NP vs UNIPET

Re: NP vs UNIPET

Postby wagonrunner » February 3rd, 2012, 12:03 pm

you talking about the one who O face you say is a NO face?

Postby Monk BANzai » February 3rd, 2012, 12:14 pm

^^ nah not she....the one that ran "quickly" to the Fully Fully...

Postby eliteauto » February 3rd, 2012, 12:40 pm

ahhhhh...jumps in Fully Fully....
verbal-[serious face]dem fellas is something else steupsssssssss[/serious face]

mental-tee hee hee eef ah did only know dem was liming dey eh I woulda use de headache line

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2012, 12:47 pm

the only thing better is that the service I does get from the rasta by the unipet station is better than that from them heap of guyanese & ole theif by the np one. other than that....gas is gas.

I does still pressure my tyres by the np station though lol

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2012, 12:50 pm

y'all doh pump allyuh own gas?????

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 12:50 pm

Well these are the facts I know of....

Petrotrin supplies both Unipet and NP.
Unipet trucks deliver gas from Petrotrin tanks to their gas stations.
NP trucks gets there gas from the Sea Lots gantry which are fuelled buy NP vessels coming from Petrotrin. And we all know the "fresher" the gas the more fyaz will be geeed coz the octane levels are at its highest. So on paper, Unipet has the "fresher" gas, it will run better and burn faster.

NP too has inline filters on their pump hoses (when a pump fuels ridiculously slow its because the filter needs cleaning).

Privately owned NP Gas Stations are not forced by NP to upkeep the maintenance on their storage tanks. Its up to the owners to carry out maintenance. This is why water and other impurities are found in older stations because some of them (by the park of val) refuse to close and clean their tanks. So its in everyones best interest to fuel at a new or at least NP owned gas station (...sorry unkle Sanct.... maybe you could school me on this one too)

These are the rumors Ive heard...

Unipet double filtration is BS, the filters on the pumps will not work because they are not inline filters, they are the canister type. And a canister filter installed on an gas hose that hangs vertical will not filter, the dirty gas will leak out to your car.

Ive also heard rumours that Unipet mixes their storage tanks in Petrotrin for Super and Premium (would hate to believe they do that for Diesel too), but in order for this "mix" not to hit the consumer, Unipet launched the double filtration program due to complaints about gas quality.

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2012, 12:53 pm

idlemind wrote:
Unipet double filtration is BS, the filters on the pumps will not work because they are not inline filters, they are the canister type. And a canister filter installed on an gas hose that hangs vertical will not filter, the dirty gas will leak out to your car. .

you sure about that?
based on your logic, oil filters in cars should not work either.....

Postby Monk BANzai » February 3rd, 2012, 12:56 pm

idlemind wrote:Well these are the facts I know of....

Petrotrin supplies both Unipet and NP.
Unipet trucks deliver gas from Petrotrin tanks to their gas stations.
NP trucks gets there gas from the Sea Lots gantry which are fuelled buy NP vessels coming from Petrotrin. And we all know the "fresher" the gas the more fyaz will be geeed coz the octane levels are at its highest. So on paper, Unipet has the "fresher" gas, it will run better and burn faster.

NP too has inline filters on their pump hoses (when a pump fuels ridiculously slow its because the filter needs cleaning).

Privately owned NP Gas Stations are not forced by NP to upkeep the maintenance on their storage tanks. Its up to the owners to carry out maintenance. This is why water and other impurities are found in older stations because some of them (by the park of val) refuse to close and clean their tanks. So its in everyones best interest to fuel at a new or at least NP owned gas station (...sorry unkle Sanct.... maybe you could school me on this one too)

These are the rumors Ive heard...

Unipet double filtration is BS, the filters on the pumps will not work because they are not inline filters, they are the canister type. And a canister filter installed on an gas hose that hangs vertical will not filter, the dirty gas will leak out to your car.

Ive also heard rumours that Unipet mixes their storage tanks in Petrotrin for Super and Premium (would hate to believe they do that for Diesel too), but in order for this "mix" not to hit the consumer, Unipet launched the double filtration program due to complaints about gas quality.

hmmm interesting info...cyar discredit it...hadda take it at face vallue....

Good stuff Idlemind...

Buh unipet does give the legas fyahs eh!!

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2012, 12:59 pm

MG Man wrote:y'all doh pump allyuh own gas?????

I do, is just that the fcuking guyanese them cant coordinate so it always have a back up of cars all on the road causing traffic in an already narrow road & an unnecessarily long wait for gas. They does be checking oil & all kinda sh!t in the space where cars coulda be filling gas. not to mention the kakaholes that know they hadda pay with card, move yuh fcuking car nuh man.
oh and they have the guy who robbed the place a few years ago working for them. I pay for $60.00 a day & he playing he blocking the pump & fulling. when he done I went between him & the pump to check my sale....$30.00, no surprise there. he tell me my tank full, it cyar take no more. :fist:
De rasta on the other hand doh allow them fackery to occur, is either yuh filling or yuh eh filling, get tuh fcuk aside if you not filling. enter through the exit & she will make you go around & come through the entrance too. Rasta ftw!

I does fill by the station on richmond street on mornings though, eaiser for me as it have no traffic that hour. Only if I really need gas I does fill in fyzo.
Last edited by nervewrecker on February 3rd, 2012, 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 3rd, 2012, 1:00 pm

unipet...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2012, 1:04 pm

OK......on a serious note which one geee more fayaaz :

1) Ramco or

2) Blu gas

:| :| :|

Postby K74T » February 3rd, 2012, 1:08 pm

B14 hands down.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 1:10 pm

idlemind wrote:
Unipet double filtration is BS, the filters on the pumps will not work because they are not inline filters, they are the canister type. And a canister filter installed on an gas hose that hangs vertical will not filter, the dirty gas will leak out to your car. .

you sure about that?

Rumours gonna roum..
Dont know if you could compare the filtration on oil to gas.
Hear what allyuh Unipet men, record the make of the filter nah...lehwe research the ting.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2012, 1:32 pm

Isn't peake a member of the Unipet group. How come this station does not have the double filtration ?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 3rd, 2012, 1:35 pm

idlemind wrote:

you sure about that?

Rumours gonna roum..
Dont know if you could compare the filtration on oil to gas.
Hear what allyuh Unipet men, record the make of the filter nah...lehwe research the ting.

Cimtek is the brand.

http://www.cim-tek.com/

Postby wagonrunner » February 3rd, 2012, 1:39 pm

BANzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ nah not she....the one that ran "quickly" to the Fully Fully...

[snort]oho [/snort]

Postby Habit7 » February 3rd, 2012, 1:47 pm

Unipet bad, dont use it

shorter line for me at Unipet St. Augustine :evilbat:

idlemind

Postby idlemind » February 3rd, 2012, 1:51 pm

Nice find Chemical.
In going through the filter spec sheet, im seeing a couple filters for Fuel Dispensers and in two pics they show the filter canister mounted horizontally o_O

So Unipet mounting it wrong?
And are they changing these filters in a timely manner??

Postby crazybalhead » February 3rd, 2012, 2:01 pm

If they are under pressure, I don't think the orientation matters.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 3rd, 2012, 2:27 pm

NO!

Postby pete » February 3rd, 2012, 2:43 pm

That filter is not for removing water.. as it says on the sheet, for particulate contaminants like dirt, dust and rust.

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2012, 3:11 pm

so rasta

unipet if yuh wah d legas to gee fyas
specially to the carmree totin tool

Postby TRAE » February 3rd, 2012, 3:13 pm

NO!

i does pump mine

Postby nervewrecker » February 3rd, 2012, 3:16 pm

NO!

yuh does know dem fueners.

dizzy, eeet fat?

Postby MG Man » February 3rd, 2012, 5:18 pm

idlemind wrote:Nice find Chemical.
In going through the filter spec sheet, im seeing a couple filters for Fuel Dispensers and in two pics they show the filter canister mounted horizontally o_O

So Unipet mounting it wrong?
And are they changing these filters in a timely manner??

so u fellas assumin the fuel supposed to fallinto the filter?
those filters function similar to an oil filter............one way in, one way out............some cars mount the oil filter hanging upside down, some sideways some open end down.............does that mean two out of those three ways are wrong?????
sheesh
surely this not an automotive site

Postby eliteauto » February 3rd, 2012, 8:26 pm

this thread was used to attack Camry drivers, mods take note please

Postby SR » February 3rd, 2012, 8:28 pm

apparantyl they already did

hence the attack

Postby Redman » February 3rd, 2012, 10:40 pm

Ok
All fuel is from Petrotrin.

Both unipet and NP fill at PaP
NP has distribution at Sealots however there is only 3-5 days of storage,so fuel dosent really sit for too long

Test are routinely done and the octane levels are within spec

Min of Energy has not given Unipet nor NP authorization to add anything or manipulate the fuel.
So it's THE SAME FUEL.

Unipet stations are dealer owned meaning owned by private sector entities.
NP has dealer owned and company owned sites.

Most of the dealer owned sites are operated under a model where the marketing company owns the fuel systems- pumps,tanks and lines while the dealer owns the building etc.

So it's ABSOLUTE bull sheit to say that Private sites are less maintained.

The marketing companies own and maintain tanks and pumps ,dealers are not allowed to Mess with either unless in conjunction with NP/UNIPET.

NP has company owned sites that are a mess and tanks that were put there by ESso,Texaco etc.

It's up to the operator - whether NP owned or not to dip for water before receiving fuel.

That would be where any difference comes in.

UNIPET stations tend to be newer sites or at least recently refurbished so there is less chance to get water/sediment.

And to be clear it's the same fuel.

Really.

Later

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 4th, 2012, 3:36 am

btw the filter that UNIPET uses is the Cim-Tek HYDROSORB model.....

Postby De Dragon » February 4th, 2012, 6:22 am

I normally use the Unipet station , but dey Linx down about 2-3 months now and like dem eh intend tuh fix it. And yeah, it seems as if their gas finishes faster.