Bible To Be Translated to Jamaican Patois?

Re: Bible To Be Translated to Jamaican Patois?

Postby Trini Hookah » December 28th, 2011, 3:30 pm

r3iXmann wrote:also, fun fact: jamaica has the most number of churches per capita in the world

they are VERY religious..most radio stations play gospel and so forth on a sunday morning

I've even heard there's a Church right on MONA campus? Either on or right next to it.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » December 28th, 2011, 3:50 pm

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » December 28th, 2011, 5:56 pm

yardie know how to get their culture out to the world.......trinis should sit up an learn rather than sit back an beotch.......

Postby RBphoto » December 29th, 2011, 7:08 am

whyteliver wrote:yardie know how to get their culture out to the world.......trinis should sit up an learn rather than sit back an beotch.......

Yuh unnastan?!!?

I once posed this question to Samuel Selvon: "With the emulation of American slang and Jamacian dialect(especially from the popularity of Dub at the time), do you think that the future of indiginous writing is in jepoardy, as the younger generation will have troubble emulating the dialect of their parents in telling their life story, thus making our local literature more of a Carribean/ Western experience, rather than a uniquely Trinidadian experience?"

He argued that our local dialect was unique and that we can discern what are the unique dialects in our minds without mixing them up.... but I could see he was deeply troubbled. He died the next week... make of that what you will :|

DevilZ

Postby DevilZ » December 29th, 2011, 8:35 am

u killed sam selvon?

Postby RBphoto » December 29th, 2011, 8:39 am

No, but I think that was on his mind when he died.... RIP Sam :(... Ways of sunlight will never be duplicated.