be desired.

iPad is a gamer/toy even tho it can be made to do much more... it's app store and design is more towards apple fans and non techie personnel that like to buy accessories to be functional.

After a bit of reasearch, I went with the best I found so far... Asus Eeepad Transformer. Asus is a top notch manufacturer and seems to have more brain dedicated to thier development of thier tablet, as evidenced with the newly released Transformer Prime... which puts the original Transformer at a much more attractive price of $300USD from Best Buy.

I paid $350 for my 16gb tablet with dual core processor, 10hr battery, has mini hdmi, headphone and mico SD card slot built in... a few more dollars got me a 16gb micro SD... so the tablet now has a total of 32gb onboard. I decided to spend another $150 for the docking keyboard which allows you to use it just like a laptop...touchpad mouse and all... PLUS the dock adds 2 full size USB ports, a full sized SD card slot and extends the tablet's battery life by 5 hrs... that brings it to the same price as the base model ipad2. Not to mention the included Polaris office that functions for excel, word and Powerpoint.

FORGET the kindle... unless it's rooted, you will have problems with apps in Trinidad.

Postby SR » December 9th, 2011, 10:43 pm

thanks for th input looking at presentations mostly on it

was just looking at the advantage of the bridge from the playbook to the bb phone so access to emails and web browsing without having to either require a wifi or dedicated sim card

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » December 10th, 2011, 12:42 am

X2, I like the Asus Transformer Prime - but ANOTHER device specific version of Android? when will it end?

Postby X2 » December 10th, 2011, 1:29 am

Duane... This is my first experience with Android architecture. Before this unit, I couldn't even operate an android phone self. I am not a serious fan of android stuff just yet but I strongly believe in the concept... it needs either a more customizeable framework for it's operation or better apps. It's a shame I never continued my education into coding as I believe a Trini based app development business would be entirely feasible. I think in 2 years, the tablet market will be significantly different from today so I don't see the investment of a device specific product to mean much to what will be used in say 2014. A big part of my purchasing decision was the history of Asus and thier contribution to chipsets on the whole. The transformer concept IMO is a very progressive way of taking what makes sense and incorporating it into the future. Honestly, otherwise, the iPad is a tight little package.

SR, it is possible to tether tablets to the BB for internet access but I havent bothered to do it as everywhere I use the tablet pretty much has wifi. Currently the price of a 3G enabled tablet is also ridiculous so salt. At the end of the day, the overall functionality and speed of working with the unit is what you need for a tablet to perform. Integrating the apps to PC based software is likely available for all tabs... but I do find it a bit clunky to navigate. Maybe the additional paid apps are easier to use, but it's a hard pill to swallow when some apps are as much as $25 USD.

HP also has a tablet PC running WIndows 7 for about $500 USD. HP has not left the PC market from what I understand so this will likely be supported and developed.

Postby SR » December 13th, 2011, 3:26 pm

Swisha

Postby Swisha » December 13th, 2011, 3:36 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:X2, I like the Asus Transformer Prime - but ANOTHER device specific version of Android? when will it end?

que?

Strauss

Postby Strauss » December 13th, 2011, 4:06 pm

SR wrote:just demoed the playbook (thanks to nerve) seems that it will do what i am looking for and the cost is decent

will however wait until bb does its update on them for android apps and then re look at the advantages and disadvantages between both again as well as overall cost

for the iphone fans
how many have been bb business users in the past and have switched

looking for the reasons to make you switch

If BB has everything you need, DON'T get an iPhone/Android clone.

It's two different worlds.

The only reason BB is NOT doing well, is that "regular consumers" who wanted a smartphone, bailed for something better (games, apps, multi-touch etc). The business community still tied too deep into RIM — email, security, BBM (saves $$ when you around the world).

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 13th, 2011, 4:21 pm

apple just needs to improve their email to mobile devices, they already introduced iMessage which works on any mobile apple device so the appeal of bb is going down, especially as their phones are always a few steps behind apple and droid

casper

Postby casper » December 13th, 2011, 8:35 pm

pimptacular wrote:apple just needs to improve their email to mobile devices, they already introduced iMessage which works on any mobile apple device so the appeal of bb is going down, especially as their phones are always a few steps behind apple and droid

I won't say iMessage for the iPhone is a BBM killer due to 1 main fact...iMessage is only available on iOS 5 devices and up...and not all iPhones are iOS 5 compatible...only from 3GS go up...so it basically means tough luck for the 3G and 2g owners....bbm however is available on almost all d be handsets that I know of....maybe the rel old tdma ones mightn't have bbm but who do u know have one of those? Lolz

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 14th, 2011, 1:10 pm

I've had about the same small, limited time frame of interaction with both the ipad and the PB.

The PB owner, showed me the BB Bridge, and how he was able to use his bbm from the PB, do documents, pull up emails, edit his contacts, all sync'd to his BB, browse the internet, We were at the grocery, and I met him in the parking lot. His only complaint, was the lack of Angry Birds, to which he whipped out his Hp Touchpad. I found the flipping thru menus, and navigation to be well organised on the PB. I admit, I'm one of the BB die-hards.

The ipad owner was really proud of his apps and his swishing thru for pictures. We were infront of my house, and I gave him my wifi credentials to log in to web access his email. I wasn't given the opportunity to dig into it. So my appreciation for its usefulness as a compliment to my BB or even as a mobile productivity tool is low.

I honestly, doubt the Ipad guy was as into office productivity as the PB guy, so MAYBE my demos were not equal. for the purpose of my own immersion into both platforms, I simply wanted both owners to wow me, with what wows them, about their tablets.

I truly believe, the PB is an extension of your BB. Guys that have, and USE their BB for office productivity will find no replacement for the PB.

I use whatsapp to communicate with non BB folk, and I'm told that they need the app to be running, in order to receive messages. If its closed off, messages wont go thru. Can I assume that to mean, that the iPad isnt a multitasker?

The PB 64gb is on my christmas list.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2011, 1:23 pm

nigel, its not limited to whats on your bb phone alone, I practically sync it with all the computers I use (except for my work computer). The drop box app is real handy for that purpose, have you checked that out? I have files moving back & forth between many computers all the time (you are however limited to only those with the drop box app installed).

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 14th, 2011, 1:39 pm

All I got was 5 minutes or so of play time in the Grocery's parking lot.

In fact, I'd gladly buy it for just what I experienced in that short time. Everything else is a bonus.

The only other thing I want to do with it, is to be able to bid on something on ebay, and pay with paypal. That's something I wasn't able to do with my BB.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » December 14th, 2011, 2:45 pm

casper wrote:
pimptacular wrote:apple just needs to improve their email to mobile devices, they already introduced iMessage which works on any mobile apple device so the appeal of bb is going down, especially as their phones are always a few steps behind apple and droid

I won't say iMessage for the iPhone is a BBM killer due to 1 main fact...iMessage is only available on iOS 5 devices and up...and not all iPhones are iOS 5 compatible...only from 3GS go up...so it basically means tough luck for the 3G and 2g owners....bbm however is available on almost all d be handsets that I know of....maybe the rel old tdma ones mightn't have bbm but who do u know have one of those? Lolz

well its a new integration and 3g and 2g are obsolete and will be phased out, so does it have potential to be the bbm killer later on? yes

i have everything in apple so the iPad works really well for me..

Postby X2 » December 14th, 2011, 4:40 pm

I want to check out the PB... who carries it locally ?

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » December 14th, 2011, 4:45 pm

Strauss wrote:
casper wrote:I dunno why ppl still talkin bout apps this and app that..personally IMO YES apple has the most apps but out of those million apps how much of them are even practical or will u even download even if it free???? Most of them ting is some senseless sssshit sorry to say...

You underestimate the amount and quality of apps for Android and iOS.

Even if Android/iOS only has 1% useful apps, and 100% useful apps for the playbook... Andoid/iOS apps will still > Playbook apps.

iOS / Android apps = 500,000+ (run on both phones and tablets)
Native iPad apps = 100,000
Native Android tablet (Honeycomb) apps = 500
Playbook apps = 2,500

But as I said, with the amount of total iOS/Android apps, wait until RIM brings Android 2.3 apps to the Playbook (and not all will be supported).

practically this. is there even an SDK out for the OS? lol

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 14th, 2011, 4:49 pm

X2 wrote:I want to check out the PB... who carries it locally ?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=411128&hilit=playbook

Best price Ive seen locally.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2011, 5:12 pm

casper is the man, 5 working days and it here. the flash drive is a smartman shot though, it too easy to loose, he giving you so when you loose it you will have to buy another from him lol

casper

Postby casper » December 14th, 2011, 7:45 pm

nervewrecker wrote:casper is the man, 5 working days and it here. the flash drive is a smartman shot though, it too easy to loose, he giving you so when you loose it you will have to buy another from him lol

:lol: shux...yuh learn my trick...get u attached to the nice lil flash drive and when u lose it u will want another resulting in u buying the 16gb next and being more careful with it this time :mrgreen:

X2...i own an ipad2 but i sell these PB and personally i prefer the PB UI...wayyy more...its just the ipad2's bigger screen spoil me but the interface in the PB is far more superior than the ipad's ipod touch/ iphone experience...once u own an iphone or ipod touch then it have nothing much different to experience with the ipad where user experience is concerned...its basically the same exact thing just on a larger screen and different apps thats it...

ipad2 personally just feels like a huge ipod touch rather than a tablet IMO...but the playbook feels like a tablet...i dunno how else to make myself any clearer...of course tho apps on the ipad surpasses the PB by a mile but it really depends on what u lookin to do with ur tab...for a more business approach i vouch for the RIM PB...dont get me wrong eh...i love my ipad2...i think its the best gadget i have and i have alottttttttttt of different shitz....but honestly i have to admit the PB just feels fresher...totally different experience but in a very good way...

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2011, 9:56 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:
X2 wrote:I want to check out the PB... who carries it locally ?

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=411128&hilit=playbook

Best price Ive seen locally.

oh yeah? check again, $2049.00 & a free 8gb flashdrive.

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=411128

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » December 21st, 2011, 2:53 pm

nigel1977 wrote:All I got was 5 minutes or so of play time in the Grocery's parking lot.

In fact, I'd gladly buy it for just what I experienced in that short time. Everything else is a bonus.

The only other thing I want to do with it, is to be able to bid on something on ebay, and pay with paypal. That's something I wasn't able to do with my BB.

I actually have both those apps on my BB

pyromaniax

Postby pyromaniax » December 22nd, 2011, 2:38 am

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2012, 7:22 pm

os v2.0 out today ....

Postby S_2NR » February 21st, 2012, 7:36 pm

nigel1977 wrote:I use whatsapp to communicate with non BB folk, and I'm told that they need the app to be running, in order to receive messages. If its closed off, messages wont go thru.

not true

Postby nervewrecker » February 21st, 2012, 8:48 pm