Why T&T will always be backward for Motorsports

W2J

Re: Why T&T will always be backward for Motorsports

Postby W2J » January 4th, 2012, 12:45 pm

16 cycles wrote:the companies trying to reduce the risk in their portfolio -

how many people are honest enough to tell the insurance companies that damage occurred while participating in a race event on a closed circuit / track.....i.e 'i go handle it'?

some are...

you do know that a report to the police has to be made and an adjuster / investigator has to check out accident scene before the insurance pays out anything right? it clearly states that they will not cover racing, speedtesting and pacemaking.

Postby Trini Hookah » January 4th, 2012, 12:46 pm

1UZFE wrote:I think also in "Tresure Hunt" rallies your vehicle isn't insured.
Anil "we want we tracks now".

You have to sign a waiver stating that you take full responsibilty for your car and occupants, in the Pringles Xtreme Treasure Hunt of 2011, a girl rode up on a curb and damaged side skirts, bumper etc...everything had to come out of daddy's pocket I believe.

Postby X2 » January 4th, 2012, 12:52 pm

Either way... this insurance thing doesnt show T&T as being backward in mospo... you want to hear backwards ?

Some time ago I signed up to participate in a TTASA run time attack in Camden. I arrive early, pay for my place, tent, etc... wait out the rain showers for the event to start.... During tech inspection, the administrators ask me for my insurance certificate, which I could not produce as I left it at home. The officials then proceed to tell me that I cannot race in the Time Attack since I have no proof of insurance. I laugh at the idea pointing out to the officials that the purpose built RX7's and other dedicated race cars that arrived on flat beds certainly did not have insurance and I demanded THOSE cars also be penalized in a similar fashion. The officials balked at my recommendation and told me that I will not be allowed to race without the insurance and if really wanted to run, I would go home and get the certificate.

That's our NSO right thurrrr....

Postby UML » January 4th, 2012, 12:57 pm

btw i guessing Russia not obligated to build the track again because they already won the bid for the world cup and jack has no more influence in FIFA :|

Postby SR » January 4th, 2012, 1:42 pm

X2 wrote:Either way... this insurance thing doesnt show T&T as being backward in mospo... you want to hear backwards ?

Some time ago I signed up to participate in a TTASA run time attack in Camden. I arrive early, pay for my place, tent, etc... wait out the rain showers for the event to start.... During tech inspection, the administrators ask me for my insurance certificate, which I could not produce as I left it at home. The officials then proceed to tell me that I cannot race in the Time Attack since I have no proof of insurance. I laugh at the idea pointing out to the officials that the purpose built RX7's and other dedicated race cars that arrived on flat beds certainly did not have insurance and I demanded THOSE cars also be penalized in a similar fashion. The officials balked at my recommendation and told me that I will not be allowed to race without the insurance and if really wanted to run, I would go home and get the certificate.

roflmao

yuh pay dey eff eye a fee yet

as for participation at such events

simply remove your plates when entering the compound

put them back on when leaving

Postby sliderz1 » January 4th, 2012, 2:12 pm

MG Man wrote:it is understood that if you have an 'off' at a motorsport event, including fun rallies, your insurance company is under no obligation to cover you (read the fine print) but why would they refuse to cover you just because you enter such an event? Their fine print already exempts them from liability at events..........

agreed

havent come across an insurance company that covers damages while on a trail or at offroading events also

its at your own risk

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » January 4th, 2012, 2:24 pm

W2J wrote:

how many people are honest enough to tell the insurance companies that damage occurred while participating in a race event on a closed circuit / track.....i.e 'i go handle it'?

some are...

you do know that a report to the police has to be made and an adjuster / investigator has to check out accident scene before the insurance pays out anything right? it clearly states that they will not cover racing, speedtesting and pacemaking.

They dont always check out an accident scene. Supposing they do in this instance because crashing "by yourself" (the story you will sell) in a car park sounds fishy, they still then have to prove you took part in the event NOT to pay you. You really think they (insurance company) going through all this potential trouble for you 5k premium. No speed trials etc PERIOD
X2 wrote:Either way... this insurance thing doesnt show T&T as being backward in mospo... you want to hear backwards ?

Thats some seriousssssssssssss bull sheit right there!
I mighta trip yes....

Postby X2 » January 4th, 2012, 2:46 pm

I did trip... after laughing at the 'rule' that was made up on the spot.

I eventually convinced them to let me participate even though I did not bring a purpose built, yet properly insured 'race car'.

I am slowly getting used to these KFC rules.

Postby 16 cycles » January 4th, 2012, 4:25 pm

W2J wrote:

some are...

there may be items that are under Full Comp that may not need investigation/report but can happen on a track....

Insured may also opt for additional benefits for Windscreen Damage, Personal Accident, and Special Perils which include earthquake, hurricane, windstorm and flood.

http://www.attic.org.tt/faqsmot.htm

for new cars under warranty - companies cover the warranty on and off the track???

Postby tr1ad » January 4th, 2012, 4:55 pm

no... warranty on a new car applies just as insurance

Postby X2 » January 4th, 2012, 6:12 pm

New car warranty can be contested as it applies to normal usage (racing isn't normal usage)... so technically a dealer can refuse to repair a car damaged due to racing.

On second thought....there is a special insurance out there that will cover damage from racing... it's called 'SELF INSURED'.

*calls insurance company to pay for blown up gearbox and prematurely worn tires*

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 4th, 2012, 8:11 pm

MG Man wrote:........she said 'no we don't insure vehicles over 20 years of age'.......
Third world florking country!
In other countries due to the fact that having a vehicle insured is a legal requirement for operating on the roadways it is ILLEGAL to be REFUSED insurance without JUST CAUSE! And the age of a vehicle (alone) hardly equates to 'just cause'! There are many vehicles which are over 30 years old and are in far better condition than some cars less than 5 years old.

Coming back to the insurance for racing. If you cannot afford to 'mashup' your car (and perhaps yourself) don't participate, just spectate!

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2012, 10:09 pm

The reason for this is because despite the clause that the vehicle is not covered during something as this, it only applied to the insured, i.e you, you cannot make any claims for damages as a result of an accident occurring during racing etc.
The problem for the insurance companies is third party claims, say you ran off the road during a demonstration, test whatever and hits a wall or a bystander, by law the insurance company is still liable for any damages or injuries, albeit they can try to recover losses from you, it is tedious and a long expensive process to go through...............hence "No insurance for you!"

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » January 4th, 2012, 10:35 pm

So I guess something like solodex they'll wanna make hell for...

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2012, 10:38 pm

^ yep, falls under 'speed testing'

Postby wagonrunner » January 4th, 2012, 11:02 pm

rollingstock wrote:The reason for this is because despite the clause that the vehicle is not covered during something as this, it only applied to the insured, i.e you, you cannot make any claims for damages as a result of an accident occurring during racing etc.
The problem for the insurance companies is third party claims, say you ran off the road during a demonstration, test whatever and hits a wall or a bystander, by law the insurance company is still liable for any damages or injuries, albeit they can try to recover losses from you, it is tedious and a long expensive process to go through...............hence "No insurance for you!"

even with waivers signed by both parties?
then what's the point of the persons putting on said "activities" having to take out (i think public liability) policies, in case those same third parties claims need are made?

Postby rollingstock » January 4th, 2012, 11:36 pm

rollingstock wrote:The reason for this is because despite the clause that the vehicle is not covered during something as this, it only applied to the insured, i.e you, you cannot make any claims for damages as a result of an accident occurring during racing etc.

even with waivers signed by both parties?
then what's the point of the persons putting on said "activities" having to take out (i think public liability) policies, in case those same third parties claims need are made?

In cases where 2 insurance policies are in force and a claim is made the liability is shared, this is to prevent someone profiting. But this is a liability to your insurance provider, they will try everything not to get caught in a scenario like this.
At the end of the day they are running a business and the lower the risk, the better for them.

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » January 4th, 2012, 11:42 pm

yup, knew something like this would happen sooner or later. for 2012 drag and winding. ill be removing my plates on entry of the ARC. this decision was made after the last event in 2011.

In regards to the person who was affected with this issue, im guessing they have fully comp, not sure if all companies are the same but i would've just lined up a policy with another comp. and cancel the current policy with the company mentioned above. They should give him a refund for the remaining time he has with them. Takes wayyyy to long to resolve matters in trinidad anyways.

07baracuda

Postby 07baracuda » January 5th, 2012, 9:32 am

I see no problem here, it's on the policy and if they have evidence you going against the rules well IT GOOD FOR YUH, you is ah liability.

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 5th, 2012, 10:42 am

07baracuda wrote:I see no problem here, it's on the policy and if they have evidence you going against the rules well IT GOOD FOR YUH, you is ah liability.
They 'pull' the man insurance just because he participating in D&W! Not because he made any claim! Just for participating in a properly organised, LEGAL, motorsport event! It is understood by most sensible ppl that when participating in these events we do so AT OUR OWN RISK! The promotors insurance is for 3rd party injury and damage to property, not for the participants and their vehicles.

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » January 5th, 2012, 10:48 am

X2 wrote:Correct about insurance saying they won't cover your car for racing events... refusal of coverage however may be up to the insuring agent. People autocross all over the world with their daily drivers.

But I digress.... this is why I tell phototakeouters that they fass and out of place when they posting up people car with number plate displayed.

X infinity
To be safe for any event just remove your number plate

Computerman

Postby Computerman » January 5th, 2012, 11:44 am

shadowbird wrote:
X2 wrote:Correct about insurance saying they won't cover your car for racing events... refusal of coverage however may be up to the insuring agent. People autocross all over the world with their daily drivers.

But I digress.... this is why I tell phototakeouters that they fass and out of place when they posting up people car with number plate displayed.

X infinity
I have no intention of removing my # plate when participating in any motorsport event. I've been using the same car (same chassis) since Wallerfield days with the same # plate. I know the risk, I know my insurance does not cover anything when participating, but they have no right to cancel my policy for participating in any legal event!

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » January 5th, 2012, 12:34 pm

Computerman wrote:
shadowbird wrote:

X infinity
I have no intention of removing my # plate when participating in any motorsport event. I've been using the same car (same chassis) since Wallerfield days with the same # plate. I know the risk, I know my insurance does not cover anything when participating, but they have no right to cancel my policy for participating in any legal event!

I know but when these 2X2 insurance companies start getn there acts 2 getr then we all can Participate with no worries but until then we have 2 work with what we have

Postby wagonrunner » January 5th, 2012, 12:43 pm

shadowbird wrote:I know but when these 2X2 insurance companies start getn there acts 2 getr then we all can Participate with no worries but until then we have 2 work with what we have

so you gonna continue patronizing them in the meanwhile?
[sarcasm]makes sense[/sarcasm]. :roll:

shadowbird

Postby shadowbird » January 5th, 2012, 3:29 pm

lol i will work around it cuz i cant do anything about it & Im not hearing any body doing anything 2 alleviate the problem

Scoobert Bauce

Postby Scoobert Bauce » January 6th, 2012, 2:25 am

meh, motosports suck anyway

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » January 6th, 2012, 9:46 am

i work in insurance.. so i go tell ya why... although policies do not cover racing events and what not they will deny u because there is a third party liability on insurance policies. therefore wheteher u have third party or full com..if u bounce down someone or what not racing..although u are not covered.. the ppl u hit are still covered..technically..and if someone gets killed its a large claim the insurance company may have to pay up.. and since most race cars at ARC are road legal..racing may or probably will happen outside on the road thus increasing the risk of a collision.. insurance companies donot really want to insure any risk that has a higher chance of a claim happening.. u want a fast car to race.. either work in insurance so they have no choice to cover u..or put all yr business by one company so they have no choice to cover u, cause if u move all rel premium lost.. House.business..cars etc..

dread_2002

Postby dread_2002 » January 6th, 2012, 9:52 am

i agree remove the lisence plate at the event.. cause specatators know the risk already and the other cars too.. u dont need insurance racing at a ARC or any event so.. cause u dun already not covered.. remove the plates.. and insurance companies need no reason to cancel yr policy das just how it is.. IF they Even suspect anything.. racing running PH etc.. cancellation in yr batty.. normel.. they dont care.. cause as far as they concerned.. Lesser chance of claims

Postby Hook » January 6th, 2012, 10:39 am

While I appreciate your input, with your working in the insurance field and all, it would've been much more helpful had you typed that in proper sentences without the Trini jargon and misspelt words.
It's difficult to make sense of it in that format.

Postby AllTrac » January 6th, 2012, 11:09 am

Hook wrote:While I appreciate your input, with your working in the insurance field and all, it would've been much more helpful had you typed that in proper sentences without the Trini jargon and misspelt words.
It's difficult to make sense of it in that format.

:lol: :lol: :lol: orgoarrr why allyuh so? :lol: :lol: